The Lord Is My Shepherd

The Lord Is My Shepherd

by Debbie Viguié

Paperback

$15.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, December 12

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Lord Is My Shepherd 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 79 reviews.
kamas716 More than 1 year ago
It reminded me of the Rabbi novels by Harry Kemelman. I was pleasantly surprised by it. Considering it's geared for a Christian audience, it was a little surprised by how dark the nature of the crimes were. But, if you've actually read your Bible, you'll know that there is some pretty violent stuff portrayed, it's just not usually as graphic. I'm looking forward to reading the next couple of installments in this series. The eBook was formatted well with no obvious errors.
Kelly_B More than 1 year ago
I picked "The Lord Is My Shepherd" because I was looking for a cozy mystery. I love that cozy mysteries give you a mystery without the sex and foul language. Cozies also involve more characters that I can relate to. Let's face it, for the most part, the people we know aren't fashion models, movie stars or explorers. Most of us through six degrees of separation may know someone in a high end career, but most of us still live our day-to-day lives far from a spotlight. In a cozy anyone can become a central character to an adventure be that person a grandma, waitress, real estate agent or even a church secretary. Now this cozy was a little more bloody and creepy than the usual cozy, but it still had most of the key ingredients that I enjoy. Cindy is a mild-mannered and perhaps slightly bored church secretary who literally stumbles on a corpse in the church sanctuary of all places. The story immediately moves forward from there and introduces Rabbi Jeremiah Silverman and man other characters. Together they have quite a wild ride and some rough patches and truly I had no idea who the actual killer was. Let's just say that was a thrill in itself as I almost always figure things out. "The Lord Is My Shepherd" delighted me so much that I immediately began to read the next book in the series "I Shall Not Want." The icing on top of the cake is that both books in the series, well actually all three of the books in the series were for free at various times.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is another amatuer sleuth mystery. A church secretary and a Rabbi from the temple next door meet at a murder scene. The mystery is complex and hard to guess who done it. The romance is only hinted at and friendship is the thing. I found the second book in the series somewhere and read both in sequence and immediately. That's something I don't usually do. The characters had a hold on me! Overall, it's a nice read. You'll enjoy it if you like the genre.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was hooked on this story from the first sentence. It was tight, quick writing. The plot was very good and you were kept on your toes the entire time. I am definitely ready to buy more of this author's books. And I truly love this series even with just one book read. This is a definite read for anyone who loves mysteries. It is a definite read for anyone who loves a good writer. You do not get bored with this story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was suprised to find a religious mystery. Being it was free was even better. I was totally involved...the characters were believable nd it had several twists and turns. Good book, I will pirchase the next in her series.
eawsmom on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
For the most part, I enjoyed this first book in a new series based on the 23rd Psalm with protagonists of a Christian church secretary and a Jewish rabbi. The characters were mostly interesting, and the author took time to explain Jewish beliefs and Passover celebrations. However, as the end of the book approached, the number of murders escalated and became almost mind-numbing; I was just ready for the culprit to be caught and didn't particularly care how it was accomplished. I will probably read the next book in the series if I happen across it, but I don't think I will go out of my way to look for it.
eenerd on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
My first Christian fiction mystery, and not at all what I expected. Much more gore than I thought would be in here, but crucifixion is an incredibly violent act (not to give away the story...) The main characters are Cindy the secretary at the First Parish church, Jeremiah the Rabbi at the synagogue next door, and Mark the crusty and eventually likeable police detective. When Cindy stumbles upon a dead body in the Sanctuary of the church, Jeremiah hears her screams and comes to the rescue. Mark is investigating the murder, but Cindy and Jeremiah keep finding themselves facing off against a murderer who is killing people to use in his depictions of the events of the Easter story. There is also a growing, tender relationship between Cindy and Jeremiah which is very intriguing and I definitely want to see where that goes. This is the first in what seems to be a pretty decent series of mysteries, and I'm really looking forward to the next one...Viguie has definitely shown me that Christian fiction genre is far-ranging and not to be pigeonholed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
190 pages.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wasn't sure what to expect. Found a pleant not too gory mystery. Pleasantly surprised. Like the fact the story was not too long.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great series for christian mystery lovers. It keeps you on you toes wanting to know what happens next.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I chose this book for our church book club & after reading the first 2 chapters I immediately called our group to change books. The humor is sacrilegious and demeaning to Jesus' death & resurrection. Even leaving that aside, the writing was the style of what you would find in "young adult" (middle school age) books. I would not recommend this to anyone and I plan on deleting it from my Nook.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great Read. Fun and entertaining. Did not figure it out until author wanted me to.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good Read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
this book is very interesting. I liked it a lot. JAL