Lost Boys: A Novel

Lost Boys: A Novel

by Orson Scott Card

NOOK Book(eBook)

$4.49
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Lost Boys 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 55 reviews.
TiBookChatter More than 1 year ago
Set in the early 80's, Step Fletcher and his wife DeAnne move to Steuben, North Carolina to begin his new job as a technical writer. With them, are their three kids, Stevie (7), Robbie (4) and their toddler sister Elizabeth. DeAnne and Step are expecting baby number four and life looks promising. Except, that the job isn't all that it's cracked up to be, and Step's real passion is designing video games. Having previously been self-employed, Step finds himself stuck between a rock and a hard place. You see, he's been hired as a tech writer, yet his real job is to audit code behind his boss' back which is really, an impossible situation to be in. On the home front, DeAnne is trying to find her place in this new neighborhood, and since they are of the Mormon faith, they are immediately accepted into their new ward. However, that's not as perfect as it sounds, as this particular ward has some colorful characters who set out to make things difficult for the Fletcher family. Stevie has an increasingly hard time in school and cannot seem to find his place. The house they live in is plagued by insects (no one knows why) and there is the quite a bit of debt hanging over them all, which forces Step to work in a place that he truly hates. This novel is classified as a horror story, and I must say, it took quite a bit of time for the horror to sink in but when it did, it took my breath away. It's not the type of horror that is obvious. It's the slow realization that something is desperately wrong. While the Fletchers try to settle into their new life, little boys begin to disappear one by one and then it becomes obvious to both DeAnne and Step that Stevie is not quite right. I loved this novel so much that I turned right around and listened to it on audio. The audio version is read by Stefan Rudnicki who is absolutely fabulous. I've never read anything by Orson Scott Card so I had no expectations while reading this book but I don't think it could have been more perfect. You must read or listen to this book and then tell me what you think of it. Since it was originally published in '92, the references to computers and video games is quite dated, but since I work in technology, where everything becomes outdated in just three months' time, I found this to be quite entertaining. Also, don't let the religious undertones scare you away. The Mormon faith plays a big role in this novel, but it's not preachy in any way. Rudnicki does a wonderful job reading. Told with feeling and very convincing.
Skum More than 1 year ago
Card is a character driven writer. In most of his books you get to know the main characters in depth. We are in the heads of the characters themselves. As a young father of the 80's I could identify with the main character of this book. This is about a family struggling with job, church and staying together. At times you will want to consul the family, at times you will want to reach through the book and choke them saying, quite being so stupid, and at times you will be saying what would I do. Card usually writes great fantasy. This book has a little fantasy, but it is more about a family struggling. You do not have to be a fan of fantasy to enjoy this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I can't add much to the previous reviewers except to say I have not had a book I have not wanted to put down in a long time, and I am an avid reader (about 2 books a week or more). I haven't read OSC in a very long time, but I am SO glad I got this book. WOW.
Guest More than 1 year ago
But it still easily deserves 5 stars. Lost Boys is a very deep moving novel. For those of you who mentioned how real it seemed, do some research; he based the book off his first year in Greensboro, NC (except for the climax.) The book is about a young couple with kids who are moving to a new town. They are going through tough times which ends up being tougher with all the strage creepy people they run into. While also, their oldest son, 8 year-old Stevie, becomes more and more distant from his family, which makes his parent wonder what's going on. Very well developed characters and not boring for a moment. For me, ever part was intense. If you have any questions about the book, e-mail me because I've already asked Mr. Card tons of stuff.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have been an OSC fan since Ender and enjoy his SF very much. I cna only compare OSC writing a great work of fiction (I would call it drama, not horror) with the same surprise when people find out Stand By Me and Shawshank were written by S. King. I've read this book 3 times now and will read it again. It remains as relevent a life path story as Sidhartha but in a very real and modern way. This is not a book about Mormons. It is a story about a family making their way in the world, facing obstacles, and from time to time turning to their faith as a compass (just like any of us). The set up for the supernatural ending is one of the best I've ever experienced. Enjoy.
