Live and Let Growl (Melanie Travis Series #19)

Live and Let Growl (Melanie Travis Series #19)

by Laurien Berenson

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reprint)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, July 19

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Live and Let Growl 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Anonymous 18 days ago
another+awesome+read+can%27t+wait+for+more+of+her+books
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not up to par with earlier books
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love Aunt Peg! Makes me want to visit and see the poodles!!! Great read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LisaKsBooksReviews More than 1 year ago
This wonderful mystery will have you barking with delight, and leave you begging for more! Before I knew what cozy mysteries were, when I was reading suspense thrillers, I was trying you encourage my younger sister to read more by buying her the Author Laurien Berenson’s series because they were nice clean stories and they were about dogs. I could kick myself now for letting my sister pass them on after she read them. But I will own the entire series again one day. Yes, they are that good! Laurien Berenson consistently pens a brilliant mystery that captures and holds the reader’s attention and imaginations. LIVE AND LET GROWL is written proof of why this series has made it to nineteen books! Immersed in a world of dog shows, horse breeding, and a first rate mystery, I was a happy woman indeed while reading this superb story. With more twists and turns than a show dog going through its routine, I was breathless by the time I reached the prize winning conclusion! Do yourself a huge favor, pick up a copy of LIVE AND LET GROWL.
Nancy0708 More than 1 year ago
Melanie Travis finds herself on a surprise trip to Kentucky with her Aunt Peg. While Peg is in Kentucky judging a dog show she wants them to check out a retired race horse that she just inherited. But when Peg's friend, Ellie Wanamaker Gates, has an accident and ends up in the bottom of a ravine Peg and Melanie question if it truly was an accident. They begin to investigate and they find out there is more than one secret in the Gates family. This is book #19 in A Melanie Travis Canine Mystery series. This series is consistently good with believable, relatable characters. I received a complimentary copy from Net Galley in exchange for a honest review.
LibbyMcKinmer More than 1 year ago
When Melanie Travis and her aunt Peg Turnbull set out for the Kentuckiana Cluster dog show, loyal fans know the trip will be adventure-filled. And author Laurien Berenson does not disappoint in this newest addition to the series. It’s spring break, and Peg has been invited to judge Poodles at the show, so off to Kentucky they go, meeting some of the series regulars there – Bertie, Terry and Crawford, top handlers and friends, who are showing. While in Kentucky, Peg reconnects with Ellie Gates Wanamaker, with whom she’d showed thirty years earlier and who had retired from the breed ring after a mysterious event a decade ago. Melanie, enlisted to squire Miss Ellie around the show, is surprised by the varying reactions to the legend in the Poodle world – from warm welcome to dislike. Ellie comes from a wealthy family deeply involved in the Thoroughbred industry as well, which comes in handy since Peg has just inherited a pregnant Thoroughbred broodmare. Peg and Melanie visit the mare and discover how much there is to learn about becoming a horse owner. In typical Melanie fashion, she’s drawn into solving an unexpected murder…this one with lots of twists, turns, Thoroughbreds and terriers. Don’t miss this new Melanie Travis adventure…horses are the icing on the fun, dog-filled tale this time. Five stars
Jani8 More than 1 year ago
I have fallen in love with Standard Poodles since I have read this series. Unfortunately, I cannot have that big a dog in our condo. Sigh. This book, “Live and Let Growl”, is another winner, even though the only poodle in this one is the inimitable Faith. She is enough. Melanie, Aunt Peg and Bertie are in Kentucky. Peg is judging a dog show there and working on knowing the horse business. A friend has left her a pregnant broodmare and she wants to find out what she can about thoroughbreds. Bertie is showing dogs and Melanie is along for the ride. Of course they run into murder. There are a number of twists and turns and I was surprised by the ending. It was a fun read and I highly recommend reading it, as well as the rest of the series.
Dollycas More than 1 year ago
