Journalstone's 2010 Warped Words, for Twisted Minds

Journalstone's 2010 Warped Words, for Twisted Minds

by Christopher C. Payne (Compiler)

Paperback

$12.95
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 23

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

JournalStone's 2010 Warped Words, For Twisted Minds 3.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Dranea on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I received this books from the member giveaways at LibraryThing in exchange for a review. This book made me sigh in relief and turn my e-reader off several times. The short stories in here will make you cringe, chuckle, and be sick to your stomach. The various authors have varied degrees of "warped" ideas. Some of them are as different as looking through the eyes of a tomato - to the zombie apocalypse - to cannibalism. If you have the stomach and the mentality for things that will make you wonder about what is behind your door in the middle of the night, or if you wonder what type of flesh is better for stews, this book may be just what you are looking for. The short stories do not seem like short stories, they are are well written and it is easy to lose yourself in, which, for me, is very unusual especially for short stories. The quality of the stories did not vary either, like you find in most short story books. They are all excellent authors. If you like horror stories, stories that creep your out, or even just make you feel a little uncomfortable, get a copy of this book, dim the lights and ENJOY!
shearon on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
If you really like horror stories, this might be an enjoyable collection. I thought all the stories (with the exception of the tomato story) were pretty obvious early on, but with typically some kind of twist at the end. Several were also pretty gory. Not my thing.
actress133 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Like any anthology, there's bound to be some great stories mixed in with some mediocre ones. Overall, though, this is a great read because the stories are so inventive and colorful. The reader immediately becomes drawn in with the dark, twisted content, and is held in its grasp with haunting stories like "Perfection" by Avery K. Tingle (a modern Stepford wife tale) and the chilling apocalyptic "Hips" by William Todd Rose. The first several stories are a little less polished than some of the others, lacking some real character development or rising tension. Additionally, most of the stories seem similar to horror themes we as the reader have already come across--the zombie flick, the haunted house, the people turned into wax, etc. While some stories are extremely convoluted (like "The Road of Things to Come" by Benson Phillip Lott), there are enough good reads to make this compilation worthwhile.
ShelleyDaugherty on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I felt that many of the stories in this compilation were a redo of something I had already seen or read. I also found that the writing was a bit immature and that little attention was paid to detail. Anyone can tell a good story, but it takes real talent to write it; this collection is lacking that talent. I don't mean to be harsh but I am a fan of Dean Koontz and this is no Dean Koontz. That aside, it was good for a read here and there because it was a collection of short stories. Some of the stories were good, I will give it that, they just weren't fantastic. But if you like a good creepy story every once in a while then this might be right for you.
zannyvix on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Like any collection of short stories, you find a few gems mixed in with a more mediocre gamut of tales. Looking back over the index, some of them stand out bright in my mind, while others were instantly forgettable. A few of them were in need of a bit more editing and polish, but others managed to carry off their purpose pretty well.This book is generally about various instances of the paranormal, but it does include more mundane horror, and even a couple of zombie pieces. It was intriguing enough that I finished it, though I think I'd have left out the last story (The Road of Things to Come). It reads like downright garble. I feel like the writer tried to execute a complex concept, but failed in his delivery.Honestly, "Inevitable Death" made me chuckle. Bit of a spoiler, but I don't think I can recall reading a horror flick from the perspective of a tomato before. So yes, worth perusing if you enjoy this genre. I wouldn't call it top tier, but it was still a pretty good read.
difreda on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Christopher Payne has compiled a nice little collection of short stories pulled from the Journalstone web publications. These stories are most interesting in that they twist and turn in very unexpected ways - although I was able to see a few predictable endings gelling earlier in the stories than some of the authors would like. This was my first eBook read - A great chance to try out my new NOOK. Mr. Payne - Thanks for giving me rolic through the minds of a few " thoroughly Bent" authors' minds..! And sorry to say - I slept pretty well after my read... although I'm sure that many who read this eBook will NOT!!!!! So Buckle up - get some hot tea - and read this collection of stories - IF YOU DARE!Sweet Dreams!
texas659 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The group of stories were good and i really mean good. The story about the tomatoes was the best, because of the manipulation of words for the story, it got you to thinking. the authors were also fantastic. I would recommend this book to everyone!!
ksun on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Definitely warped and twisted. Some stories were out of my interest zone in horror, but the short stories really give the book a lot of different directions. Will probably appeal to many different kinds of horror fiction fans!
pamelareadz on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
"JournalStone's 2010 Warped Words, For Twisted Minds" by Christopher C. Payne was a real eye-opener and chill-twister...and, just in time for Halloween. Ooohhhh!!! This anthology consists of several stories that are, in my personal opinion, similar to an episode of Alfred Hitchcock or, dare I say, Tales from the Crypt. While reading these stories, I definitely found myself looking twice at my surroundings and pondering on every "little" noise in the background.Moreover, Mr. Payne's collection of writings was unlike any that I'm accustomed to reading. I'm more of a romance and religion, "let's all have a happy ending," kind-of-girl, but reading this, I was forced to step out of my "comfort reading zone" more than twice. However, that was okay. In fact, I found it to be very exciting and exhilarating...like figuring out that there were other amazing things to do, but you just never paid any attention to.So, thank you Mr. Payne...thank you very much, and also to the other writers that contributed because now I have an additional genre that I can add to my reading list...I'm excited!!!I give it 4 stars.
ToniWI on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Journalstone....is a collection short horror stories. Each story is unique. There isn't a unifying theme to the stories. The stories come from the point of views of males and females and fruit. This makes reading the book disorienting. Moving from one theme to another makes Journalstone difficult to follow. But the stories are interesting and most are pretty intense. This would make a great for reading around the campfire and creeping out your friends.
Dranea More than 1 year ago
I received this books from the member giveaways at LibraryThing in exchange for a review. This book made me sigh in relief and turn my e-reader off several times. The short stories in here will make you cringe, chuckle, and be sick to your stomach. The various authors have varied degrees of "warped" ideas. Some of them are as different as looking through the eyes of a tomato - to the zombie apocalypse - to cannibalism. If you have the stomach and the mentality for things that will make you wonder about what is behind your door in the middle of the night, or if you wonder what type of flesh is better for stews, this book may be just what you are looking for. The short stories do not seem like short stories, they are are well written and it is easy to lose yourself in, which, for me, is very unusual especially for short stories. The quality of the stories did not vary either, like you find in most short story books. They are all excellent authors. If you like horror stories, stories that creep your out, or even just make you feel a little uncomfortable, get a copy of this book, dim the lights and ENJOY!
T-Bones More than 1 year ago
I thought this was a highly entertaining read. This was full of some easily "Keep You Up All Night" type stories. These tales will twist you minds leaving you in awe at how twisted they actually are. My recommendation is given, now I hope you all enjoy this read as much as I did.