The Meq (Meq Series #1)

The Meq (Meq Series #1)

by Steve Cash

Paperback

$13.95
View All Available Formats & Editions
Usually ships within 6 days

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Meq (Meq Series #1) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Fenring More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. It could be classified as historical fiction with a science fiction edge. Readers of science fiction should enjoy it. The writing reminds me greatly of Burroughs' John Carter of Mars series, but it is obvious that Cash takes his writing more seriously than Burroughs ever did. There are two elements in the book that I disliked. The first is that the book makes large skips ahead in time a few times. Given the story, that may be unavoidable, but I found how it was done a little jarring (other reviewers apparently did not). The other is that the book did not grab me emotionally. I felt that I was told how the characters were feeling rather than being lead to see how they felt, which would help forge a truer connection to the characters. Despite these two issues, I found the story and characters quite compelling, enjoyed the book, and I am eager to start the second in the series.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In 1881, Zianno Zezen celebrates his twelfth birthday 'for the first time' on a train with Momma and Papa heading from St. Louis to Central City just above Denver. Momma tells Zianno that the three of them are different then anyone else on the crowed train filled with ordinary Giza humans. Before she can explain further about being a Meq, the train derails killing everyone on board except Zianno.--- Jewish trader Solomon Birnbaum nurtures the injured Z, but is stunned by how fast the preteen heals. Solomon believes that Z might be a member of a legendary ancient race that he thought was mythical. He returns Z to St. Louis where the lad meets other Meqs and learns how his people stop aging at twelve until they find their Ameq soulmate. A Meq can choose to age and die like Giza. Z befriends Gizas and soon wonders if he is the last born as he has met no one ¿younger¿ than him. Could this mean the Meq Remembering has begun; some believe so and try to halt it.--- This engaging fantasy grips the audience due to the Meq, who interestingly repeat their twelfth birthday yet remain child-like in spite of experiences; this makes individual Meqs hard to delineate one from another. The story line is told from the first person account of Z, which adds a feel of detachment rather than emotion to the plot; yet also serves as a mechanism to display the blasé attitude towards immortality and the acceptance of those who chose mortality. Much of the action will happen in the sequels, but fans will enjoy this introduction to the near immortal race that walks amongst us.--- Harriet Klausner
vpfluke on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was quite a good read for me. I got intrigued with the story of immortal children called the Meq who waft through hundreds of years of history. Although ther is a little strain of historical verisimilitude, I felt I wanted to follow the story to the end. Which it isn't as this is part of a trilogy.The hero is Zianno Zezen. His name perhaps symbolizes coming a the last of his tribe of Meq's. Meq children come about when, after hundreds of years of yearing, a couple takes the shift into mortality and can bear children,b ut will age and die. The Meq have special powers and most try to do good. But there is an eveil one the Fleur de Mal and Z must battle him, if mostly obliquely throughout the book.We do get a picture of life in the United States, particularly St. Louis and New Orleans at the turn of the 20th century. And the story lines takes the characters to both China and northern Africa.
vanedow on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A truly interesting read, with elements of science fiction, historical fiction, and a little mystery for good measure. I thought the author did a great job of capturing the dreamlike feeling of what life would be like if you had forever to live it. While Z and his Meq companions are strong characters, much of the life and compelling nature of this book is due to the vivid human characters. I was riveted by the stories of Carolina and Solomon, even as I was intrigued by the subtler personalities of the Meq.This might be a little slow for some people, but I really enjoyed it.
jlizzy on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
LOVED IT! A very clever fantasy. Don't analyze it too much - just go with the ride and enjoy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A truly different novel. If you're into sci-fi, paranormal, historical fiction, or just love a good story, this book is for you. Highly recommend giving it a try.
MissPrint More than 1 year ago
At the risk of gushing, the word "awesome" really doesn't do this book justice. The Meq is Cash's first novel, but the richness of the text and the strong characters seem like the work of veteran writer. So, you may ask, what is the Meq about? The quick version is that it's a story akin to the Highlander movies. But that doesn't really explain much. The Meq are a mysterious race of immortals that have been around since, well, the beginning. They stop aging when they turn twelve, they cannot get sick or die, and they do not continue aging until meeting their ameq (soulmate). The catch is they have no idea why they are immortal; no knowledge of their origins. Cash's book begins when Zianno Zezen turns twelve (for the first time) in 1881 and learns that he and his parents are Meq. This book, the first in a series, spans from 1881 to 1918. Cash's writing style lends itself to the breezy way that the Meq can deal with time (what's a few years when you can live forever?). And, while it may seem strange to read about centuries-old people living in the bodies of children, Cash makes that work too. While the story has adventure and romance, the main conceit of this novel (and I presume later ones in the series) is Z's search, along with his fellow Meq, for the truth behind their origins. The book is generally categorized as YA, but I really think it's a must-read for anyone who has any interest in fantasy novels.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Outstandig,an action-packed thrill ride that takes the reader into the story and captivates the mind,I absolutely love this book!!!!!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was a very unique story. I actually wished it was longer because the book spanned so many decades that I wanted to spend more time in each place. I can't wait for the sequel.