Lost Roses

Lost Roses

by Martha Hall Kelly

Hardcover

$23.80 $28.00 Save 15% Current price is $23.8, Original price is $28. You Save 15%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, June 19

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Lost Roses 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 52 reviews.
Anonymous 5 months ago
Its like 400 pages but it wasnt outstanding. Kind of predictable and long winded but an enjoyable read ovetall.
Anonymous 5 months ago
a+good+book+
Rhonda-Runner1 6 months ago
This book started off slow at first but then all of a sudden it grabbed me and I did not want to put it down. The story begins in 1912 when Sofya and her sister Luba are spending time with Eliza Ferriday, Sofya's longtime friend and cousin while their father is honeymooning with their new stepmother, Agnessa. The story then moves to 1914 when the Russian Revolution begins. Each chapter features either Eliza, Sofya, or Varinka, a peasant girl who becomes nanny to Sofya's son Max, while the story travels between the United States, Russia and Paris. Numerous characters and subplots make this a fascinating read with the story ending in 1920. If you loved the Lilac Girls as I did, you will certainly love this book. Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for the ARC of this wonderful book.
Anonymous 4 months ago
enjoyed+this+book
Rachel_Denise01 6 months ago
Lost Roses by Martha Hall Kelly is honestly the best novel I have read so far this year. It is the prequel to Lilac Girls focussing on Caroline’s mother Eliza. The narrative switches between Eliza, Sofya a friend and relative of the last Tsar Nicholas II, and Varinka - a younger peasant female. Their lives are interwoven in the most delightfully fullfilling and harrowing ways. This book kept me engaged, brought tears to my eyes, and kept me on the edge of my seat. I will not give out any more, as the plot is too amazing to risk giving away. Ms. Kelly is an amazing author. Lilac Girls is a winner, and so is this piece of art. You have to read this, please! I give this 5/5.
miareese 3 days ago
I'm glad I finally continued on with this story. I really struggle with Historical Fiction; usually, synopses will really intrigue me, but when I start reading I have trouble fully engaging in the stories. That wasn't the case for me this time. I surprised myself with how quickly I got through the story and how often I thought of it when I wasn't reading. I'd say give this a try, even if you aren't the biggest Historical Fiction fan. The writing is intriguing and descriptive. I liked getting a glimpse of what it may have been like in Russia for both the lower and upper classes during WWI.
Anonymous 5 days ago
This and Lilac Girls are excellent!
1st-Reader-of-stories 19 days ago
Lost Roses # NetGalley Martha Hall Kelly ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ This was the first WW Historical Fictional novel that I have read in which the storyline reflected the war in Russia in 1916, 17 and 1918 and how it affected the Russians. It was nice to have that perspective for a change in reading. The book is broken into 3 strong women whose lives overlap. I did have a little bit of a hard time keeping up with the different characters as there were so many. The author has done a great deal of research on this book and it shows. If you like this period of history, you will like this book. I definitely will recommend this book to friends and family who like historical fiction. I rate it 4 stars. Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for an advanced copy read of this book for an honest review of this book. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Anonymous 20 days ago
learned+alot+about+what+happened+and+how+people+are+strong+enough+to+survive+the+ordeal+they+went+through.+
LGandhi 22 days ago
For me, this book is a 3.5 star rating. I absolutely loved Lilac Girls, couldn't put it down. It instantly grabbed me and held onto my heart so tight until the very end. Even after I was finished reading that book had a hold of my heart. So when I heard about Lost Rose's, I jumped at the chance to read it. Unfortunately this book did not have the same affect on me as Lilac Girls. Here is what I did like about the book - it is clearly obvious that Martha Hall Kelly did extensive research for this book. I really admire that in an author, and her research shines through in her writing. I loved that she highlighted again a very real and important aspect of the war that we don't neccesarily read about in history books. The characters are somewhat memorable, but it takes awhile for the book to get you there. Which leads me to what I didn't like about this book - it has a very slow start and takes too long to gain momentum and hold your attention. A little too long for me for the stories to meld together. Once you get there, you will want to know what happens to each of the characters in the end. On her first book the author successfully alternated chapters between the three main characters. She uses this set up again for Lost Rose's, but I don't feel it worked as well here. In some areas the story was very rushed and choppy. Overall, the story is a good one. And definitely one I think all historical fiction fans will like. Is it as good as Lilac Girls? In my opinion no. It's not until the 60% mark in the book that it becomes really interesting and moving. Having said all of that, the story is good, the author is extremely talented in her writing and this is a book I would recommend. But for my reasons above is why I rounded down to 3 stars. Had I been grabbed from the beginning, I would have rounded up. I will still jump at the chance to read anything by this author in the future. My thanks to Netgalley, Random House Publishing House - Ballantine Books, and Martha Hall Kelly for a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
Anonymous 29 days ago
Predictable plot. Unnecessarily prolonged prose only prolongs agony. Save your money.
BMedvid 3 months ago
I received a free advance copy of this novel from NetGalley in exchange for a review. “ She nodded toward the plant on my nightstand, its two white buds now flowered. “Your rose.” She stood, leaned down, and breathed in its scent. “Mr Gardener’s antique.” “When I went back to the house I found it in Agnessa’s ruined hothouse. Kept it alive since I left Russia.” … “Poor lost roses. Like us, I suppose.” Lost Roses follows the lives of three women, Eliza, Sofya, and Varinka, throughout the years 1914 – 1920 and the impact that World War I has on them. This novel is a prequel, of sorts, to Lilac Girls in that it focuses on the life of Eliza Ferriday, who is Caroline Ferriday’s mother. Caroline, the main heroine of Lilac Girls, appears as a young teenager in this novel. Like Lilac Girls, this novel is inspired by real and actual events. The format/structure of the two novels is similar in that the chapters alternate between the stories of the three main characters. The two novels also share a number of locales, including: the Ferriday’s Paris apartment, their summer home in South Hampton, their country home - The Hay, and their New York City apartment. Instead of the atrocities occurring in Germany, this story tells of the horrors befalling the upper class in Russia as Tsar Nicholas is overthrown. Ms. Kelly continues to focus her stories on strong, formidable women. Sofya faces almost insurmountable hardships with grit and determination. The lost rose, referenced in the title, is very apropos of her journey. Eliza is a woman before her time. What she is able to accomplish as a widowed, society woman in NYC is admirable. This novel clearly shows that sacrificing, doing your Christian duty, and helping everyone is a not just preached but lived daily in the Ferriday family. The way the Ferriday’s rally to help Russian émigrés would provide book clubs considerable fodder for discussion, especially in light of current affairs in the US. I found Varinka to be an interesting, aggravating and maddening character. I thought her change from being oppressed to oppressor would also provide content for a lively discussion Hers was the story I found disappointing. I wished there had been more illumination of her story resolution, as well as Taras’ and Radimir’s story. This is a well-researched historical novel. I quite enjoyed reading the Author’s Note and discovering the amount of studying and traveling that the author did in order to write this book. Her knowledge added an authenticity to the character’s voices as well as made both Paris and Russia come alive. Russia and its culture during the early 1900s almost become another character in this story. I found myself wanting to see pictures of the beadwork, crafts, linens, dolls, and fashions described in detail throughout the book. Unlike Lilac Girls, this book started slowly. It did not fully grab my attention until about halfway through it. However, once it grabbed my attention, it was hard to put down. I read Lilac Girls first and loved it. In comparison, I did not like this book as much, but it was still a good story and I am glad I read it. If I had read this one first, I doubt I would have been disappointed at all. One does not need to read these two novels in any particular order. I will also be reading Kelly’s next novel, which continues the story of strong female characters in the Ferriday family.