Guest More than 1 year ago
First I have to say that I am a huge fan of Orson's, and I loved his novel Lost Boys. The characters in this book are given so much depth and personality that I was beginning to think they were real. A lot of the time I found myself not wanting to put the book down because it was so good. It gets really suspenseful at times and even sad. And from reading this book, I found out more about the Mormon religion which was interesting. But there was also a lot a boring parts in this book. Some parts were so slow and boring, I considered not reading the rest of the book. And after I read the book, I still had a lot of questions that were left unanswered. The ending was confusing for me, I didn't quite understand the deaths. And what ever happeneded to Lee Weeks? What happened with Mrs. Jones? How did Zap grow up? It's these kinds of questions that I still wonder about and I wish the answers were stated more clearly. Overall, I loved the book. I would recommend to anyone who's 14 or older and to anyone who just wants a great book to read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best books I've ever read. The sad thing is that this book is advertised as a horror novel, which it definitely is NOT. It is really about a Mormon family who moves to a southern town and struggles to cope with the adversities they find there. I think some people are getting the wrong idea about this book. As one reviewer stated, this is the first book OSC has written about an actual Mormon family, and the reviewer was disappointed because all of the bad guys were NOT Mormon. This can't be further from the truth! There are two distinct characters that are Mormon that are definitely "bad guys" in the novel. One is Lee Weeks and the other is Sister LaSeur. Both play pretty big parts in the novel, and I have no idea how the reviewer missed the fact that Card shows both the good and the bad of the Mormon religion, warts and all. For an area that has very few Mormons (North Carolina), OSC did not ignore the ones that were there, and made sure to include a few characters that definitely were not considered "good people." But that is beside the point. I think many non-Mormons may have difficulty fully understanding some of the Mormon aspects of the book. However, I can say beyond a shadow of a doubt that OSC does such a good job with the characters that I can't help but wonder if they are based on his own life or other people he knows. They are that REAL. Read this novel! As long as you go in understanding that it is more about family relationships than horror, you will be truly touched.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'm a big OSC fan, following him into genre's I don't normally read (as in fantasy). He's such a great writer that he is worth reading in any format. This is a horror story, but it's like no other I've read. There is a low tension in the book that build and builds as you read about people you can relate to and come to care about. Where's the horror? I kept waiting for it, and noticing that I was coming closer and closer to the end of the book. Then, OSC drops a hammer on you. I was emotionally moved for days. I couldn't believe it. I was totally set up and took the fall. Wow! No other book as moved me so. (and I haven't told you about the story for a reason). I had my wife read the book. She was mad at me for a couple weeks and won't read any more books by OSC. That too is a testimony to the power of this book. She reacted even more strongly than I to the ending. She is not avoiding OSC because the book was boring, poorly written or not of her taste. She's avoiding him because she read a horror book that suceeded in horrifying her. Kudos to OSC.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read almost all of OSC's books and have loved most of them, but this was one was a definite "miss" for me. The story has an interesting premise, but also has some significant flaws: 1) I did not find any of the main characters to be particularly engaging, 2) there is a lot of time spent delving into the mundane details of life as an active members of an LDS congregation, 3) some of the characters' actions just didn't make much sense. For example, the Fletcher parents are terribly concerned about their son, but never really attempt to have an in-depth conversation with him about his imaginary friends. Or, the father is a video game programmer and sees his son playing an unfamiliar game with amazing graphics, and never investigates this until the last chapter. And would a small town really wait for so many children to disappear before the newspaper ran a story about it? Overall, it was a chore to finish the book - very unlike the other Card books I have read.
theshippingnews More than 1 year ago
I'm having a hard time understanding why I liked this book, especially since there were so many things that seemed to go nowhere, suggestions of possible difficulties with characters that turn out to be dead ends. Still, the characters were interesting and I cared about them, particularly Stevie, who sufferes in unexpected and uncomfortable ways in this book. The ending, though - one could see it coming, if not too distracted by all the loose ends in the story. Worth reading, though.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bookmarque on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Good premise, but would have worked better as a short story. And if the world hadn't already seen The Sixth Sense. Alas, I now know WAY more about Mormons than I ever wanted to.
