IN Defiance (An Ivy Nash Thriller, Book 1)

IN Defiance (An Ivy Nash Thriller, Book 1)

by John W. Mefford

Paperback

$12.99
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, June 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

IN Defiance (An Ivy Nash Thriller, Book 1) 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 27 reviews.
MKPMRP More than 1 year ago
This was a very interesting and good read. Foster girl turned CPS worker who ends in the middle of a child murder conspiracy along with being hunted by an unknown predator. With help from her friend and the local police we are taken with Ivy on a whirl wind story.
AngelaMc1 More than 1 year ago
I love a good thriller book. John W Mefford always delivers a great read and this was no different. I finished another series of his not too long ago and am excited I get to read to this one as well. Ivy Nash is not your average child protective services worker. She has a background that was hard to read about but makes her so much better at her job. She is a perfect heroine for this series and I really connected with her. I as dragged into the book and did not want to stop reading. It starts out with action and does not slow down. This made it fun and fast read for me. The mystery Ivy has to solve is interesting and I really wanted to keep reading to see what would happen next. I loved the book!
LadyStephM More than 1 year ago
Ivy Nash is the heroine of this new series by John W Mefford. The beginning of Ivy's path and passion to help children is hard to receive, but necessary to understand where she is coming from. Working in Child Protective Services comes with it's own challenges and rewards at times, but add Nash's background and passion to help, makes each case personal; maybe even too personal. This is another Mefford series that I cannot wait to unfold, delving into the history and driving force of Ivy Nash. *An advance copy of this book was provided to me for review purposes only*
lifeasleels More than 1 year ago
IN Defiance starts right away with (triggering) action and does not slow down. I was gripped from the beginning to see what would happen and I hated putting the book down. (I fell asleep more than once with the book in my hands!) The book starts with a quick peek into Ivy’s childhood and goes into a situation with one of her foster kids. I love a good ‘puzzle’ and that was definitely what this was. While no one wants to think a kid did something wrong – like murder – sometimes evidence says otherwise. But when a child has a messed up childhood; psychology takes over. There are a lot of shady characters and a lot of psychology. Plus there is Ivy’s background and a couple other seedy situations that left me turning pages. I loved this book and cannot wait to read more in the Ivy Nash series. I have always been a fan of John Mefford’s writing and I think he’s getting better!
Silvie_MySillyLittleGang More than 1 year ago
There hasn’t been a John W Mefford book I haven’t liked, and this was not the exception. Thanks to the Alex Troutt Thriller Series I had very high expectations for this book. All I can say is that John W Mefford did not dissapoint! I was hooked into the story from the very first page! I love that this book had me guessing from the start and left me wanting more! I am super excited that this is the first book in this series! I can’t wait to read the next one. This is a definite must read and I absolutely recommend it for suspense / thriller book lovers.
Humber More than 1 year ago
I have become a huge fan of John W Mefford. His writing style is simply fascinating. He has a knack for keeping you in suspense and wanting to read more of his work. In this novel Ivy Nash is a compassionate and determined Special Investigator for Child Protective Services. She advocates for these kids because she herself had been in foster care as a kid. When a 10 year old child admits to killing his foster brother, Ivy does not believe it. Her gut instinct tells her something is amiss with this case. As Ivy and her partner dig deeper into the foster family, they are left with more questions. Their persistence in solving this crime will keep you intrigued as you read the novel. Amazing thriller! I highly recommend the novels by John W Mefford.
EbethTowns More than 1 year ago
Ivy Nash is everything I enjoy in a female anti-heroine - she's smart, tough, beautiful but not pretentious, and dogged. IN Defiance, Nash's tough as nails but compassionate personality drives her to pursue the hidden mystery behind one young boys confession of a crime that holds the key to so much more. Nash is a child protective services agent who gets very involved with the kids she helps, having been one of those kids growing up. She see's the good in each child, no matter what the circumstances dictate. Miguel is one of those kids, and he's just confessed to killing another child in the same house with his father, who committed suicide after murdering Miguel's mother in another location. Nash knows there is more to this confession and to this story than meets the eye and is determined, with the help of her detective friend, Stan; newly acquired friend, Cristina, and long time friend Z, to save Miguel from a life time in jail. Only doing so is putting her own life in danger. The supporting characters have their own complexities, and will keep you guessing about their intentions or place in Nash's life at some points in the narrative. You have to really pay attention, because this book will have you on the edge of your seat, questioning what Nash should do next and trying to help her make choices! Well developed story line, great characters, and mystery and intrigue keep IN Defiance moving until the very end. **I received this book through Beck Valley Books in exchange for an honest review.
ebookaddictsuk More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved the Alex Troutt series so I could not wait to get started with this new series from John. IN Defiance brings us a new strong female lead in the form of Ivy Nash - she has had an awful upbringing being pushed from pillar to post from one foster home to another , 17 to be exact and now she is a special investigator for Child Protective Services, so she knows all to well what the kids are going through. When she is called in to help with a hostage situation that goes wrong and only the 10 year old boy knows what really happened she will do anything and everything in her power to protect him and prove her hunch was right. With the help of her detective friend Sam, what they uncover is a web full of lies, deceit and abuse that brings up woulds her past to the surface along with some unwanted attention. There are several story lines in this one that mingle together and make for a very fast paced read and an unexpected friendship between her and a 17 year old "street" kid named Christine that I can see being a major part of Ivy's life through the next few books. There are moments towards the end of the book that had me on the edge of my seat and demanding answers, which I hope we get in the next book! This first book is absolutely brilliant and I can only imagine what is in store next for Ivy with an ending like that! I received this book through Beck Valley Books Book Tours, I have volunteered to share my review and all the opinions are 100% my own.
TracyHelpsYou More than 1 year ago
John Mefford has done it again! If you liked the Alex Trout series, you will probably love his new book (1st in a new series) about Ivy Nash. I know I sure did. Mr. Mefford is a talented author that always does a great job of building his characters, and this time is no different. We are introduced to Ivy during her horrific childhood being shuffled from one bad, abusive foster home to the next. We learn that she survived her traumatic childhood, attended college and now works with the Child Protective Services office in San Antonio, TX. She has dedicated her life to trying to help children in a way that no social worker had ever helped her. I won’t give away any spoilers, but I will say that it is an action-packed thriller from beginning to end. The author’s story telling skills have you riding an emotional roller coaster full of twists and turns, as well as, ups and downs. If you like reading thrillers, read this book. If you like reading series, read this book. If you like reading stories with strong, inspiring women as the main character, read this book. As you have probably guessed by now, I loved this book and highly recommend it :) 5 STARS and 2 Thumbs Up … I can’t wait to read the next book in this series
hbrown83 More than 1 year ago
I received this book through Beck Valley Books Book, I have volunteered to share my review and all the opinions are 100% my own. What I love most about this new series is that Ivy is a system kid. I grew up with friends from foster homes and so many think that they can not amount to anything, but here is a role model for all of them, yes she is fictional, and yes this is not a book for kids, but I have and will continue to recommend it to older teens and young adults. On to the book! I really enjoyed the twist and turns in this book. It’s a escape from reality that makes you think, makes you wonder and completely proves you wrong. I really enjoyed learning a bit about Ivy and her past. I love how John Mefford develops his characters, he makes them seem so real and that makes for an amazing story! I really recommend this book to anyone who loves a good thriller. I am really looking forward to the next book!
ElusiveRedTiger More than 1 year ago
I have read one book by this author previously and enjoyed it. It was part of the Alex Troutt Series. I loved the opportunity to be able to follow this section of the series from the beginning, and I also loved having the main character be a female. I love the way that Mefford writes, seamlessly jumping between characters and time frames with no confusion, and he is extremely descriptive of the setting . You almost feel like you are watching a movie instead of reading a book! For those that might be sensitive, be aware that there is some violence and language in this book. It fits the story and isn't overdone, but as I realize some people do have issues with this, I wanted to let you know. According to the author, he will eventually wrap the story lines of the series' together in some way, but you definitely do not have to have read any of the Troutt books to understand this book. As far as I can tell, there is no overlap...yet. Grabbing your attention from the first page, Mefford takes you on a wild ride of suspense through the entire story. You will not want to put it down and you will be anxiously awaiting the next book.
Aiesa More than 1 year ago
Ivy grew up in foster homes. For this reason, she is one to lend a hand to others not only in the system, but also on the street. Working as a CPS Investigator, Ivy must discover the truth when one of the young children she is supervising is accused of a horrible crime. She is determined to get to the bottom of this... even with some threats sent her way. Another spectacular set of characters to get to know in Mefford's new series. I will be reading the next in this thrilling saga.
dewer421 More than 1 year ago
I've read a lot of police fiction in my life, but this may be my first Child Protective Services book, and I love it! Ivy Nash had an extremely rough childhood, bouncing around in the system. Now that she's an adult she's made helping children her priority. More of a priority than her personal life or her mental health. When one of her clients gets in trouble with the law Ivy won't stop until she gets to the bottom of it. But by doing so she'll drag up her own history and problems, and can she help a child when she's drowning in her own troubles? This is the first in the Ivy Nash Thrillers, and I can't wait for the rest! I received this book through Beck Valley Books Book Tours, I have volunteered to share my review and all the opinions are 100% my own.
A_Gluten_Free_Mom More than 1 year ago
Ivy Nash is not a girl to mess with. She overcame a very difficult childhood, bouncing around from one horrible foster home to another. Ivy doesn't let that ruin her life, in fact, she turns it all around and begins working for CPS. Who would have thought that a former foster child with only negative experiences would work for CPS. I don't know if I could be that strong. Ivy fights the good fight thought this new series from John W. Mefford. Mefford has a knack for writing characters that make you want to reach out and hug them, tell them that everything will be okay. Ivy is no different. From the get go, Ivy instills that feeling in you. I love how there are multiple story lines expertly woven throughout the novel. It makes it so that the main story line is wrapped up at the end of the novel, but it also sets it up so that you are anxiously awaiting the next installment.
EllenChristian More than 1 year ago
I received a copy of this book but was not required to review it. Ivy Nash was abused as a child and was in a series of different foster homes. How, as an adult, she works with Child Protective Services to help children. Because of her past, she dedicates herself to helping children even if she has to cut a few corners to do that. This puts her at odds with other people that she works with who prefer to play by the rules. One of the children she’s trying to help ends up being charged with killing another child. She refuses to believe that the child she knows is responsible for this murder and refuses to stop trying to figure out what really happened. This is another amazing book by John Mefford. I really enjoyed the story and could not put it down until I figured out what really happened. This is book #2 in the series but you won’t have a problem reading this as a stand alone book. I’d definitely recommend reading them all though because it’s a really amazing series!
BookMomto6 More than 1 year ago
I have become a huge fan of John Mefford's writings. I was enthralled with the Alex Troutt series. Ivy Nash does not disappoint. I was a bit thrown with some of the violence in this book but still really enjoyed reading it. Ivy Nash is a product of the social services system. She knows the ups and downs and ins and outs of the system that she now, as an adult, works in. How she puts it all on the line for her job is amazing to me. She is a strong, female character and I love strong, female characters. Ivy fights for the kids in her care. She wants them to be happy and healthy and with their own families if possible. She knows that the system can be a problem at times. Her interest in Miguel is amazing, even though she is just an investigator and not an actual social worker. I highly recommend picking up IN Defiance as Mefford is starting weaving a tale that will take several books to finish. I received this book through Beck Valley Books Book Tours, I have volunteered to share my review and all the opinions are 100% my own.
MikiHope More than 1 year ago
This is a page turner--you won't be able to stop reading wanting to know how this all turns out. This is the first in a new series by John W Mefford who never fails to please. Ivy bears the scars of abuse or neglect from more foster homes then she cares to remember. The last was the absolute worst and she manages to escape. She has over come her past and holds a job helping other children in the foster care system. But deep inside she still has not really really let go of her past. Then the present becomes the past as Ivy tries to help a 10 year old. She also comes cross a girl very similar to her who is currently living on the streets. Although this can be tough reading know that the ending has more then a shimmer of hope and a portend of what the author has in mind for the next book in this series. I hope it comes out soon!!
JulieGB More than 1 year ago
Ivy Nash worked for the child protection services, and was known for going beyond her job duties to be a voice for the children who have no one else looking out for therm. When a hostage situation involving her case turns deadly, she becomes personally liable. But all she can think about is what went wrong, and how could she have prevented it. Things aren’t exactly as they seem, and it’s up to Ivy to figure it out, at all costs. This was a great beginning to the series. Ivy Nash is going to be an awesome character, from what I can see. In fact, all the surrounding characters are also assets for future story lines. John Mefford continues to spew forth complicated characters with such interesting backgrounds and each plot can’t help but draw you in, and leave you wanting more.