Anonymous 3 months ago
When I found out that Martha Hall Kelly was writing this book and that it was a prequel to Lilac Girls, I couldn't wait to read it. Lilac Girls is one of my favorite reads, so I had high hopes for Lost Roses. Since Caroline was a main character in Lilac Girls, I looked forward to reading more about her mother, Eliza, and other Ferriday family members in this prequel. This is a World War I historical fiction novel following the lives of three main characters: Eliza, Sofya and Varinka. The timeline of the novel begins in 1912. Eliza and Sofya are best friends, living on two different continents, who come from privileged families with Sofya being a cousin to the Tsar. The two women are very close and face many hardship over the span of 9 years. After returning from a trip to St. Petersburg with Sofya and after Germany declares war on France, Eliza is determined to connect with her daughter after a devastating death and, by helping high society refugee women immigrating to the United States from Russia, hopes to find out information about the safety and well-being of her best friend from people that may have known Sofya. She stands up for herself and for those she befriends. In Russia, Sofya tries to protect her family and fights to get her son back after her family's country estate is overrun by former prisoners and then people from the village who feel they are due their keep from the wealthiest citizens of Russia. After Sofya's son is taken, Sofya shows an immense amount of strength during her fight to reunite with him. After she travels to Paris to find her son, she also helps out refugee women and children, many of them from high society, that find themselves struggling to care for their families while trying to avoid deportation back to a Russia that is no longer how they knew it to be. Varinka and her mom come from the poorly side of things and have a cruel arrangement with a man named Taras that was established prior to Varinka's father dying Each woman shows strength, courage, and resilience during their own hardships. I gave is book 4 stars. I don't read many novels that are focused on World War I as my genre is more World War II. That being said, I did not fall in love with it like I did Lilac Girls. The story line dragged on at times and I found I couldn't concentrate on the character or the event. I did like the parallel of how Eliza was helping/supporting refugee women in the United States while Sofya was helping/supporting refugee women in France and how that ended up being connected. I found it interesting how Eliza was supporting a "business" that was mistreating women. Meanwhile, the money from the goods sold that were made by those mistreated women were helping the Russian immigrants in New York. Maybe I read too much into that and that was not the case. I was surprised at how well these women of privilege could adapt to their situation. It was a little hard to believe that Sofya could last a year traveling by herself with only a horse and a cart from Russia to France. The storyline up until that point never really had her doing anything truly domestic, so the idea of her roughing it, providing for and protecting herself was hard to imagine. I do look forward to reading her next book focused on the same Ferriday family during the Civil War.
2851923 3 months ago
This story is well written but it insults readers' intelligence in it's predictability.
Anonymous 3 months ago
Not a very gripping story. Must suspend your disbelief for part of it. But the history within the story was good.
Anonymous 4 months ago
+I+read+this+per+Barnes+and+Noble%27s+book+club.+It%27s+a+good+read%2C+and+has+piqued+my+interest+in+the+Russian+revolution.+The+author+did+well+in+highlighting+the+difficulties+that+%27white+Russians%27+faced+during+this+time+without+making+the+book+depressing.+Overall%2C+it%27s+well+worth+reading%2C+and+I+look+forward+to+her+next+book.
Nycol 4 months ago
Lost Roses is a beautifully written work of historical fiction by Martha Hall Kelly. It’s the prequel to The Lilac Girls. The story is told from three points of view that followed friends, Eliza Ferriday (a New Yorker), and Sofya Streshnayva (from Russia) during turbulent war-torn times in Russia. The story also follows the story of Varinka who is interwoven within the paths of these two friends in epic ways. What a tale about staggering injustice, unwavering friendships, death, murder and the resilience of the human spirit even under the most unbearable of circumstances. Lost Roses will have you on the edge of your seat waiting to see how the story turns out. Great characterizations, well-developed characters, and brilliant prose all set to a heart-wrenching period of time where you’ll find yourself yelling at some characters and wanting to embrace others. Lost Roses is brilliantly done and an instant FAV! I received a review copy of this book from the publisher through NetGalley for my honest review. Opinions expressed in this review are entirely my own.
NanceeMarchinowski 4 months ago
A prequel to the beautifully written Lilac Girls, Lost Roses is a deeply touching read as well. The story begins with Eliza Ferriday, mother of the main character in Lilac Girls. Her story and the tales of two other young women are described as WWI touches the lives of each of them. The book is told in the first person by the women who star in this novel, and their lives are interwoven through tragic circumstances. I wasn't at all disappointed in this segment of the series, and look forward to the next in the series, to focus upon the Woolsey women in the Civil War. Highly recommend!
