Magic Rises (Kate Daniels Series #6)

Magic Rises (Kate Daniels Series #6)

by Ilona Andrews

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, June 27

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Magic Rises 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 164 reviews.
BrandonSharp More than 1 year ago
BEST book so far in the Kate Daniels Series, possibly my favorite book ever.. The world this story lives in is gigantic, yet flawless. Kate really was tested in the book, in so many different ways. You're right there with her through it all & i think I need a "I survived Magic Rises" T-Shirt after finishing this. There's a short story at the end of the book called, "An ill-advised Rescue" which features Kate having to rescue Saiman from his captors. Make sure you read that first as it is a root of the main plot, but the authors didn't feel it had a place in the final manuscript. I probably don't have to preach praises of this book too hard as if you're looking at this book, you either have read books 1-5 already or plan too. I kept this series on my to-be read list for way too long. It's top notch! 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ilona Andrews knows how to keep u on the edge of your seat. I had a hate love relationship with Curran. Ugh there were times! No spoilers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love the series, love Kate Daniels and Curran (they are perfect together), and absolutely LOVED this book.  If you like fantasy series...this is a MUST read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Magic Rises is one of the crown jewels of the series. I didn't think they could top Magic Slays or Magic Bleeds but... Kate, Curran & co. find themselves embroiled in a territory dispute between rival European shifter packs. Normally they wouldn't care but they're being paid in panacea, the only thing that can help child shifters survive puberty. Unfortunately it's also a trap with lots of separate jaws, and it will take all their skill and strength to emerge triumphant in the end. There's double crosses, mythical monsters, mad alchemists and not to mention that pack of Dogs! It's a fun, fast (& now we wait another year....sob!) read that further develops Kate's character as well as flesh out those of the other people in her world. One spoiler I will mention is that I liked, no matter how hard it was to read, to see how other people really felt about Kate as seen through Kate's eyes. Awesome!
LITERALADDICTION_MLO More than 1 year ago
Our Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION's Pack Alpha - Michelle L. Olson: *eARC received from the Publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review I am ashamed to say that this was my first foray into the Kate Daniels universe. I have had this series on my TBR forever, but just hadn't gotten to it yet. When I set up an Author Event for the Magic Rises release, I really wanted to include a review so I jumped in with two feet. Magic Rises follows Kate, Curran, and 10 of their hand picked best on a quest across the Black Sea into what they know is a trap, but what they hope may be a coup. It was an action-packed read full of emotion, suspense, drama, and surprise and I was thoroughly engaged! Ilona and Gordon wrote Magic Rises in such a way that I, as a first time reader, had no issues following the tale. I know that there are probably plenty of subtleties that I missed (believe me, I've engaged in enough "OMG you need to read that series now!" debates to know that much), but overall in read wonderfully as a stand-alone. The only thing that I feel may have been over my head was the very last sentence, but it just makes me want to go back and read the first 5 books of the series now immediately. This book is a must read for all Kate Daniels fans - you will laugh, gasp, rail in frustration, mutter in shock, smile contentedly, and hope for more - and if you're a new reader, you'll do the same. A solid 4 Skull read, and I'm looking forward to much more in the KD-Verse!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
But a couple of circumstances made me dissatisfied with the way the book developed. Curran's use of jealousy to force Kate into anxious behavior is unforgivable to me, regardless of intention. Likewise his keeping from her the reason why. It also has a logical flaw: Curran knew Lorelei Wilson had taken out a contract on Kate's life with Jared Krav so she could become Curran's Consort, so Curran played up to Lorelei to make her think she didn't need to kill Kate. Except Curran's plan ignores that Krav doesn't get what was promised unless he kills Kate, regardless of whether Curran is canoodling with Lorelei. In which case it would have been much better for Curran to have warned Kate she was a target. And another thing. Curran excuses Lorelei by saying she is young and stupid. Young and stupid does not exempt her from punishment for a murder attempt. Or does being young and PRETTY color the sentencing, Gordon? I'm pretty sure Ilona's thinking is cover to my bloodthirsty view.
