The Lampshade: A Holocaust Detective Story from Buchenwald to New Orleans

The Lampshade: A Holocaust Detective Story from Buchenwald to New Orleans

by Mark Jacobson

Paperback

$20.69 $22.99 Save 10% Current price is $20.69, Original price is $22.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, July 19

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Lampshade: A Holocaust Detective Story from Buchenwald to New Orleans 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 21 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Although JacobSon provides some very interesting details in his search for answers, he strays too often into irrelevant information that made the book hard to get through. It was like sitting at dinner with that relative that just won't get to the point of his story. He also interjects too much of his personal political and religious beliefs (or non-beliefs) into this book making it yet another unnecessary distraction. I really dont care to hear from him that he thought the failures of dealing with Katrina were Bush's fault or to hear him belittle organized religions.
picardyrose on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It was interesting and well-written, if a little creepy. A lot I didn't know. Not to be insensitive, but I would have thrown the thing away.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Are you guys evil?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought, because of the story, that it would be more of a detective story, with the author trying to track down where the lampshade is from and who it is from. Instead, it's more about his ambivalent relationship with the lampshade. The author goes on for quite some time about his conflicted feelings about the lampshade--yeah, I get it, it's a lampshade made of human skin, you should feel weird about it! On another note, I've read plenty of books on WWII and this book did offer anecdotes about concentration camps I had never heard of. My recommendation: read parts 1-2 of this book and skip part 3, unless you're interested in the author's thoughts on the lampshade.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Of course, considering the subject matter, one would probably have to actively work to make it boring, but this is a really thoughtful, well written and of course fascinating personal narrative.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good baseline story though the author tends to be quite subjective and rambling on and on
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is definitely worth reading, alot of information in it, some irrelevant, but it takes you on a journey, the same journey that the author took to try and figure out where the lampshade came from, it's very interesting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"Its okay!"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sadly i announce the end of this clan *the entire forest and everything in it dissapears