Jesus' Son

Jesus' Son

by Denis Johnson

Paperback(First Edition)

$16.00
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, May 22

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Jesus' Son 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 41 reviews.
SavageBS More than 1 year ago
Read on the reviews anywhere for "Jesus' Son" - stories by Denis Johnson and you'll see the same things: amazing, life changing, a masterpiece. So I finally took the plunge! "Jesus' Son" is eleven short tales about drug addicts, low lifes and other miscreants. I thought the stories were good, not great. The writing is unique and as one reviewer blurb on the book says, "its like reading ticker tape from the subconscious" and thats a dead on description. Somewhere along the way, I read that Chuck Palahniuk said that "Jesus' Son" is one of his favorite books and that he often refers back to it when writing his own novels. The stories I really enjoyed- Car Crash While Hitchhiking Out on Bail Work Emergency Steady Hands at Seattle General Beverly Home Not your normal short stories by any means, but very good! ** A movie was made from this book, starring Billy Crudup, Denis Leary, Dennis Hopper, Jack Black & Holly Hunter, unfortunately the amazing cast did nothing for it, I do not recommend it.
_________jt_________ on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
No one else does it like this.
kherrington on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
My first experience with Denis Johnson's work. I really enjoyed the stories and the writing. So much poetry in these bleak stories. Without the beautiful writing, the characters and situations likely wouldn't have held my interest very long. I can't wait to read more of Johnson's work.
marcfitch on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An amazing work by one of my favorite authors. I lent this book to a patient I had and he returned with a small note written on the inside, which I think sums up the work very well; "So much chaos brought to heel."
DaveCullen on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Extraordinary. My favorite book written in the past 20 years.Johnson has deep insight into human beings, incredible descriptive powers and is painfully empathetic.
amyrenee on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I was expecting to like these stories more than I did. While I appreciate the writing style, the refusal to conform to normal prose standards, and the realism of a life of addiction, I felt cut off from the characters. Good writing to be sure, but not my cup of tea.
marysargent on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I like the fact that my copy of this book is small, so small and light and weighty. These are short stories about events in the life of a drunk and drug addict, and they are told in a matter-of-fact, true, poetic, thoughtful way. I read them one at a time over a few days and reread some of them on the spot. I expect to be rereading them ongoing.
waywardcommas on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
At first, a young drug-induced reader, I reveled in Johnson's very detached, very personal narratives, but after a while my impression that the rabbit hole had turned into a black hole, a void of life having only occasional color from being high on various things, became very pervasive and enlightening--standing on the verge of...many psychological addictions...this book helped me mature and see pieces of real life that are beautiful and even better than the occasional dream-like state; it helped me see life as less nightmarish (or more nightmarish, depending on how I'm feeling that day). I found much meaning in this book.
opinion8dsngr on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book, with it's interesting title, qualifies as average. It's a short book and the stories are told in a non-sequential hazy style illustrating the life of a drug addict. The reader learns about how he stalks people, watches people die, insults his girlfriend after an abortion, etc. It's does have some value as a perspective piece with a rather unique writing style, if that's what you like. And it is a short book that goes rather quickly. On the whole, I'd give it a C.
LarryDarrell on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I will say this about this, and you won't all like it: pick a story and read it. Pick another story now, and read that too. Put it down. You have now read Jesus' Son, and you will think "these stories are striking and wonderful." But read all the stories in their proper order, and you might think (at least I did), "these stories are all the same. The first two were wonderful, but after them I felt I was dealing with a one trick pony, and one trick ponies are no kind of pony to be." If you understand what I am saying call me. My number is 610 608 8##3.
twomoredays on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Denis Johnson is an amazing writer. Amazing. The final story in this collection completely blew me away. Truthfully, I wish I had been reading a novel rather than short stories which is why initially I was disappointed. Every time I would get into a story it would end. Regardless, I recommend this whole-heartedly if only for the final story.
jdsbooks on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
lriley on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An excellent collection of short stories from start to end. Johnson's is an unique talent looking at the world from an outsiders point of view. Thematically the books revolves around the same set of personalities, enviroments and circumstances. If there is something to quibble about here that may it but I would argue that even though this is a short story collection that the stories are all meant to be interconnected and these are important characteristics of Johnson's book. The solipsistic protagonist is almost always a drug addicted innocent and more often than not a hospital is involved. Commenting on life or the world he accepts almost everything that happens to him or to others with his wide open/eyed innocence. There is a kind of cinematic quality evident throughout--often hilarious but almost always compelling life unfolds before the eyes of a somewhat deranged and hapless drug addict/alcoholic. --it is one of the best short story collections I've ever read and is highly recommended. In any event opening up with an epigram from the Velvet Underground's 'Heroin'--'when I'm rushing on my run and I feel just like jesus' son' I was immediately hooked. I knew I was going to love this book almost immediately and I would recommend it highly.
phillynyc on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A hard read. This book reads like John Cheever on Heroin. The title, taken from Lou Reed's "Heroin", is unassuming. What lies beneath the cover of this small book are some of the most memorable character, and haunting situation in contemporary literature. The book takes from Joyce the "epiphany" laced short story form, adds junk. The last story ties this together in a neat package, and that package weakens the over effect of the book. But overall this book is a must read, and it will be something that you will go back to again and again for more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The best of William Burroughs and Jean Genet, but with a lighter hand.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago