It Takes a Witch (Wishcraft Mystery Series #1)

It Takes a Witch (Wishcraft Mystery Series #1)

by Heather Blake

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, June 27

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

It Takes a Witch 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 88 reviews.
Persephone_Jones More than 1 year ago
Good story, though it loses a star because the Nook version is very poorly edited (typos everywhere!) and that really annoys me because it shows that they didn't put the same care into the electronic version as they did into the final print version, especially when the errors are the type that any basic word processing software would catch.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this series so much that I rushed to get the next book before I reviewed this one. :) For me that's the sign of a great series. The typos can be a bit annoying, but the story and the village are simply awesome. It's rare to have such big laughs in a mystery, which shows just how talented this author is.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I completely enjoyed this book and can't wait for the next book to come out. The magical village and characters are perfect for a relaxing book that will take you to an imaginary village of everyday people who just happen to have magical powers. I looked forward to each time I could settle in with this Darcy and her adventures, and was sad when it was over!
ladyelle More than 1 year ago
I'm not too far into the book yet to say whether its better than 3 stars, but its seems to be entertaining and (finally) gets going around the end of the third chapter, which I felt like I had to talk myself into getting to the good part. I'm hoping the rest gets interesting, and if I may make a suggestion - get to the point faster please. I usually close a slow moving book in the first couple of chapters. I understand about setting up characters but the opening of this one seems long-winded.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book. Couldn't wait to pick it up at night and read it. Well written,great descriptive writing and fun,intriguing,romance,mystery and some neat witchcraft thrown in. Can't wait for the next book.....well done. Don' hesitate to buy this author.
bookwizardAG More than 1 year ago
Finally!! A paranormal book that actually defines the rules of the Craft. Clear direction and a well-defined punishment for breaking the rules. Not to mention an engaging heroine who is just learning to manage her heritage. Add a quirky sister, a young witch she is helping to find her place and the half-crafter dad who knows about the magical happening in the quaint village within Salem, MASS. Oh, did I mention the ex-wife of the dad who is a familiar? Keep reading to discover the perks of knowing a rat who's a tailor and a movie-lines-knowing bird. It's a blast!
DAinNY1 More than 1 year ago
Having recently discovered that they are witches, Darcy and her sister moved back to the family¿s homestead to join her Aunt¿s business. All was going well until her aunt¿s boyfriend was found near the strangled body of a woman he wished dead. Believing in her aunt and trusting her own instincts, Darcy tries her hand at sleuthing to expose a killer. I love this book. This magically delightful mix of mystery and mayhem with a dash of romance is a well-crafted, page-turning tale that left me wishing for more time in Enchanted Village, MA. This entertaining who-dun-it boasts adorable and captivating characters and a place I would love to call home. And the ending, OMG! This is a great start to more adventures with Darcy in this enticingly charming new series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im not that far into the book but if i had to give it a rating up to chapter 15 it would be 5
debbieaheaton More than 1 year ago
In Blake's mystery novel, Darcy and Harper Merriweather are sisters that hail from a long line of witches from Salem, Massachussetts. Both were working dead-end jobs when their Aunt Ve informed them that they were both WishCrafters--witches capable of granting wishes. Eager for new starts, the sisters join their aunt in her magic themed hometown to hone their new skills. But when a wannabee witch is found murdered, fingers point to Aunt Ve's boyfriend prompting both women to try their hand at crime solving. A wonderful blend of magic and murder and a powerful initial installment to The Wishcraft Mystery series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed reading this book. It is one of the first books I have read that I felt good after reading it. I'm looking forward to reading more of Heather Blake's books.
Anonymous 6 months ago
Start with this story and go forward. You can't go wrong. It has all the elements I love including mystery, love,magic and familiar's! They get better and better as you go. I just finished number 10 and it's Soo good!!!! Highly recommend you buy these books. Happy reading to all ? Rhop19
TheLibraryhag on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Darcy and her sister, Harper, have just learned that they are WishCrafters. That means that they can grant the wishes of others, actually, they have to grant them as long as they are not malicious. This can come in handy, in the business they are involved in with their aunt, Ve. In this business they help find things for people or provide serves to help people out. Generally, this is non-magical help, but every now and then... In this town of witches and mortals, Darcy is still trying to figure out who is what. She is also becoming more and more involved in the lives of the townsfolk, magical and not. When the owner of the local lotions an potions shop, turns up dead, accusations fall close to home and Darcy is out to solve the mystery.I enjoyed this mystery. It is the first in the series so it suffers a bit from first book syndrome. All the characters and the town have to introduced. We have to get the backstory on Darcy and others. And being paranormal, there is world building involved. This slows the book a bit, but not so much that I did not enjoy the story. The mystery is pretty good. I really liked Darcy and some of the other characters. The romance is fun so far. I will definitely be reading the second book in the series.