CynB 4 months ago
Lost Roses, by Martha Hall Kelly, is a prequel to Lilac Girls. Set during the period just before and during WWI, it is the story of Eliza Ferriday, Caroline’s mother. Eliza is wealthy, privileged and friends with a cousin of the ill-fated Romanov family, Sofya. A peasant, Varinka, is sent to work in Sofya’s home. It is these three women whose experiences drive the story. Much of the first part of this novel tried my patience as it focused on the hardships of the Russian aristocracy as the people rebelled against the Tsar. Frankly, the Romanovs and the aristocracy never struck me as the aggrieved in this struggle. Nonetheless, war is always horrific, dehumanizing and brutal. Seeing it through the eyes of Sofya helped me to understand the human suffering inflicted on the individuals, regardless of their politics. Martha Hall Kelly is a gifted writer whose characters are very authentic, and the book is meticulously researched. The Ferriday family is tenacious in their commitment to their causes, and I look forward to reading more about them. I highly recommend this book. Thanks to NetGalley and Ballantine Books for giving me the opportunity to read an electronic ARC in exchange for an honest review.
Mermer 4 months ago
A good Historical story about WWI and how the Russian people were treated and what the they had to endure. Even after the war. Read a lot about WWII this was a good incite to what happened in WWI. Great drama,angst,emotions and history. If you like History and want to know what happened During and after WWI you have to read. Really learned something I didn't know. Voluntarily reviewed.
Anonymous 5 months ago
A real page-turner, "Winds of War" type of saga. Good story and characters and fascinating about the era. Could have done with it being a bit less graphic in places but apart from that I appreciated this book. Excellent writer for the heartwarming and heartbreaking aspects of people's relationships and life stories. Makes you think about what people went through in wars and how much previous generations struggled compared to this one.
FrancescaFB 5 months ago
Just as amazing as LILAC GIRLS!! A must read for any historical fiction fan!!
booklover6460 5 months ago
The prequel to Lilac Girls was an interesting read. It was a little slow start for me, but I finally was sucked into the story and could not put it down. I love Martha Hall Kelly’s historical fiction and am looking forward to her next book. I’m already anxiously waiting for the opportunity to devour the next Woolsey tale. What a captivating story of life during the Bolshevik revolution. You will travel from the US to Russia to Paris…entrenched in the horrors of the Great War and the lives affected by war, atrocities, and many dangers. There are moments of holding your breath as you wait to discover what will happen next. There are many threads woven throughout the pages…love, loss, loyalty, faith, hope, altruism, danger, selfishness. I am not as familiar with the First World War but the author does a great job of making you experience the emotions from the various corners of the world. The chapters of this book are presented from the viewpoint of three main characters. And the stories flow smoothly as you discover the richly drawn aspects of their lives and how they end up colliding in an astonishing way. You will be cheering on some of the characters while wishing others would meet with an unfortunate ending. Either way, you will be deeply invested in the story. Thank you to NetGalley, Martha Hall Kelly, and Random House for an ARC in exchange for my honest review.
Anonymous 5 months ago
Thank you NetGalley and Ballantine Books for an ARC of Lost Roses by Martha Hall Kelly. I so looked forward to reading this book because The Lilac Girls was a 5 star read for me. Absolutely loved it. If I am to be completely honest I just can’t get into a rhythm in Lost Roses. I am not connecting with the characters and am 35 percent through the book. I am definitely in the minority on this one so I hope if you are reading this you will give it a try. Maybe it is just my state of mind and I will come back to it at another time.
rendezvous_with_reading 5 months ago
Thank you Ballantine / Random House for this free copy to review! The chapters alternate in narration between Eliza, Sofya and Varinka offering three unique perspectives. Eliza sees the war from the safe distance of American shores, only able to grasp the horror of it from the White Russians she helps. Sofya's comfortable life is turned upside down by revolutionaries who want to do away with anyone of privilege connected to the Tsar. Varinka and her mother live under the control of a cruel revolutionary, who wants to use Varinka's position to get to the Streshnayva family. I flew through this novel because I found the narration and the history covered so interesting and relevant. Though its not necessary, I am glad I read Lilac Girls first and recently, as many characters cross over. Caroline Ferriday from LG, is a young, impressionable girl in this novel and its easy to see she gets her indomitable spirit from her mother Eliza. And in this novel, we meet Eliza's mother, Carry Woolsey, which sets the stage for the author's next prequel. I would judge this novel to not be as graphic in description as LG, but its clear the author has done her research and gives a fair view of the Bolsheviks' campaign of terror. I find this family of Ferriday women to be very inspiring and motivating and I'm so glad their heroic acts are being told.