Just Between Us: A Novel

Just Between Us: A Novel

by Rebecca Drake

Paperback

$14.39 $15.99 Save 10% Current price is $14.39, Original price is $15.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, July 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Just Between Us: A Novel 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn’t put this down! One of the best best books ever!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book. Was absolutely great from start to finish!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent could not stop reading you feel like you are there cant wsit until the nrxt book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found this book to be a really great read. Interesting from beginning to end.
Anonymous 9 months ago
Great readI couldn’t put it down
Anonymous 10 months ago
Very+surprising+ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The-Geeky-Bibliophile More than 1 year ago
What would you be willing to do in order to help a friend? Alison, Sarah, Julie, and Heather have children attending the same school, and it wasn't long before the four moms became friends, regularly meeting for coffee after they drop their kids of at school. Alison is concerned when she notices a bruise on Heather's wrist, even more so after Heather hastily covers it and swears it's nothing. When it becomes evident that Heather's husband is abusive towards her, the women try to talk Heather into leaving, but she refuses. Her friends worry that Heather's husband might kill her, given the signs of increasing violence, but Heather isn't the one who ends up dead—and when she finally asked for help, it's not the sort of request any of her friends ever expected to receive. What I Liked: The entire premise of this book was fascinating to me; basically taking the hypothetical question about what you'd be willing to do for your friends, and forcing the issue with a set of circumstances that demand immediate action without time to consider the consequences. The situation in the book is an extreme one, to be sure, but I think everyone can identify with being put on the spot by a friend who needs something immediately. You do (or don't do) something in that moment, and don't have a chance to think about consequences until later, and then you worry over whether or not you did the right thing. That being said, it was extremely easy for me to go along with the plot. I had no problem understanding why the women chose to do what they did, or why they worried themselves sick over it later. The story is told from the perspective of each woman, and I liked having insight into each woman's private thoughts on things, as well as their feelings about one another. The events of that night would put a strain on their friendship, and it was nice to see that reflected in each of them as the story progressed. Every good story has shocking plot twists, and the big twist in Just Between Us was fantastic! I felt as if I should have known it was coming, in retrospect, but I didn't have a clue and was left wide-eyed in shock when it came. I want to say so much more about this, but it would completely ruin the story for those who haven't read it, so I'd better not. Trust me when I say it was excellent, and made me want to go back and re-read certain scenes now that I possessed this new knowledge. What I Didn't Like: Umm... I didn't like that the story came to an end... does that count? Final Thoughts: Just Between Us is a fabulous novel filled with suspense and intrigue. The characters are well-written and vividly detailed with a plot that is certain to keep the reader fully engaged and reading well into the night. Full of unexpected twists and a shocking reveal, Drake has written a domestic suspense that will leave you breathless. Highly recommend this book! If you haven't read it yet, be sure to add it to your reading list... and you can thank me later. ;)
KrittersRamblings More than 1 year ago
Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings Four suburban moms. Some have jobs, some stay at home with their kids and at a school drop off they connect and start a friendship. This friendship will alter all their lives completely. There is a prologue at a funeral and fortunately the reader finds out soon enough who has died and what happens, but that is just the start of it! If you are new here, this book has one of my favorite things - multi character narratives. I love it when an author writes from more than one character's viewpoint so the reader gets a full story from all angles.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A fantastic read! Full of unexpected and brilliant twists!