israel.david.n on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I found it a hard read. What was supposed to be the main thread of the story (ghosts, horror, evil) was for most of the book extremely well hidden behind a layer about the hardships of moving, balancing life and family - and most of all - an extra-strength dose of how great it is to be a Mormon.The only reason I read all the way through is that I wanted to be able to justify writing a review here (my first)
tibobi on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Short of It: A touching, moving, all-around great read. A perfect package. The Rest of It: Set in the early 80¿s, Step Fletcher and his wife DeAnne move to Steuben, North Carolina to begin his new job as a technical writer. With them, are their three kids, Stevie (7), Robbie (4) and their toddler sister Elizabeth. DeAnne and Step are expecting baby number four and life looks promising. Except, that the job isn¿t all that it¿s cracked up to be, and Step¿s real passion is designing video games. Having previously been self-employed, Step finds himself stuck between a rock and a hard place. You see, he¿s been hired as a tech writer, yet his real job is to audit code behind his boss¿ back which is really, an impossible situation to be in. On the home front, DeAnne is trying to find her place in this new neighborhood, and since they are of the Mormon faith, they are immediately accepted into their new ward. However, that¿s not as perfect as it sounds, as this particular ward has some colorful characters who set out to make things difficult for the Fletcher family. Stevie has an increasingly hard time in school and cannot seem to find his place. The house they live in is plagued by insects (no one knows why) and there is the quite a bit of debt hanging over them all, which forces Step to work in a place that he truly hates. This novel is classified as a horror story, and I must say, it took quite a bit of time for the horror to sink in but when it did, it took my breath away. It¿s not the type of horror that is obvious. It¿s the slow realization that something is desperately wrong. While the Fletchers try to settle into their new life, little boys begin to disappear one by one and then it becomes obvious to both DeAnne and Step that Stevie is not quite right. I loved this novel so much that I turned right around and listened to it on audio. The audio version is read by Stefan Rudnicki who is absolutely fabulous. I¿ve never read anything by Orson Scott Card so I had no expectations while reading this book but I don¿t think it could have been more perfect. You must read or listen to this book and then tell me what you think of it. Since it was originally published in ¿92, the references to computers and video games is quite dated, but since I work in technology, where everything becomes outdated in just three months¿ time, I found this to be quite entertaining. Also, don¿t let the religious undertones scare you away. The Mormon faith plays a big role in this novel, but it¿s not preachy in any way.
hredwards on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Good book. Interesting, not what I expected.Thought I had it figured out, but still surprised me.
Radaghast on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I should love this book. Card is my favorite author. This is widely regarded as one of his greatest novels. Why couldn't I get into it? Even I'm not quite sure. The writing is suberb, as always. It just felt like the novel was building and building to something that was taking far too long to reach. I kept feeling like this was an interesting insight into the life of a family, but when was something amazing going to happen? By the time it did, I was no longer on board.
HippieLunatic on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is one of the few books granted a rating of five that I will never read again. Damn you, OSC, for being able to draw me in so completely.This is a story that allows the reader to see a family's life, the small details that might seem unconsequential, the large issues that most would like to keep covered, the love and the frustration that comes from having so close a connection with other humans. It wraps you up in the relationships, and it ends up ripping out your heart.Be forewarned, as I was, when my husband read it first, finished it, and came to me with tears in his eyes. Read it anyway, as I did. It is worth it.
Crewman_Number_6 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed the suspense and twists in this book. Like all his works, it is very creative and original. I never find myself comparing him to other authors.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing! I couldn’t put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved the overall book! I had a bit of a hard time understanding the technology language. I never truly understood the part about why eight bits had to not choose the IBM for Step to be able to create games or whatever for a year, but I managed to understand enough to keep up with the story. My only true complaint is about half way through the book I started seeing a lot of typos. Glass is Class a lot. That confused me at first. It's like whoever turned it into an ebook got lazy, or maybe someone different did the rest of it. Other than that, great book with an excellent climax!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Yfhcjcv
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
CAN ANYONE SEE THIS!!!!! I'VE BEEN TRYING TO POST FOREVER BUT SOME STUPID FORCE WONT LET ME!!!!!! I'M FOREVER CURSED!!!!!!!! SOMEONE PLEASE ANSWER ME!!!!!!!! ~LMS
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sure. What do we do? Oh by the way im julian