I Couldn't Love You More

I Couldn't Love You More

by Jillian Medoff

Paperback

$14.15 $15.00 Save 6% Current price is $14.15, Original price is $15. You Save 6%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Usually ships within 6 days

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

I Couldn't Love You More 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 32 reviews.
Tami1 More than 1 year ago
A wonderful book detailing the journey of one woman's struggle with family and marital relationships. This book will make you cry but also has moments of joy and laughter. Above all you will finish this book wishing Eliot were a friend of your own.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
We have a blended family with two girls...my daughter and my husband's daughter. I too, have known my non-biological daughter since she was 7 (now 26). I could totally relate to the main character in the book. This is an absolutely wonderful read for a mother...I couldn't wait to read it when i went to bed and didn't want it to end...All the characters are truly interesting in their own right. I laughed, cried but most importantly, learned the true value grace and acceptance, especially when it came to the relationship between the step mother and biological mother. Not that i have any issues with my husband's ex wife but it did give me pause to see her in a totally different light. Wonderful story, very well written, highly recommended.
Kat_2010 More than 1 year ago
I just finished the book and couldn’t put it down. It is easy to relate to the different situations that happen during the book and each character reminds you of someone you know. Everyone has that one guy that got away. The one who you always keep in the back of your mind, the one who always think about “what if I had done _____ differently.” Eliot’s thoughts and feelings towards Finn are easy to relate to when she meets him again. You witness her put everything at risk, slightly cheering her on, slightly telling her to stop and stay away from him. However, it takes meeting that person again; later on in life, to realize that you’re not actually missing out and that the then “terrible-break up” opened the door for better opportunities and in Eliot’s case, meeting a loving and caring “husband” and great father. This whole concept, especially when she almost throws it all away, keeps you turning the pages, supporting her through her sorrow and hoping for the best. A definite beach read/great for plane rides/commuting to and from work.
Oz- More than 1 year ago
Medoff combines the intricacies of a modern relationship with family dynamics in a twist-and-turn novel that kept me reading all night!
anovelreview_blogspot_com More than 1 year ago
Eliot Gordon is a working mother with three daughters and a husband, ok well not a husband legally but figuratively and two of the girls are really step daughters. This is her life, her family and she loves it just the way it is. She also has her mother, two sisters (and one is so funny) and an absentee father. Eliot works very hard at making sure the girls are all loved and treated fairly. She seems very aware of evil stepmothers and doesn’t want to be one. She looks out for the girls as any real mother would. Overall her life is pretty normal, with a fair amount of normal family drama. Out of nowhere, her former college lover turns up. Her first love, the one that got away, the guy she pined after for years, Finn Montgomery. And when he shows up, Eliot turns back into the girl who can’t say no to him, the girl who obsessed over him. But this time it’s different, this time she has a family—a family who needs her attention and she begins to spiral out of control. And as she begins to spiral so does her family. I Couldn’t Love You More starts off with a getting to know Eliot and her family, her life. I really enjoyed getting to know her family. Grant (her husband) seemed like a great guy and I loved how all the characters had their good and bad points. The only thing that seemed odd to me was how her sister, Sylvia kept bringing up Finn, especially when they all knew he wasn’t good for her. I guess I wouldn’t tell my sister anything about the guy if I didn’t want them to reconnect. That seemed odd to me, but her sister was one who seemed to enjoy a drama filled life. Just as I was starting to feel a little bored, the story picks up a notch with the arrival of Finn. By this point I’m pretty attached to Eliot and her family, so when she starts talking to Finn—I got a little frustrated. I mean it really ticked me off. But there again, some women can’t seem to help themselves and I totally saw it coming with Eliot’s personality. I truthfully thought I knew where the story was headed. I was a little disappointed with where I thought things were going—but then BAM! Medoff threw the story in a direction I totally didn’t see coming! I’d say this is one of the biggest turn of events in a book I’ve ever read! From that point on I couldn’t, wouldn’t put the book down! And I’m going to end there, because you need to go get your own copy of I Couldn’t Love You More to find out what I’m talking about! I will not spoil it! I so recommend it!
BookishDame on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I have been reading " I Couldn't Love You More" for over a week. This is very unusual for me. I just had to savor every word of it. I had to take time to take it all in. Like a delicious Godiva truffle, I wanted to take my time to chew over what Jillian Medoff was "saying." This is an extraordinary piece of literature. It's one that warrants such time-taking. It's a book I wanted to cherish and reread, personally. It may be one of those "nightstand" books because I'd like to keep opening it to passages to think on again and again. This may give you some idea of the quality of Ms Medoff's writing. I'm not surprised she worked under and studied with some of the finest authors of our times... it shows up in her work. I wouldn't be surprised if she didn't do some influencing herself. The book also meant a great deal to me as a mother and step-mother. Her ability to translate this very delicate balance of love and responsibility, of wanting to be loved and wanting to do what's right is just masterful. Her telling of that risk of giving it all in mothering for what may be receiving little or no return in the long run is what each of us mothers understands...but it's more so for step-moms. The risks in this book are just staggering. And they kept me nailed to the novel mind and spirit. At last, I thought, someone gets it down on paper. I write notes about books as I read them, and I read without reading any reviews or summaries of my books if I can help it. In this