Ketchup Clouds

Ketchup Clouds

by Annabel Pitcher

Hardcover

$18.00
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, May 28

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Ketchup Clouds 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
ReadersFavorite More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Anne Boling for Readers' Favorite Ketchup Clouds was written by Annabel Pitcher and read by Julie Maisey. Zoe’s family members are each trying to deal with their own problems. Both of her parents are lawyers, although her mother has not practiced law in several years. Her dad recently lost his job and money is tight. Her parents argue constantly. She has two sisters. Sophia, the middle child, is mostly ignored by their mother. Then there is Dot, the youngest of the three sisters, unable to hear. Zoe takes on a lot of the responsibility for her siblings. Zoe feels guilty for the death of Max so, in an effort to work through her guilt, she begins writing letters to an inmate on death row in Texas. Zoe isn’t her real name and readers do not discover her real name until the end of the book.  Ketchup Clouds is not light reading. This Young Adult book brought out strong emotions in me. I ached for Zoe. I found that I really cared about what happened to her. We all have our own way of expression and writing to a convict on death row was Zoe’s manner. This book is difficult to review without giving away too much so suffice to say that this is one of the best books I have listened to in months. The narrator, Julie Maisey, had just the right intonation. Ketchup Clouds is beautifully written and it captured my attention right away and held it to the very last. I will be watching for more books written by Annabel Pitcher.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is great! I could not put it down. This book is a lovely mix between romance and mystery! Definitely on my top 5 books!! A must read!! Even though it is about unconventional love, it feels you and you can find yourself relate to "Zoe" in a wonderful way. Read it! You won't regret it!!!
ImaginaryReads More than 1 year ago
Annabel Pitcher has a talent for writing books that leave me speechless with wonder at the end. The narration of this story is unique in that it's told in a series of letters. Zoe chooses Stuart, a man on Death Row, as the recipient of her letters because she feels like she can identify with him, claiming that she also murdered someone. Thus the pen name and fake address she uses in her letters. She tells her story in two parts: back then and also what is happening in the present. Thus, it is left to the reader to piece the story together. Initially, Zoe really grated on my nerves. She fills her first letters meaningless chatter before she finds the will to dive into her story. I wanted her to stop stalling and get on with the story; when she does open up, however, she portrays a selfish girl juggling two guys even though it's one particular boy that she truly wants. Then I thought about it, and I remembered that we're not all saints. Most, if not all, of us are guilty of liking and maybe even flirting with two (or more) guys at the same time. As the story progressed, I really got to know Zoe and the two guys. I appreciate how human and flawed they are. They're not perfect. They make mistakes, and they have to live with them if they are to move on. The romance is also believable. Though I believe that one of the guys is better for Zoe in the end, she has something with each of them, and they're both likable in their own ways. I appreciate how the story incorporates other aspects of her life. Zoe's home life is falling apart with her parents arguring on practically a daily basis, her sisters are distressed, and she's learning things about her family that she hasn't had to think about before. I especially love her youngest sister Dot, who brings such cuteness and joy to the novel. Soph rounds out the picture, showing how difficult it is for parents to divide their attention amongst their children. All of the characters, from the adults to the children, have their own vulnerabilities and strengths; they're realistic and so very human. Zoe is a brave girl for telling her story with brutal honesty down to the dirty details. Though it has to be easier to tell the story to a stranger who will never meet her, she does a lot of things that I wouldn't want to tell some of my closest friends--and certainly not my mother! The story is well constructed in a way that tells the story in the order with which it needs to be told while maintaining the suspense of what happens. Given the context clues, there was a strong possibility that a certain guy was the one that died, but I didn't know for sure until she tells us what happened. And then the aftermath. Zoe's story played with my heart and broke it, especially with that last letter at the end, when I realized what the future holds for her and her first true love. Ketchup Clouds is about first love, guilt, and reconciliation and discovery about oneself. It is a coming-of-age story wrought with hurt and secrets but also hope. Like with her debut My Sister lives on the Mantelpiece, Annabel Pitcher's second novel is told straightforwardly, candidly, and with simplicity. Therein lies its strength and power. I look forward to seeing what she brings to us next!
MariahEllis More than 1 year ago
Actual rating - 3.5 I have mixed feelings about this book. I really enjoyed the first half, but the second half, not so much. The love triangle started out okay because I thought it was going to resolve itself fairly quickly. I was wrong. It drug on, and got to be pretty unbearable. The big climax scene was really disappointing. The entire book built up to it, and then when it happened, I was left with an unsatisfied feeling. Like, really, that's all you did? The main character Zoe was quite enjoyable though, and I did particularly like her little sister Soph. She was the absolute cutest and really added to the story. This is a book that I listened to the audio of, and I really enjoyed the narrator. She did an excellent job of giving the story life, and she brought a breath of fresh air to the audio.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was really good. I loved it. Finished in 1 day. I love the romance involved with it, and how each day she tells this stranger how she "killed" this boy. This author is really good st writing and I will definatily check out more of her books. Well done
