Ice

Ice

by Lauren Carr

Paperback

$17.00
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, July 22

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Ice 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Cutiefulpink 3 months ago
My Thoughts... I am an admitted mystery junkie. I love mysteries, especially crime mysteries. There is something pretty magical about a who-done-it. I love seeing all of the pieces, trying to fit them together, and not knowing if they even can. Then everything clicks, usually with some climatic showdown between the villain and the hero. Even knowing this is coming, I can't help but read faster and faster until that moment comes. With Ice, Lauren Carr creates a series full of outstanding characters and a compelling plot. She wonderfully weaves multiple threads making it nearly impossible to predict what's coming and who it's coming from. The pace is perfect for this book while still forming characters' stories that the reader can get invested in. One of my favorite parts of this book, and most books, is the main character. The star of the novel... the dog. I'm not even kidding. Lauren Carr has an amazing ability to write canine characters that steal every scene. There were times, listening to this book, that I was laughing out loud. I can't believe that Sterling isn't given top billing in the blurb, and I'm astonished he isn't even mentioned. If you even like dogs, you will love this book if only for the doggo. What’s Missing... This is a new feature for me that I am trying out., so let me know what you think. Essentially, if a book doesn’t reach 5 stars, I like to give a little explanation as to why. In this book, I felt the format held back the rating. Normally, I love a good audiobook. And mostly, the narrator in Ice was good, but when it came to female characters, I struggled. The narrator had a habit of making their sentences sound naive and clueless. I think he was attempting to give their voices a more female cadence, but they ended up sounding almost ridiculous. It was so distracting and honestly brought down the entire experience for me.
amybooksy 6 months ago
Ice begins the series, A Chris Matheson Cold Case Mystery by Lauren Carr. I have read a few of her books previously and enjoyed every one. This one does not disappoint. It tells the story of retired FBI agent Chris Matheson coming back to the town he grew up in. He finds his appearance not very welcoming as the town still blames him for the murder of young, pregnant Sandy Lipton from decades earlier. He joins forces with others to solve this murder so he can clear his name. Ice is such a fun read. So many characters in this book that I loved dearly, such as his mother, Doris, his girls, Katelyn and Emma, and his love interest, Helen. But none of them can beat his highly intelligent and funny dog, Sterling. I could not help but to laugh out loud at that crazy dog and antics. I think he is the character that makes the whole book. I never knew what he would get into next. The story line and plot of Ice is full of action and adventure, mystery and suspense, and romance. I did not find the it to be predictable at all. I never knew or could guess who the real killer was until near the end. I was surprised at all how it all ended. I am giving Ice a well deserved five plus stars. I highly recommend this book, as well as, the audio version. I thought the narrator portrayed the characters perfectly. His performance was superb. I am looking forward to reading the next installment from A Chris Matheson Cold Case Mystery series. I received the audio version of this book from the publisher. This review is 100% my own honest opinion.
JBronder More than 1 year ago
Chris Matheson is a retired FBI agent that has moved home after the death of his wife to a terrorist attack. He now lives on his mother’s farm with his three daughters. Because he has shut himself off from the world, his mother talks him into joining his late father’s book club. This is no ordinary group; it is a collection of retired law enforcement officials that does a lot more than read books called the Geezer Squad. They reluctantly let Chris in and show him that they are working on one of Chris’ dad’s old cold cases. Middle age women are found brutally killed with their houses burned down around them. But this is not the only murder they will be investigating. Twenty years earlier, Chris took a teenage girl, Sandy Lipton to the prom. Shortly thereafter she is found to be pregnant and she insists that Chris is the father, but that can’t be since nothing happened after prom. Just before Sandy is to have the baby she disappears and Chris is initially blamed for the murder. Even though he is cleared the locals still look at him as the killer that has his police father cover everything up. Chris has his hands full with the investigation when a former friends wife is discovered murdered and he tries to blame Chris. There is a cartel member that is found dead on Chris’ property. You have the brother to Sandy Lipton that seems to have everything going for him. And don’t forget the casino owner’s daughter that has a rap sheet and a quick answer to all the questions. This is another great mystery from Lauren Carr. I love Chris. He is a good man that finds himself in trouble yet keeps his cool. I loved Doris, she’s one woman you don’t want to cross or you will be stuck eating her tuna casserole. Oh, and you can’t forget Sterling. A retired police dog that is “goofy.” And I have to say that I love Mick Alger’s narration, he adds so much life to the characters. If you love mysteries and enjoy Lauren’s other books you need to check out the new Chris Matheson series. You will not be disappointed. I received a complimentary copy of this book. I voluntarily chose to read and post an honest review.
