A Journey to the Centre of the Earth

A Journey to the Centre of the Earth

by Jules Verne

NOOK Book(eBook)

$2.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Journey to the Centre of the Earth 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 174 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nearly 30% of the words here are misspelled and require guessing what they might mean. It's so sad that such a great story has been so badly mishandled.
Rinoa More than 1 year ago
With an attempt to get into reading, my husband bought me the nook for Christmas. I decided that I wanted to start off by reading Journey to the Centre of the Earth. It took me several weeks to read this book in 30-60 minute sessions before bed, and I didn't read it every night. Today I noticed I had 30 pages left so I quickly finished the book. I was thrilled to actually read a classic novel. The ebook itself had misspellings, but that was to be expected. It helps to have an understanding of science to make sense of certain aspects and to be prepared for an older version of English writing when attempting to read. I would recommend it to people who aren't put off by pessimism. One downfall that I found was the 9 lives the characters have. No matter how many times he almost died, he prevailed. You know the main character survived, or how else would he be writing this book in such a narrative manner? I prefer surprises and unexpected twists which were not found in this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great classic
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Outstanding classic.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is good. However, this has WAY too many typoes and strange symbols. I had to get a library book and read that to understand this. You should do the same.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a nice classic book and i really enjoyed it. It takes you on and theres alot of detail involved and leaves you longing for an adventure of your own.
LisaMaria_C on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Verne is considered the father of science fiction and this novel was written back in 1864. Given that, I was rather pleasantly surprised with how engaging I found the story. Sure, the science is dated, but it made me want to know more about geology and the first person narrator, Axel, is witty and his uncle the professor an amusing eccentric. During this quest to make it to the center of a hollow Earth we encounter mushroom forests, an underground sea, marine dinosaurs, a hominid and mastodons. It's a pleasant enough read, even if rather superficial in literary depth and with a ridiculous ending, even given the science of its time. Worth reading if you're interested in the origins of the genre.
igjoe on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a classic for a reason. A bit technical, but so exciting and enjoyable. If you have adventure in you, you will love this book. A well written escape from the everyday.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Original Masterpiece!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fgfggfyuuodktjoifchjjbvzn.kgoiuymy
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ive watched the movie before
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What does that mean?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an amazing book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Has many typos but on very few ocasions can you not figure out the word it means. Overall very good book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
There were wierd symbols in my copy and typos everywhere.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A faithful guide and dangerus adventure.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Does not deserve any stars. I am not reading anything by Jules Verne. Deserves —124689854214680986541356890 stars
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I like this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
And by great i mean terribble. Many words misspelled, and garbage charecters. Dont bother unless you can decypher it like me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago