Kiss of a Demon King (Immortals after Dark Series #7)

Kiss of a Demon King (Immortals after Dark Series #7)

by Kresley Cole

NOOK Book(eBook)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Kiss of a Demon King (Immortals After Dark Series #6) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 679 reviews.
OpheliaTX More than 1 year ago
¿Stop your grinnin¿ and drop your linen¿ Kresley Cole has delivered another knock-out punch with her newest Immortals After Dark installment ¿ Kiss of a Demon King. And trust me this is the sexiest yet :) Rydstrom, deposed demon king of Rothkalina, has met his match in the sorceress Sabine, sister of the evil Omort, Rothkalina¿s current ruler. To fulfill a prophecy, Sabine has used her magic to capture and seduce Rydstrom. Of course, Rydstom fights his attraction to the sorceress with everything he has within himself ¿ but it is a losing battle. When the opportunity presents itself Rydstrom turns the tables on Sabine and now she is his prisoner. Rydstrom feels he is entitled to his revenge and plans to do what he wants to Sabine, even though Sabine believes differently. He pledged himself to her and now she has becomes his obsession with an overwhelming need to protect his female. Sabine is used to getting her way and is quite devious, merciless and resourceful when she is not allowed to be in control. They each have their own agendas, Rydstom¿s to regain his kingdom and free his people from Omort¿s tyranny and Sabine to stay alive and protect her sister Melanthe - but their attraction gets in the way.

It¿s a wild ride, poignant, laugh out loud amusing and sexy. For those of you new to Kresley Cole¿s books, lucky you! You¿re in for a treat with her previous installments ¿ A Hunger Like No Other, No Rest for the Wicked, Wicked Deeds on a Winter¿s Night, Dark Needs at Night¿s Edge, Dark Desires After Dusk and don¿t miss the novella in Playing Easy to Get. For those of you who are already fans, score! Another hit! And of course, you¿ll be left anticipating Ms. Cole¿s next wonderful installment
Neverenoughtoread More than 1 year ago
I recently discovered Kresley Cole, and in no time at all I had devoured everything she has written! The Immortals After Dark series is by far the sexiest and most fun series I have ever read. I am banking on this book being every bit as great as the rest!
KellyParRom More than 1 year ago
Immortals after dark is one of my favorite series and I was not let down in the least with this installment. We have been waiting to hear Rydstrom's story since early on and it was all that I could hope for. Kresley Cole's writing is fun, imaginative, and erotic, she makes it easy to relate to the characters and situations. His struggle to regain his kingdom and claim his mate, who was exactly what he wasn't expecting, made this a book that I couldn't or wouldn't put down until the end. She had me on the edge of my seat one moment and laughing out loud the next. I can't wait for the next story from the Lore.
lillY_R0SE More than 1 year ago
Kresley Cole has not taken a wrong step and this installment might just be my favorite of the series thus far. The story centers around Rydstorm Woede, a rage demon, trying to regain this place as King. Rydstorm is captured by Sabine, a sorceress of illusion and sister to the sorcerer who currently hold the crowd to Rydstorm's kingdom. Sabine's main purpose is to be impregnated by Rydstorm since she is Rydstorm's mate. Rydstorm, being the level head and "mission before pleasure" type of guy, refuses to give into his desire for Sabine. Sabine, on the other hand, begins to fall for Rydstorm during her many attempts to seduce him. But is their romance possible? Can Rydstorm truly fall in love with the sister of his enemy? Kresley Cole once again bring us a romance novel that keep readers asking for more IAD installments. Highly recommended novel and a highly recommended series!
jessieLsmb More than 1 year ago
I liked this book but it didn't have the true love aspect that all her other books have. I understand the leading lady had a very hard life but I just couldn't bring myself to like her very much. She was just so mean. But the book had a lot of good parts and it ended very well.... so I can't wait for the next book in the series.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Rydstrom Woede knows how far he has fallen when he rejects the human females¿ offer of a lap dance at the Tongue and Groove Strip Club in Louisiana. The former Demon King of the Rothkalina plane plots to regain his Castle Tornin throne lost to the sorcerer Omort the Deathless who cannot die. Hell he beheaded his foe nine centuries ago and instead of victory Rydstrom was fortunate to escape alive. His current ally Groot is Omort¿s brother who wants the Deathless one dead; Rydstrom¿s theory is simply your enemy¿s enemy, etc.