wifetoalineman02 More than 1 year ago
This book blew my mind away The best book I read from Ms. Lauren Carr this year. This book blew my mind away. I thought I figured out who the killer is but I was wrong. When your an investigator and retired, your mind never stop solving mystery murders especially the cold case and the Geezer Squad. These guys are beyond amazing. My hats off to them. Being greedy always is badly and will always end in the deadly path. Second romance is sweeter than the first time. This book is so much of family love, hilarious and at the same time mesmerizing. This book is hard to put it down. I was glued right away. Ms. Lauren Carr, you nailed this book again. I cannot wait for your next book.
ARS8 More than 1 year ago
Ice by Lauren Carr, starts off a brand new series that deals with solving cold cases. In this particular story the past and present collide when retired FBI agent Chris’s reputation is at stake again for a crime he did not commit some 24 years ago. In author Carr fashion, we have several past and present crimes that have taken place that may or may not be related. This story kept the pages turning quickly as there were a lot of possible suspects and way too many victims and their families whose lives that had been touched by the violence and now demanded justice. I have enjoyed author Carr’s previous series, so I was excited to dive into this one. Chris is a widower with three young girls and living with his mom. I liked how he and his mom looked after each other especially since both are still in the grieving process for Chris’s late wife and his late father. Life has dealt them both some serious blows but they have a very strong family bond. Enter Chris’s first love, Helen, an assortment of loving, furry critters- Thor an adorable bunny and Sterling a very smart and as the book describes him, goofy German shepherd- and you have the makings of another brilliant series. Along with the strong family bond, we have an eccentric group of retirees called the Geezer Squad with the right amount of skills to help Chris and Helen get justice for the cases that are so cold they are like Ice. I am very curious and happily awaiting for more from Chris, Helen, Doris, the Geezer Squad, Thor the bunny and goofy Sterling and all the characters that author Carr makes come to life in her books. Please note that due to the nature of the crimes, some language, and some innuendo this is an adult read. I received a complimentary copy of this novel. I was not required to post a positive review and all views and opinions are my own.
SherryF More than 1 year ago
Ice by Lauren Carr has such a cool cover, but it is her stories that make her a must read author for me. I was hooked right out of the gate, with the sweet and fun kids, the retired service dogs, a female rabbit named Thor, who thinks she’s a dog, a book club of retired law enforcement officers who love reading mysteries and suspense novels, then tearing them apart…but the book club segued to so much more. Lauren Carr includes so many wonderful elements in her stories, and makes each one a separate and unique experience. Doris…I know Chris is the main character and all the others are just as important to the story and lovable (or hateable) in their own way…but, Doris, a manipulative mother with a magic touch. And Sterling, a German Shepherd forced to retire because he couldn’t pass a psych evaluation. Goofy? I just think he has tons of personality. Lauren Carr also has a way with dialogue, snappy and fun, filling me with chuckles and laughs, even as we work to solve the murders and mysteries. “Bad news, Bell.” “Matheson’s lawer’s here,” the deputy sheriff said with a sigh. “Worse. His mother.” Rodney’s eyes were as wide as the deputy’s when he looked across the table at him. “You called your mother?” Chris Mattheson is 46 years old. To some he is old, to others he is young. Depends on which group of characters he happens to be hanging with. The entire scene is hilarious, but I just wanted to give you a taste. Don’t mess with Doris! Lauren Carr’s books are always hard for me to rate. I consider them cozy mysteries over the heavy thriller and suspense stories I read. Most of the time I rate cozies in the 3 to 4 range. I love my books darker and grittier…BUT I could not put the book down and the cast of characters and the storyline I feel are above and beyond the norm, and I can hardly wait to read more, so 5 stars it is. I am so excited to have A Chris Matheson Cold Case Mystery series to add to my Lauren Carr reading list. I voluntarily reviewed a free copy of Ice by Lauren Carr.
