In a Dark, Dark Wood

In a Dark, Dark Wood

by Ruth Ware

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reissue)

$8.99 $9.99 Save 10% Current price is $8.99, Original price is $9.99. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, July 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

In a Dark, Dark Wood 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 139 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a very good dark psychological thriller. I really did enjoy reading it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a quick read. Grabbed me from the first page and never let go!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not sure how I feel about this book. It kept me reading, but isn't one of those books that has you reflecting back on it at the times you can't be reading it. I guess I just didn't feel invested in the characters, there was not a lot of development or depth to them. The storyline was a good one, but just didn't feel the book brought it to the life it could have.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really great read. Good language and great characters
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Based upon reviews was expecting a gripping read. Disappointing in that regard. Had to get half way through book before anything really happens. There was a anticipation set but the outcome was fairly predictable. Book overall fell short of both expectations and promise.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A 1... could not put it down. Twisted and turned.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a pretty good read, it was a little predictable but not until close to the end. I would definitely say you should give it a shot. I read it in one sitting so its an easy read that will hold your attention
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Perfect choice for our beach vacation. Couldn't put it down. Interesting characters and some twists I never saw coming. Also learned what a hen party was!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was a simple read but came across like it was written by a 15 yr old who needed to throw in some language and adult senarios to try to validate it.... ok for $3.00 but not worth $ 12.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read straight through and it kept my interest till the end. The worst about the book are the characters. I find it unrealistic that people in their mid to late 20s would behave like such dramatic sensitive children.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Definitely a page turner. It was hard for me to predict the end, which I love to find in reading stories. I sort of wish there was more closure in the end. I would disclose more of what I mean by this but don't want to give all the good details away.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Interesting story. Boring at times.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Super slow...... action in like one chapter.... not worth the money
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Contrived plot with a cast of unappealing and unbelievable characters. Just plain silly.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was a great read, didn't want to put the boom down. Can't wait to see the movie!
Book_and_recipe_Examiner More than 1 year ago
In a Dark, Dark Wood is a large house with glass walls, host to a “hen party” weekend that ends with Leonora Shaw in a hospital room. Narrated from her hospital room, Nora tries to piece together her memories and heal from the injuries of the last violent night in the isolated cabin. Nora hadn’t spoken to her former best friend Clare in ten years, since she had escaped her college town and the boy with whom she shared a dreadful secret. Not realizing it was this man, James, to whom Clare was engaged, Nora decided to attend the party weekend with her friend Nina as backup in case things became awkward around people she didn’t know for a whole weekend. However, Clare’s slightly unbalanced maid of honor, Flo, is obsessed with the bride and a favor done for her a long time ago. Flo is determined that this be a perfect, fun weekend for Clare, at any cost. For a themed recipe of White Chocolate Raspberry Jam Cupcakes with Raspberry Jam Frosting, similar recommended readings, and discussion questions, visit: http://hub.me/ak84f
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Such a great debut novel...reminds me so much of Girl on the Train! Must read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hard to put down. Read 2 of her books in 4 days.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book all the way to the end hoping that there would be some turn of event(s) that would derail its predictability. However, I was disappointed. I was able to see right through to the ending when the climax occurred. I'm no author myself, though, so, until I can do better myself, I'll just say that it wasn't terrible but it wasn't good, either.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great grabbing interest first 150 pages then goes to crap
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Overall I enjoyed this book. There was a good twist or two and it held my interest. The only downfall was a lack of character development. I never really felt a connection with the main character.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book will keep you guessing. What is the best thing about this book is that it does not have a long introduction into the plot
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I got hooked right away on the book; however, about midway through it, I could pretty much guess everything else that was going to happen. Way too predictable to make it truly a thriller. Interesting premise but just fizzled out. The author's writing is enjoyable but play up some different angles or at least make your next book not so predictable please.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book 2 days. I never make that kind of time for myself, it was fantastic. I thought I solved the mystery, thought I'd figured it out and then surprise! I'm looking forward to Ruth Wares second book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great travel read. It kept my attention throughout. There were so many suspects, it was fun to try to figure out the guilty one. In the end I was still surprised.