majibookshelf More than 1 year ago
This book started off as just a letter to Stuart Harris, an inmate and convicted murderer. When I got to read more as Zoe told her story to Stuart, this became such a beautiful story full of sacrifice, love, guilt, and trust. I went into this book with no expectations, and I ended up loving it. It was one of those books that really moved my heart (cheesy factor has gone haywire). Zoe's guilt has been eating her up for a while, so she decides to let someone know. That someone lives across the world from her, and is someday subjected to execution. The whole book is in "letter" form, but I'm glad that it didn't bother me one bit. I still ended up loving it just as much. I feel like saying anything about this book will end up spoiling even something small, and I think this book should not be spoiled even for something tiny. I'm going to try my best for that to not happen.Zoe, a girl who "fell for two boys, betrayed one of them, and killed the other", is not who you exactly think she is. I loved her. I was able to connect with her so well, and she really felt real to me. Her story was heartbreaking, and I just wanted to be there for her and give her a hug saying everything will be fine. Zoe is just like any other teenager out there, pressure from her parents to do good at school, family problems, boy problems, etc etc. She couldn't tell her story to anyone she knew, so she decided to tell it to a complete stranger who was going to die very soon. That was sad. I don't want to give anything about the boys she fell for, but they were both great guys. I really loved them both, and it was awful to know that one of them was going to die. When the book came to an end, I was upset. I felt like I was losing my close friends, and I won't know what happens in their life anymore. I wanted to cry, but I didn't. I just felt so many emotions, it's hard to describe it. I just know that this book felt so real to me, the people felt so real to me, and it was so sad to see it coming to an end. I wonder what Zoe is doing right now, and how she's coping with her life. I guess that's the sad thing about good books...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was good in some parts but it did get kind of boring. Overall, its a good book and had some humor. You should read this book...
fishgirl182 More than 1 year ago
One thing I can say for Ketchup Clouds is that it's definitely a unique read and I can't think of another book quite like it. Ketchup Clouds is told from the point of view of Zoe (an alias), a teenager suffering from debilitating guilt. From what, we're not exactly sure. Zoe decides to share her story with a death row prison inmate in order to assuage her guilt and share her secret with someone. Zoe relates to the inmate because, in her mind, she's killed someone as well. Through Zoe's letters, the reader learns about the events leading up to the fateful day that would change Zoe's life forever and leave one young man dead. I don't read many epistolary novels (novels written through documents, like letters and diary entries). I think it's really hard to do well. Zoe's letters read more like diary entries and I think the book would have worked better for me if that's what they were. Instead, the letters feel awkward and gimmick-y. It also bothered me that Zoe took such a long time to tell her story. She confesses a burning desire to share her tale, and then takes months to do it, even as the inmate's execution draws near. Zoe starts writing to this inmate because she says can relate to his crimes. However, after hearing her whole story, I found it hard to believe that she would identify so much with a man who murdered his wife and her lover after he caught them cheating. Zoe feels like she murdered someone but the situations were so different it was hard for me to believe she'd relate so much, though I guess it just shows how guilty Zoe feels. Zoe is an interesting character though not one that I can say I really like. She really likes one brother but starts going out with another because he happens to be available.  While I don't expect every character to be a paradigm of good human behavior, I found Zoe's actions to be very selfish and immature. She's acting like a normal teenager but there was just something about it that rubbed me the wrong way. She did win a few points with me though with her relationship to her sister. She was very protective of her and their relationship was very sweet. As for the romance in the story, I definitely fell on the Team Aaron side. It was clear to me that Zoe and Aaron had so much more in common and more chemistry than Zoe and Max. I think that's why I was so annoyed that she kept things going with Max because she and Aaron seemed to have a much deeper connection. This book was really a mixed bag for me. The overall premise is original but the execution was not quite there and it fell short of my expectations. It's still a worthwhile read just because it is very unique point of view and the identity of which brother died left me guessing until the very end. No doubt this book will find fans, but it just wasn't for me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Pads in her den and sets her herbs
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kills all the cats BWA HAHAHAHAHAHA
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She pads in and senses the air. She smells a rabbit. All of a sudden a rabbit with a big but hops out she crouches and pounces on the rabbit.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Firestar. You choose where. Yes i will be your mate.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Meet me at seagull fifth result. ~Featherlight