Illuminating Gracie

Illuminating Gracie

by Lisa C. Temple

Paperback

$15.99
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, May 31

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Illuminating Gracie 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Angelian More than 1 year ago
If you could see where you are forty years from now what would you change?  Gracie is believable, her struggles are real.  The supernatural beings that come into play keep this book moving with twists and turns.  They are described in detail that make you see them as you read about what they are doing.  I read somewhere that this is the author's first book, if so, she is a talented writer.  This book will keep you wonder what happens next, and who the good guys really are! 
Cymberle More than 1 year ago
I recommend Illuminating Gracie to everyone high school and up that enjoys a deep, reflective story. The novel is well written, using amazing imagery and imagination.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Beautiful book. Well written and very exciting. Funny in some places and sad and scary in others. Good for teens and older adults, too. HIghly recommend.
SabrinaNedeleaSN More than 1 year ago
I received this book in exchange for my honest review. Thank you so much Itching for Books and Lisa Temple for the chance of reading Illuminating Gracie. I thought this is going to be another book about an obnoxious teenager. Guess who was wrong?! I couldn't believe how perfect the story is written. Everyone had moments in they're life where they just want to go back in time and redo something. We wished it so hard and still nothing. So we accept the situation. But, this isn't the case. We have in this story Grace, a seventeen years old girl who has had enough bad luck and suffering to last her a life time. She doesn't have strength to do anything at all, school isn't great because she can't concentrate and she has a bad impression about herself. No matter what she does, Grace hates her life and she wants to change it. When she gets the chance tot change everything she doesn't waste any time! I don't know how to even describe this book to do it justice. It is just a great story! The author really managed to describe Grace so perfectly I thought I knew her for a long time and I could understand what she was going through. When I started reading the book I didn't know this was going to be such an amazing journey! The book really teaches you something about life! You should give it a chance because you won't regret it! I highly recommend it!
AmandaP2012 More than 1 year ago
I found this book to be wonderfully well written. The author has a talent at drawing you in to the story with such clear descriptions of the surroundings that you feel that you are there. The way she has written the characters make them feel real to you as you read.  I loved Gracie from the moment she thought that she was just a pair of stiletto heels and a tube top from a bad b movie! Then she checked to see if her shoes were tied good in case she had to run from werewolves or zombies! Yep, that would have kept me reading if I hadn't already wanted to know what was going to happen. This was in the beginning of the book, and it just kept getting better from there.  I love that this character has her problems that I don't actually come across in most of the books she reads. I am all to familiar with OCD. I live with a house full of people that suffer from it to some degree. I recognized and connected with her immediately. While I never have the need to check under my bed multiple times or to countdown to de-stress, I have had to live with a person that goes into high gear obsessive cleaning sprees that can last for hours if not days. I have had the child that had to compulsively rearrange his furniture as soon as he was old enough to move it himself. So I started off feeling an emotional attachment to Gracie.  Plus her worries about her weight and her lack of social standing are so real. I suffered through high school as well feeling like the fat outcast with no friends but the one pity friend. Of course I am still friends with her today, so obviously she wasn't a pity friend, but when you are in high school you see things differently. OK I will stop talking about myself and get back to the book. Everything that I have been talking about that attracted me to this character and this book are in the very first chapter. Imagine how eagerly read the rest of the book and how much I enjoyed it more when Angels and Demons and hunky guys cropped up! This book is a must read for just about anybody. It might be a little slow at first, but it picks up. The characters are well developed, you can feel emotionally connected to them. The writing is wonderfully descriptive and engaging. I think this is a great book and I look forward to reading more from this author. OH! And the ending! I  wish I could tell you about it. It was really well done. Just read it and you'll find out.  Disclaimer: I received a copy free for reviewing purposes. Regardless, all opinions are my own. I was not required to write a positive review.
IHOP More than 1 year ago
*I received a copy in exchange for an honest review* Where do I start: the great story, the hunky boy, or the brilliant main character? To be honest, it started out a bit slow for me. But that ended quickly. Real quickly. The first thing that pulled me in was Gracie (the main character). It's in first person point of view so you really get to explore and learn about Grace. And boy was she written to perfection. Usually I don't like the main character because I learn all of their flaws, but Gracie had so much wit and sarcasm about her you couldn't help but like her. As you go through the book, you notice Gracie working to overcome her shortcomings, and it just makes you enjoy her fictional company even more. Next, I met the hunky boy. Well, ok, there were two of them, but only one made me swoon. And that was Merchison Spear (just his name sends shivers down my spine :P). He, being the gentleman he is, comes to the rescue and saves Gracie from being lost in the woods real early in the story. And from then on it's just one swoon after another. Plus, him and the other hunky boy (Locke)......let's just say the tension is palpable. And no, it's not a love triangle people. I promise. It's synopsis time! Gracie is a 17 year old, not much to look at, and rather paranoid. She works at her brother and sister-in-law's B&B, which results in her meeting the mysterious Mrs.B, hunky Merch, hunky Locke, and lovable Willem. Who knew delivering food could change your life forever. And I'm not even exaggerating. All of a sudden, she's changing (not the puberty kind, but the stronger, faster, generally more powerful kind). And, to balance out all the good things happening to her, a demon is after Gracie. So not ideal. But, with the help of her new found friends, Gracie sets out to face down not only this demon, but her own personal ones.....which results in a lot of demons. And once she goes face to face with her own demons, it's one on one. Hardcore.  I know that was a very general summary, but I don't want to give anything away!! This story has a brilliant message. It's so true and so helpful in life (i know I used "so" a lot, but it so adds emphasis :P). I'll let you figure out the message for yourself. And also, the ENDING!!! OMG I did not see that coming. Literally the last page, I yelled " TWIST" Anywho, buy it, read it, love it, wait for the sequel!!! Happy Reading!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago