Maniacal (A Detective Jade Monroe Crime Thriller, #1)

Maniacal (A Detective Jade Monroe Crime Thriller, #1)

by C.M. Sutter

NOOK Book(eBook)

FREE

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Maniacal (A Detective Jade Monroe Crime Thriller, #1) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 110 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was an excellent read but as the pages flew by I could see what would happen. Sure enough, the last several pages came and every thing was wrapped up in a hurried and almost "pat" manner. This could have been so much better.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm not a critic but enjoy reading. I really liked this book. Kept me in suspense until the end. Will be looking forward to more by this author
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lots of twists and turns in plot! Very suspenseful!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read it in 2 days. Stayed up way too late reading. Loved the characters and their back stories. Interesting plot, kept me guessing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm not sure how this book got so many good reviews. Too many details - way too many. As in: "The killer walked ten steps from his Jeep to the front door of the bar." And when Jade ordered a pizza: "I ordered a pizza, they told me it would be delivered in about 20 minutes . " Yeah, that doesn't work for me. I ended up skimming to the end to find out who the killer was. Hint: you can figure it out really easily . I would not recommend this book. I would not read any other books by this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. The only thing is I pretty much figured out who the killer was pretty early on, but I can't blame that on the author it's just that I read so much that these types of books are pretty predictable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you're into reading crime thriller books, you're familiar with the line between too much fluff and too little fluff. The amount of unrelated background dialogue that happens with the characters is far more than there should have been. 271 pages in which only the last 35 or so actually became suspenseful. Sadly, I was dissapointed. Happily, I can move on to another author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good book, kept my attention and was a page turner,. Did not put down
Anonymous 4 days ago
fast+paced+and+great+charters+
Anonymous 12 days ago
Totally 5 stars!
Anonymous 22 days ago
Once+I+started+this+book+it+was+hard+to+put+down%21+Fast+paced%2C+well+written.+
Anonymous 3 months ago
Very+good+read.
Anonymous 3 months ago
This+is+a+detective+story+that+lets+you+know+almost+from+the+beginning+who+the+killer+is.++The+rest+is+wishing+and+waiting+for+them+to+figure+it+out.++It+is+pretty+descriptive+and+gross.++But+the+story+keeps+you+wanting+to+read+to+the+bitter+end.
Anonymous 3 months ago
Read book2 first led me to read book onenow I am going to read #3 thenthe rest
Anonymous 9 months ago
Started out s little off, but quickly gathered steam and grabbed my attention.
Anonymous 10 months ago
This was my 3rd book from this author, and this was certainly better although written earlier. That isn't too say there weren't faults. There is far too much description that isn't needed... such as descriptions of houses or areas, or when of course several police vehicles, the coronor's van and the forensic van are at a house/crime scene and yet the author still felt the need to write something like: Jack had to back the car out of the driveway to the street because there were so many police vehicles that he couldn't turn around. That isn't an exact quote, but pretty close. First it would be obvious that there would be a lot of vehicles in the driveway because she listed exactly who was there. Second, who cares that he had to back the car out of the driveway instead of turning around. There is nothing wrong with backing out and more importantly it does nothing for the story, but fill space. Then there are some glaring errors or implausible pieces, such as when the criminal was at the bar or restaurant and when something happened and the police or Sherriff's Dept. asked the manager if there were cameras facing the parking lot. They were told there were cameras at the door, but they didn't "go far into the parking lot." Still by looking at the door cameras the police should have been able to get a better idea of height and build and maybe even a look at the criminal... but they never ask to view them. There are many other errors, such as the owner or manager of the bar or restaurant at one point answering the phone without the name of the business. Not likely to happen. Same for Jade Monroe who each time answered the phone as: "Sergeant Jade Monroe, Washburn County Sherriff's Dept. However at one point just answered by saying " hello". Another example would be when the killer sends the message and uses the name of her sister's cat. It isn't like the cat wears a sign that says "hi, my name is Spaz".Yet, it seems like this was done to show the killer had been at her house, although it doesn't say how he knew the cat's name. Yet, when the family is in trouble where do they all go? To a motel or split up and go to a friend's home? No, they all go to Jade's home, at the request of the police... where of course everyone was then together for the killer. There are other instances, but I don't need to list them all. I also purposely am trying to be vague so as not to give things away to someone who is considering reading the book. There are some interesting parts of the book, and it did at least hold my interest so I rated it higher than the others. Still, if it wasn't free, I would likely suggest that people find something else to read. I guess there is a reason for it being free. 'Nuff said!
Anonymous 10 months ago
good+book%21++easy+to+read+and+get+immersed+in%21
Anonymous 11 months ago
Very fast page Turner. You won't fall asleep reading these.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
2nd+book+I%27ve+read+by+this+author.++I+loved+this+book+%26+1st+book+for+the+police+procedural+mystery%2C+complex+plot%2C+great+writing+%26+character+development.+I+only+gave+this+a+4+because+it+was+so+creepy+%26+about+a+serial+killer.++I+usually+don%27t+read+those+but+wanred+to+start+reading+this+author%21+I+will+continue+reading+CM+Sutter+but+maybe+not+the+dark+ones.+
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It kept me thinking, trying to get the detectives to check this or that. Good read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Looking forward to next book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the book! Did not expect the ending. Couldn't put it down. Good job!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lover
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book kept me on the edge of my seat as I was reading it. I never guessed who the killer was which is very unusual.