ethel55 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Once you get all the 'Crafters' straight in this tourist mecca called Enchanted Village, where witches live and work in plain sight, the story just sails along. Darcy and Harper Merriweather have just arrived in this Salem environ, new to the news that they are witches, living (and learning) under the watchful eye of their Aunt Ve. When Aunt' Ve's latest beau is accused of a local murder, the snooping begins. Blake has created an interesting world of witches, each skill based solely on ancestry, and all the characters are very engaging. This was a great introduction to a new series. I will definitely seek out the next title this summer.
debbieaheaton on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In Blake's mystery novel, Darcy and Harper Merriweather are sisters that hail from a long line of witches from Salem, Massachussetts. Both sisters had been working dead-end jobs when their Aunt Ve informed them they were WishCrafters--witches capable of granting wishes. Eager for a new start, the sisters join their aunt in her magic themed hometown to hone their new skills. But when a wannabee witch is found murdered, fingers all point to Aunt Ve's boyfriend prompting both women to try their hand at crime solving. A wonderful blend of murder and magic and a powerful initial installment to The Wishcraft Mystery series.
nlb1050 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
What a GREAT start for a new series!
Marlyn on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
When Darcy Merriweather's father dies, her aunt Velma invited her and her younger sister Harper to live and work with her. Eager to make a fresh start, the two young women agree.Velma lives in Enchanted Village, near Salem, Massachusetts, which specializes in shops focusing on the magical. What visitors didn't realize was that the magic was real. Many of the village's residents were witches, and when Darcy and Harper move in with their mother's sister, she informs them that they have inherited this ability from their mother's side of the family.Velma owns a business called "As You Wish", which purports to do anything its clients request. This is made easier by the fact that her (and her nieces') particular gift is "wishcraft". Yes, granting wishes. There is a stringent set of rules that they must follow, which takes some time to learn.At a town meeting, Velma's beau Sylar has a disagreement with an unpleasant woman, and says he wishes she'd go away forever. Later that evening, Darcy discovers her in the alley, apparently strangled, with Velma's scarf around her neck. Of course, Sylar is the prime suspect, and the lackadaisical police chief isn't investigating any further. Certain that Sylar is innocent, Darcy and Harper decide to help Velma prove it.Heather Blake is a pseudonym for Heather Webber, the author of the Nina Quinn mystery series and the Lucy Valentine series, and she's very good at what she does. Darcy, Harper and the other inhabitants of Enchanted Village are enchanting characters, and it will be fun to get to know them.The second book in the series, A Witch Before Dying will be published in August 2012.*FTC Full Disclosure: Many thanks to the publisher, who sent me a copy of the book for review purposes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed the series. Light, cute and imaginative. Looking forward to the upcoming one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Miccox99 More than 1 year ago
This is a new author to me and I'm quite delighted that I stumbled upon her book series. I loved the vivid character development and at times wonder if perhaps the author was a fan of Bewitched as I see hints of those characters mixed into these! Darcy and Harper Merriweather have just moved in with their Aunt Ve and have been helping her with the family business now that both of their parents have passed away. Another shocking revelation to them is that the family is a family of witches including them! As they muddle their way through the witching world a murder disrupts their lives and puts Darcy on the path of discovering "whodoneit!" The author has woven a wonderful cast of characters to intertwine with the main characters lives and in the process has woven a wonderful cozy mystery. I'm excited to find out that this is a series and can't wait to see what happens in the next book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lovely charming read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BaronessBookTrove More than 1 year ago
This book is a good one. I didn’t know what to think about it at first but my mom got me into reading this. See the reason for this is because even though I have had enough books to read I just wanted to know what she thought about some of her books that she thought I would like. So she thought of I would like this one and it just so happened that I do like this one. Just like with most of my mom’s other books. This book has a bunch of mystery in it and there is one that just keeps everyone guessing. And that one just has to do with the Elder that knows all and has familiar’s telling her things. Heather Blake is an amazing author, even if this is my first book that I read of hers, and she has characters that seem so real that I feel like I could be in Enchanted Village and want to be in all of their lives. The reason for that is because they are all good and everyone in the Village seems so wonderful. I gave this book five stars because I loved it very much and it is really good. I will recommend this book to anyone that likes this genre. To read my other blog posts/reviews please go to my site: baronessbooktrove
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
.
kruzer6156 More than 1 year ago
these books are fun:} love them/ cute
pkbTN More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed this magical story, good mystery!