Jordan Reclaimed (Preload Series #1)

Jordan Reclaimed (Preload Series #1)

by Scarlett Cole

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Jordan Reclaimed 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Warning: Past Abuse Overall, I was a bit disappointed in this one but I still enjoyed the romantic aspects. I’m not sure what to think about the other band members but I’ll certainly give them a try. This romance is mostly about the characters getting out of their own way; most of the conflict comes from within instead of outside forces like in the Second Circle Series. There are some outside factors (Lexi’s father, Dred leaving the house, etc.) but this is straight contemporary with no suspense. Scarlett Cole always does a great job writing a very emotional and character driven romance and that’s evident in this book as well. Both Jordan and Lexi feel things very deeply and their backgrounds and current issues create drama in their relationship. However, when I say drama I only mean the best kind. I never found myself annoyed by the drama that was going on. I felt like there was some missing elements to Jordan’s issues. The first look at Jordan makes his anxiety seem like a very severe issue that he will really struggle to overcome. However, he pretty quickly works through his problems after meeting Lexi. All the things that were hinted at don’t develop in the story. I kept waiting for him to be more upset over Dred leaving, or to panic more about where Lexi was when they weren’t together, or to struggle more with moving from his bland, almost empty room to a “real” room. Jordan’s anxiety came across initially as something that would likely need therapy and that there were would certainly be periodic setbacks. However, once Jordan decides he wants something with Lexi he pretty much goes all in with little problem. He quickly overcomes Dred leaving the house, he gets a phone and more guitars, and moves out of the attic with very little thought. It felt like what Jordan really had was some mild anxiety and the desire to remain in his rut but we were expected to believe his issues were much greater.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book a must read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved Jordan & Lexi. Beautiful.
belllla More than 1 year ago
Jordan Reclaimed is another great one from Scarlet and this time in the center is Jordan member of Preload. Another boy from the band who has major issues and is struggling from day to day to survive. Until he meets Lexi the first stranger that sees real him and is not running to hills. Lexi is ballerina but her life is not so glorious, she fights with her own issues. Story is emotional, one big roller-coaster it has deep and carries a hope. Great written the pages just flew by and it is beautiful story about two young souls who just one to be loved. I volunteered to review an ARC of this book for Netgelly
Nicolerko More than 1 year ago
I've been craving a series for Preload after reading The Purest Hook. I'm so excited it's finally here. It starts with Jordan. Jordan didn't have the greatest childhood, but meeting his brothers and band mates changed his life. Then he sees ballet dancer Lexi. That moment will be the beginning of his future. Scarlett Cole weaves such an emotional depth with these characters that it just grips me. I could hardly put this book down. I just adored the scenes with Jordan and Petal. Such sweet moments. Both Jordan and Lexi have a few inner issues to work through, but when they're together as a reader you can see the light at the end of the tunnel. I just loved the epilogue. I can't wait for more from this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love love love the boys in the Preload band! Vulnerable, hot, sexy rock stars and the women who really rock their worlds. After reading Dred & Pixie's story....couldn't wait for Jordan's. Did not disappoint! I'm anxiously waiting til July for Elliott's story.