Omort¿s half-sister Sabine the Sorceress of Illusions is as evil as her siblings with one exception; her need especially when she was a tweener more than a century ago is to protect her younger sister Lanthe from their kin and the Vreckners. When she meets and captures Rydstrom, she makes him prisoner of her body. However, though she knows she needs to deliver his head on a silver platter to Omort, something strange occurs as he somehow conquers her heart: Likewise Rydstrom knows he must kill her before she betrays him, but somehow she has captured his heart and soul (though he doubts he has the latter as that is a human frailty). As they fall in love, both need to team up to survive her family especially Omort, but neither trusts the other; instead they make love, fight foes and anticipate duplicity.

The latest Immortals After Dark saga (See DARK NEEDS AT NIGHT'S EDGE, NO REST FOR WICKED and A HUNGER LIKE NO OTHER) is a wonderful urban romantic fantasy starring two fascinating individuals whose respective morality differs radically from most Americans. The story line is fast-paced from the onset as the demon warrior and the sorceress queen compete for the top position in their relationship. Fans of the Cole mythos will relish this superb entry succinctly summed up at the beginning by Rydstrom: ¿This sorceress might be an evil b*tch, but she¿s my evil b*tch. And I¿ll have no other.¿

Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book wrapped up great and as always, I cant wait to read the next one. But the people who were dissapointed...seriously? It's strange how when the supposed hero turns from bad to good its all sexy and dreamy...i wont disagree there but why is it so "dissapointing" when its a woman that ends being redeemed? Some people just dont understand a good story when reading one.
Leli More than 1 year ago
My second favorite in the series after the first one. And for those who complain about the sex scenes, ummm...really??
LanaGirl More than 1 year ago
This was my first book by this author. After reading the reviews, I thought it would be great. This was a fast paced novel, with interesting characters, and a fun plot. There were some pretty big issues however. I thought the editing was poor. There were times when you would be reading along, and then all of a sudden you would say, "what?" Then you would have to re-read a small passage a few times to understand what she was talking about. Almost like the author got so excited as she was telling the story that she got ahead of herself. I found this numerous times through the book. This book did have a one of a kind plot that I thought was very fun to read. However towards the end she did not flesh out the story. Almost like she had wrote to many pages and had to hurry up and finish. You can read the book in a few days as it's a quick read, but I don't think you will place this in your permanent library. However, it was good enough that I would try the author again. If the same issues are in other books, I wouldn't try another.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Actually, I usually continue to read books whose characters have captivated me. Kresley Cole once again, recaptured the unique character relationships and plot that makes this series great. It started the same time as the previous book, but kept it going and fresh with new twist and plot. At the end, it leaves readers wanting more out of the series and looking forward for more.
ArmyWife More than 1 year ago
This is Rydstrom book and I must say it was very exciting to read but the ending I felt there should have been more to it. I love the Immortals After Dark and just absolutely LOVE the fact Gena Showalter's awesome Lords of the Underworld hotties were mentioned in it!!!! (I have read all the books so for for LOTU) Rydstrom story is exciting to read from start to finish, I couldn't put the book down until I was done! There isn't too much action compare to the other books but it has my thumbs up for IAD Series! Accession going down soon sooo... Will it be the twin Lykae brothers or maybe Regin story with that berserker next? Let's see... I can't wait to see who Ms. Cole will write about next in the Lore!
sannat99 More than 1 year ago
This book is about Rydstorm, the demon king and his fated mate, Sabine, the sorceress/queen of illusions. The dialogue is witty at times and funny also. I'm a big fan of Kresley cole and I've read all of her paranormal series. She is one of the most entertaining authors that i've read. This book falls short at times as the plot is prolonged and boring at different intervals. There were some great scenes, but I didn't think the main characters matched that well. It seemed a story of angry lust rather than profound love. Sabine and Rydstorm are opposites in good and evil and they are supposed to balance each other out. Although I understand this point, I feel that there was a fakeness to this relationship or maybe their interactions were too choppy. Sabine's character is amusing and she grows into a better person, but she is still quite devious. She lacks morality and she's spoiled. I didn't relate to her as much as I tried... Still, I think this book is worth a read, especially if you liked her previous paranormal novel. You see a bit of Cadeon, his brother, but none of the characters from the prior novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
love+her
