Lady Eleanor's Seventh Suitor

Lady Eleanor's Seventh Suitor

by Anna Bradley

Paperback

$15.00
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, July 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Lady Eleanor's Seventh Suitor 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
gaele More than 1 year ago
The first I’ve read from Anna Bradley, with an enemies to lovers plotline, a slew of drama and deception and a difficult to engage with hero are the most notable features. Eleanor has turned away multiple suitors for her hand, determined to hold out for true love and someone who wants her, not just her fortune. While I could completely understand her wishes, her constrained manner has led to her being thought cold and removed: a ploy that didn’t make her accessible or even particularly engaging at first. At home with her sisters, she is an entirely different animal: smart, funny and warm – and you can see her affection for her sisters and family is strong. But, when she devises a plan to appear as if nothing more than candyfloss exists between her ears when faced with a choice, she completely lost me. Then we have Cam – offering for Eleanor’s hand in a bid to exact revenge on her father – by blackmailing Eleanor with a scandal that involved her sister. He was angry, vengeful, duplicitous and unfeeling from the start. So much so that his fate with me was solidified in the early pages and all I wanted was to have someone (preferably another of the sisters) throat-punch him. But, I digress – sometimes there are authors who introduce specifically distasteful characters to give them a moment of redemption – so I hoped. Of course, Eleanor knows there is more to the story that she hasn’t been told, and she does find him attractive and intriguing – but she decides she must have honesty between them. Funny how she missed the plot entirely and corrected her own behavior to show him exactly who she was until it was so late the entire story seemed to be who’s secrets would bring this engagement to a halt and would it happen before or after Cam gained his revenge. So, overall – the story ddn’t work for me: redemption and a sense that a real accord was developing between Cam and Eleanor came far too late for me to forgive either their missteps and deceptions. Although Bradely did write a story that kept me reading and hoping to see and find some true connection to these two as a couple, I never did find it and found the ending a bit too pat and formulaic, leaving me unsatisfied and uninterested in this couple. I received an eArc copy of the title from the publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.
Lashea677 More than 1 year ago
Two sisters joined in blood, united by scandal. Anna Bradley knows how to tantalize, that's for sure. Lady Eleanor's Seventh Suitor is a romance born of scandal, but forged out of love. Eleanor is thrust into a situation that forces her to chose between self - preservation and family loyalty. Her choices are limited but her heart is pure. Camden is more a mystery. The motives that drive his devious plan are more far reaching than just him marrying. They involve secrets that encompass the Sutherland and West families and could ruin not only reputations, but lead to heartbreak for all involved. Lady Eleanor's Seventh Suitor is regency at it's finest. Full of surprises and breathtakingly wonderful.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
%0Ajust+what+I+needed+tonight.+++
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nagirref More than 1 year ago
Lady Eleanor's Seventh Suitor by Anna Bradley was a pleasant surprise. It takes me awhile to decide whether or not to read a new author - and to me Anna Bradley was new. I'm glad I made the decision to take that chance. The book is well written with just the right amount of sparkle. Eleanor is thought to be cold by society since she's rejected a number of suitors. However, she's holding out for a marriage made with love. In comes our hero, Camden, who dislikes Eleanor's family immensely and must somehow overcome his rage to find true love. This books has a few twists and turns - but it gets there!
Historical_Romance_Lover More than 1 year ago
LOVED this story!! Cam is determined to marry Ellie for his own reasons and nothing is going to stop him. He even goes so far as to blackmail her into an engagement. Charlotte however is determined to marry for love. She gives into Cam's blackmail only long enough to figure out a way to get out of it. I loved watching Cam and Ellie together. It soon became apparent that Cam was attracted to Ellie and that his reason for marrying her had drastically changed, but did his realization come too late? Definitely a must read!!!
ArecRain More than 1 year ago
On one hand, I love a good historical romance. On the other, even the best stories can be ruined by a single character. Overall, I genuinely enjoyed the story. I related to Eleanor and her relationship with her sister and the chemistry between Eleanor and Cam was real. Their game of cat and mouse was a pleasure to read and Eleanor is one of the best heroines I have read in a historical romance for some time. That being said, Cam ruined it for me. Multiple times, I found myself asking “are men really this simple and single-minded?” I couldn’t get behind his motivation to blackmail Eleanor, and, honestly, couldn’t understand how it was a punishment even after the author explained it. In a world where arranged marriage were the norm and love matched were either rare or only for the lower classes, it didn’t seem like the best way to go about his plan. He could be downright aggravating. Men, am I right? Lady Eleanor’s Seventh Suitor is genuinely a good historical romance if you are looking for one. The characters have depth and are motivated, regardless of how far removed I am from those motivation. Not only the H/h but the side characters as well. At the end, after getting what I wanted from Eleanor and Cam’s story, found myself hungry for Charlotte and Julian’s. Both were equally lovable characters and hope their story is as enjoyable as the first entry in this promising series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved rhe book. You will, too.
BookReview4you More than 1 year ago
'Lady Eleanor's Seventh Suitor' by Anna Bradley is the First Book in the New Series called "The Sutherland Sisters". This is the story of Eleanor 'Ellie' Sutherland and Camden 'Cam' West. Ellie and her sister didn't have a great home life with a mean father who has since past. Her parents marriage showed her that the only marriage for her is a 'Love Match' that marring for anything else would end like her parents. Since Ellie is holding out for Love which has made her very selective of men. The previous suitors and the town has called her allot of Frosty and Ice nicknames. Cam has set his sites on marrying Ellie and has been monitoring her and seeing the fail attempts at her hand. When Ellie's younger sister Charlotte and Cam's cousin Julian are caught by them in a compromising position. Cam helps them leave but later comes to Ellie with a blackmail offer she has a few days to decide what she is going to do. This time they both start learning more about each other and finding that what they thought they knew about the other...isn't the case. "My honest review is for a special copy I voluntarily read."
candy-b More than 1 year ago
Lady Eleanor Sutherland was referred to as Lady Frost by the ton. She had 5 suitors but she turned them all down. Camden West had been in India for 10 years and had just returned. He decided to blackmail, Lady Eleanor. A more complicated and surprising story can not be had. It all gets so complicated. The author has written an amazing story about two families and the naughty things they do. There are a lot of twists, people have their hearts broken and make bad decisions. But the author takes it all and makes it into an even paced and easily read tale. The characters are well rounded and so realistic. I loved this book especially when the two sisters went out to the terrace and finally talked to each. Lady Eleanor comes to interesting conclusions. It is a racy story but still an excellent read. I received this Arc and voluntarily reviewed it.
TamWindsor_69 More than 1 year ago
Seventh time's the charm? This was a captivating tale featuring a cast of characters that are all flawed and broken, each in their own way. Each merely wants to feel a sense of love, security and acceptance. For Ellie and Cam, scars runs deep and trust is hard to surrender up. Their complex and layered personalities made them seem like so much more than characters in a book. They tug at your heart strings and sweep you along in the tide of their tumultuous and ever-burgeoning emotions. I found that, once I started this book, I was quite unable to put it down. The plot was captivating and the vivid descriptions had me envisioning the scenes as if I was an actual onlooker. This book was very well-written, and the colorful cover was absolutely stunning! *I received a complimentary ARC of this story from NetGalley & Kensington Books in order to read and provide a voluntary, unbiased and honest review, should I choose to do so.
def618 More than 1 year ago
Eleanor Sutherland, known as “Lady Frost”, is in the betting book at White’s as to who will finally convince her to marry after 6 suitors have been rejected. Considering her father, it is not a surprise she doesn’t trust men. Camden West is determined to marry her and has convinced his cousin, Julian, to help him. During a ball, Julian is to take her sister, Charlotte, into the garden where Cam and Eleanor will discover them. However, when Cam and Ellie find them they have gotten a little carried away. Cam tells Ellie she will marry him or he’ll tell the world about Charlotte. Agreeing to the engagement, Ellie plans to discover why he wants to marry her. Cam has a much younger sister, Amelia, and she may be a part of his plans. There is so much more going on in this book that I will not spoil. We see her brothers and their wives, along with Cam’s aunt and uncle. I love this book as much as I did Anna Bradley’s earlier books which feature Ellie’s brothers and I highly recommend it. Favorite lines: “because one was either the villain or the hero. Never both at once. Except it wasn’t that simple” and “No one cares about the start of the play, Cam. They only care about the wedding at the end.”
CathyGeha More than 1 year ago
Lady Eleanor’s Seventh Suitor by Anna Bradley The Sutherland Sisters #1 First book in a series and first book I have read by this author – it won’t be the last. In fact, I am eager to read Charlotte’s story when it is out. Eleanor’s father was not a nice man and treated her family abysmally. Siblings, mother and self were only relieved when he finally died. She, as a result of seeing her mother’s unhappiness, has determined she will only marry for love and so far her brother has assisted her in this endeavor by turning wannabe husbands away. Well, along comes someone intent on having her for his wife and that person is wealthy self-made man Camden West. His reasons for her coercing her into marriage, he believes, are just. His cousin Julian disagrees. His much younger sister, Amelia, has not a clue. Eleanor is NOT inclined to be forced to marry someone she doesn’t love but she does love her sister so sets out to thwart Camden in his plans. A battle of wits ensues as Eleanor and Camden spend time together…secrets are eventually revealed and a HEA achieved…though it is a rocky path for a while and especially rocky for Eleanor’s sister, Charlotte, and Cam’s cousin, Julian. This was a deeper book than many historical romances. The characters were complex as was the plot. The growth of the characters was enjoyable to observe as were the interactions between main and supporting characters. I was left feeling that sometimes getting what one wants or thinks one wants is not all that one might want it to be. I do believe Eleanor and Camden will be happy together and want to hear more about them in Charlotte’s story. Thank you to NetGalley and Kensington-Lyrical Press for the ARC – This is my honest review. 4.5 Stars
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I would read it :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
London -1815 Lady Eleanor (Ellie) Sutherland is known as Lady Ice. Having had six suitors so far, Camden (Cam) West hopes he will be the lucky seventh suitor to win her hand. Now age 21, Ellie is in her third season and has recently rejected Lord Tidmarch’s proposal as he is just too timid for her. Cam West is observing her rejection of the young Lord as he watches Ellie heading into the garden looking for her sister, Lady Charlotte Sutherland. She had been dancing with Julien West, Cam’s cousin and a rake, who would like nothing more than to get Charlotte outside on the terrace to steal and kiss….and he succeeds in stealing that kiss and more. When Ellis finds Charlotte in the arms of Julien and half dressed, Cam offers to call their carriage to take them home. The next day, Cam visits Ellie asking to marry her or he will tell the ton about the previous night and her sister will the ruined. Cam has given her two weeks to accept his suit and proposal. But to show the man that she does not take orders easily, she makes their times together quite vexing. Enter Amelia, Cam’s younger sister and for whom he cares deeply. As Ellie sees the two of them interact, she begins to believe that Cam may have a heart after all. But there is truly more than meets the eye behind his wish to make her his wife. I had a difficult time with the characters in this book. To me, Eleanor had no feelings and Camden was a bully and the “hold” he had over her was weak. Lady Charlotte is a sweet character and I cannot wait to read her story. Amelia is an adorable character and I hope that the author will write a book about her. Copy provided by NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.