lauralovesreviewingLT More than 1 year ago
I started reading this at night and finally had to set it aside when my eyes got blurry. I woke up n the dark, around 5:46 A.M. and the booked popped right into my head. So, I turned on the light and started back up with it, devouring it in a couple of hours. I’ve read other books by Lauren and shared reviews saying how much I loved her mysteries and her characters, both human and other. This was a brand new cast of characters and I had such a great time getting to know them. Chris retired from the FBI. A man in his mid forties, he moved home to his mother’s farm to raise his three daughters after his wife was killed in a terrorist attack overseas. It works well for all of them. The opening scene is a bit sad as Chris is spreading the ashes of his beloved german shepherd companion. Kind of bittersweet, but it doesn’t stay that way for long because a new dog enters the life of the family. Sterling is a two year old german shepherd who was recently retired from the police force after he was injured and his handler and fellow officer was killed. I had a feeling these two would help each other heal. What I didn’t expect was how Sterling would steal my heart. I confess he was the character I wanted most to read about. Lauren makes the non human character’s as much a part of her stories as their human counterparts. Some of Sterling’s quirks are hilarious. The scene at the casino was so fun. As was his penchant for country music. And what can I say, I’m a dog lover. On to the mystery, or I should say mysteries, as there are several to untangle. From a couple of cold cases to recent murders, Chris is dragged back into law enforcement as a consultant and things get hairy. Lauren can create such great plots. You really have no clue who did what until right at the end. I did catch one bread crumb that turned out to be right. The rest, I couldn’t figure out the culprits til they were caught. One character I had hopes for didn’t go the way I wanted. Shows how the author can deliver such genuine characters, take you down so many false trails, and serve up the culprits in ways that keep you guessing. A big bonus that Lauren does is supply a cast of characters at the beginning of the book. She details each one and also puts them in the order they appear in the story. Even the non human ones. It helps when you can’t quite remember who someone is. But even with so many characters, you easily become familiar with them and nothing slows down the reading. I couldn’t find one thing to fault with Ice. It kept me riveted. I connected with and loved so many of the characters. Cracked up more times that I could count. Enjoyed the brushes with romance. And was very satisfied with how it was all wrapped up. An exciting, superb new series and I can’t wait for more.
Blooming-with-Books More than 1 year ago
Murder, mayhem and wacky pets make for an interesting read.... Ice A Chris Matheson Cold Case Mystery #1 By Lauren Carr More than 20 years ago Chris Matheson was a person of interest in the disappearance of Sandy Lipton. The small town gossip blamed him and now that he's back in town with his daughters he learns that the wagging tongues and speculation never died down. Worse his daughters have started hearing the malice gossip that if true would see him serving a sentence still. Talked into joining his late father's book club, Chris soon learns that this is no ordinary book club. Rather it is a collection of retired law enforcement officers who seek to avoid the utter boredom of retirement by working on cold cases. Drawing on the unique skill set of this group Chris begins piecing together the random and vague clues and recollections that he has from that time. But someone seems determined to keep him from the truth about Sandy and the child she was carrying. But this small West Virginian town is hiding more than one crime and Chris is about to find himself in the midst of it. Whoever is behind this has a malevolence that makes Chris feel these crimes are related and personal. The only question is who of his old acquaintances is next on the list? For the whodunnit mystery buff who loves ever-increasing suspense and danger, Lauren Carr's newest series offers up a big dose of both. Murder and mayhem seem to be Chris's new companions after returning home following the loss of both his wife and his father. Juggling the parenting responsibilities of his three daughters with his mother is not something Chris was expecting at this point in his life, but life isn't something that goes as planned. And for those familiar with Lauren's other works - YES there are dogs in this book and Chris's newest Sterling just might give Gnarly a run for his money as far as crazy antics go. Sterling in a word is a HOOT and probably my favorite character. Though the pet rabbit Thor is a pretty close second - who wouldn't love a rabbit who dresses up! I was provided a review copy of this book by the author through iRead Book Tours with no expectations of a positive review. All opinions expressed are my own.