case, I kept things to a minimum. So one of my notes to myself was about Sophie's choice. Yes, there is that happenstance in this book and it's as horrifying here and as smashing of lives as you can imagine. The dysfunction of families, and the particular dynamics of three significantly different sisters (all playing their Shakespearean roles) is hilarious enough to break the underlying tensions. But, these are not the only things that captured me about this novel. Primarily, and in addition to what I've already said about the mothering, I was captivated by its quality of voice. That's a rare thing to me. To so clearly hear the author's voice was stunning. It was hypnotic. It felt as if I were sitting on the sofa of my very best friend and she was telling me her life story. I felt I was hearing her secrets; her intimate thoughts and feelings that she kept inside but was now sharing with me. This book begins in a sort of monologue. At least, to me there was little dialog. This sort of thing is ordinarily not appealing to me. But, as I said, it was simply golden in Jillian Medoff's hands. To this day I'm in awe of that. As I write this, I wonder if my readers will even comprehend how something can be told without an emphasis on dialog and be so powerful and absorbing to the reader! It would be redundant to tell you what "I Couldn't Love You More" is "about," so I won't do that. Only, I will say it is such a beautifully created story of love and sacrifice and redemption. I thought Jillian Medoff's quote of a Willa Cather saying was significant in the beginning of her book: " There are only one or two human stories, and they go on repeating themselves as fiercely as if they had never happened before." This is one of those tellings of one of those lives and times. It may be we've all experienced much of what Ms Medoff describes in her story. It may be this that makes it so relavant and so poinant. And, it's a profound and wonderful telling. I hope you get your own copy to read and share. You can never have mine...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book cant remember end so reread for full value
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
msmouseBG More than 1 year ago
Good book and a quick read. Combining families and dealing with an ex-wife can be challenging. Eliot is a good mother, but finds herself questioning her past and wanting to relive her first love. It comes at a cost. Ending was perfect.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Could not put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
jjmore More than 1 year ago
What a good read! I could not put it down. I had this overwhelming desire to see what happens next. I love the simple prose. Easy to understand and simply written. I definitely recommend it...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Beautifully and intelligently crafted. Smart, funny, full of heart, suspenseful, and deeply insightful. Bravo! Jillian Medoff is such a great writer. I can't wait to read everything else she's written.
fireflymom More than 1 year ago
Excellent character development, although I didn't always LIKE the main character, I felt like I knew her! Pros: great writing about difficulty of parenting and the choices you made in life. Large and small. Cons: sort of drags in the middle, main character makes stupid mistakes and the tragic outcomes are hard to digest. But it takes courage to write about choices that people make, split second mistakes that cost more than you can give and love that isn't always picture perfect with a pretty bow on top.
Loves-to-readPP More than 1 year ago
Light and easy summer reading with a stunning twist. Ideal for summer book groups.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Reviewfromhere More than 1 year ago
When I first started this book I realized that the author had a fantastic writing style. While I couldn’t understand why anyone would put up with sister like Sylvia, I have been around people like that in my life and the author truly hit the mark. Do I find it a stretch that Maggie and Eliot would have a close relationship with someone who is so self absorbed she tries to make her 4 year old nieces birthday party all about her? To be honest I did. But, being step-mom myself I have seen people in my life that closely resemble some of the characters in the book. People that will try to hold together relationships with “family” members because they think it is the right thing to do, when so clearly it isn’t. I found the plot to be ok for the most part, and did like how Eliot described her life with Grant, Hailey, Charlotte, and Gail. Even Beth. And when her first love, Finn, comes back into her life, I even understand the initial fascination there. But, even though I understood it, there were some things I just couldn’t get past. SPOILER ALERT What person would allow their “boyfriend” to totally support their ex-wife who practically gave up on her kids to pursue the life of an artist? Especially when you see the hurt the children are caused because of it? My husband’s ex-wife did the same thing but left her kids to be with her boyfriend. She rarely saw them in the beginning of our marriage and even when she started to have a relationship with them again I would have NEVER let him give her any money. SHE LEFT HER KIDS! To me, that seemed totally unbelievable…maybe I’m the only one. Back to Sylvia. What person would want to spend time with someone who is so totally focused on herself and on being the center of attention, even if that means she has to lie about illnesses and such to get pity from people? I know that it was their sister but it wouldn’t matter to me, i would have been much more forceful about putting her in her place. To try to actual take away from other events so all the attention was on her. I also know people like this but thankful don’t associate with them…and wouldn’t, even if they were family. On to Finn. I also remember my first love and our relationship ended abruptly, much like Finn and Eliot. If he called me today and wanted to talk I would absolutely strike up a conversation with him. In the beginning, I found Eliot’s reaction to Finn very believable. But, as the story stretched on, I didn’t understand the fascination. The plot wasn’t developed enough there for me to truly understand how she could be that torn between the two men in her life – torn enough to cause her family such pain. And, I also didn’t understand why both sisters were so fascinated by the possibility that he may be in town, to even go so far as to follow him home. Again, seemed like a stretch. So, all in all, not a bad read, just some things I feel I wasn’t able to relate to. Although I do know, things like this happen every day.