It Takes a Coven (Witch City Series #6)

It Takes a Coven (Witch City Series #6)

by Carol J. Perry

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

It Takes a Coven 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just love this series! The characters are relatable and you feel like you really get to know them. Great mystery and some fun paranormal happenings. I love the length of the books too. Lately it seems that they’re getting shorter with some authors. I think that makes it hard to really get involved with the story and the characters. This is just perfect. Long enough for a good read, but it doesn’t drag on. I’ve already pre-purchased the next book. I can’t wait!
GratefulGrandma More than 1 year ago
If you enjoy a paranormal, witchy cozy, you will love this story. It is the 6th in the series and this one has the most paranormal action of them all. When Lee finds out that Bridget's spell book was not destroyed in the house fire, she gives it to River to take care of. Right about that time, several witch's end up dead, possibly murdered and crows descend upon Salem in droves, stripping trees and scaring the residents. River thinks she has brought a curse to Salem. Lee's scrying abilities are developing quickly and she is now seeing visions everywhere. Are the witches being murdered? How will they get rid of the crows? What are the witches in Lee's visions trying to tell her? I am enjoying this series. Lee has really come into her own in this one. She is dealing with her visions better and her relationship with Pete is such a stable, loving influence. Lee and River both have paranormal abilities that seem somewhat believable. The witches belong to the Wiccan religion, not the Wizard of Oz type. I enjoy the wonderful friendship between the two of them and how they support each other. Aunt Ibby is also a great character, with her research, listening and reasoning skills she is always there to help Lee solve a mystery. Finally, the animals, O'Ryan the cat and the crows are able to give Lee a lot of clues and also keep her out of trouble several times. The investigation unfolds with clever twists and turns, but no juvenile hocus-pocus. This books has a well-written descriptive style, fun banter, and a clever story. It Takes a Coven can be read as a standalone book. The author provides Lee’s backstory along with details from the previous books in the series. I recommend this one to cozy mystery lovers who enjoy a paranormal twist. The publisher provided me with a copy of this book to read. The opinions expressed are my own. 2 likes
blacksmithgl More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderful series of mysteries. The characters are rich with personalities that you want to know what happens next.
MugsyMae More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading this paranormal cozy mystery. It is the sixth book in the series, but the first one I've read, and first book by this author. I had some confusion early on as to the characters, but it didn't take long to figure relationships out. The story was very well done and a good read. Now I want to go back and start at the beginning of the series!
KrisAnderson_TAR More than 1 year ago
It Takes a Coven by Carol J. Perry is the sixth A Witch City Mystery novel. Lee Barrett is finishing up the semester at Tabitha Trumball Academy for the Arts where she teaches TV Production and investigative reporting. Lee has agreed to be maid of honor for Shannon Dumas in her upcoming nuptials to Dakota Berman and imagines a relaxing summer with cake tastings and getting fitted for her dress. Then she is offered the opportunity of an internship (in other words an unpaid position) at WICH-TV as an investigative reporter. This gives Lee a chance to look into the recent deaths of witches and the crows that have descended upon the city. The crows have stripped all the apple and quince trees. River North is afraid that she has caused these incidents to occur and she is quite distraught about it. When another witch is shot at, Lee dives into her investigation. Lee has the aid of her scrying ability, O’Ryan (her cat), Pete Mondello (her boyfriend and local detective), and a crow named Poe. It seems, though, the cause for the abundance of crows may have a more sinister, supernatural explanation. Lee must work in her sleuthing between her numerous maid-of-honor duties (isn’t that what the wedding planner is for). Will Lee get a fix on the killer before he strikes again? What will it take to get the crows to leave Salem? It Takes a Coven can be read as a standalone book. The author provides Lee’s backstory along with details from the previous books in the series. The book contains good writing, but I found the pace to be a too slow in the first half of the book (when the pace is too slow my mind starts to wander from the book). It does pick up considerably later in the novel. I did feel there was a significant amount of repetition (it gets tiresome). Lee’s car was mentioned sixteen times (her corvette). I was happy to see more paranormal elements in It Takes a Coven (finally). The paranormal elements give the story life and depth. It also seems that Lee is starting to accept her ability (about time). The characters are well-developed and established. There are a couple of quirky characters like River North (though she can be a little over-the-top at times). It was great that Aunt Ibby had a bigger role in this book. She is my favorite character, and I hope she continues to have a prominent role in future books. The setting of Salem, Massachusetts is a delight (I have always wanted to visit). I appreciate the author’s descriptions of the area and landmarks. There was not enough focus on the murder of the witches (of course, there is a quite a bit jammed into this one book). I would have liked more active investigating and action. Two pieces of information provided me the identity of the culprit. The paranormal element behind the crows was more complicated (I do not want to say too much and spoil it for readers) and overshadowed the witch killings. I found it compelling. I did feel that the author tried to put too much into one book. The wedding, crows, the murders, Lee’s new job, a talking crow, a funeral, cooking, scrying, eating, romance and so much more. All the loose ends are wrapped up at the end of It Takes a Coven, and there was a good epilogue. There is a preview of Bells, Spells and Murder at the end. It Takes a Coven is a lively book that will bewitch readers.
