Jane, Unlimited

Jane, Unlimited

by Kristin Cashore

Paperback(Reprint)

$10.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, May 29

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Jane, Unlimited 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Brilliant and strange and gorgeously written, this book is unlike anything else I've read. Moving effortlessly between genres, the characterization and writing remain strong throughout. Jane is a great protagonist--curious, kind, artistic, brave, grieving, uncertain--and following her through every twist and turn and genre hop of this wonderfully weird book is a total pleasure. An absolute gem.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I’d imagine this book is what it’s like to read (or write?) on dr*gs. That’s not intended to offend or belittle Cashore, because it is a gorgeous masterpiece of literature. But it’s like a explosion within a tornado within a hurricane. It’s SO far beyond anything I’ve ever read or imagined. I read it in six hours, and I couldn’t put it down. Read it. But read it with an open mind and no expectations, and let Cashore take you on a ride you’re guaranteed to remember.
Iamlilu More than 1 year ago
I loved the Graceling series; but this book is so very different. “People will tell you that what happens to you is a direct result of the choices you make.” But what if you don’t realize that the choice you’re about to make is significant??? Five choices. Five paths. After each story is told, it “rewinds” back to the starting point and begins the next story. The what if... Nancy Drew James Bond Alfred Hitchcock Star Trek Dorothy One house. Limitless possibilities. Tu Reviens... You Return This isn’t fantasy or is it??? “There are many lives in every life” ~ Jasper
sheltisebastian More than 1 year ago
This is a choose your own adventure/parallel universe book. I enjoyed the first 175 pages and thought I was going to love this book. The book took a 180 degree turn for the worst. There are 5 different out comes for the same story, and the characters where so undeveloped. Jane is an orphan. Jane makes umbrellas. Jane is trying to solve a mystery of missing art. Actually this became ridiculous. The story where Jane is able to fall through a painting with Jasper the dog, into a parallel universe was so ridiculous and the only park I liked was that the dog was able to talk. Overall it took me a good while to finish this book. After the first 175 I thought of DNF the book but I kept on going. I have no interest in reading anything more from this author. 2 stars
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very unique, a great read. I have nothing to compare it too. I've never read a book like this one before, it surpasses genres because it has several genres inside this unique story.
dibbylodd More than 1 year ago
Remember those books that let you choose where the story would go next? Imagine one written by a really good author who builds marvelous worlds with fascinating characters. Then throw in Kristin Cashore's special twist of all the possibilities being laid out for you. It's amazing. And mind boggling. And wonderful.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thanks to NetGalley and Penguin Young Readers Group for the opportunity to read and review Jane, Unlimited by Kristin Cashore. Jane is stuck in a rut, unhappy with her present life situation because she's lost her loved ones and feels alone and desolate. Kiran, Jane's ex-tutor, invites her to visit her rich family on their private island. She takes Kiran up on her offer and meets many new people. Jane accidentally eavesdrops and overhears a strange conversation. She discovers the jobs that Kiran's family members and visitors pursue. Two art pieces are missing, presumably stolen, and Jane wants to solve the mystery. When the art mystery is solved, Jane learns about her aunt's true past. Then the plot changes somewhat and the story becomes more science fiction than mystery. The story just got weirder and weirder after that with strayhounds and a place called Zorsted. Though, I do appreciate the author’s notes that help explain the path of writing that this book took during its creation and the research and sources that she used. 3.5 stars. * I received a complimentary copy of this book for review consideration.
YAandWine More than 1 year ago
This book is truly in a league of its own. It is absolutely breathtaking. The writing is gorgeous. Every element is beautifully imagined and entirely unique. This book transcends genre categorizations and any expectations readers may have going in. I have never read anything like this before, and I will most assuredly be recommending this book to everyone I know. It is impossible to describe the various elements of this story without including spoilers. All I will say is that there is a very good reason the description for this book is so cryptic, and you absolutely need to read JANE UNLIMITED when it hits bookshelves to find out why.
book_junkee More than 1 year ago
I loved the premise of this and I know so many people love Kristin’s other books, so I was interested. I really liked Jane. She’s inquisitive and maybe a bit snarky and a genuinely nice person. There are a lot of characters in this story and a lot of working parts and I struggled to keep everyone straight. Plot wise, it is intriguing and yet, it’s quite dense in parts. It’s almost like a Choose Your Own Adventure book and while I loved the idea, I did get bored in some sections. It’s just...a lot. Overall, it was something unique to me and I did enjoy it; however, if not for the last choice section, I may have rated this 3 stars. **Huge thanks to Kathy Dawson Books for providing the arc free of charge**
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a wonderful break from normal YA fantasy that has been the same for so long!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well written, I found myself sucked into the story, which I love.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book has multiple alternative plot lines that you read one after the other and the entire time I was reading I was thinking: "wow this is going to be some major Megan Whalen Turner mojo when the author ties all these separate strings together at the end of the book!" And then it ended. There was no alternate reality that combined all the plot lines. No master plan. One of the mysteries is never resolved in any of the plots. It's like one of those cheap books from your middle school book fair, where you choose which action you want the character to take and it says "skip to page 73 for ending..."