Deserie.Comfort on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Kiss of a Demon King is the sixth full-length novel in the Immortals After Dark series. This book opens with the continuation of events from Kiss of a Demon King, namely the kidnapping of the demon king Rydstrom by his archenemy the sorceress Sabine. Rydstrom has been waiting for his mate for 1500 years, but during that time he has never forgotten his duty to free his kingdom from the rule of Sabine's evil brother Omort or his responsibility to free his kingdom's enslaved subjects. The realization that Sabine is his mate happens in the early pages of this story - at about the same time that she kidnaps him, locks him in a dungeon and chains him to the bed, determined to make him mate with her so that she can get pregnant with his heir. Kiss of a Demon definitely had more of a believable time line for the characters falling in love. I also loved the sense of humor that Sabine had and had bouts of laughing out loud while reading. This is once again another book that I would recommend for readers who are into the paranormal romance genre.
flemmily on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Darker than most of the previous books in the series. Again a little slow starting, but I was completely suck in by the end.
fairypenguin on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In this sixth installment of Kresley Cole's Immortals After Dark series, dethroned king of the rage demons Rydstrom falls in love with the evil sorceress Sabine, Queen of Illusions. If you are a fan of the series, you will not be disappointed. The plot was rich and interesting, if slow in a few places. The characters are well developed and engaging. I particularly enjoyed Sabine--she is such a departure from the typical virtuous heroine we see in the romance genre. Furthermore, the world continues to grow and develop at a satisfactory pace. Highly recommended!
saturnnalia on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I loved the demon king, Rydstrom. His leading lady, Sabin, not so much. I would have liked the story better if Sabin had not been so annoying. She was supposed to be evil, I get that, but something about her turned me off. Loyalty to and love for her sister her one good redeeming quality. Rydsrtome really made the book, a wonderful character who deserved better then Sabin. The plot really reminded me of Johanna Lindsey's Prisoner of My Desire. Male kidnapped for the purpose of impregnating the heroine and the heir used for nefarious reasons. Then revenge and reversal of roles, hero kidnaps heroine and pays her back in kind. Even though I knew where the story was going, I still enjoyed their adventure. The pacing was good, wonderful mix of adventure and the characters together.Rydstrom fought his unreasonable attraction to Sabin and I enjoyed his struggle between responsibility and what his heart wanted. Sabin didn't have the same struggle and that made her more one dimensional and simple, for me.
knielsen83 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Another great romance with lots of action, near death experiences, and tons of SEXINESS! Kresley Cole hasn't written a book yet that I have not liked.
Catherine331 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Let me start off by saying that Kiss of a Demon King is closely tied to another book in the series, Dark Desires After Dusk. To read this book you don't need to have followed the whole series, but I strongly recommend reading the book that I just mentioned. It is the story of Cade, Rydstrom's brother, and has a few scenes that are a duplicate of those in this story. Also, they basically follow the same time line and involve most of the same people.Sabine, Queen of Illusions, is half-sister to Omort the Deathless. She's in a pretty messy situation. She and her sister, Lanthe, have been stuck with Omort because of the poison he has that they need to live. Omort is not her favorite person, and he's creeping her out with his incestuous lusting. She's determined to get her sister and her out from under Omort's thumb. She believes she has the perfect opportunity in Rydstrom. Omort knows of a prophecy that tells of Sabine being Rydstrom's mate. The child they produce together will unlock the secrets of the Well of Souls. He plans to have Sabine capture him and get herself pregnant. Sabine, being the ruthless individual she is, is totally ok with this plan. She knows that this is her perfect chance to take control. If she has a child she can unlock the Well of Souls for her own use. Better a queen of Rothkalina rather than a king anyway, right?For Rydstrom's part he's determined to kill Omort and regain his crown. He believes he's finally answered the question of how to kill someone who is deathless. He starts his brother, Cade, on the search for the Vessel and plans to meet up with him. Unfortunately he gets caught in one of Sabine's illusions and becomes trapped in his own castle's dungeon. He's none to pleased about that and is incredulous over Sabine's plan. Unfortunately for her, even if she got pregnant the child wouldn't be recognized unless they were married first. While Sabine is plotting them getting married and getting pregnant, Rydstrom is plotting on how to get free and enact his own revenge against her.I know that many people found Sabine unlikable, but I didn't. I was impressed with her `look out for number one' attitude. She's died again and again throughout her life. I'd think she was a fool if she wasn't always plotting about how to turn a situation to her advantage. I loved that she was able to move beyond the fact that her group, the Sorceri, weren't very strong compared to the rest of the