vaj More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. I've read all the previous books in the series & this is a great addition. I love the progress of the characters themselves as well as their relationships. The ending was appropriately a little spooky and a great ending.
CozyOnUp More than 1 year ago
Someone is killing witches in Salem, Massachusetts and it’s 2018, not 1692. When three witches die within a short time of each other, Lee Barrett finds herself having visions that she needs to connect the dots on to figure out what the visions are telling her and who’s doing the killing. Toss in visits from Bridget Bishop, who’s looking the return of her spell book and you’ve got a great blend of history and mystery. This is the sixth book in the Witch City Mystery series and the first one I have read. It is well written and a fine standalone that did not leave me hanging or without having read the first five books (though I’m going to remedy that soon!) This was a true page turner that I could not put down!
Shelly9677 More than 1 year ago
This is one of my favorite cozy mystery series. I read my first Witch City book when it was chosen for one of my book club’s October read. I was instantly hooked. It Takes a Coven is the sixth in the series and does not disappoint! If you haven’t read the others in the series, I highly recommend you do, but this book can absolutely stand on its own. The setting is perfect (Salem, Mass.) and the characters are interesting and colorful. Best of all, the plot is bewitching (pun intended!). There are so many twists and turns and a possible city wide curse which keeps the reader turning the page. I don’t want this series to ever end!
Shelly9677 More than 1 year ago
This is one of my favorite cozy mystery series. I read my first Witch City book when it was chosen for one of my book club’s October read. I was instantly hooked. It Takes a Coven is the sixth in the series and does not disappoint! If you haven’t read the others in the series, I highly recommend you do, but this book can absolutely stand on its own. The setting is perfect (Salem, Mass.) and the characters are interesting and colorful. Best of all, the plot is bewitching (pun intended!). There are so many twists and turns and a possible city wide curse which keeps the reader turning the page. I don’t want this series to ever end!
Bobbie Kirkland More than 1 year ago
I received a free copy of It Takes a Coven by Carol J. Perry in exchange for an honest review. This book continues the story of widow, shopping network presenter, weathergirl, television psychic, and now instructor Lee Barrett. Lee’s hometown has developed Hitchcockian creepiness as crows by the tens of thousands crowd the overhead spaces. When the local news network offers Lee an opportunity to work as an investigative reporter, Lee chooses to look into the cause of the phenomenon. Is it climate, is it competition for resources, or is it something more paranormal? This book was engaging and highly entertaining. For fans of the series, this is definitely a must read! #ItTakesAcoven #Netgalley
Linda__ More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! Lee lives in Salem and is best friends with a local witch. Lee has always been a scryer, since long before she knew what the word meant. While she is still resistant to it, she is facing it head on, even when a long dead witch communicates with her through scryed images. Pete is her police detective boyfriend who shows a remarkable acceptance of Lee's ability and is very supportive of her. As Lee sees images, they seem to intersect with a case that Pete is investigating, which leads to Lee getting a bit more involved. What follows is a fun murder mystery filled with plenty of witchcraft. While I've enjoyed all the books in this series, this one might be my favorite thus far. I love how Lee and Pete's relationship has evolved and grown over the series. Fans of the genre will want to put this one at the top of their TBR list. The author is on my must read authors' list.
CozyMysteryLover1 More than 1 year ago
I've been a big fan of this series since the first book. I love reading about witches and since I was born in Massachusetts, I love reading about Salem. This book has everything I look for in a cozy mystery. The protagonist is a strong, likeable character, the secondary characters are all colorful and fun and the story itself kept me reading way past my bedtime. Lee Barrett is a fun character and I feel like I would know her if I met her. This story is well written and the plot was intriguing. Reading about the crows and the two deaths was interesting and was so descriptive that I could picture it in my head. I was glad to see Aunt Ibby have a bigger appearance in this book, I think she is a strong character that brings out the best in Lee. I'm excited to see what's in store for Lee and Pete, I think they make a terrific pair. I voluntarily read an ARC of this book provided by the publisher and NetGalley.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another awesome book in this series. glad I bought it