Knitting Under the Influence

Knitting Under the Influence

by Claire LaZebnik

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Knitting Under the Influence 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 69 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Her fairly successful actress twin sisters allow Kathleen Winters to live off of them until she opened her mouth to a reporter while drinking. Angry at her, they toss her out for revealing family secrets that hurt their careers. --- Animal rights activists assault research scientist Lucy Cameron for her lab¿s practices. The protests lead to Lucy pondering whether she is doing the right thing at work and with her sanctimonious boyfriend. --- Sari Hill works at an autism clinic. She has doubts about helping a particular patient when the man who bullied her brother in high school arrives with autistic son. --- These three friends discuss right from wrong as each knits a special item of clothing knowing deep in their respective souls that life is the SAME AS IT NEVER WAS. --- This deep character study uses knitting as a powerful metaphor on life with the end products representing the personalities of the trio as well as the path one step (stitch) at a time to get there. The key to this strong tale is that the threesome seems genuine whether they knit, indulge in sex or cuddle a kitten as they discuss their relationships, their troubles, and their aspirations. KUI is the complete package thanks to the complex female membership and a story line that enables readers to hear the clicking of the needles. --- Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book. I love how the author can make you connect to three different heroines all at the same time. I was so anxious to get to the next part of the book that I stayed up all night reading it through in one sitting...then I read it again just to make sure that I didn't miss something. I LOVED IT!
Beth1671 More than 1 year ago
I bought this book thinking it would be a really easy, fun read. Yes, it was easy, but it was so predictable that it was completely boring and lost my interest quickly. I LOVE a great "girlfriends" book, but this was over the top and WAY too long for the story it told. I ended up skimming about the last 75 pages that didn't need to be there. I would not recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Characters were very flat and predictable. Not impressed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book about some misfit girls and their crazy shenanigans... I laughed and cried, and I read it over and over.
a_frequent_traveler More than 1 year ago
This starts off really slowly and I nearly gave up on it, but since I'd already purchased it, I gave it a shot. The story jumps back and forth between the three main characters, following the ups and downs in their various relationships. I wouldn't really suggest to anyone that they buy this book, but if you already have it, stick with it. It's not a complete waste of time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It took a while to get into the story. It flips between the perspective of each of the main characters, which at first was a bit of a drag and a little hard to follow. About a third of the way into it, I was hooked. I finished the rest of the book that same day.
Cecilturtle on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I must admit I was expecting a humorous, murder mystery so I eagerly waited for cadavers. When that didn't happen, I had to settle for a bunch of predictable romances, superficial characters and dull politics. The only redeeming feature is the reflection on autism, the way it was stigmatized in the past, it stresses families and it creates a whole new dynamic with the rest of society. Otherwise, I wouldn't recommend it for anything more than a quick read on the bus.
mchwest on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book was very enjoyable. My only complaint is that there could have been more knitting instruction, and it wasn't hard to figure out where the relationships were going. But still ,this is part of the reason I enjoyed it. This is my kind of book that takes me to other worlds and relaxes me from the days worries. The characters were well written and the book moved along.
Justjenniferreading on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I won't say that I thought this was a great book, because I'd be lying. But I thought it was ok.I really liked the book until the end. And I'm all for neat tie-ups and everyone goes away happy but I just didn't see all the outcomes in this book as believable. I know it's fiction but the characters should still be believable, right? The writing style was good and it was easy to follow the dialogue. The character development was great! I think that all the characters were fairly well-rounded and their personalities were fine, until the end. The end could have been so much better and still given the same outcome. I felt like you get to the end of the book and the author needed to get the last bit in but only had so many pages to do it, so she cut it so it would fit.Bad ending or not I think it was an ok book. I'm going to find something else of her's to read as I really did like her writing style. It was very easy to follow.
punxsygal on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Being a lifelong knitter the title and cover (with it's yarn ball and needles atop a martini glass) reached out and grabbed me. I had to read it. And it was a very enjoyable story. First you meet Kathleen, one of triplets, but the odd one out as her sisters are identical twins. Kathleen is floundering around trying to find her place in life by drifting along and not doing much of anything. Sari is a therapist working with autistic children (her brother had autism. She finds herself the therapist for the son of one of her brother's tormentors in high school. And finally, Lucy, a brilliant scientist dating the man of her dreams (or is he?). These three meet over bagels or drinks to knit their scarves and try to figure out their lives. At times I wanted to pick up my own needles and say "help me figure this out".
TheLibraryhag on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Three friends in Los Angeles deal with family and relationship problems at their weekly knitting circle meetings. This is light hearted Chick Lit that will leave you feeling good and maybe wanting to knit a little something.
readingrebecca on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Pretty good chick lit in that you have characters you just want to shake and say "wake up"! Well, at least that's how I read a lot of chick lit. The knitting angle in this was fun. But I was fascinated by the parts about autism, something I previously had not read much about. I do believe I've read that the author has an autistic child.
gttygrl on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Just finished it last night at 1am. It was an easy and enjoyable read. It took awhile to get used to the sparse writing style--no words wasted on lengthy descriptions of people or places--and at first the knitting references seemed forced, but once I was pulled into the story, that feeling went away. I liked the characters, I enjoyed their stories, and I'd definitely recommend the book to others.
superblondgirl on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I adored this book! It was so much fun that even though I knew right away how it was going to turn out I still really enjoyed the journey. The main characters were great and interesting, and I loved the knitting twist. Even the cover picture is cute, and there are some yummy-sounding drink recipes at the end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could get past the second chapter. The character kathleen was so obnoxious that i couldn't maintain enough interest to make it any further into the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Emmsteroni More than 1 year ago
You would think that a book with 'knitting' in the title would have more knitting in the story line. Sadly, there was not a lot of knitting in this book, almost as if it were an afterthought during editing in hopes to draw in more potential readers. That being said, if you are looking for a light, fun, romantic chick book, then this would be a suitable choice.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
csingh More than 1 year ago
This book has been on my to be read list for a while and I can't understand why, because Claire LaZebnik has never failed to deliver anything less than an amazing book. I love how cute the title of the book is. It is apt and applies to the women in the story, Kathleen, Sari, and Lucy are best friends and knitting buddies. Each has a different personality and traits, but are always there for each other. It's a great story of camaraderie, knitting, and finding love along with what you are truly looking for. You definitely will not regret picking this one up.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago