If Not for the Cat

If Not for the Cat

Hardcover(First Edition)

$17.49 $17.99 Save 3% Current price is $17.49, Original price is $17.99. You Save 3%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, July 22

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

If Not for the Cat 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
JeraSullivan on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Summary:This book contains several different Haiku poems. Each poem describes something in particular that is not directly stated. Boneless, translucent,We undulate, undulate,GelatinouslyThis Haiku describes a jelly fish. Personal Reaction: I love this book. The illustrations are good and describe each poem. But the best part are the descriptions in the Haiku's. They give just enough detail to not give anything away to easily. Classroom Extension Ideas:1. This book could be used to teach students how to write a Haiku.2. This book could be used by reading each Haiku to the students without showing them the illustrations and making them guess what the poems are describing.
KaleyHarper on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Summary:A collection of haikus that are of different animals. Some of the examples are: haikus about a sloth, a skunk, and an otter to name a few.Personal:I like this collection of haikus because even though they are easy to read, they correctly explain what the animal is.Classroom Extension:1. I would have a day set aside for animals. We would discuss all the animals that the students talk about and read the haiku that pertains to that particular animal.2. I would have the students make their own haiku about there favorite animal, and then share it with the class.
AngMarWilson on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book is about animals and their particular charateristics such as diets, looks, and defenses. These animals were described using haikus. The illustrations were fabulous! However, I was not a fan of this particular book. I felt it was a tad bit difficult for children to understand(I want to teach third graders and I do not see them understanding some of the words). This book should definitely be used when teaching poetry to older children though.I would have my students write their own haiku about their favorite animal. This would help them develop writing skills. I would also have them draw an illustration to be incorporated with their haiku.
eburkham on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a book of haiku's that describe an animal. The haiku does not name the animal and that is the fun part. You have to figure out what animal it is describing.I really like this book. I was surprised because I don't usually like haiku, but I loved how it described things about animals that we all know. We were left figuring out exactly what animal was being described.I would have the children take different animals out of the book and research more about the animal. They will then have to write a short report about what they learned about the animal, and present it to the class.
mlgonzales on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In the vivid imagination of play on words that Jack Prelutsky uses in this book brings the animals more to life with each turning page. My favorite, the butterfly being shown from cocoon to full beautiful growth for the reader to experience. AWESOME!!I enjoyed the extreme features that the author included in these 17 individual works of haiku involving senses, environment and self enough to leave the reader searching for more.In my classroom, I would give children pictures of animals, places, or things to develop some haiku. Realistic. Silly. Serious. All in the fun of sharing some imagination.Also, take the children out for a walk to allow them to imitate Prelutsky technique, involving all the sense, everything around us.
DushiyanthiMcCarley on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book is about how different animals describe themselves in a few sentences and have the reader guess what they are. In a few lines they give the reader a few clues and have the reader say if they are an animal or bird, like the elephant who describes itself as with long noses and ears that block the sun. I liked this book since I feel that children can to try to guess the animal without the teacher showing the pictures to them. Extention: The students can a guessing game like " who am I", by giving a few clues like I am soft , I have a fluffy tail etc and the other will guess it to be rabbit.
bamabreezin4 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Vivid illustrations and descriptive haikus provide for great lessons on vocabulary, poetry, and descriptive language.
Grammy_Flo More than 1 year ago
We got this as a library book first and I had to own it. My 4yr old knows lots of animals and she can name all 17 in this book. The illustrations are wonderful, we all have a favorite. The poems do not talk down to kids; there are plenty of big words but this is a book we enjoy together. A great way to expose a child to new form of expression. Maybe we'll be inspired to try Haiku too!