I'm Hosting as Fast as I Can!: Zen and the Art of Staying Sane in Hollywood

I'm Hosting as Fast as I Can!: Zen and the Art of Staying Sane in Hollywood

by Tom Bergeron

Paperback

$14.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

I'm Hosting as Fast as I Can!: Zen and the Art of Staying Sane in Hollywood 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
TomBergeronFan12 More than 1 year ago
Try harder.
RitaFz More than 1 year ago
Having met Tom three times as guests of Breakfast Time, I found what you see is what you get. Tom is the best TV host you will ever meet, he is a very kind person. That said I was looking forward to reading the parts about Breakfast Time the most and he didn't let me down there. The rest of Tom's climb to TV fame is very well written as well. I enjoyed the whole book.
Alla_S More than 1 year ago
Tom Bergeron, currently best known for hosting shows like Dancing With The Stars and America's Funniest Videos, has written a laugh-out-loud memoir about his career in television, titled "I'm Hosting as Fast as I Can! Zen and the Art of Staying Sane in Hollywood." Bergeron's writing is both hilarious and self-deprecating-a much needed antidote to the current dark mood sweeping the nation in the wake of the economy. His first media exposure was a DJ position at a local radio station, while still in high school. Ironically enough, his boss at the time warned Bergeron that there was no career in radio. Fast forward several years and Tom was not only still hosting radio shows, but alternating between a string of TV jobs. Through his narrative, Bergeron takes us on a wonderful journey from a small radio station in Haverhill, Massachusetts to Hollywood, California. Ultimately, each job opportunity stems from his previous experience as Bergeron's star is on the rise. What I find most admirable about Tom's story is that he is not born with a so-called silver spoon, but truly achieves his modern success through old fashioned hard work-and manages to laugh at himself in the process. Various gigs at a Boston television station include hosting a kids show, a crazy talk show, and even reading lottery numbers which leads to hosting an improvisational breakfast show in New York whose most popular character is a puppet called Bob. This ironically becomes Bergeron's ticket into national television. Also mentioned is Bergeron's following brief stint in Good Morning America (a catty co-host included), the reason why he will never be a guest on Regis and Kelly, his time on Hollywood Squares, the surprising reason he was chosen as the host for America's Funniest Videos, and why Tom almost turned down the chance to host Dancing With the Stars. Besides his successful TV resume and various backstage gossip, Tom frankly reveals the struggles he has to endure along the way -health scares, bicoastal existence, the conflict between family and career, as well as many hilarious mishaps. In the face of constant change and personal turmoil, Bergeron shares his Zen philosophy of staying calm and looking at life from a glass-half-full perspective. Generously interspersed throughout Bergeron's narrative, are intriguing parables and comedic conversations with himself-which serve to underscore this optimistic way of interpreting life. As Tom puts it, Zen is essentially about acknowledging that all events in life are connected-a philosophy that can certainly be applied to events in Tom Bergeron's captivating life. Overall, Tom Bergeron's memoir is both highly entertaining and inspirational-a story that anyone can relate to, regardless of demographic, and one I would highly recommend at least for a good laugh.
Anonymous 9 months ago
Loved+it%21++What+a+zany+career.++I+had+no+idea%21
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My favorite host on the air today!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read and as I learned...a great human being!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
oyster_vineyard More than 1 year ago
I definitely recommend this book for anyone who is thinking about branching into a career in media whether it be radio or television o(but of course, it'd be most applicable if it were television). Tom is a hilarious author, he doesn't censor what he truly felt and what went on in his head when he reflects unpleasant anecdotes about himself or others. I find this to be the most attractive feature in his autobiography because he doesn't care how people will judge him but that he was purely being truthful when writing this memoir. So instead of having a priority of "would people think badly of me if I wrote this?" he was probably thinking "heck, this is my book, I'm going to write whatever I want!" Tom gives a good overall reflection (with some boring details) (sorry Tom!) of how he became a talk show host and the obstacles he went through to be where he is now. He does it in a very optimistic and hilarious way! He also describes how he manages (a.k.a. negotiates with TV networks) his family and his work life since he lives on the East Coast but has to work on the West Coast. I wouldn't say that this is a good random book to read but you'd definitely enjoy it if you are already a fan of Tom and/or you want to know what it is like to be in television media, particularly the show hosting sector. And if you do find yourself enjoying it, you can also follow Tom on Twitter to get more glimpse of his life (gosh I should be his PR)!
M_L_Gooch_SPHR More than 1 year ago
As a Bergeron fan, my wife bought me this book for Christmas. It is a very humorous look at Tom's life and the Laws of Attraction. If ever there was a man that could point to this philosophy in his life, it is Tom. Why am I a fan of this man? He is cool under pressure, glib at times and sarcastic when the moment is right. And all of this is pulled off in a very natural, unforced way. You certainly don't get the impression of scripted, over-practiced babble. According to the book, he loves live television and prefers the NOW aspect of performance. Live Television? That takes guts aplenty. From the critical side, Tom states that he started off life with a bad temper. Maybe so, but the few instances he details in this tome sound pretty tame to me. If this is a bad temper, then me and everyone I know are more akin to Attila the Hun. That is to say, it is not too difficult to repair something that really isn't broken but only needs a light oiling. Maybe I missed the message or Tom left out some of the more brutal details. More disappointing is the lack of detail behind "why" he got into Zen. I would like to know the beginnings of this journey and why this practice is superior to others. In the excellent book Sacred Hoops: Spiritual Lessons of a Hardwood Warrior, Phil Jackson delves into this area providing enough insight to satisfy. Tom does not. Some reviews stated the book was ego-maniacal. I disagree. Others stated that they wanted more "dirt" (for lack of a better word). I didn't expect any as Tom is still gainfully employed and I suspect would like to remain in this state. Still other reviewers stated the book skipped around too much. Well...this is personal taste. I rather enjoyed the editing. Overall, I really like the book and will recommend it to others. I hope you find this opinion helpful. Michael L. Gooch Author of Wingtips with Spurs
powermomCA More than 1 year ago
If you are looking to learn more about Tom, and hear it in his own voice, this is for you. It is also great for long time fans, to remind you of why you became a fan, and take you back to the earlier days. (anyone remember Breakfast Time?) Good life lessons, lightly given, while telling his own story. He is sans ego, and does not spare himself in his close look at how life in the limelight can work. This sounds like him, and is funny like he is. It also is insightful, so escapes being fluff by a long shot. I read it and gave it to the family. Enjoyable for all ages.
Minime More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this book! It was entertaining plus honest without being trashy. Made me want to look more into meditation. Loved the respect he shows his family. Will look forward to seeing more of him on TV.
binderCE More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! If you like him on Dancing with the Stars and AFV you will enjoy this book. Just a very nice story, the whole family would enjoy. Funny!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago