Invincible Summer

Invincible Summer

by Hannah Moskowitz

Paperback

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, May 29

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Invincible Summer 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 30 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a great book. It wasnt at all what i wa expecting but it was better. I was thinking thisbuld be a light summer read. It was not. But it was still a beautiful heartbreaking story. Anybody who says differently was clearly not ready to read this book maturity wise. If you're looking for a care free easy funny smmer read,this is not the book or you. But if you want a great book that gets you thinking while still 100% enjoying it,this is the one for you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best summer setting books that I have ever read. Chase the main character knows that every year on his birthday he gets to spend his birthday at the beach with his family and Bella and Melindia. It is a very fun story that tell a realtionship with two brothers and the girl that they both like. It goes through many years of their lives. You see how their lives and their family lives change. I really enjoyed reading this book beacuse it is a nice read about summer.
jessicatudor More than 1 year ago
Disclaimer: I got the ARC of this through Simon and Schuster's Galley Grab. And Hannah Moskowitz and I are good friends. However, I don't care who wrote this book, it's that good and you should check it out. The cover is misleading!! It's not a breezy, beach read. This book is about family. And Camus. A book with so much Camus in it should not have a bikini on the cover, that's all I'm saying. You know how some books just resonate with you in the very deepest part of you and you have moments where all you can say is yes? There were moments like that. Hannah gets it. She really does. This book is raw and real and you should read it because it means something. I don't have enough words to express how much I loved this book. Only that's not even true - there are no words. I have none left. It's that good. So many passages cut through the ambivalence of life and shine a light on everything around it. I loved Chase, our narrator. He's honest. He's got a good sense of humor. And he cares. A lot. I don't know what else to say about it except to flail around going, "I LOVE THIS BOOK IT'S SO GOOD." Okay? I choked up. I shivered. I laughed. I cannot say enough about this book. You have to trust me. All I can do is keep flailing until you check out the book. I have no more words other than YES, remember? This book is so insightful into families and relationships and humanity, and ugggh, please read it. I'll leave you with this: Camus wrote, "Nobody realizes that some people expend tremendous energy merely to be normal." Hannah shows us the cost.
tarawriter on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I'll say off the bat that this is might not be a book for everyone. Some could find the endless Camus quoting to be a bit pretentious. I can see that, but I remember what it was like to be a teenager and to be passionate to the point of irritating about my interests, so for me, this shows authenticity of character. I also felt that the 'some girls are addictive' line from the synopsis to be a bit misleading. If you pick up this book looking for a beach side romance, well, that's not what you're going to get. Not to knock romance novels, but this book is so much more than that.Each summer Chase and his family face a crisis, and the strain begins to show on the family. I think this book is about a family in crisis, with a small part of the story being about an addictive, troubled young woman (Melinda) and how she affects Chase and his brother Noah. Chase is almost obsessed with his older brother, and I can see why. Noah is a bit of enigma. I only have one sister, and when she hit her upper teens, she became a bit of an enigma herself, and she remains so to this day. I understand what it's like to be in Chase's shoes. Why doesn't your sibling want to be part of the family? Why do they want to run away? It's frustrating and heartbreaking at the same time.I could go on and on about what I loved about this book, but I'll end by saying that Invincible Summer really is the best sort of book. It's not always easy to read, and sometimes you want to smack the sh@! out of the characters, but at the same time you care so much you can't help but want what's best for them. Invincible Summer is one my favorite reads of the year so far.
meags222 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I received this book from Simon & Schuster Galley Grab and I was pretty excited to read it. First of all, I really like the cover of this book for some reason. That being said, I think the cover of the book really threw me for a loop when I started reading this book. For some reason, I had it in my head that this book would be narrated by a female so when the narrator ended up being male I was surprised. It's not often that I read books narrated by a male but I really liked this one. I come from a big family; I have 5 younger siblings. I really liked that the McGill family had 5 children in it. There is Chase, the narrator, Noah who runs away every chance he gets, Gideon is the deaf younger brother, Claudia the younger sister trying to be grown up but really still a kid, and Lucy the baby of the family. Every year the McGill family spends the summer at their beach house and meets up with Hathaway family. This novel spans over several years but the story only ever progresses in the summer. I thought this novel would be a light beach read but I was definitely mistaken. Moskowitz does a good job at keeping the reader entertained and interested in what is going to happen next. There is a love triangle as well between Chase, Noah and one of the Hathaway girls. This triangle gets a bit strange and at times I questioned whether brothers would really act this way. When it comes to the reality factor, I have to say I think Moskowitz portrayed a real family with real problems quite well. I know that some readers may question the parenting skills of the McGill parents but coming from a large family I know that it is impossible to keep an eye on all your children at the same time. It can get chaotic and you just learn to live with this busyness. I have to say that the ending blew me away. I do not want to spoil it for anyone but I will say that I was not expecting any of that to happen. I left the book feeling a bit sad and I wanted to read more about the McGill and Hathaway family. Overall I really enjoyed this book and I would definitely recommend it to anyone.
C.Ibarra on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Chase is excited to begin another summer at the family beach house. Knowing his older brother will leave soon for college, he is hoping for a summer of fun times with Noah. The neighbors who they always hang with have also returned, but things seem to be shifting as the children get older. Invincible Summer follows Chase¿s life over the course of four summers as things begin to take dramatic turns in many directions. I would love to elaborate on this, but I can¿t find the words. This book has so many layers, and I don¿t think it is possible to give it a blurb or synopsis that truly does it justice.At first I thought this was just another story of kids raising themselves while the parents let the dysfunction fester. Parents who probably should have stopped procreating several children ago. Mom is pregnant, youngest brother is deaf, tween sister is seriously acting out, and older brother keeps his distance. This leaves narrator Chase to hold their world together. Chase¿s idolization of his older brother crosses the boundaries of normal. The interactions between him and his little sister also erred on the side of strange. The bizarre sibling relationships made me feel almost uncomfortable at times. Even with the strange family dynamics, I couldn't help but be utterly pulled in by this author's writing, the world, and the characters she created. I was frantically turning the pages to discover what happened to this family that was falling apart before my eyes.The ending killed. Literally ripped my heart out and stomped on it. This is a book that leaves an impression. It isn¿t the light beach read the cover leads you to believe exists between the pages. The plot is gritty and uninhibited. I¿d use caution when recommending it to younger teens due to the sexual situations and language. If you¿re looking for an intense contemporary read give this one a try.
Bookswithbite on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
When I first got this book, I was expecting a good summer romance. It was nothing like that. What I got, was even better! This book is told from Chase's point of view in all the summers of his teen years. I like that. As an avid reader, you really don't get to read many books from a male pov, so I was excited to do so. I have never seen summer so dramatic (in a good way!). What I like most about this book is the dynamic plot it has. Yes, dynamic. It's explosive, the bomb diggity, da bomb! I was completely torn to bits by all the happenings in the plot. Chase and his family goes through a lot through out the summers.One thing about this book is that it is not some lovey, dovey summer story. It has great raw emotions just flowing off the pages of the book. I felt angry, happy, sad, and even jealousy. You get see inside of the family and all of their problems. What's more, is that you see the family stick through it all together. They may have had their problems and share of mistakes, but they make it through.I adored Chase. His strength and amazing selflessness in all that he does, made my heart melt. He was used, mistreated, and acted too mature for a kid who is supposed to be a teenager. He took care of his siblings as if they were his own. He took great responsibility for things he didn't have too. Yet, he remained strong. I am amazed.Invincible Summer is great, powerful, emotional read that has stolen my heart. The development of all the characters throughout the plot is clear. Chase's voice is easy to hear and feel. Ms. Moskowitz did a wonderfully job writing this book. I can't wait to read what she write next!
booktwirps on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Summers at the beach are everything to Chase. Every summer he and his family pack up and head to the beach where they meet up with the Hathaway¿s. This is how it¿s always been and how he imagines it always should be. Life at the beach is perfect.When the book begins, Chase is about to turn fifteen, and he¿s doing his best to keep his family together. Older brother Noah is flighty, moody, and runs off every chance he gets. Younger sister, Claudia, is eleven and already a handful. His youngest brother, Gideon, is totally deaf, and his mother is pregnant with her fifth child, due any day now.This is the summer he shares his first kiss with Bella Hathaway. It¿s supposed to be like this. He is supposed to end up with Bella, Noah with Meredith and Claudia with Shannon (the Hathaway siblings). That way, they¿ll always be together. This is also the summer that Meredith introduces he and Noah to the works of Camus, and they become completely obsessed, frequently quoting him.The next summer things are changing, and Chase is still doing his best to keep his family together. His parents are fighting a lot more now, Noah is even more moody, and Claudia is out of control. To make matters worse, Chase is thinking about sex a lot. It consumes him. During one of Noah¿s disappearing acts, Chase hooks up with Melinda. This is the summer when everything changes and Chase finds himself trying to adjust to how different his summers are going to be from now on.This is a book that I couldn¿t stop thinking about. The story spans four summers, and with each turn of the page the reader is totally sucked in to everything Chase is feeling: His happiness, his angst and his heartache. I felt like I was his friend and I was going on this journey with him. This is a book that everyone should pick up and take with them to the beach this summer.My biggest problem with the book is the cover. I don¿t feel that the bikini clad body does it justice. It kind of gives the wrong impression, because what is inside the cover is a beautifully written, coming of age story that is about so much more than bikinis.
LauraMoore on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Such a great read! I didn't know what to expect and at first I wasn't so sure but I grew to love the characters and the story behind it. I was significantly confused in the beginning with all the different characters and for a few pages thought Gideon was the family dog lol don't know how I got that but still. If you think your going to just get a light fluffy read out of this book you're in for a suprise. While parts of this book are laugh out loud funny, there are also some difficult issues and things that will pull on your heart strings. I absolutely feel in love with both the McGill and Hathaway families and the only character I didn't like was the infamous Melinda and I constantly wanted to yell at her tO close her legs but even she was bar able due to her unfortunate situation in college. I definitely need to read more from Hannah moskowitzs.
allureofbooks on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
When I was asked to be a part of this book's blog tour, I was really excited! I'd seen a lot of reviews - both good and bad, that made me very curious about the story. I started reading the book expecting to immediately be caught up into Noah's story.Unfortunately, I was not. In fact, I kept putting it down and forcing myself to try getting into it again...but it never worked out for me. I just couldn't find anything appealing about the characters or their story. Nothing about it falls within my realm of experience, and I couldn't really find anything about any of the characters to make me feel invested in them. All the characters were diverse and complex, which would normally be a very good thing - but I just never found connections to them. I know this isn't the case for everyone, because there are a lot of positive reviews out there! I don't want to go into specific plot details since I don't have anything positive to say. If you pick the book up, I want you to make up your own mind without my ideas about certain particulars floating around in your head.One thing I can say is that the writing style itself was good. Hannah Moskowitz has a really insightful way of writing...I really wish I could have appreciated it more with characters I wanted to read about!Anyway, this was just not a book for me.
KevinTC on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
¿Gideon keeps falling down.¿Within the opening line of Invincible Summer, is a hint of what will follow as the story of the McGill family unfolds. And who better to tell their story than Chase McGill. Chase, the self-appointed oldest brother (who is chronologically the second oldest), narrates this family saga over four summers as he struggles to keep it together and keep making sense of a dynamic that is sometimes impossible to make sense of¿the modern family.The thing that really touched me on a visceral level about this story was the relationship between Chase and his older brother, Noah. Noah is a wanderer, a bit of a lost soul perhaps. Chase so desires to keep Noah within the family fold that it¿s sometimes the only thing on his mind. But when the brothers are together, that¿s the real magic of this book. The two are so touching together, so achingly close and intimate. As someone who grew up with three brothers, this bond that Moskowitz has somehow perfectly captured resonated so loudly for me it became the whole focal point of the story. Whatever happens between these two boys, the love they feel for one another is so solid¿so breathlessly there¿that it leaves you aching within its pulse.But as beautifully written as their relationship is, it is not entirely the focus of Invincible Summer. As the opening line alludes, this could in fact be considered a story of falling. We meet up with the McGills every summer for four years. The first summer, we meet the boys, their parents, their younger sister Claudia and deaf brother Gideon. And we also meet the Hathaway family that the McGills intimately share their summers with. There is Shannon, Bella, Melinda and their parents.There is a reason I listed all the characters here. In the first few pages of Invincible Summer, as a reader, I thought I was going to have a hard time keeping track of this rather large cast. My fears were quickly alleviated, though, as I got deeper into the McGills¿ saga. Each character was so well drawn there was never any question about who was who. Moskowitz did a wonderful job making each one unique and memorable.There is another character in Invincible Summer worth mentioning. Albert Camus. He plays as big a role as some of the other characters. Moskowitz weaves beautiful Camus quotes throughout her story, as the boys become almost obsessed with his views and opinions of the world. After their introduction to him through Melinda, who has sex with both Chase and Noah, they are able to spout off Camus quotes for every event in their lives. This was done perfectly by Moskowitz, someone who clearly knows her Camus. It was such a delight to see the chosen quotes co-mingling with the story Moskowitz so expertly wove.I¿m not going to go too far into the story of Invincible Summer. I feel to give details would be to give away too much. I¿ll just say that there is always something happening. In the first summer, we see Chase and his clan deal with a new addition, the tie breaker baby sister who throws off the balance of blond and brunet in the McGill household. In the second summer we see a rift in the family that has them fracturing in such a unique way it¿s as tickling as it is tragic. The pivotal moments in Invincible Summer seem to occur in and around Chase¿s yearly summer birthday, a fact not lost on our narrator. Each summer, there are issues for the family to deal with. And as the reader sees them arrive and erupt on the page, we are filled with nostalgia, angst, regret and pain. We laugh with the McGills and we cry with the McGills.This book is one I will return to again and again. It¿s an expertly woven tale of family dynamics, teen relationships and childhood summers. Every reader will connect to these memorable characters. Every reader will recall their own childhood summers as they dive deeper into this book¿ and how they felt both sickeningly vulnerable and powerfully invincible all at once as they struggled through those summers. And if they ha
jacindahinten on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I absolutely, positutely (yep, not a word) LOVE main characters in books who are male. Maybe it¿s because I enjoy getting inside of their minds or maybe it¿s because it¿s a change of pace from always reading from a girl¿s perspective. But whatever the reason, I still love it and I, in turn loved Invincible Summer.Invincible Summer from the description and cover sounds like a young adult romance book, but it isn¿t. It¿s about Chase¿s life over four summers from fourteen to eighteen. It catalog¿s all of the family¿s changes especially his relationship with his older brother Noah. Chase¿s family was very real and dysfunctional. Some reviews I¿ve read thought the family wasn¿t believable because ¿what parents would let their 13 year old cuss in front of them?¿ I grew up in a family without many rules and where cussing wasn¿t prohibited, so to me the family was real. The McGill¿s were probably like many families in America today with their flaws.I could see the changes in Chase through the years by his thought process and difference in attitude. He reacted differently to situations summer after summer. He shared common interests in an author, Camus, with his brother Noah and a summer girl Melinda. In any situation, no matter how tiny or insignificant, they would recite lines from Camus¿ works. Some of the conflict in Invincible Summer paired with the quotes of Camus broke my heart! Hannah Moskowitz wrote those quotes brilliantly into Invincible Summer. Hannah also had me looking up Camus¿ work while reading Invincible SummerAfter reading Invincible Summer, I¿m ready and willing to read more of Hannah¿s novels in the future. I loved her storytelling¿I read Invincible Summer in less than a day because I was drawn in!
