Life-Changing Prayers: How God Displays His Power to Ordinary People

Life-Changing Prayers: How God Displays His Power to Ordinary People

by Michael Youssef

Paperback

$13.49 $14.99 Save 10% Current price is $13.49, Original price is $14.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, June 19

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Life-Changing Prayers: How God Displays His Power to Ordinary People 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As always Dr. Youseff hit the heart with tender words of hope and love. I've never been disappointed or not moved to a deeper understanding of God's love for his people in Michael's books. He is a man who's love for God pours out and overflows to all who hear and receive with an open heart for Jesus.. thank you Michael for your faithfulness and love in Christ Jesus.
Librarycataloger More than 1 year ago
In the introduction of his new book Michael Youssef offers these encouraging words. "...God loves ordinary people. Most of the heroes in the Bible were ordinary people whom God used in extraordinary ways". He then goes on to explain that they stood out because they were people of prayer. Youssef shares the stories of seven of these ordinary but very extraordinary people and he relates how God heard and answered their powerful prayers. Eliezer, Hannah, David, Daniel, Jonah, Habakkuk and Mary all had different needs and concerns so their prayers were very different but they all knew that they had to pray believing; they had to pray with persistence and they had to pray expecting an answer. I loved how the author related some of his own life experiences as he focuses on these seven people and their prayers. I appreciated that he used Bible scripture throughout the text and listed notes with bibliographical references at the end of his book to help further my understanding. I was both encouraged and uplifted by this book and some of this encouragement is offered in the conclusion when Youssef tells us that "All things are possible when God is at the center of our lives. Even when we feel like giving up, He can give us the strength to carry on". I recommend "Life Changing Prayers" to anyone who wants to strengthen their prayer life and deepen their relationship with God. I received a complimentary copy of this book from Baker Publishing and was under no obligation to post a favorable review. These are my honest opinions.
Karen-Roberts More than 1 year ago
Seven people like you and me prayed, and their lives and the lives of generations were changed. In Life Changing Prayers, Dr. Michael Youssef examines the prayers of ordinary people – prayers that produced extraordinary results. Youssef examines a prayer for guidance, a prayer of brokenness, a prayer for mercy and justice, a prayer of confession and repentance, a prayer of despair, a prayer of complaint and ultimately of rejoicing, and finally a prayer or song of praise. Intertwined within these seven stories of ordinary people who choose to believe God for extraordinary answers to their prayers are nuggets of truth about the holiness and majesty of our Creator. The Creator of the universe wants to spend time with you and me … quality time … alone time … holy time. "Glorify God in all circumstances. Magnify His name at all times. That is the essence of the prayer of Mary, the mother of our Savior. That is the key to power in prayer" (p. 184). This is a book that you will want to read several times as well as purchase for friends. I received a copy of the book from the publisher for my honest review and thoughts.
Cheri5 More than 1 year ago
Life Changing Prayers by Michael Youssef was a wonderful book. God used the words on the pages to speak into my life and to encourage me to continue praising God and praying until the answer God promised comes. I loved reading in depth about David, Hannah and Eliezer, someone I had barely known about, to name but a few. I highly recommend this book to all who want encouragement to deepen their prayer life without feeling judged or condemned for starting where they are. I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher and was under no obligation to post a review.
Julie12 More than 1 year ago
This book on prayer is really helpful, without being judgemental, on making our prayer life more vibrant. Dr. Youssef encourages us through the stories of different people of the Bible and points out that these people were not perfect, nor was their prayer life, but they still had a powerful relationship with God. Along with these stories from the Bible, he brings true life experiences and challenges into the book to help us in our prayer life. This helps to make this book even more relatable because he shares the struggles we have in our lives and how we can make prayer as important as it should be when dealing with our concerns. I like how he really went through the prayers in a deep way to help us gain a better understanding of these prayers of the people in the Bible and also showed us how God answered those prayers. It gave me more insight into prayer and how prayer is so vital to my Christian walk and relationship with God. I enjoyed this book and thought Dr. Youssef did a great job of making it easy to read. I think it's a book that many will enjoy and it will bring prayers into the place of our lives that they should be. *This book was provided to me for my honest review by Baker Publishing Group
Pooke More than 1 year ago
Want to Know How to Change Your Prayer Life? Ever consider changing the way you pray? Would you like to get more out of your prayer time? How would you like to have a more joyful experience with the Lord, as well as, in your life? If so, strongly consider this book, for if you follow the suggestions, it will change your life. The author provides interesting information about the prayers of the following people in the Bible: Eliezer, Hannah, David, Daniel, Jonah, Habakkuk, and Mary. Most Christians may have heard of these people, and might be familiar with their stories. However, many may not have paid too much attention to the way these Biblical people prayed. The author gives interesting details about their stories, and then suggests easy ways to pray the way they did. For instance, how often do you praise the Lord and thank him before your prayer is answered? The author recommends it and shows how Jonah did that very thing. He also advises that when praying, make sure you are expecting an answer. Dr. Youssef states, “(our prayers) receive no answers because deep down, we really don’t expect an answer.” As proof of this, he refers to the first chapter of James which says: “6 But when you ask, you must believe and not doubt, because the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind.7 That person should not expect to receive anything from the Lord.” On our own, we can never do enough or be good enough to deserve things from God. But because of His mercy, the Lord takes care of us. When praying we need to appeal to God’s mercy. That is how Daniel prayed. Follow his example and make your prayers more than pleas for help or a list of things you want. Glorifying God will give you more than you can imagine. This book offers specific ways to pray that will deepen your relationship with the Lord. The also author reminds us there is not a time limit for God to answer our prayers. So, don’t give up or lose faith. I was amazed the author was able to use the book of Habakkuk, which is rarely preached on, to find insights for praying. This is an amazing, easy to read book which offers lots of concrete suggestions to have a better prayer life—and a more joyful life as well. This book built up my faith while offering great ideas that have helped me personally. I highly recommend this 5-star book to everyone, give it a try! The Life Changing Prayers Launch Team has provided bookreadingtic with a complimentary copy of Life Changing Prayers, for the purpose of review. I have not been compensated in any other manner. All opinions expressed are my own, and I was not required, or influenced, to give anything but an honest appraisal. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I highly recommend Dr. Youssef's latest book. It is essential to our understanding of prayer. Although I have read many books on prayer, this is a welcomed addition to my knowledge and experience of prayer. Dr. Youssef challenges us vigorously to become people of prayer. I love how Dr. Youssef exegetes the prayers of seven ordinary people in the Bible, and demonstrates how these prayers changed their lives. Through careful analysis of each prayer, coupled with real life experiences, Dr. Youssef provides us with clear features, models, and patterns ("confession, intercession, and petition") that we can emulate and apply daily in order to see changes in our ordinary, quotidian lives. In addition, he refutes a myriad of misconceptions about this sacred practice. Dr. Youssef encourages us, in our prayers, to be honest, humble, specific, committed, confident, persistent, obedient, saturated in scripture, sacrificial, to seek God's will, and be grateful. As he writes, "People who spend time with God every day can't help but be changed" (105) and "Prayer is a way of life, of staying spiritually alive. It is the spiritual equivalent of breathing" (188).
Kacy Burns More than 1 year ago
Dr. Youssef has a unique perspective on the prayers of the Bible. This book focuses on several individuals who prayed to God in faith, which resulted in a dramatic life change. Each prayer is observed from several angles so that we can glean wisdom for our own prayer lives.
summer_no9 More than 1 year ago
This book had a great fully insight writing, encouraging, inspiring and compelling to read with also challenging and reminding us of why we are pray. This book will giving us to learn about inspiration and faith to find out for yourself to become an ordinary people of the Great of God with this will helping you to go on the next level of the prayer. I highly recommend to everyone must to read this book. “ I received complimentary a copy of this book from Baker Books Reads Book Blogger for this review”.