The Husband Test

The Husband Test

by Betina Krahn

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reissue)

$6.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, October 21

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Husband Test 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
The Abbess of the Brides of Virtue Convent prays to God that she does not kill novice Sister Eloise, whose good intentions seems to always lead to hell. Following the latest Eloise debacle, the Earl of Whitmore, Peril arrives with armed men to announce he seeks a virtuous wife. The Abbess comes up with a devilish of a plan to have Eloise accompany the Earl back to his home in order to judge his merit and piety as husband material for one of the wards.

At his impoverished estate, Eloise believes she can make things right, but every suggestion is met with either opposition or is outright killed. As Eloise and Peril argue, the Abbess¿ prayers seem answered as they begin to fall in love. Still, will she give up her strategic goal of becoming an abbess in order to be the virtuous bride that overcomes the land¿s curse?

THE HUSBAND TEST is a very amusing medieval romance that throws away the sub-genre¿s book by making Eloise such an average human being. The story line is humorous, descriptive, and down right entertaining as the lead couple squabbles over everything including love. Best selling Betina Krahn shows her incredible skills with this top rate tale.

Harriet Klausner

Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Terrific romantic story woven into a tale that intrigues the reader. Plot is rich with suspense and passion. In terms of blatant sexual references, the book is very tame...but appeals to the heart.
PatchesPN More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book a lot! My only regret was that it should have had more humor. But still enjoyed reading it.
Anonymous 8 months ago
The story could have been much better. It was so slow in the beginning I wanted to stop reading it, aweful. The ending was better. She is not a great writer. Grammar and syntax was horrible. Had no understanding of the use of comma's. Some sentences were just unreadable. Its unfortunate because the characters were good, but story was just not good.Made me wonder what kind of editor she had or if she just wrote this bad. I'm taking this out of my library, and I won't read her again.LMB
sarams on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The rating because there just isn't anything like medieval romances. A stubborn heroine, a hero with no clue that what he really needs is just that kind of woman. Quite fun to read, even if there are no big surprises.
juglicerr on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Betina Krahn has written three amusing romance novels that start out from the Convent of the Brides of Virtue. (The other two are The Wife Test and The Marriage Test.) The Convent accepts unwanted noble girls and gives them a course of training that is so famous that they often find husbands, even without generous dowries. The characters and the situations are both entertaining.In this book, a sincere, but rather trying postulant, is sent to England to gage the worthiness of a young landowner who believes he is cursed and wants a virtuous wife to break the spell. The cover, with the knight knocking the last "t" is "Test" askew, is a speaking portrayal of the male lead. The results are predictable, but the fun is getting there.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great Book! Couldn't put it down until I finished it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome read! Well developed characters with all kinds dynamic agendas!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Would love to see more of Betina Krahn's books! My favorite story romance that she wrote is: The Princess and The Barbarian. I would really enjoy reading that one again!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Witty and funny
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
After a long absence from romance books, I finally decided to once again start, and this was the first book I picked up. Being the first book I read by Krahn, I was very happy with the results. I had a great time reading this book. The characters are a lot of fun to get to know, especially Peril--he had me laughing in a few of the scenes. Now I have to read up on 'The Marriage Test' and 'The Wife Test' to finish up the apparent trilogy. Anyone looking for a fun romance should definitely check this one out.