If He's Daring (Wherlockes Series #6)

If He's Daring (Wherlockes Series #6)

by Hannah Howell

NOOK Book(eBook)

$6.99 $7.59 Save 8% Current price is $6.99, Original price is $7.59. You Save 8%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

If He's Daring 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 31 reviews.
kydirtgirl68 More than 1 year ago
Lady Catryn will do anything to save her son. Including stealing a carriage to help save him. She doesn't expect to be tracked down by the owner of the carriage or what it leads to. Sir Orion is from a family with a history with different gifts. He isn't looking for anything other than his carriage back but once he meets Catryn he knows he has to help her save her son from her brother in law. She knows about his family and doesn't let it bother her. The more time she spends with him the closer they get. Orion soon wants more than just a fling. He grows to care greatly for her. Now he will do anything to help her even if it puts his self in danger. Catryn is a beautiful woman who is a great mother. She always puts her son first and will do anything for him. She really doesn't know much about being sexy or what a man may want. She and her late husband had an odd relationship. She doesn't want to believe in the gifts the Wherlocke family are rumored to have but the more she is around the more she believes. Orion has never been one to deny when he wanted a woman but in some ways he is scared of Catryn. Se makes him want more. He has a unique gift that I really liked. He also is amazing in the fact he loves his family and will do anything to help them as well. I like this story as it has romance, danger, secrets and a family with amazing gifts. Some of them are harder for the person to deal with but still awesome to read about. Catryn does things she never thought she would do. She is a strong woman to begin with but she becomes more so in this book. She learns to accept what her son deals with. Orion is different as he has his wild oats but doesn't try to hide them. He steps up and takes care of them. He doesn't care what people think of him. He never looks down on Catryn and I love that about him. There is tons of danger as Catryn's brother in law knows no bounds in order to get what he wants. I hate him so much. He has put Catryn through so much and doesn't care to hurt an innocent. If you love a great romance with wonderful characters this is a must try book. I eagerly look forward to reading the rest of the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is as good as other ones in this series...want another one
TammyS32 More than 1 year ago
I am a huge fan of this series and have read each and every one. Catryn’s son has been taken by his greedy Uncle and she will do anything to get him back, even stealing a carriage. When she stops to rest she learns that there was a passenger on board. A little boy about her son’s age, name Giles. Giles had been living on the streets until he recently found his Father. Orion Wherelocke works for the government and is an expert tracker and goes off in search of his son. Once he catches up with them Giles convinces him that they must help Catryn. I have been waiting for this book since I finished the last. The family is colorful, funny and loyal to one another. The story is exciting fast paced and passionate, I loved it. Looking forward to more.
Historical_Romance_Lover More than 1 year ago
This is the 6th book in the Wherlocke series. Catrin Gryffin de Warrenne is chasing after her brother in law who has taken off with her son, when her horse goes lame. Lucky for her, there is a carriage near. Because it's the only thing she can do, she steals the carriage to continue the pursuit of her son. Sir Orion Wherlocke can't believe that someone stole his carriage which happened to have his son in it. Even knowing who took it and that she promises to bring it back, he can't leave his son in the hands of a stranger. Giles, Orion's son, befriended Catrin when they stopped to rest the horses and when Orion catches up with them conveniences them to help Catrin get back her son. Orion knows that Catrin is not someone to have an affair with and then leave, so when he finds himself attracted to her he has to decide if he wants to give up his bachelor ways. Is he willing to do that for a once in a lifetime love? There is so much that I love about this story, but I don't want to give away too much! I loved Orion and Catrin together. Howell does a masterful job with the secondary characters, several of whom we've met in previous stories. They add so much to the rest of the story and it just wouldn't be complete without them. If you've not read the rest of the books in the series, I recommend reading them first. It's not a necessity to do so, but you will enjoy the story a lot more in doing so. I can't wait to read more about his family!! Thanks go out to Kensington Books via NetGalley for a copy of the book in exchange of an honest review.
WorldsCollide More than 1 year ago
An enjoyable historical romance with a touch of magic, If He's Daring was a lovely read. With magic, romance, and a few surprising secrets, this book was great and I really liked it. Catryn was a lovely character. Very protective of her son and determined to bring him back, she definitely proved that she could be a force to be reckoned with. And she was a likable character in general, compassionate, accepting, and kind-hearted. I thought she was great. Orion was good as well. He might have been avoiding marriage for his entire adult life but, once he met the woman he would love, all that went right out the window. He was caring, honorable, and, most adorable, a great father. I really liked him as well. The romance was sweet. Catryn and Orion were lovely together. It was clear from the start that they were both smitten and that only grew as the book went on. Though there was definitely an attraction between them, this was a fairly clean romance with fade-to-black scenes. Overall, I thought they were a sweet couple. There were a couple of things that brought the book down for me. 1) Though Orion had 3 sons, we only got to see 1 for the most part. The other 2 only appeared a few times. I would have liked it if they had all featured in the story, rather than just Giles. 2) The dialogue in this book tended to get very rambly. The characters would go on and on, overexplaining things in a way that was both tiresome and unnatural sounding. It came off as stilted, particularly when a little boy would speak in that overly formal, long-winded way. Not all of it was like that, but it was enough to be noticeable and somewhat annoying. So, it brought down the book a little for me. The plot was fast paced and I was hooked the entire way through. There were definitely some twists along the way, as well as a few secrets that took me by surprise. I really enjoyed the story and the ending was lovely. If He's Daring was a wonderful historical romance with a touch of magic. It was sweet and enjoyable, with a few surprises in store. Romance lovers, this is a book worth checking out. *I received a complimentary copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Giles is simply one of the best characters in this wonderful family story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
so+differen+so+interesting+a+plot++%0Aenjoyed+the+history++++
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was both funny and scary and full of love highly recommend
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The best author in a long time I like her story telling ability .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love all of Hannah Howell books . This one has mystery, action, love and children's input. Very entertaining .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
PureJonel More than 1 year ago
Howell is vividly in your face from the first page of this novel. You can’t escape her upbeat writing or her captivating storytelling. Readers are drawn into the intricate world that she has crafted. Reality and fantasy merge in this one of a kind story. Howell captured my imagination and my heart throughout, making the story easy to follow and to picture. The main characters in this novel are very easy to get to know and like. I thoroughly enjoyed Howell’s gradual character development throughout. It was also nice to see the characters getting to know more of themselves and what they are capable of throughout their adventures. The fact that much of the supporting cast in this novel was children added another unique element to the story. The full cast was remarkable, filling out the story perfectly. This is definitely one of those series that you should read in sequence for context, otherwise you start the story in the middle of an ongoing conflict. At the same time, this story could be read on its own and still be very enjoyable in and of itself. Please note that I received a complimentary copy of this work in exchange for an honest review.
celticmaggie More than 1 year ago
I haven't really read one of my own books for quite some time. I enjoy reviewing my books from NetGalley. I couldn't not read one of Hannah's books. I love her books and have all but her first books. This story surely will be one of her best. Her characters would fit right into your living room. Wish they were in mine! Catryn is fighting her brother-in-law for custody of her son from her late husband. There are a lot of spoilers in this story. She snatches a carriage and meets Sir Oliver when he follows her chasing to get her son back. Here is where the spoilers start. You will miss a good book if you don't read this book. Please give it a try and Enjoy! I have this book for an honest review for NetGalley.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
2nd in series I've read and enjoyed both. Good mix of mystery, romance, paranormal, historical period.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the first book by this writer - that i could not read. I skipped to page 150 and never improved. I quit. Money wasted.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This series is one of the best out there today. Other Authors try to imitate but can't come close. My only complaint is that I have to wait so long for the next one. The characters and plots are strong. Get to know the family!
Emptrix More than 1 year ago
Each new volume for the Wherelocke and Vaughn families, is like a special edible present! It goes way to fast and then you have to wait too long for more! I won't belabor the events of the book with another retelling. I will only say that I am so grateful that Hannah Howell has created such prolific families for these two amazing families! There are endless tales yet to tell of amazing people with miraculous talents and sensual dispositions. Hannah Howell is a talented and wonderful author, who never lets us down with her tales of these two families! She makes you believe in the miraculous and has you searching crowds for tall, dark and handsome men, just in case . . . Orion may still have to deal with stolen coaches, given the increasing proximity of his family as neighbors, and given the nature of the children he and Catrin now have and will undoubtedly have many more of in the future. I love this world Hannah Howell has created and populated with Wherelockes and Vaughns, and the interesting people who become attached to them! MORE NOW PLEASE HANNAH HOWELL!!
ALWasha More than 1 year ago
Hannah Howell has done it yet again!! This story is so good. I really enjoy a story when I laugh so hard that I am crying!! If you have read any of her other books in this series or any of her series, then you know what I am saying!! This is a must read, page turner book!! Don't wait GET THIS BOOK!! Thank You Hannah Howell for your amazing talent! Keep them coming!!
DustymomCA More than 1 year ago
All her books are good. I love the Wherlocke series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hannah Powell has done it again I just love her books! I would recommend this book for book club discussions. I would recommend reading all of her If He's series. If you like the paranormal mix with romance you will love this.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is worth reading and fits well into a great series of books. All of them worth reading more than once.