Little Green Men

Little Green Men

by Christopher Buckley, Random House Inc.

Paperback(1ST PERENN)

$14.20 $14.99 Save 5% Current price is $14.2, Original price is $14.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, July 29

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Little Green Men 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
Capfox on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I've read a few Christopher Buckley books this year, and found them all enjoyable, but I think that I have to say that this one is the best of the bunch. The other ones were generally smirky books, with a couple of laughs; this one had a good number of laughs, and the story didn't suffer for it at all.Here we have the story of John O. Banion, a bowtied, cane-carrying conservative columnist and TV host who's at the top of his game (this is said to be a take-off on George F. Will, if you know who he is). After a bad day, a guy at the alien abduction wing of the US government decides to abduct Banion, basically just on a whim. The repercussions of this are profound for just about everyone involved.The book's in two parts, how Banion loses his credibility, and then how he gets it back. Both parts are very funny, and still make some good pointed jabs at the nature of life in politics and media in DC, along with the UFO crowd and such. It's a fast read, roars along to a pretty good climax, and comes down nicely. The style and the dialogue are both quite sharp, much in line with his other works. If you want to start somewhere with Buckley, this is a good place to try.
RoseCityReader on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
After the famous host of a Sunday morning talk show, and Washington uber-insider, is abducted (twice) by space aliens, he becomes the pariah of the Beltway but the celebrity leader of three million UFO believers. This set up in the hands of America's funniest political satirist is sure to be entertaining. And it is. It is fun and funny and goes down like a bomb pop on the first hot day of summer. My only problem with Buckley's books is that they are never as good as the first one I read. That is, I think that whichever one someone reads first will be that person's favorite, because it is so surprising to read a clever, really funny, contemporary satirical novel. The first one sticks with you. So, for me, while I find all his books to be entertaining, none will compare with Thank You for Smoking, which made me laugh out loud from cover to cover.
bexaplex on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Alien abductions are staged by a paragovernmental organization in order to increase military funding. A political talk show host is abducted and starts a quest to legitimize the UFOs-have-landed community.Buckley is funny, as per usual, although I found the abductions a little skeezy. There is something unsettling about the concept of a ungoverned group whose job it is to drug people and make them think they've been probed by aliens.
SmithSJ01 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I got just over two thirds of the way through and decided I really wasn't interested in what happened and quite simply couldn't finish it. I think this book really has to be your cup of tea. I didn't laugh, I didn't find it funny. When Nathan Stubbs doesn't get promoted he decides to take actions into his own hands and orders an alien abduction (well two actually) on the Washington talk-show host John Banion. John then decides to set the world to rights and I can't tell you if he did or not as I only got as far as his march/rally. At one point I was convinced my copy was a proof as there were a lot of typos in there but it wasn't. I therefore wonder if it is the American style. If you believe Little Green Men are your thing or not you have to like the writing style of this book. The plot itself is an excellent concept which is what I was hoping was going to keep me going. However, it's a good cure for insomnia.
jaimelesmaths on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Hilarious political/journalism novel. Just when you think the situation can't get any more absurd, it does. Minor complaint about the ending kept it from the 5th star, but still a good read (unless, of course, you are a conspiracy theorist, in which case you'll just be pissed off).
buddyboym More than 1 year ago
while i thought his father to be obnoxiously pretentious and self-possessed and his mother elitist and highly influenced by appearances, i commend them both for having raised a son who is not only brilliant, but also earthy and both weary and leery of the presumptions of his parents and their washingtonian hoi polloi and antics. he has that very irritating segment of our society down pat (no pun intended), and makes the most of it. if i could invite three people to dinner, he would be at the top of my list. he's an absolute joy, as are his books, and i seldom laugh as hard when reading as i do when reading the great Mr. Buckley.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Drawkcab More than 1 year ago
Quite clever and funny. If only his father had been that funny!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Funny great story i recomend to any one who wants to laugh
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I tend to be very visual when I read. I like to cast the actors in 'the movie going on in my mind' when I'm reading. It didn't take me long to cast Kelsey Grammer in the role of John O Bannion. This guy has 'Dr. Frasier Crane' written all over him! This book is riddled with lunatic characters and situations that could be real. I wouldn't want someone who's bent on conspiracy theories reading this one. They might think it's non-fiction.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Let's just say that I laughed so hard reading it in the airport that people thought I was crazy.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. Undoubtedly the funniest book I have read. Great characters, twisted plot, side splittingly funny at times. I highly recommend it if you want a light book that makes you laugh and smile.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book and it really is funny as hell even though a little disturbing. Great writing and excellent humor make this one you will read fairly fast. Not as serious or detailed as Steiger's 'Alien Rapture' (a thriller) but I highly recommend it.