Lore. I really liked the fact that she stayed basically the same character throughout the book. As she and Rydstrom got closer they had to adapt and be willing to bend with each other, but never did either of them break some supposed `bad' trait in each other. Very refreshing.Rydstrom was less of a favorite character for me. However, I think it's because I sympathized with Cade more in the last book and thought his brother was a butthead. I guess I never really got over that. I liked that I got to see his point of view on the reasons that Cade got sent away. The reminiscing over little Cade made me have an `awwwww' moment for Rydstrom. I actually liked that Rydstrom was such a stick in the mud in the beginning. I think he and Sabine really complimented each other. I love that Cole did not make Rydstrom a martyr. I loved the insight into how he sometimes felt the burden of his people and all their expectations. I thought that was very realistic.I guess my major dislike about the book was the ending. All that buildup through various books and the fight for Rothkalina is over? Hmmmm... Very unsatisfying. I thought I'd get more than a page of the fight. I had to re-read to make sure I hadn't skipped something. Very anticlimactic. Also, all this time was devoted to Rydstrom's kinky fantasies and there seemed to be no follow through. There was one spanking scene but that was it. I wondered why the kinkiness was brought up so often if nothing was going to be done with it.One thing I really loved: A reason for being a virgin that makes s
AngelLocke on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
While I loved the rest of the books in this series this one was not my favorite. I do believe there was more sex in this book than battles. I thought Rydstroms battle for his throne should have been more than just a couple of paragraphs long. I did get to love Nix even more in this book and can hardly wait for her to find her mate!
emilyjo2001 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I normally love reading this series. I usually find the books humorous and romantic. However, this particular one in the series had a VERY unlikable heroine, little to no humor, and most of the book the characters spend it walking through landscape. I am also not fond of torture scenes of any kind.
SunnySD on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Sabine, immortal sorceress of illusions, is fated to break the seal of the demon Rydstrom Woede. The warrior demon has sworn to take back his kingdom from Sabine's half-brother, a vile, insane, sorcerer. Initially intriguing, this turned out to be forgettable, banal, and uninspiring. Neither Sabine nor Rydstrom are particularly appealing characters - they're one-dimensional and although the plot is promising, ultimately I just wasn't enthralled.
laur0209 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was my least favorite in the series. I found the plot lacking and I really didn't like either main character. I will continue reading the series as they are released because I did enjoy it until this book, unfortunately Sabine and Rydstrom's story did nothing for me.
Jenson_AKA_DL on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Determined to get his kingdom back Rydstrom has dedicated himself to finding a way to overthrow the evil sorcerer Omort. But, when he discovers the means the sorcerer's sister, Sabine the Queen of Illusions, is sent to waylay him. What's more, Sabine is his fated female and now Rydstrom must fight against both the evil at work in his homeland and his desire for the evil enchantress.This is probably one of the most steamy trade paperbacks I've yet read (not counting anything by Emma Holly). There is some serious bondage play and, since the plot relies a lot on the characters' attraction to each other, there are significantly more love scenes in this one than the others I've read by this author. However, the push/pull relationship between the two disparate main characters made for great tension and this, along with very good dialog, character building and a tried and true but interesting plot (yes, there is a plot in there as well) I felt that this volume is one of her better ones. This book goes along very quickly and doesn't get tiresome so I was able to read it much faster than I expected. One part I really enjoyed was Sabine's relationship with the young demon, Puck. It did make me smile! The only downside that I found was that I'm not a huge lover of violence and Ms. Cole's characters all seem to adore it. The love of killing for fun and sport is never an attribute I find appealing in any heroine or hero (in this case mainly the heroine).Overall I did find the book appealing and fun to read and plan to continue on with the series as they come.
MelindaLibrary on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Kresley Cole is the absolute best at creating two characters who fall in love but are at understandable cross-purposes and therefore keep missing opportunities to be with one another in a fulfilling way. I love this series and the worlds that Cole keeps layering into the overall plot. This story is about Sabine and Rydstrom, whom were referenced in the previous book in this series, Dark Desires After Dark. So this story runs (mostly) concurrently with that previous book. The only drawback I have is I kept wondering when the things that happened in Dark Desires were going to effect Sabine and Rydstrom. But overall, a fun and enjoyable read. As always, Cole's books have wonderful sarcastic wit and hot sex scenes.