Light on Snow

Light on Snow

by Anita Shreve

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Light on Snow 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 140 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Some reviewers here must have missed all the lovely images and themes in this wonderful book (I listened to the audio cassette). The story starts off with a bang, and is told in the viewpoint of Nicky, the daughter. It develops realistically, as Nicky and her Dad deal with the situation. Light on Snow can mean so many things - think about it and read it again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I recently found Anita Shreve and her books and I have read a few. This one does not disappoint. I couldn't put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Although I usually enjoy this author, Light on Snow left me feeling manipulated. Fascinating premise - How could any mother DO that ?! - but this question is made irrelevant as Charlotte is innocent of fault except for naivete. Total copout on Shreve's part.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A smart, thoughtful and deeply feeling work. I loved reading this!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Honest, clean, visual, believable. Good solid writing.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Anita Shreve has done it again! This suspense filled book kept me reading for hours a day. The whole plot was full of excitement. Anite Shreve did a wonderful job of making the book come to life and making me feel as if I were really there.
MarysGirl on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. Simply written but deeply felt, it's a story about a wounded family being dragged from their isolation by another tragedy.
Carolfoasia on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I liked this book written in the first person from the perspective of a pre-teen who, with her father, finds a baby in the snow. Sweetly written.
bakersfieldbarbara on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A baby is found in a snow-filed woods in New Hampshire by a man and his 12 year old daughter. A young woman shows up at their home later, and then each of them face decisions that will change their futures forever. Shreve's writing is spare, neat and crisp, yet the principal characters are fully formed, and their lives worth caring about. This is a book that is engrossing and will keep you thinking long after you have laid it down. A must read than will linger in your mind for days.
GJbean on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An after-school stroll leads to a life-altering event for widower Robert Dillon and his 12-year-old daughter, Nicky, in this delicate new novel by acclaimed author Shreve (All He Ever Wanted,etc.). In the woods surrounding their secluded home in Shepherd, N.H., Robert and Nicky make a startling discovery¿a baby abandoned and left to die in the snow. The infant survives, but the incident leaves its mark. Still recovering from the painful loss of her mother and infant sister two years earlier, and readjusting to the shock of a sudden move from suburban Westchester to rural Shepherd, Nicky struggles to reconcile her innocent notions of adult integrity with the bleak reality of their discovery. The tenuous sense of normalcy Robert manages to sustain is broken with the appearance of Charlotte, the baby's young mother, on his doorstep. Retold 18 years later by an adult Nicky but written in the present tense, the story shifts brilliantly between childlike visions of a simple world and the growing realization of its cruel ambiguities. Aside from a few saccharine moments and a rather pat ending, Shreve does a skilled job of portraying grief, conflict and anger while leaving room for hope, redemption and renewal. Her characters are sympathetic without being pitiable, and her prose remains deceptively simple and eloquent throughout.
sharlene_w on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Twelve-year-old Nicky Dillon and her father, out for an afternoon hike in the snow, happened upon a crying newborn wrapped in a sleeping bag and left to die alone in the cold. Their rescue of this helpless infant is the catalyst for helping Nicky (and her father) come to terms with the sudden and tragic loss of her mother and baby sister two years earlier near Christmastime.Nicky and her father have grieved separately, but the quest to answer questions about this baby and the parents who abandoned it bring them closer together. Engaging and entertaining characters with a believable storyline. Recommended.
aaaviku on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Anita Shreve is one of those authors that makes me shiver. Partly with anticipation (a new title of hers is always exciting), and partly from fear. She touches on sensitive topics, and more than once I have put one of her books down for months, because I thought I wasn't strong enough to handle that particular topic at that time. But this power she has, is a real strength. I mean, how can she affect me more closely, more realistically, and more thoroughly than watching the news? Her characters are always real and compelling, and there are always more sides to the story than you thought at first. She leaves you thinking about what else might be going on behind the scenes.Light on Snow is lighter than some other offerings, but as a result, there was nothing stopping me from diving in fully, and reading this book until it was done. And then re-reading some of the bits to make sure I ate up the whole thing. I loved all of the characters, (that's rare; usually there's someone that you can't stand in a book; but this one was full of friends). This would be a good book in which to become familiar with Anita Shreve. Very enjoyable, if a little lighter than others (if finding a baby; abandoned to die, in the snow, can be called "lighter" than other topics).
catalogthis on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Okay. Readable. Very movie-of-the-week-ish.
gmullan245 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really loved this book.
nocto on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago

I've found some of Anita Shreve's books to be dense and involved reads but this one was exceptionally light. The story concerns the emotional fall out after a newborn baby is found wrapped in a sleeping bag in the snow. The narrator is Nicky, the 12 year old who found the baby along with her dad while walking in the woods. It's mentioned that she's looking back on the events from the age of 30, but this doesn't really make much sense as apart from talking about things that would have embarrassed a 12 year old there's nothing added by this device and we don't find out anything that happened to the cast of characters after the week of the story.

Not my favourite of Shreve's books.

bookmindful on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Just awful. Maybe I will get rid of that one star.
RPerritt on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really loved this book. Nicky sure has lots of responsibilities to be a twelve year old girl. She is also a big support for her sad, depressed father. I wish that the Dillon's could have kept the baby girl, but that did not happen. I felt sorry for Charlotte. I wish she would have been able to live with the Dillon's and everyone would live happily ever after. I think that it still ended pretty good anyway.
bnbookgirl on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. The characters were all someone I would like to get to know. It was interesting to watch the family dynamics after the arrival of the baby and then Charlotte. The father is so dependent on Nicky in the beginning, but then breaks out of his comfort zone to save the abandoned child. It reassured my belief in "right place, right time".
Twincrk on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Easy to read and interesting
Appliquetion on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
12 yr old Nicky was taking a walk in the forest with her father when they heard the cry that would change their lives. The cry of a baby abandoned in the snow. Follow the events which cause the shadows and questions that laid still and quiet since the death of Nicky's mom and little sister surface, as does the mother of the abandoned child. Discover the choices which lead each person to be where they are and the little details which enable them to grow to be who they destined to become.I found this book to be completely engrossing and could not put it down until the last page was turned. I could feel the emotions emanating from the characters. I was impressed with the vividness in which Anita Shreve was able to bring them to life. I found myself on a wild emotional roller coaster ride as I turned the pages. A must read.
scubasue59 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A somehow compelling narrative; I felt very close to the girl telling the story. Very little action, but a warm enjoyable quick read.
suztales on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Written through the eyes of a 12-year-old (she is frequently unbelievably perceptive for her age) this is a sweet story about a father and daughter unable to recover after the loss of half their family. The father we are told is not even trying to recover. What they find on a walk in the snow becomes a two-way miracle that leads to a sort-of happy ending. A quick, okay read, not memorable.
moonshineandrosefire on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I just finished reading Light on Snow by Anita Shreve. Twelve-year-old Nicky Dillon and her widowed father find an abandoned baby in the woods on a snowy winter's night in New Hampshire. This leads Nicky to question what makes a family, especially when an unexpected visitor - a young woman who's haunted by her own terrible choices - shows up at the Dillons door. The Dillons and their guests face many emotional decisions each of which could lead to heartbreak or redemption. I really liked this story; it's easy reading and a riveting storyline. I give it an A+!
jewelryladypam on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was a quick read but definitely not the most thought-provoking or heartfelt I've ever read.It is about one family's struggle to overcome a tragic past and their need to move forward into a healed future. Their need - whether they know it or not - for redemption.Some points to consider while reading this book are:What IS a family? What makes up a family? What about the "precise intersections" that occur in our lives - are they truly 'random'?I would've given this book a higher rating had it not been for the ending. I felt that the ending was weak and found that the book didn't 'sit well' with me because of it. There were several plausible endings from what I could figure, none of which the author chose.A fairly good read that proved to be disappointing in the end.
wmandersslis on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Anita Shreve weaves a tale of suspense through the eyes of an 11 year old girl who finds an abandoned baby in the snow. Her father, recovering from a haunted past, takes in a young woman who develops a friendship with the girl. However, the secrets that are revealed threaten to blow this father and daughter forever apart.