gigiluvsbooks More than 1 year ago
Jordan Steele’s life began when he was ten. When he was taken from his parents and a house that was never a home. When he met his brothers, the other lost and abandoned boys in his group home. When he learned what friendship and family and love looked like. Now he’s made good, touring the world with the band he and his brothers formed in that crowded group home. No one but his found family really knows the man under the fame and fortune, the scars he hides behind the rockstar lifestyle. Until he sees her through the windows of the National Ballet, dancing, and suddenly the world doesn’t seem so dark. Aleksandra Artemov ticks all the ballet boxes. Father a legendary Kirov dancer. Check. Prepping since birth for classical ballet. Check. Compulsive control over the food she eats. Check. Principal dancer at The National Ballet of Canada. Check. But what she craves is freedom. She craves Jordan. Everything about him should terrify her. His size, his tattoos, his edge. But he doesn’t. He stirs her very soul. Jordan has nothing but himself to offer her, and he's never been good enough for anyone. Can he figure out how to face his own demons before he loses his light for good? Review: Loved this story of the ballerina and the Rocker! This is the first in a new spin-off series from the Second Circle Tattoo series. This series features members of the band Preload. All the band members were from the same group home and pretty much still live together. While not touring Jordan and Aleksandra meet, in one of the more interesting first meetings I have read in a while. From there the relationship grows and grows. Even though they seem so different they both have had rough childhoods that are still affecting their adult lives and ultimately throw obstacles into their romance. So many emotions ran through me while reading this story because of everything that has happened to them and is happening as the story progresses. I have read this Author before and really love her writing and storytelling style. This is the first in the series so you can get on board now and not miss anything. I have no idea who is next, but will be waiting for the next story. 4.5Stars *I voluntarily read an advance reader copy of this book provided by the publisher.*
Lorizen More than 1 year ago
Scarlett Cole writes a great story and this lead off into Preload is perfect. We finally get to see Jordan and his background, we met him in the Second Circle series and this one is all angsty and full of emotion. The book will wring you dry. We've already seen most of the past with the boys growing up, this gives a closer look at Jordan and it's just not pretty. I thought Lexi was a good match for him. Yes she had some issues as well, but together their dance was sheer beauty. I don't think I've read anything like this before. The window scene will capture you, if it doesn't check your pulse. If you haven't read the whole series, read this. You can double back and read Second circle. Scarlett Cole is a writer of the nth degree. She pulls from the depths and you feel every word. She makes sure of that. There's also beauty in her books. Petal... sigh. All around these books collective should not be missed. Jordan Reclaimed is a winner, hands down. 4.5 stars **arc from NetGalley and publisher in exchange for a fair review***
Splashesintobooks1 More than 1 year ago
I had thoroughly enjoyed the previous books in the Second Circle Tattoos series where the members of Preload were introduced and it is great to be able catch up on them – as well as Pixie and Petal – again. Having said that, the author does explain the scenarios and provides relevant background information to enable new-to-the-series readers to understand what has happened and putting everything into context. Jordan is a musical savant, he also has problems coping with changes in his close knit group of friends and when Dred proposes to Pixie he knows more changes are on their way. He takes the teething Petal out for a walk and it is during that late night walk that he looks through a window and sees Aleksandra Artemov, a talented ballerina, rehearsing. The two may have a window between them but the connection is there and after that he secretly composes music for her, posting it on a private website and leaving a note for her, even though he doesn’t even know her name. . . . . This is a very emotive story, with an autistic lead male character struggling to cope with life and relationships, always feeling himself unloveable and needing routines and stability to help him cope with life and living. Aleksandra’s life is full of routines, most imposed on her by her domineering and ambitious for her father who seems more concerned with her achieving his goals rather than helping her fulfil her own dreams. With two such contrasting characters connecting so strongly, you just know this will be a great read – and it is! I love how the author brings the characters to life, how their emotions, anxieties, dreams and lives are portrayed so brilliantly. This is a story which takes the reader along an rollercoaster of emotions, so get the tissues ready and start reading it as soon as you can! Many thanks to the publishers for gifting me a copy of this novel, via NetGalley, with no obligation. This is my honest review.
ljtljtljt More than 1 year ago
4.5 Stars!! Who would have thought that a principal ballet dancer and a heavy metal rock-star would find true love. In Scarlett Cole's latest offering, Jordan Reclaimed, opposites attract and complete each other in more ways than one. This is the first book in the author's brand new series Preload, and it can be enjoyed as a standalone. Lex Artemov loves ballet and after years and years of practice, with additional tortuous rehearsal sessions with her tyrannical father, she is a principal dancer with the Canadian Ballet. Lex supports both herself and her father, since her father drinks a lot and is unable to keep a job. She lives in the basement apartment of their home, while her dad commands the rest. She needs to get out of his daily life, without getting hurt and hurting him in the process. Jordan Steele's childhood was no picnic. His parents starved him, made him live in the attic, and beat him when he said something they did not agree with. He was a prisoner in his own home. Foster care was just as bad, until he ended up in a group home run by two wonderful women. He was finally in a safe place and had three brothers. The boys formed a heavy metal band and became very successful. Unfortunately, Jordan's past is always a part of his present. Lex and Jordan are an unlikely pair, but they get along beautifully. Their sexy times are hot and the author creates their intimate moments with lots of caring and lust. Lex is a warm woman that takes the world on her shoulders. With Lex in his life, Jordan realizes how lonely he has been and his outlook changes for the better. They are each other's soulmates. This is both an emotional and passionate love story. Ms. Cole perfectly combines heat, drama, and brotherly love into this fast-paced romantic read. I immediately connected with both Lex and Jordan, and I cheered them on as they discovered their feelings for one another. I loved how the characters had their own agenda, yet always found time to be with each other. The love between the brothers was tangible. Overall, this is a terrific book with a happy ending that will leave a smile on your face. Complimentary copy provided by the publisher via NetGalley.
syeager More than 1 year ago
A new series, but familiar characters from Cole. I am glad that we got to read Jordan's story right away, to learn what makes him tick. Wow, Cole knows how to make characters who have lived through hell, find a happily ever after. I loved the passion, tension, and watching these two characters learn how to love.
Bette313 More than 1 year ago
A new series from Scarlett Cole? YES PLEASE!! As a spin-off of her Second Circle series, we met these characters in The Purest Hook and I'm so excited to get their stories as well as catch up on the lives of Dred, Pixie & Petal. All these characters are so deep and complex I can't wait to get to know each of them. First up is Jordan. He's troubled and dark and so very lovable. When he meets Aleksandra Artemov he knows she touches something deep inside of him. The emotional journey these two go on is beautiful and unforgettable. This one needs to be on the must read list! I highly recommend it.
MBurton More than 1 year ago
A heavy metal rocker and a ballerina. Such and odd pairing but I loved them together. I've been looking forward to Jordan's story since learning about him in the third book of the Second Circle Tattoos series. He seemed so broken. Who would have that a ballerina would be his salvation and that he would be her salvation as well. Jordan's story was heartbreaking and explained his need for having everyone close. His story brought the rest of the band members to the forefront. Each have their own tragic past that connects each of them and I'm eager to read the each of their own stories. Great series! ARC provided by NetGalley.
CathyGeha More than 1 year ago
Success does not always deter demons. Five men forged a brotherhood of the heart while living in a state sponsored group home. All have had rough times during childhood. All have issues to deal with. All depend on one another. All hope to one day have more – but not just more money – they have plenty of that. Dred, one of the members of this brotherhood, had his story told in THE PUREST HOOK (Second Circle Tattoos #3) and from that story this series was begun. I can hardly wait to see how each of these wonderful men will find their happiness in the future! One winter night Jordan Steele sees Aleksandra “Lexi” Artemov dancing through a studio window. He is enchanted. When she sees him outside the window she is fascinated. How they eventually meet face to face is delightful. The openness and caring of both as they get to know one another is heartwarming. Their growing love is encouraging. The demons that ride them are huge and not easily shared – and when shared – not easily dealt with. Being there for one another is a cleansing and beautiful thing for both of them. Having Jordan’s “brothers” there for both of them is marvelous always and in all ways. Jordan and Lexi eventually find their HEA though they still may have some demons lurking about…and yet…with their family of the heart there for them…there is hope aplenty. I loved this book. It was painful to read at times but so worth reading. Jordan and Lexi deserved happiness and a future together and I am thankful the author agreed with me ;) I was kind of curious how a tattooed rock star could find anything in common with a ballerina – but he did :) Next up will be Elliott and I am eager to find out who will be able to tame his demons – can’t wait to read his story! Thank you to NetGalley and St. Martin’s Press for the ARC. This is my honest review.