Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

by Jenny Lawson

Hardcover

$17.46 $25.95 Save 33% Current price is $17.46, Original price is $25.95. You Save 33%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Let's Pretend This Never Happened 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 722 reviews.
Draeconeia More than 1 year ago
No, seriously, if you want to laugh harder than you've ever laughed before in your life you need to read this book. Jenny Lawson AKA The Bloggess may not be the most important person ever, but she knows how to tell a story. This book is highly enjoyable, fast-paced, and hard to put down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I 'liked' this book…I think Jenny is a good writer. I have enjoyed her Blog--The Bloggess, for quite awhile. There were some very wonderful vignettes in the pages of her book. I love the tales of childhood, her husband, odd family greatly peppered with her 'drunken sailor' mouth but there were a few things lacking….such as the footnotes….uugh…. way to many references to her 'next book' and the leading you in paragraphs…such as …'don't read this if you don’t like_________, I'm there I bought/got the book..don't spend your or my time talking me out of it. Also (and I am going to blame the editors on this one) there were chapters that, as a reader, were clearly out of order. I guess I wanted MORE. Funny- yes…but somehow lacking, I thought it would be much MUCH more than her blog, but it is in effect mostly just a rehash of posts that I have already read. My recommendation is read her blog..and then if you want the stories that are there put into print, then buy the book. There is more than just the blog vignettes but, all in all, not quite as good as I anticipated it to be.
poosie More than 1 year ago
A little bizarre and vulgar in places but over all hilarious! What an unusual life and strange childhood. They say most comedians come from an unhappy childhood or suffer an overwhelming shyness or some kind of affliction that they hide the pain behind their outrageous sense of humor in order to survive. She doesn’t feel sorry for herself, which I find terribly honorable. She accepts and moves on and doesn’t sit on her “pity potty”. This is one to keep on your bookshelf, ready to read again when you need a good dose of “pick me up” medicine! I loved this!!
b21958 More than 1 year ago
I think Jenny Lawson is a tremendously talented and funny writer, and really wanted to read her this book. After getting bogged down with all the F Bombs, I just gave up. How can someone so incredibly talented and full of imagination keep falling back to one tacky, obnoxious word? Jenny, you're so much better a writer than to need the constant, repetitive F Bombs littering this otherwise hysterically funny book.
--Lizabeta More than 1 year ago
So. funny. I. almost. passed. out. laughing. Seriously, saw spots. Another time, I woke my husband up in bed cause I was suddenly braying like a donkey. Warning: Don't read next to a sleeping partner.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldnt put it down. Jennys way with story telling is unique and entertaining. If you dont laugh out loud- and often- you were probably a cheerleader. You're welcome.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jenny Lawson is hysterical! I first read her blog about Beyonce and was so excited to get her book. She totally delivered. I was reading it on a plane and was laughing so hard that people did not know if I was laughing or crying because tears were rolling down my face. Cannot wait for the next one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love reading Jenny's blogs, and I will admit to fits of hysterical laughter at times (look up Beyonce the metal chicken), so I couldnt wait to read her book. She's just as funny, but I can still feel the editor's influence. The longer prose just didn't come across quite as side-splittingly funny as her blogs. These stories are things that can only happen to Jenny, so I loved getting to see more into her world. Sometimes my OWN mind wandered, so apparently I should just stick to her blogs. A good read that her fans will love.
Dukewife More than 1 year ago
A very funny book, won't be everyone's cup of tea, but if you have even the slightest twisted sense of humor you will enjoy it! I love "The Blogess" and she is as funny and easy to read here as she is on her blog. What a cast of characters in her life. Love them. Quirky doesn't begin to describe Jenny's life. Looking for a fun quick read, then you'll enjoy this book. I did...a lot!
BookSakeBlogspot More than 1 year ago
Book Review (ARC) Before reading this book, I’d only heard of Jenny Lawson through one of the stories she posted. After reading this book, you had better believe I have her site, The Bloggess, bookmarked and am reading it often. This chick is freaking hilarious. Somehow she survived her childhood filled with wild animals that were brought home, both dead and alive, and she lived to tell the tale. It’s not just the circumstances she is thrown into or puts herself into, or just her outlook on things; it’s the combination of all of these things that makes the stories so funny. I feel for her husband, having to endure such strange conversations with Jenny, but at the same time I envy him because she is definitely keeping him on his toes and keeping their lives interesting. I laughed so hard I was crying only 30 pages or so into the book. An OCD raccoon will do that to a girl. I’ve already pushed this book onto one of our other reviewers and reiterated some of the stories to the other reviewers. No one is safe. I’ll be buying a copy of this book to reread when I need a laugh and also because the ARC version I read didn’t have the pictures that were referred to in the stories. Some of those you can see in the book trailer, but I think rereading it with the pictures intact will somehow make me able to give a 6 out of 5 rating instead of 5/5. Yep. She’s that funny. Reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hilarious! I had only ever read one post by The Bloggess (Copernicus the monkey. Google him) before buying this book. I have never done such a good job picking out a book before. I laughed until I cried. Such a great and funny read. She tries a little hard to be silly in some places but her inner dialogue in situations, fantastic. Loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I became a fan of the bloggess in 2009 and have been laughing and laughing through tears with her ever since. If you have ever laughed at something wildly inappropriate, or just laughed instead of cried at something in your life, then this book is for you. Jenny makes her readers feel like they are friends accompanying her on this very strange trip. You will not be dissapointed!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you love The Bloggess (or just absurd, hilarious memoirs), you simply must read Jenny Lawson's book. I laughed until I cried. In the best possible way.
MadameWong More than 1 year ago
You have to love a book that can have you laughing out loud one moment and crying the next. Also, if an author has enough of a sense of humor to see a negative review as a positive thing, that's enough to endear them to me. When Jenny saw that someone said her friends would probably burn the book, she proudly declared that it's "Perfect for book burnings."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Get ready to laugh out loud. Disturb the neighbors. Follow your husband around the house reading page after page. And feel as though your life is totally normal. Can't wait for book 2!
ironstring More than 1 year ago
Absolutely hysterical, at times sad, always human. Wonderful book from a wonderful blog.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is absolutely the funniest book I've ever read. Jenny Lawson is hysterical! Buy this and read it now. You won't regret it!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had to stop reading this book in public because I would breaking into hysterical laughter. Seriously funny.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had a terrible time reading this book. I stopped on page 84. I wish I could get a refund, it is that bad. The author drones on and on about her drug use, in an awkward way that is not funny but makes you uncomfortable, like you want to slip her a business card for either a therapist or Dr. Drew. I purchased it because Jen Lancaster, whose work I love, had recommended it. If you are doing the same, I would recommend you re-think it. It is not worth purchasing, as it is not humorous nor is it interesting.
Chrisbeans More than 1 year ago
I am an avid reader and have NEVER laughed this hard reading a book, EVER!! Jenny Lawson, or as I like to call her, "Jen", because after reading this book, I've appointed myself, her new best friend. ANYWAY, "Jen" writes in a way that makes you feel as though you are just sitting in a room with her having an amazing hilarious conversation. DO not read while sitting in a quiet waiting room, the library or at a funeral because you will be called a jerk for laughing out loud, or just plain crazy.
Kaged More than 1 year ago
Funniest book I have ever read. 
smavoc More than 1 year ago
I loved this book!! Laughed so hard I snorted milk out of my nose. And I wasn't even drinking milk at the time. My favorite part - the squirrel. "nuff said.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Pointless and obscene ramblings better suited for a low budget comedy club and only after several adult beverages to numb the sensibilities. Doln't waste your money on this mindlessly crass book who's author cannot complet a sentence without the "F" word. Save your time for an author with a larger vocabulary and an interesting story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jenny is awesome. For those of you giving a bad review over the F word clearly have no idea who she is. She is a woman who, though hilarious, struggles with a mental illness and is sharing her life with us. I love the fact that she is willing to.. Basically, before purchasing the book, read her blog so you have "some" kind of idea who she is before you start bashing her for colorful language.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was hilarious. I love her and wish I could hang out with her. This is the funniest damn book I have ever read