Josette

Josette

by Kathleen Bittner Roth

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Josette 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Mirabelle8 More than 1 year ago
Captivating suspense set in New Orleans! Kathleen Bittner Roth created, with Josette, a passionate story with rich characters in a complex love story, filled with seduction and mystery. Josette caught my attention till the very end! I couldn't put it down! A real page turner! Isn’t the cover gorgeous, it really represents Josette, a proud and determine woman. I loved Josette and Cameron! I liked the secondary characters too, Alexia and Josette's two brothers, which added a touch of New Orleans Voodoo charm. Josette is a strong-minded and stubborn woman, who knows what she wants and is determined to get the man she loves. She owns a beautiful home in New Orleans, but something is missing in her life. Until, Cameron, a high sea captain, shows up at her steps with an unusual request. As soon as Cameron meets Josette, he is faced with difficult choices to make. The chemistry is sizzling between Josette and Cameron! Another person is added to the equation, the cute and charming Alexia! Lots of mystery and twists and turns in their story. Will Josette, leave her New Orleans home,to be with the man she loves? Will she steal his heart? Will Cameron make up his mind? Will they travel together on the high Seas? What will happen to Alex? Another beautiful romantic, written by this wonderful author! A must to read! I received an eARC of this book, from the publisher and NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review!
Historical_Romance_Lover More than 1 year ago
This is book 3 in the When Hearts Dare series. Still grieving after the death of his wife and newborn child, Cameron Andrews is set to travel around the world to try and find a purpose again. But he runs into one small problem... a young child claiming him as her father. Returning the child to New Orleans and her aunt, Cameron is determined to get to the bottom of this story. How could he have a child he didn't know about? Josette doesn't know what to do about her niece, Alexia, and her rebelling so she writes to the girl's father. But before she can send the letter, Alexia goes off on her own to find him. When Alexia and Cameron show up, Josette must convience him that Alexia is indeed his daughter. Josette and Cameron have an instant connection. But what Cameron doesn't know is that Josette has had feeling for him since she was a child. Will Cameron stay around long enough to see where these feelings will take them? Loved this story and all the characters in it! I'm really hoping that Roth decides to write about many of the secondary characters because they were just as entertaining as the H/H in this story! I really liked Josette and Cameron. They had both lost their spouses and had no desire to ever wed again. Cameron was still trying to find his way in the world after his family's death and Josette was content with where her life was at the moment. But as these things happen, you can't control where you heart leads you. They also had the mischievous Alexia to bind them together. In trying to figure out what was best for her, they realized that what was standing right in front of them was what would make their life complete! Thanks go out to Kensington Books via NetGalley for a copy of the book in exchange of an honest review.
gaele More than 1 year ago
2.5 stars, rounded I’ve read this series from the beginning, always on the hunt for books that use a setting other than England or Scotland, just to mix things up. While I’ve enjoyed the journey, these aren’t perfect must reads for me. I was hoping with the New Orleans setting and a pre-civil war timeframe that this story would avoid pitfalls common in the earlier titles in the series, and do justice to the gorgeous cover. Josette is portrayed as a strong and independent young woman, and while she had some backbone, I found the constant reminders of her independence to be far more frequent than her actual BEING that way. With a young niece who was ‘troubled’, if trouble means spoiled and willful, heedless of others than she was right on target. OK – so Alexia had her points – but the secrets and the connections that actually felt forced (voodoo priestesses, reunited crushes) had me rolling my eyes more than once. Then, you add in Josette’s brothers, and…. Nothing. They were little more than filler, and annoying filler at that. Cameron was ok, nothing special. He’s archetypal: widowed, grieving, come to find the clue to a mystery and determined to not risk his heart. Until laying eyes on Josette. The purple-tinged descriptive phrases were rampant and over-used. Hearts leaping into throats, needing to possess, fiery independence. Fine once, but after that it becomes too much. Show me the attraction or trait, make me feel it. The New Orleans of the mid-19th century was clearly the standout in this story. Beautifully portrayed and developed, you can feel the humidity in the air. Other moments of description are wonderfully developed and present a clear visual image, and added to the moments of enjoyment for this story. With elements and action that felt forced (a commonality in all 3 books) the story read longer than it was, and the moments of sparkle were too infrequent for me to give this an unconditional recommendation. If you enjoyed the earlier titles in this series, this will be one you will like as well. I received an eArc copy of the title from the publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.
LesiaCh4 More than 1 year ago
This story made me cry, and laugh out loud, author Kathleen Bittner Roth has written a beautiful Cajun romance where her characters come alive on the pages. I love the Cajun dialect and the sense of humor of Josette's brothers, Rene and Bastion. This is my favorite of the three books in the When Hearts Dare series, and the first two were great! I'm so glad this story took Cameron back to New Orleans, and Ms Roth explored more of New Orleans history to share with us. This is the first true Cajun romance I've read, and my favorite book this year. I definitely recommend this book and this series.
jdh2690 More than 1 year ago
This is the first book I’ve read by this author and has oft been said before, it won’t be the last because I loved it just that much. Ms. Roth knows how to weave a romance in and around an historical period, family feuds, dangerous action and characters, and all with excellent dialogue, local dialects/accents, sensuous scenes and wonderful humor. I am smitten by Ms. Roth’s writing, especially this romance between Josette, a “Nawlins” Creole, and Cameron, a wealthy Shipbuilder with both Creole and English backgrounds. I am definitely looking forward to reading more of her early American historical romances.
weluvdopey More than 1 year ago
Great Series! This is a great series; this is the third book in the When Hearts Dare series by Kathleen Bittner Roth. Josette is a strong willed woman who goes after what she wants. Cameron Andrews is a wealthy shipping magnate who is still grieving over the death of his wife and child. While on his way back to New Orleans he finds a dirty, obnoxious fourteen year old stowaway. When Cameron reaches New Orleans he returns the stowaway to his aunt Josette. When he meets Josette he feels an instant attraction to her. If you looking for a great Historical romance with humor then you need to read this book. I am looking forward to reading the next book by this author. A Review copy was provided to me in exchange for a fair and honest review. The free book held no determination on my personal review.
TexasRedbird More than 1 year ago
I won an ARC of Josette by Kathleen Bittner Roth. Such a wonderful, elegant read! Josette is a strong woman from humble beginnings that has reinvented herself in pre Civil War New Orleans. Rising above her swamp upbringing she has forged a life after her husband's death with tenacity and backbone. Her life is pretty normal as it can be with a Voodoo Priestess mother, and hooligan brothers, while helping to raise her orphaned niece. When her niece runs away, then returns with her father in tow, Josette's life turns upside down. Cameron Andrews had been her first big crush when she had been 13 and he 17. Cameron was the priveleged son of wealthy family. He had been sent away to England before knowing he had a daughter. Returning to New Orleans with a daughter in tow, Cameron is nursing a broken heart from losing his wife in childbirth. The two have a powerful attraction neither really wants to fight for long. The story has an excellent pace, lush descriptions, and heart melting characters. I found myself slowing down to more fully savor the story. I am really hoping Ms Roth with bring us the stories of Josette's brothers, and of course the irrepressible Alexia! This has a release date of September 29. And now I need to go make some beignets!
Clambert More than 1 year ago
I loved Josette by Kathleen Bittner Roth! The characters, especially Josette and Cameron kept me reading to see what would happen next. And Alexia - I hope there is more coming with her next adventures. Kathleen's historical research is so in depth and interesting, the details really bring the time period, the characters and the New Orleans setting to life. Great historical romance!! Looking forward to more from Kathleen Bittner Roth! I received an advance copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Set on the Bayou of New Orleans in the 1850's is a great setting for this the main characters Josette, a strong , independent Cajun woman and the wealthy shipping magnate Cameron Andrews. Kathleen Bittner Roth is a natural story teller and the characters were brought to life and kept you hooked right up until the last page.
JLMinHU More than 1 year ago
A Romantic Page Turner A magical read you will surely enjoy, Bittner Roth crafts historical fiction with twists and turns that are guaranteed to keep you turning the pages. Josette and Cameron have great chemistry and the seductive backdrop of New Orleans adds to the intrigue. Josette contains rich historical descriptions and includes interesting and complementary secondary characters which round out the storyline. Pour yourself a cup of tea and go back in time to mystical and romantic 19th century New Orleans. I have received an advanced copy in exchange for my honest review.
JeneratedReviews More than 1 year ago
The subtle nuances that Kathleen Bittner Roth interjects into her book Josette take her story from ordinary to extraordinary. In the third work in her When Hearts Dare series this talented author, with her wonderful written illustrations and research, will take you from the upper echelons of 1850’s Louisiana society to the culture of the bayous. The full on drama and revelations that are exposed throughout this read are nicely tempered by Ms. Bittner Roth’s facility at portraying these events in a believable manner. A notable secondary cast and a captivating hero and heroine will draw you into this tale of sultry love and intrigue. By the time you turn the last page of Josette this terrific author will have you anticipating what she has in store next for her readers! *I received this ARC via Netgalley.* *While part of a series this book can be read as a stand alone.*