kdraper More than 1 year ago
Another great addition to the Kate Daniels Series. Love them all.
Vegas_Bookworm More than 1 year ago
Fantastic series. Well written and the action never stops. The ending was both heart breaking and satisfying.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this series, I've read every book several times! The storyline is so original and the characters pull you in!
Anonymous 8 days ago
.
Anonymous 10 months ago
i+love+this+series%2C++but+this+book+was+not+my+favorite+..+there+were+several+things+happening+that+just+did+not+make+sense+to+me.+SPOILER+ALERT%3A+what+the+hell+was+Curran+doing+the+entire+book%3F%21++his+reasoning+for+lying+to+Kate+didn%27t+make+any+sense+at+all..+and+in+previous+books%2C++Curran+has+said+several+times+that+he+would+leave+Kate+if+she+lied+to+him+or+if+she+ever+tried+to+give+herself+up+for+his+sake+...+so+the+fact+that+he+lied+to+her+face+and+purposefully+hurt+her+like+that+is+pretty+shady++and+hypocritical+of+him.+I+hated+the+way+he+acted+in+this+book%2C+especially+because+it+just+didn%27t+make+sense..+his+%22great+plan%22+for+trying+to+keep+Kate+safe+was+flawed+and+only+created+petty+drama+for+the+story.+it+wasnt+very+well+thought+out+at+all.++oh+well%2C+the+rest+of+the+story+was+good+and+I+liked+the+progression+of+the+Hugh+storyline.+%0A
Caroles_Random_Life More than 1 year ago
This might be my least favorite book in the Kate Daniels series. Of course, I still loved it so that doesn't mean a whole lot. This was a re-read for me. I first read this book shortly after its release and devoured it quickly. I have been slowly working my way back through the series in audio and am enjoying it even more the second time around. I started the re-read of this book when nothing else I started seemed to be working but as soon as I started this book I didn't want to stop listening. I feel very lucky to have found a series of books that I know I will enjoy every time I want to revisit the story. This book takes Kate, Curran, and many others out of town. I tend not to care for books in a series that move the setting to an unknown location quite as much just because I miss all of the things that I love about the main setting including the characters. I didn't miss the characters all that much since so many of them were along for the trip. I did find the new setting to be unique and rather interesting. I liked that by having the group take a little trip we were able to see a few things that were completely new. One of the things that I love the most about this series is the relationship between Kate and Curran. It has been fun watching things develop between them over the span of ten books. Since I have already finished the series, I enjoyed this look at their past but this book is not the high point in their relationship. To put it simply - Curran acts like a jerk in this book and I didn't like it. Kate didn't like it either so it causes a few problems. I will say that there are some pretty heartfelt and redeeming moments as well so it all worked out in the end. This book had all of the action and excitement that I have come to expect from the series. There is a mystery to solve, children to protect, and political moves to be made. This book also brings a healthy dose of Hugh which added a lot to the story. This was a really heartbreaking book because we had to say goodbye to a much-loved character. New characters were also introduced that will play an important role as the series progresses. Renee Raudman did a fantastic job with this book as she has with the rest of the series. I think that she does a great job of bringing Kate to life and adding to an already exciting story. She handles a large cast of characters really well through the voices that she uses. I have no problems listening to her narration for hours at a time. I would highly recommend this series to everyone. Honestly, if you haven't read this series yet you really should give it a try. I can't wait to continue my audio re-read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This story was a bit different from the previous ones. We saw a lot of insecurity. It was poignant, and at times made me cry because we all know how the fear of being replaceable feels. There is much snark, wit, and action, but a lot of emotion, as well. It is one of my favorites.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another fantastic installment in an ever-changing yet steadily entertaining series.
LAURA2374 More than 1 year ago
awesome series
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
More
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I can never get enough so, on to the next in the series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As always became vested in characters. Good story line
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this series! This book has a wonderful twist at the end that made me smile and laugh out loud! To the authors, keep writing and I will keep reading!