Luck, Love & Lemon Pie

Luck, Love & Lemon Pie

by Amy E. Reichert

Paperback

$16.00
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, May 22

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Luck, Love & Lemon Pie 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
BooksnKisses More than 1 year ago
NUMBER OF HEARTS: 4 I really enjoyed Lust, Love & Lemon Pie. Which is Amy E. Reichert second book. I really liked the her first books The Coincidence of Coconut Cake. In Luck, Love & Lemon Pie we follow Chris & MJ. A couple that has been married for 20 years who has found themselves in a bit of a funk of late. MJ tries to find a common thread with her husband in the form of Poker. But MJ finds herself getting more wrapped up in playing poker then fixing her marriage problems. It was really nice to read a story about a couple that is going through something that almost every couple will go through at some point in time. I liked the MJ tired to find common ground with Chris (even if it backfired a bit). Chris kinda made me mad that he didn’t even try talking it out with MJ. But I loved the ending!! I can’t wait to see what Amy has in store for us next!!! Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Netgalley & Gallery, Threshold, Pocket Books in exchange for an honest review. This review is my own opinion and not a paid review.
WanderRoxyReads More than 1 year ago
Marriage is like a roller coaster. It has its ups and downs, surprises, thrills, and if you are not careful, you may end up "upchucking" when you least expect it. This is where MJ and Chris have found themselves, at an unexpected dip in the ride. MJ and Chris have been married for 20 years and have been busy raising two teenagers. Every anniversary MJ and Chris would celebrate sharing a lemon pie. On this particular anniversary, Chris is playing poker at the casino leaving MJ celebrating herself. MJ attempts to rekindle their marriage, by taking up poker. MJ finds herself spending more time at the gambling tables and less with her family. She notices Chris is spending more time with an old nemesis. However, she fails to notice her own daughters actions at high school. Was MJ the only party in the marriage taking any action in the marriage? I would have liked to had more time devoted to Chris's character and his uptake of the marriage. I found I also had many problems with MJ’s actions. If she was such a devoted mother, as the reader is to believe in the beginning, how did she not catch the fact her daughter was not completing college applications? MJ, wins a poker tournment and travels to Las Vegas to play for higher stakes. She finds herself kissing a highly successful poker player, with many sexy arm charms. Is this even plausible? I guess there maybe some truth to what happens in Vegas stays in Vegas. I liked the idea of the lemon pie and the YIPPIE ending. I won this book in a Gallery Book give away for an honest review. Thank you for the opportunity.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I LOVED this book! The story line of a marriage that has hit a dry spell and the desire to fix it will hit home for many readers, as well as how that doesn't always go as planned. Incorporating poker, the draw to the felt and mystique of the game was something I've never encountered in a fiction book before. As someone that has some experience entering poker tournaments, I found it very well done. This book has intrigue, twists and turns, and moments that will tear at your heart strings. This is my favorite book of the summer.
Dollycas More than 1 year ago
Dollycas’s Thoughts Marriage is work and when MJ Boudreaux sees her marriage starting to crumble she tries to bring them closer by learning more about her husband’s love of poker. Instead of bringing them together she becomes almost addicted spending less and less time with her family. She even enters a tournament and wins a trip to Vegas where her whole life could change completely, but is that what she really wants. The cover caught my attention and then I saw it was set in Wisconsin and written by a Wisconsin author so I was quickly all in. While poker was never my game I had things in common with MJ. My parents owned a tavern and several “gents” arrived daily for their euchre games and men and woman came a few nights a week for euchre tournaments. As it was my parent’s place I was tending bar and playing cards all through high school and college. MJ’s story rang true with me. Amy E. Reichert takes a very interesting look at love, luck, jealously and family life in this story. Any married couple will tell you keeping your marriage alive takes work and that there are ebbs and flows and how you handle those ebbs and flows makes all the difference. MJ and Chris were going through the motions but weren’t communicating. MJ tried but both parties have to be trying. The author shows things mostly from MJ’s point of view of her family dynamics. A typical Midwest family with typical family problems. A daughter in her last year in high school in the college planning phase. A son involved in many extracurricular things and adjusting to his teenage years. Chris seemed to be absent a lot, leaving the household and kids to MJ. Although we learn he is the cook in the family. I really didn’t like Chris and felt MJ’s pain. I enjoyed this book a great deal. It is a story many women will be able to relate to. It is not a romantic book, it is a story of family lives and making it work. There are obstacles along the way and we see how this family deals with them. It is a journey, an emotional journey.
Lilac_Wolf More than 1 year ago
**actually purchased this myself at Barnes & Noble for the Nook** I've been eagerly anticipating this new book by Amy Reichert since I finished The Coincidence of Coconut Cake. She weaves a great love story that makes you care about the characters and the outcome. This story is about MJ and her marriage of about 20 years. It begins on their anniversary, where MJ has paid a chef to special make the anniversary lemon pie that her husband, Chris usually makes. It doesn't go well, and in an effort to bring them closer together, she decides to start going with him to the casino to play poker. Only he doesn't seem to care about spending time with her, and she seems to have a real knack for it. It just really spoke to me as I have been married for 12 years now, and there are rough spots that take real effort to get through. And you just don't know, do these two really want to fight for it or do they want to move apart? It's a choice for both of them. I love the unconditional support system that MJ has. Her friends are in her corner, but they give her real advice...even if she doesn't like it. She's got a great mom, too. But MJ is scarred by having such a terrible father - yeah, I can relate there, too. It's a fantastic story, and I started reading this the minute it hit my Nook app on Tuesday (07/12/2016). Thank you Amy, please keep them coming!
Deb-Krenzer More than 1 year ago
This is a great book about trying to revive a 20 year old marriage and you also get the added enjoyment of learning how tournament Texas Hold 'Em works. I love how MJ was doing everything she could to save her marriage. There were a few laughs especially when she figured out that a poker night date didn't necessarily mean that MJ and Chris would be at the same table. I wasn't really impressed with the Doyle dude. He seemed kind of spoiled and arrogant. Anyway, I really enjoyed reading this book and wish to thank Gallery Books and Net Galley for providing me with a free e-galley in exchange for an honest review. Entertaining and fun to read!
LitWinner More than 1 year ago
This was another fast read. I think I read it within 1 weekend. I generally liked but didn’t love it and I think that may have had to do with the poker aspect. While I know MJ and Chris are both big poker players, I am not. I would wager that most readers of this type of novel are not too familiar with poker either. I felt like I had to muddle through some spots, probably missing some of the suspense and skill. The author definitely seemed to know her poker. I find that I felt cheated a bit in the middle. I felt like MJ and Chris’ marriage is skewed towards him being unfair to her. I’m not saying she didn’t have her faults but I just feel like she may have had more reason to be unhappy than her. As usual, a lot of the issues that blew up into big ones started as small ones that could have been easily squashed had they paid attention to each other. But we’ve all been there and know how that happens, so this part of the book was also realistic. All that being said, I cried at the end. A brief, happy-cry, but still it was a good ending. Still, I can’t shake the fact that I feel that Chris was more wrong than MJ, but maybe that’s because I’m also a wife and would have acted pretty similarly to MJ. I was given a copy of this book as part of my involvement with Netgalley. All thoughts are my own.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good pacing! Though I despiiieisese cliffhangers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
More plz you should keep going
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Um change your name there is already a Madison!