FeatheredQuillBookReviews More than 1 year ago
Alison, Julie, Sarah, and Heather may seem like a typical group of friends. They enjoy coffee after they drop their children off at school, some go to full time jobs while others are stay-at-home moms, but in reality, they are anything but typical. They all are hiding secrets, some more than others, secrets that can not only put them in danger, but hurt their families as well. Alison works from home with an IT company and Julie works in real estate. Sarah and Heather are both stay-at-home moms. Although these four friends are not extravagantly rich by any means, they do live in a nice neighborhood with very little crime. One night while they are all at a party, Julie notices Heather and her husband Viktor talking alone. Julie also notices that Heather looks a little tense while Viktor has a firm grip on Heather's arms. Not wanting them to see her, Julie tries to walk away, but Heather and Viktor notice her and rejoin the party like nothing ever happened. With Alison's theory in her head, Julie starts to wonder if Viktor could be abusing Heather. It isn't until the ladies are at the park with their children and they notice a mark on Heather's stomach, that they realize that Viktor is abusing Heather and that they need to help her. After this incident, the group decides to have a sort of intervention with Heather. Heather, feeling as if she is being ambushed, finally agrees that Viktor isn’t the awesome doctor who everyone sees and confirms their suspicions. Although the ladies try to convince Heather to leave him, she refuses. Heather also informs the group that she is pregnant, which her friends think is even more of a reason to leave Viktor. As Heather continues to refuse to leave Viktor, her friend's concern continues to grow. One night as Alison is sleeping, she receives the call that they all have been dreading. Heather calls Alison frantically in the middle of the night. Alison, worried that Viktor is about to do something, is surprised to hear that Viktor is dead. Alison, trying to calm a frantic Heather, rushes over while calling Julie and Sarah along the way. When they all arrive, they try to calm Heather down. Knowing, because of Viktor's injuries, that it would not look like self-defense, they come up with a plan to make it look like a carjacking, and take his car to the spot they picked out. Thinking that it is all over, and that they covered their tracks, they try to go back to normal. The police begin an investigation and soon, the four friends start to worry that they may not have covered up everything and their nervousness grows. While they are trying to remain calm and continue on as normal, they receive a letter from someone claiming to know what the women did. The blackmailer has photos of that night and is planning on going to the police unless the women pay up. The women are left to make a decision that could not only harm them, but will also affect their families as well. Their decision will change their lives forever. Just Between Us is a really great book. The whole story is so suspenseful that I was not able to put it down. It is very well written with a lot of detail that makes you feel like you are there. There are so many twists that just when I thought I knew where it was going, it changed and it was something totally unexpected. When I first began Just Between Us, I thought I knew where the story was going, but admit I was very wrong - and that's part of what made this such a fun read.
HowUsefulItIs More than 1 year ago
About: Just Between Us is a thriller written by Rebecca Drake. It was recently published on 1/9/18 by St. Martin’s Griffin, an imprint of Macmillan, paperback, 384 pages. The genres are mystery, thriller, fiction, crime, and suspense. My Experience: I started reading Just Between Us on 1/15/18 and finished it on 1/21/18 at 12:30AM. This book is a great read! The start of this book reminds me of Behind Closed Doors, The Last Mrs. Parrish, and The Wife Between Us because they all portrait domestic abuse. This book separates itself from the other books is the friendship. I like how they support each other despite their different personalities. I think I enjoy this book a bit more as a mom to little kids because I can relate my feelings with them. I like their different professional and personal backgrounds and whether they choose to be a stay-at-home mom or continue working. I like Alison’s drive to succeed and Julie’s trust in everyone. I like how Sarah’s defensive about stay-at-home mom. Heather gives me a lot of doubts and reading throughout the book, I couldn’t take her words for what it is until the end. This book is told in the first person point of view following four friends: Alison, Julie, Sarah, and Heather. Alison works in IT, Julie works in real estate, and Sarah, an ex-lawyer and Heather, an ex-model are both stay at home moms. Their kids all goes to the same school. Alison is often jealous of Julie and Sarah’s friendship because they met each other first. Sarah is glad that Heather is a stay at home mom too because she is sick of people thinking that she doesn’t do enough work at home. They often meet at the coffee shop to catch up on life and gossip. Their friendship started to change when signs of abuse begins to surface among one of their friends. She’s ashamed of it and asked her three friends to keep it a secret just between them. A secret that could consume them. They all worried that a bruise here and a welt there could lead to an end of their friend’s life, but when a phone call comes one night, their friendship is tested beyond their fears. A smaller secret becomes a larger secret and soon it’s up to them to defend themselves. This book starts out obvious but it spikes up the intensity and suspense as the story move forward. I like the names of each main character at the beginning of each chapter and at the top of the page with the title because there are four point of views and I often forget who I’m reading about since they all have a husband and two kids. I love their individual secrets and it’s delicious when it’s being revealed. I like the realistic reactions of each of the main characters the author describes in this book especially after each twists and turns. I like the easy way of their friendship where their first instinct was to help and only accuse when there’s hard evidence, but even so, they still stood by each other to help. I felt the adrenaline rush with Sarah’s close call about the phone at the bar and Alison and Julie’s shocking discovery at the rickety apartment. Friends meeting for coffee reminds me of the friends on Sex and the City, but this friendship is on a whole new level and I highly recommend everyone to read this book! ***Disclaimer: Many thanks to St. Martin’s Press for the opportunity to read and review. Please be assured that my opinions are honest. xoxo, Jasmine at howusefulitis dot wordpress dot com for more details
Holly More than 1 year ago
Just Between Us is the story of what happens something bad happens in one night that will lead to shocking revelations for a group of four women. Alison, Julie, Sarah & Heather are four friends living the suburban life but not all is what it seems with everyone. Each one of them has a dirty little secret that will soon be revealed to all after they start noticing bruises appearing on Heather. It will lead to a phone call in the middle of the night that will leave Heather's husband dead and four women trying to protect Heather. As secrets and revolutions about that night start coming out, no one is safe from what is about to happen to each of them. It will come down to the most shocking secret ever in the most surprising ending to a tale of who can you really trust? This book was amazing and it truly is a shocking thriller that will keep you up way past your bedtime. With how this story starts out, you think you know how it will end but you will be mistaken. It's that little shocking twist in the end that will pull everything together on why it happened the way it did. Let's just say it's one of those books that will draw you in to leave you wanting more!! Thank You to Rebecca Drake for writing a pretty darn good thriller that makes me wonder what is coming next!! I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book from the Publisher!
kamoorephoto More than 1 year ago
I guess you should probably get to know your friends better... This was a wholly entertaining read, if you can suspend your disbelief just a tad and get into it. I'm not quite sure that a group of friends would get themselves in THIS much hot water for one other friend, but maybe I'm just missing friends like this. BUT the friendships in this book - let's be HONEST - are built on lies and a lot of superficiality, and that's the point. In a tiny town where appearances matter, four friends start to have concern that one of them is being physically abused. Their natural tendency to gossip and gather around the friend with all the drama going on, ends up leading this little foursome into a very tense and complicated tangle of lies and deceit on behalf of their battered friend, and in the end, they're left wondering if it was worth it. And to a very unexpected ending. Domestic and physical abuse isn't a subject to be trifled with, and in this novel in particular, the plot actually may make some readers who are extremely sensitive to how the topic is used in writing, a little unnerved and upset, so I just want to point that out. Other subjects that may be difficult to come across in this novel are sexual abuse and miscarriage, but these are not addressed in detail and are not the focus of the book. The author Rebecca Drake cleverly uses the different characters' voices and perspectives for the chapters, alternating the viewpoints of the narrative for the reader. And then just when you think these girls are going to be able to roll out one more 'great idea', something else goes disastrously badly. One quote in the book is quite perfect, and they should have kept it in mind, 'But life so rarely goes according to plan.' You've got that right. Overall, solid, nerve-wracking thriller!
CathyGeha More than 1 year ago
Just Between Us by Rebecca Drake I saw the blurb for this book and thought it sounded worth reading so “wished” for it through NetGalley and St. Martin’s Press-Griffin bequeathed me a copy. I wish I had known in advance the book was told in first person from the viewpoint of four women…that got confusing at times and I found I really could not connect with any of the women telling the story. I am not sure if it is because of their stories and how dissimilar they are to my own or if it is their age – much younger than my own – or if it is something else but I ended up skimming rather than reading in depth, got the gist of the story and had no desire to go deeper. It could be that this book is just one that does not appeal to me at this moment in time and perhaps it would at some point in the future BUT I doubt I will pick it up in the future to find out. I am sure that it will appeal to others and there are reviews that indicate that is so…just not for me. This is my honest review. 2-3 Stars