Dollycas’s Thoughts Racehorses and dogs come together as Melanie, Bertie and Peg head to the Kentuckiana Dog Show Cluster and to check out Peg’s new inheritance. They aren’t just horsing around either when one of Peg’s old friends, Ellie Gates Wanamaker, is found dead. Accident or murder, Peg is like a dog with a bone to get answers. I am so late to the Melanie Travis Mystery Party and I still don’t understand how I have missed this series. But let me tell you, Laurien Berenson made me feel right at home. I jumped right into this story and enjoyed it immensely. She gave enough of a backstory that I never felt lost or that I was missing some important details. That is hard to do with a long standing series as this. I love these characters and want to go back up and read much more about them and find out how this wonderful group came together. The only hesitation I had was understanding the horse breeding, selling, training processes but that is a very complicated thing unless you live in that world. It was totally on me not on the author’s storytelling. I so enjoyed learning about the wonderful poodles and the Jack Russell Terriers. As a parent to two Border Collie/Blue Heeler mixes, I understand clearly how each breed has their own tendencies, traits and idiosyncrasies. No matter what they are we love them and the author’s love was shining from the beginning of this story until the end. Laurien Berenson writes a heck of a mystery too. Right up until the end we were guessing about what happened and why and who was responsible. It went right down to the wire just like a great horse race. I am excited to read more of these stories, catching up and going forward. Thank you Ms. Berenson for a delightful story to curl up with.
KrisAnderson_TAR More than 1 year ago
Live and Let Growl by Laurien Berenson is the nineteenth Melanie Travis Mystery. Melanie Travis is looking forward to spring break. Then it is sprung on her by her family that she is going with Aunt Peg to Kentucky. Aunt Peg has just inherited a thoroughbred named Lucky Luna and wants to check it out. Aunt Peg (Margaret Turnbull) is also a judge of Standard Poodles in a dog show nearby. Before checking out the horse, they meet up with Ellie Gates Wanamaker. She is an old friend of Peg's (she used to raise Standard Poodles until a car accident). Ellie is bright, energetic and vibrant woman. Peg gets her to agree to come for a day at the dog show. The next day they hear that Ellie died in an accident on the family farm. Peg is not sure it is an accident and wants to investigate (actually, have Melanie look into it). Melanie agrees to explore the possibilities (talk to some people, look at the accident site). Who wanted Ellie dead? Can Melanie and Peg find the culprit before there is another "accident"? Live and Let Growl was well-written and contained good characters. I felt Aunt Peg was little overbearing and Melanie easily pushed or manipulated. The story got bogged down, though, with all the details about dog shows and thoroughbred horses (it was very confusing). The pace of the book did pick up during the last ten percent of the book. The mystery was no puzzle despite the writer's attempts at misdirection and to lead the reader down a different path. I kept hoping for a good twist (I ended up inventing my own). Live and Let Growl can be read as a stand-alone book. The author does a good job of updating the reader on the characters, habits, and past adventures. I give Live and Let Growl 3.5 out of 5 stars. The books focus was just not on the mystery which was disappointing. Will I read the next book in the series? Yes. I believe I might like the book more without all the dog show judging details (the judging is extremely perplexing) combined with the horse information (it was a little too much information for one novel). I am glad that I did read this book because it introduced me to a new series and author. I received a complimentary copy of Live and Let Growl from NetGalley in exchange for an honest evaluation of the novel.
weluvdopey More than 1 year ago
This is a great book; this book is part of the A Melanie Travis Mystery series written by Laurien Berenson. This book can be read as a standalone, but once you read this one, you will want to go back and read the others. This is a great book with a wonderful story and well developed characters. This book will keep you reading long into the night. If you are looking for a great book, then you need to read this book. I am looking forward to reading the next book by this great author. A Review copy was provided to me in exchange for a fair and honest review. The free book held no determination on my personal review.
CozyMysteryLover1 More than 1 year ago
It's time for Spring Break and where do you think Melanie Travis will be spending hers? At the Kentuckiana Dog Show Cluster of course! Instead of relaxing during her break from Howard Academy, Melanie finds herself traveling with Aunt Peg,who is doing a week long judging stint and of course, Melanie's canine companion, Faith. While in Kentucky, Aunt Peg plans to reconnect with an old friend. Reunions are fun, however, when an accident takes the life of Miss Ellie, Aunt Peg and Melanie are fast to hunt for clues. It appears Miss Ellie has made some enemies in her life time and the suspect list includes her own family. You won't want to miss this fantastic book by the wonderfully talented Laurien Berenson. I have been a huge fan of this series from the beginning. The author tells a wonderful story and the attention to detail is spot on. This is the perfect cozy mystery for both dog and horse lovers. The relationship among the family members is strong and believable. Ms. Berenson has created a world in which it is very easy to lose oneself. I was honored to receive an ARC of this book from the author in exchange for my far and honest review. All thoughts are my own.