theresjonesie More than 1 year ago
Ivy Nash is a counselor with Child Protective Services. One who knows first hand what the foster care system is like. She was a foster child and was in seventeen different foster homes before she ran away. She knows all about the abuse that happens in many of these homes. Having escaped the abuse of her last foster home, after her foster father fell from the attic door and died while chasing after her. She ran away and grew up. she put herself through college so she could advocate for those in the foster system. She has vowed to make a difference in the lives of foster kids and to be the person that she wishes she had had while in foster care herself. A hostage situation involving one of her "kids" goes terribly wrong and he is accused of killing his foster brother. Even though the 10 year old Miguel has admitted to committing the crime, Ivy doesn't believe it. Something in her gut tells her things are not as they seem. She and Stan her police officer partner work the case to figure out the truth. Who really killed the boy and why? As they dig deeper into the lives of the foster family, things just don't add up. Enlisting the help of her best friend Z and a streetwise 17 year old named Cristina, they slowly reveal the dark underside of the seemingly perfect foster family. As they get closer to the truth, someone begins to threaten Ivy. Who is it and why are they threatening her? This was a fast-paced thriller. One that was un-put-downable. I wanted to read this all in one go, but alas work and real life interfered. All the characters within this book were interesting and well-formed. I found Ivy a fascinating character, fierce and strong when fighting for the rights of her "kids" and vulnerable and broken in many ways also. Her best friend Z is the type of person anyone would cherish as a friend. No nonsense, she tells Ivy like it is, even when Ivy doesn't want to hear it. Stan, the gruff and hardened San Antonio detective with a heart of gold. And last but definitely not least, is Cristina. A streetwise teen with grit and gumption. The kind of person that won't take any guff from anyone. She knows her way around the underbelly of society, where the street kids and drug dealers are found. And can get information that no one else can get. The author kept me guessing right up to the end. And he left me wanting to get to know these fascinating characters even better. Thankfully this is just the first in a series. I received this book free from the author or publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.
Stacey06 More than 1 year ago
A thriller that will keep you hooked till the last page. John Medford has done it yet again wrote a fantastic thriller. I have grown to love his stories. They really grab my attention. The story line is really intense and keeps me wanting to read more. Great characters and a lot of great mystery, and action. I am looking forward to reading book 2 .
JessicaCali More than 1 year ago
This is definitely NOT my first book that I have read by John W. Mefford and I will say it won't be the last. I am so excited to read the next book in the Ivy Nash series! I really really enjoyed this book. The suspense in this book kept me going, I wanted to know who the killer was, who the kidnapper was and I enjoyed finding out exactly what Ivy thought! Being an ex-foster child, Ivy enjoyed her job as a CPS person. She had a gut feeling that the wrong person had been charged with the murder of a 10 year old little boy. Was she right or wrong? We don't find out until the end of the book, but let me tell you, it is so worth the read. I really enjoyed this book (yeah yeah... I've said that before) and I can't wait until the next book! This book made me want to be a foster parent, just so I can make a difference, a good difference, in children's lives! I know there are good ones out there, and I would want to be yet another good foster parent, and not like the ones portrayed in this book. One thing I wish would have been different, I wish we would have found out who the kidnapper was. But maybe that will come out in the next book!
LynchburgMama More than 1 year ago
After the Alex Troutt series, I couldn't wait to get my hands on Ivy Nash's story! The focus of the story is placed on foster care and after being in and out of 17 homes herself, Ivy is headstrong about fighting for the children. Mefford wrote her character with depth and you can feel her passion for her job throughout the entire book. Unfortunately, what is Ivy's strength is also the very thing that makes her weak. When the police want to make a violent hostage situation disappear, she's forced to open up wounds that never fully healed. In the midst of the investigation, the facts of the case become quite messy. I felt the pain of how easily a child slips through the cracks in foster care. Ivy makes a new friend, Cristina, who helps open doors to solving the crime. Looking forward, I can see a heart-wrenching moments for this pair and their journey with a broken system. I received this book through Beck Valley Books Book Tours, I have volunteered to share my review and all the opinions are 100% my own.
Liliyana More than 1 year ago
An excellently written novel that will have you cheering Ivy on as she navigates the twists and tangles of her life, the system, and the mystery thrust in front of her. A heroine I would love to meet in real life, Ivy is full of heart, grit, and determination. Ivy is inspiring and relatable, and I was sad to say goodbye to her when I finally reached the end of the book. Received for review
catwoman1a More than 1 year ago
John M. Mefford never fails to amaze me. This is a gripping thriller that you cannot put down. Ivy Nash is an engaging character in a difficult situation. A wonderful new character you can count on to keep you engaged. Another wonderful character brought forth by John W. Mefford. His writing style makes it easy for your to read, but really difficult for you to put down.
Brencz More than 1 year ago
This has to be one of the best books I’ve read! Author John W. Mefford out did himself with a start of a new series that is sure to keep your attention. I couldn’t put the book down! I’ve read many of Mefford’s book but I really have to say this is his best work. This new series is about Ivy Nash, a product of the foster system. When becomes an adult she works in the system. Her heart is only for the children. When there is a hostage situation with a foster family, Ivy is there to help out. But she may not have done the right thing and the young foster child eventually gets charged with manslaughter. Ivy knows he didn’t do and sets out to find out who did it. Meanwhile, someone is after Ivy and she can’t figure out who but she ends up in a horrible situation as well. The story has many twists and turns and the characters are all well developed. This is a book well worth reading along with Mefford’s other books. I can’t wait to read the second book in this series. I was provided a copy of this book by the publisher for review purposes.