Dazzlamb More than 1 year ago
INVINCIBLE SUMMER tells the story of two families and four summers around protagonist Chase. The character cast is made up of the parents and the seven kids Melinda, Chase, Gideon, Claudia, Noah, Shannon and Bella and that would be it. The diversity of characters is low and I cannot think of many secondary characters at the moment. The story always circles around them, what they are doing, or not doing. The protagonist Chase shows how one can age and still stay the same. His voice always felt the same although he grew and became four years older over the course of INVINCIBLE SUMMER. But I was lucky that Hannah made him the person we always related to, because he was the one person I liked the most, because he has courage. These families do have grave problems and the kids are troubled in many ways. Often I couldn’t comprehend the actions and thoughts of several protagonists. Throughout the whole novel I never felt a connection to the other siblings and their friends. Their behaviour mostly annoyed me and sometimes even made me angry. Nevertheless I really appreciate that Moskowitz included a character like Gideon. He is the brother of Chase and is deaf. I can imagine living with a deaf sibling is everything but easy. His character added some more emotions to the story. INVINCIBLE SUMMER is everything but a light summer read. Throughout the whole novel the kids keep quoting Camus, which can seem wise and cool in an occasion or so, but not if every chapter has numerous Camus references in it. The words seem way too big for the characters and made the story feel so dragging. In my opinion there were too many references, but that’s just because I’m no one who enjoys philosophical debates. Then INVINCIBLE SUMMER also didn't feel like a standalone novel, but like the second in a series. It misses to establish a connection to characters and setting like a first novel in a series and also didn’t bring the story to a satisfying end like a third novel would do. It's like the second novel that serves as connection between first and third. THE VERDICT I wouldn't recommend INVINCIBLE SUMMER as a light summer lecture, because it simply isn’t. Mostly it feels dragging and too heavy for the characters to carry. It's more a collection of often incomprehensible actions and events than a coherent and enjoyable story. You should still read it if you are interested in exploring the connections between the two families and the tragic and confused personalities of their members.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Michelle_Jude More than 1 year ago
The overview on this site made it seem like this was a book about 2 brothers who fall in love with the same girl. Umm no. It's not about that at all. It's really about a dysfunctional family and just weirdness in general. The two older brothers contantly quote from some book of prose that seems totally uncharacteristic of teenagers and just plain weird. The older brother disappears for short lengths of time, and everyone freaks out. I mean he's 18 what's the big deal? The parents don't watch their kids, even though one of them is deaf. And when the 2 brothers both hook up with the same neighbor girl, it's totally creepy. They actually talk to each other about the logistics of it, gross!!! And that relationship is just a side-note, not even really what the book is focused on at all (which is good because it's portrayed super creepily). Don't buy this book, it's not even written well.
kaelacake995 More than 1 year ago
I dont see why people like it. I read the WHOLE thing.... nothing happned untill basically the last summer. I was so bored the whole time i read this book and i was just thinking "mabey it will get better. Mabey something will happen soon." nothing. and when something finally did happen it just made me even more mad. Not what i was expecting AT ALL. soo dissapointed
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
pagese More than 1 year ago
I was expecting a type of beach read no matter what the description says. I was ok with emotional and maybe even a coming of age story. Because let's face it, summer can be that type of season. But, not matter how hard I tried I just couldn't get past some aspects of this novel. I was ok with the time frame. 4 summer seasons and a lot can happen. But in all reality, it's the last summer that anything really monumental happens. Ok, maybe the very end of the 3rd as well...but it's the defying moment, the straw the breaks the camels back so to speak. The other 3 summers are just one form of dysfunction or another. I had a hard time liking anybody in the story. It's told from Chase's point of view, but he never feels like a teenager. His older brother Noah, is constantly disappearing. He reasoning is the family is sometimes hard to handle. I completely agree. The parents don't feel like parents. The kids are basically raising themselves. The youngest brother is deaf, but doesn't seem like a functioning deaf child. Claudia, well I was just as much of a loss when it came to her as everybody else was. She's making out with girls and then together with the boy next door. Attention seeking much? The worst part was the sharing of the girl next door. It's just gave the story an icky feeling. There were times that I wondered if one brother was going to come over to find the other one already there. It was just a little bit much. I also didn't really understand the appeal of Melinda, not enough to warrant the devotion of both brothers. The best part of the story is from the end of the 3rd summer on. This is what I was expecting from this book. The emotions come full circle and it seems everyone finally grows up. There are quite a few other readers who really enjoyed this story. But, I found that it just wasn't for me. I haven't read anything else by this author. I'm unsure if I will after this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago