I Promise You This

I Promise You This

by Patricia Sands

Paperback

$14.95
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, September 26?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

I Promise You This 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Unique experiences of Kat, a mid-fifties woman moving toward establishing a new life in France. An accident in her home city of Toronto, Canada has her flying back to attend to her best friend's injuries. Once on home turf, doubts about her choices and decisions rise to the surface, creating inner conflict regarding her intended new direction. Much introspection and interaction with cousins and friends keep the story low key. Less about action and more about inner change and reaction. An Australian friend provides a dream afternoon spent viewing Niagara Falls by helicopter provides opportunity for expressing her new career pursuit of photography and a break before it's back to the hospital. Unusual relationships formed in the previous books re-enter the story adding to her circle of support and an exotic element to the story. Good descriptions of winter life at home in Canada and Cote d'Azur French Riviera coastal life of France add to the picturesque settings. The third and final episode in Kat's journey of loss and disorientation into her new life and location.
gaele More than 1 year ago
The three stories in this series are now coming full circle, and this is best read in series order! Kat had fled Toronto after her marriage dissolved, and now she is returning to help her friend Molly after an accident. She’s found what could be a new life in Provence, one that includes her new love Philippe, the wondrous country and all of the new places to explore. But, being back in Toronto around all of the familiar places, family, friends and smells, she’s wondering if the next stage of her love should be in France. She doesn’t doubt her love for Philippe, but the familiarity of coming home to the place she’d known so long is compelling, and leaves her with decisions. I adored Kat’s journey here, not so melancholy or hurt now that time has passed, but she’s been bold, if running scared, in her choice to head to ‘somewhere else’. She (and we) are just fortunate it was Provence. The scenery here breathes through the story, the familiar landscape of Toronto with its sights and sounds juxtapose against the newly discovered Provencal sights, and she is clearly torn. With Philippe making a grand gesture to follow Kat and see what their future holds, I couldn’t put this book down. Sands uses the good (and bad) of all Kat’s experiences to help inform her decision: it is always scary to make large changes in your life, and while the first steps on her journey were made with tears in her eyes and a determination to be anywhere BUT where she was, there has been time and distance for Kat to finally choose the setting for the next chapter in her life. Soft and warm, this story is easy to follow and full of characters that appear real and present in the room as you read. To gain the best perspective, this is a series that is best read in order – and that will be no great sacrifice. A wonderful summer read that will have you transported to worlds and places far away. I received an eArc copy of the title from the publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.
Irene Olson More than 1 year ago
I have enjoyed every book in this series. The author's descriptions of her characters' surroundings place the reader right there amongst them. I can not recommend this series enough. Love Patricia Sands' writing. Can hardly wait for the next one...if indeed there will be one.
SharonClare More than 1 year ago
I Promise You This is a story of true love, compassion and friendship. It’s a story of the way things should be between lovers and friends. Even though Katherine is in a fairytale romance, when her friend is injured, she drops everything and flies across the Atlantic to be by her side—that’s a true friend. Between Katherine and Philippe there is love, but there is also kindness, support and generosity. We’re left with the feeling this is a relationship that will last through good times and bad. Patricia Sands devotes as much attention to the setting as she does to the characters. As a Toronto native, I knew where I was in this story and could easily picture the characters’ travels. The French settings are written with such flair and rich details, I could see many readers wanting to visit the places so lovingly described. This is a feel good story that left me with a smile. Well done, Patricia Sands!
AnnieMcDonnell More than 1 year ago
Patricia Sands delivers the third novel in her wondrous “Love in Provence” Series. It is stunningly captivating! She truly captures the essence of each character’s heart and soul; so much so, that you really feel as if you have befriended them. I mean, if you read the first two books in this series…I know you have been waiting to find out what happens in Kat’s (Katherine) life next…just as I was! Ok, and Phillipe. In this book, Kat is called back to Toronto because her best friend, Molly is severely injured in an accident. She leaves the love of her life, Phillipe in France. Once again, Kat is put in situations that will really make her have to decide a lot about her life and the choices she will make moving forward. I love how she weaves her way through these decisions. She is not one to take anything lightly. Will Kat be called back to France? To Phillipe? Where will she decide home really is? Sit back, and take this trip with Kat. You will be mesmerized! I want to say so much more, but it would not be fair. I must add though, that I must now go visit France, and travel in Kat’s footsteps, and devour the same foods and wines that she did. Maybe Patricia needs to do a “Love in Provence” Tour!! (Hint, hint) more in a review! I hope.
Netty1001 More than 1 year ago
Patricia’s books read like travel guides with some plot thrown in. The descriptions of the locales and the food and the people make it feel as though you’re there! It helps that I follow Patricia’s Instagram account (@patricialsands) and see her eautiful photos of France and her travels ! Click HERE to see her travel journal and Fall in Love with Provence! The second book (Promises to Keep) finds Kat remaining in France with Philippe and exploring their relationship. There’s some drama and intrigue, but nothing scary. I don’t do scary, after all. The book ends with a cliff hanger and I Promise You This picks up with Kat returning to her native Toronto to care for her great friend who was in a bad auto accident. This third and final book in the Love in Provence series has Kat looking in her heart and wondering if she can leave the first and only home she has known for a new life in France. Being in her childhood home while her friend recuperates from her life-threatening accident brings Kat closure – with her ex-husband’s betrayal and with her mother’s death. She packs up her treasured memories and boxes them for their voyage to her new home in France, wondering if she will ever return. She is never unsure about her feelings for Philippe and their life together in Provence, even though an old beau professes his feelings. This is a satisfying resolution to this story of a woman starting her life over after an emotional crisis. In the first book her mother taught her that “What doesn’t kill us makes us stronger.” Her friends taught her to “Take a chance. Make a choice to change your life.” In this final book in the trilogy, her new found friend, Simone, teaches her “Once you choose to do what you really want to do, you will begin living a different kind of life. It will be the life you are meant to be living in that moment of time.” Kat and Philippe are looking forward with great happiness to opening their Inn, to developing the website blending their love for photography and cheese (Fromagegraphie – love it!). Their happiness exudes and Kat realizes that home is, truly, where your heart is. Kat and Philippe are living the life of their dreams – doing what they love, loving what they do. Seems like I just read some articles about happiness that insist that very same theme – live authentically! (Like this one and this one!) And here are some quotes: “Happiness is when what you think, what you say, and what you do are in harmony.” – Mahatma Ghandi “The basic thing is that everyone wants happiness, no one wants suffering. And happiness mainly comes from our own attitude, rather than from external factors. If your own mental attitude is correct, even if you remain in a hostile atmosphere, you feel happy.” – HH The Dalai Lama “Happiness cannot come from without. It must come from within. It is not what we see and touch or that which others do for us which makes us happy; it is that which we think and feel and do, first for the other fellow and then for ourselves.” – Helen Keller As I said earlier, these books read as travel guides and make you yearn for your own travel adventures – thankfully I now have a fresh passport and am always ready! France is definitely on the list!
libriamorimiei More than 1 year ago
4.5 stars It's an extraordinary romance about the second chance in life and the difficulties and fears to pursue happiness. Breathtaking landscapes, great characters, brilliant dialogue and a strong plot: this book is a real treat. Kat has left her beloved Toronto to start a new life in Provence with the man she loves. Her friend Molly has had a bad accident and she returns home to help her. Being back in her homeland brings good memories to mind and she is tormented by doubts. Has she made the right choice to go to live in Provence? The love she feels for Philippe will be so strong that it can overcome all adversity? Kat is a generous woman, unselfish, a great friend but also fragile and insecure. She was really hurt in the past and is afraid to suffer again. I love Provence and was delighted by the wonderful descriptions of Antibes that the author has done in this book, it really seemed to be there. It's the third book in a series, can be read as stand alone but for a more engaging reading I recommend reading the series in order. Highly recommended for those who love romantic stories and Provence I received a copy of this book from the author/publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
shreejanani More than 1 year ago
This review would be from the viewpoint of a reader who has not read the previous books of the series and choose to read this book as standalone I wasn’t able to follow the story for a while. The characters felt a bit disconnected and disorienting till about half way through the story. This edition of the series follows Katherine’s story back in Canada. Katherine is forced to come back home to Canada when her best friend meets with an accident. Coming back home floods her with memories of her parents and hear failed marriage. Adding to agony are her unstable feelings to Philippe – the man who has made her fall in love again. Would she be able to move on from her heart break and accept a man into her life again? The stories switched back to France with the thread of Katherine’s and Philippe’s relationship. Once I was comfortable with the characters and their relationship with each other, I found the story to be nothing short of beautiful. With a pacing which was consistent and enough twists thrown in, this book was indeed a pleasurable read. The narration and the setting would be the highlight of the book. The writer had literally brought alive the sights, scenes and food of France! The countryside is so breathtaking and fills the reader with joy. The story line as such was filled with so much positivity and teaches the reader an invaluable lesson – A heart break is never the end of life. My only qualm with the book would be a lack of that introduction for a reader who hasn’t read the previous books. The writer could have possibly spent a couple of pages giving a gist of what happened earlier so that new readers would also connect with the book and the old readers wouldn’t be bored. Also given that the characters were way lot older than I am, I couldn’t really connect much with them! The cover deserves a special mention for being breathtakingly beautiful! MY SAY: A must read for ‘Fracophiles’ and lovers of contemporary romance.