Men's Health The Book of Muscle: The World's Most Authoritative Guide to Building Your Body

Men's Health The Book of Muscle: The World's Most Authoritative Guide to Building Your Body

by Lou Schuler, Ian King

NOOK Book(eBook)

$12.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Men's Health Book of Muscle: The World's Most Complete Guide to Building Your Body 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 23 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book starts out with basic muscle physiology which is always good to know. Then it moves on to five chapters of exercises. They are divided up into muscles that move the shoulder, muscles that move the elbow and wrist, muscles that move the spine, muscles that move the hip, and finally, muscles that move the knee and ankle. With that knowledge in hand, the book then describes the workout programs. Included are routines for beginner, intermmediate, and advanced lifters.

A pretty good guide to weight lifting, I think it will benefit lifters of all experience levels. And I have to say, of all the weight lifting books on the market, this one definitely has the best pictures of all time. In fact they should enter some of them in photography contests. Also recommend Treat Your Own Rotator Cuff if a shoulder or rotator cuff problem is keeping you from lifting weights. Happy training.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well written with the reader in mind. Loads of muscle information for those curious how muscles work down to the single fibers. Even WITHOUT pictures (for some reason, some reviewers missed the pages full of scientific, educational information) this book would be great. Every exercise is given an image to really allow the reader to understand what the movement/positioning is. Finally at the end of the book the workout plans are provided. They do NOT take 2 hours to complete as has been mentioned below. I have a feeling those who feel it took so long were lifting too much weight too soon therefore requiring too much recovery time between the workouts. The beginner phase is a "circuit" training, which hits all major muscles of the body from top to bottom. Some may be resistant to a full body workout, but the point from the authors is to give you a strong base to build muscle on as you progress through the routines, greatly reducing muscle damage and injury. I appreciate the candid style of the authors. The book is well written with honest information and advice. It is a long-term routine, which further drives home my point, that this is not a silly meatheaded approach to muscular development. Even if size is not your only purpose for working out, this book may be a benefit to you, although I feel that the main purpose is to develop size. They do encourage non-heavy-weight workouts on off days, like pick-up games, or light machine-based exercise. Personally I do strength yoga, which gives me more flexibility while conditioning my body in a way that is in contrast to lifting weights. Another point that is comforting for those who are skeptical of only lifting weights and giving up other forms of exercise, even the authors do not recommend that. Great book, for a teenager to a man in his later years.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Full of useful information and great workouts
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The best thing about this book is how it describes the science behind muscle growth. Not only is it a great guide to how to do all the exercises correctly, it also explains the chemistry that goes on. I would never have known that it takes much longer for bone durability to catch up with muscle strength and that eating fat should be avoided after working out since it blunts the release of highly beneficial growth hormone. This is an all- around great muscle training book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
The book starts out with basic muscle physiology which is always good to know. Then it moves on to five chapters of exercises. They are divided up into muscles that move the shoulder, muscles that move the elbow and wrist, muscles that move the spine, muscles that move the hip, and finally, muscles that move the knee and ankle. With that knowledge in hand, the book then describes the workout programs. Included are routines for beginner, intermmediate, and advanced lifters. A pretty good guide to weight lifting, I think it will benefit lifters of all experience levels. And I have to say, of all the weight lifting books on the market, this one definitely has the best pictures of all time. In fact they should enter some of them in photography contests.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Well what can I say that already hasn't been said. Great routines, minimal health information, and really great routines. You have (depending on your weight training level) at least 6 months of routines, that will forever change the way you look at weight training. Slightly changing your routine every 3 weeks, using 'Tempo' to lift at different speeds is just the beginning. You also get stretch routines, and pictures that will explain every excercise you do, whether your a novice or an expert, you will learn something. My only problem now? Where is Book of Muscle 2. . .
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've been looking for a book that nails training routine and this one will not disapoint. I've been sticking with the plan starting from the first level on and it has made a major difference in my balance, and more importantly has built my skill set safely to move on to more challenging compound exercises. The routines do take a lot of time to complete at first but now that I'm in better condition I've found that the number of exercises has decreased and I can handle them w/o killing myself. I've still got a ways to go before I exhaust the progressive routines in the book. The best part is I don't have to plan out my routine its already done for me. Very good book in my arsenal to get healthy and stay that way.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is great. If you really want to develop real muscle,tone and strenght this is it Schouler and King put you up with routines that is great and they have the experience to show you what to do. I already finished the beginner's routine and I have seen great changes. All those guys rating it one star just don't like to read and being consistent in their workouts.
Guest More than 1 year ago
How can you say its all pictures and no information? The workouts in this book are on the money and they involve building up strength through working from high rep circuits to low rep maximum strength routines. This contrasts greatly from books like The Body Sculpting Bible which consists of going from easier exercises with less sets to more difficult exercises for more sets. The BSB doesn't address anatomic adaptation vs. hypertrophy vs. maximum strength and the quality of the workouts were about as bad as I've ever seen in such a popular book. That book also puts lots of restrictions on diet, just the way to make dieting not work. The Book of Muscle on the other hand explains the physiological changes that result from eating different kinds of foods and explains the importance of what you eat before and after you lift. As a matter of fact the two books give opposite opinions on whether or not to eat before exercise. I've done both ways and my muscles got smaller with the BSB method. I could go on forever, but one more thing. The beginner workouts take longer because they emphasize endurance. If you want a short workout do a workout that emphasizes maximum strength. If you actually read the book instead of worrying about the pictures, you'd figure this out. Best workout book I've ever read
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have read this book from cover to cover and I'm amazed at the sheer content and concise format in which it was presented. It reads easy so that even a novice can understand the terminology and the advanced lifter will even gain valuable information. The workouts are simply some of the best that I've ever done in my 15 years of lifting experience, and I haven't come across even one yet that can't be completed in an hour or less. Not only does the book layout fantastic workouts, but it gives the reader a plethora of outstanding exercise examples with progressive pictorals in many cases. I am now armed with some of the best information available out there regarding lifting AND nutrition. I definitely recommend this book to anyone who's serious about gaining strength, mass or just plain wanting to look good on the beach this summer. Your lifting library should NOT be devoid of The Book Of Muscle!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book has lots of info about muscles, and lots of pretty pictures. But if you're looking for workout routines, look somewhere else. Even the 'beginner' routines take at least two hours to complete. Not very realistic. You can get better routines for free on the Men's Health web site.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've done an Ian King workout before with great success and this is another great book by the King/Schuler team. I've also read other books like the Body Sculpting Bible and a few other bodybuilding books. They don't compare. This book explains how to make the most of the different hormones that build muscles and take advantage of nutrition which is equally as important as the exercises. The book also approaches working out from an Average Joe's perspective unlike some other books that expect nothing but hardcore bodybuilding. By the way, I've put on about 7-8lbs of muscle while losing fat and added a combined 150 lbs on my bench, squat, and deadlift in about 2 months since returning to the gym. Thats what I call results.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a nice book, with lots of glossy pictures of the steroid-enhanced Men's Health cover models. In fact, the book is over half pictures. But, it's a coffee table book, and there isn't much information in it. There are a few workout routines in the back, but they're scant, and not very informative. This is a book you'd expect to find on the glass table at some uptown hair salon, catering to a metrosexual clientele. If you want a better, cheaper book, go for the Men's Health Testosterone Advantage Plan. I bought both, only needed the one.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was looking forward to this book...I enjoyed a few of the books these Men's Health guys have put out, but this one was a bit disappointing. It has some good basic information on how muscles work but nothing you haven't already read. Plus if you have a subscription to Men's Health ....Believe Me...you already seen the workout routines..... otherwise ...Stick with Strength Training Anatomy by Frederic Delavier..&..The Body Sculpting Bible for Men by Villepigue & Rivera...and if you're REALLY a Beginning Beginner....Weight Training Workouts that Work by James Orvis.....and you'll be well on your way to a really nice body. But if you really wanna stick to Men's Health books....you're already ahead of the game with The Men's Health Hard Body Plan.