Mercury Striking (Scorpius Syndrome Series #1)

Mercury Striking (Scorpius Syndrome Series #1)

by Rebecca Zanetti

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, July 18

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Mercury Striking 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 47 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great start to RZ's new series! Unique storyline and I especially liked that there wasn't really a cliff-hanger despite the continuing plot. Loved Jax and Lynne, and can't wait for Raze's story next! Hope she writes fast - want more!
Anonymous 6 months ago
Loved the action and cleverness and some romance page turner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really like the characters so far and it’s not just your everyday zombie apocalypse. It’s an apocalypse with people struggling to survive not just a disease but also the worst humanity has to offer.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed very much
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I bought this book because the premise sounded interesting and I wanted some romance with action. The book is good, the character development could’ve been better. There was a whole community but they seemed more abstract than actual people. Jax was a military man who became a leader once this apocalypse came about. I didn’t really like his Alpha male personality as much. The flashbacks to his past were confusing and his demeanor as being too ‘afraid’ to actually get to know his people and be more than just a military man was off-putting. Lynn Harmony was the heroine and was really smart. The way she was written just made me dislike her a bit. She kind of took whatever happened as is. She didn’t really fight back. She’s supposed to be clumsy but it seems like the only time she actually portrays clumsiness are times she’s actually needed and manages to only give partial effort. Lynn is supposed to be a very smart scientist, yet most of the time she’s a ‘helpless’ female waiting for her man to save her. If you like this aspect then great. Here’s a book for you. But I’ve recently begun to look for books in which the female character fights back for what she wants. Like the Kate Daniels series. Throughout this entire book I found myself pushing to actually read rather than give up halfway through. If I could go back in time, would I still purchase this book? Probably not. The world building is pretty great. It had a definite Walking Dead feel, though there aren’t actually many instances we were able to actually encounter the ‘zombies’ or Rippers of this apocalypse. Seemed more focused on the dramas of the main group of people and it was more about the rival gang out to get the community.
Faerie-bookworm More than 1 year ago
Title: Mercury Striking Author: Rebecca Zanetti Genre: Adult Post-Apocalyptic Romance Format: Ebook Pages: 384 Rating: 5 Heat: 5 Thoughts: Ooooh, that was good!! A bacteria has wiped out most of the USA, maybe the world but with the internet and other communications down we don’t know. And if you survive having the deadly disease you could end up being a serial killer. Not everyone goes to that extreme but it will still change you. I am loving this, there’s a bit of fantasy/paranormal thrown in that keeps you on your toes. Some of the survivors seem to have psychic abilities of some kind and I can’t wait to see what else pops up. Awesome characters, although other than Lynne and Jax we really don’t get to know anyone that well. Not a bad thing, and the hints are there which had me wanting the next book NOW! There’s just enough mystery, little tidbits, that keep you glued to the page hoping to learn more. Great start to a must read series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Zanetti does not disappoints.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it!
CarolineA More than 1 year ago
I received a copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. While being entirely way too smutty for my tastes, Mercury Striking is a well thought out page turner. With the Scorpius bacteria on the loose, more deadly than the plague, Jax Mercury has created his own community in Los Angeles where the people are protected and everyone does their part. Meanwhile, Lynn Harmony aka “Blue Heart” is fugitive #1. Said to be carrying a mutated strain of the Scorpius bacteria, she is supposed to be turned into what’s left of the government if she’s found. As the former head of the CDC, she’s too valuable to let go. So obviously this is a romance. And it’s a steamy alpha male romance at that. Personally, I don’t get the whole alpha male attraction. They’re mostly just jerks. Jax isn’t too bad, as far as Alpha’s go. He’s got a lot of backstory and reasons for acting the way he does. He’s got a past and demons to conquer. Lynne is far from the damsel in distress herself. She’s got a brain and knows how to use it. She’s got her own demons to vanquish and together with Jax, they may just be able to take on the world. I was surprised by how much I liked about this book. The action was good and kept the story moving. The explanations for the Scorpius bacteria was well thought out and interesting, it wasn’t a last minute cop out thrown together by the author in order to get the characters in bed together. It was legit. And I liked it. The side characters were also very interesting and I have a feeling there is plenty to find out about each of them in the future. As far as what I didn’t like, as I said before, I’m not one for books with lots of sex. It’s just not my reading preference. If you like a lot of sex scenes, this is the book for you! For me, it was too much. Especially a particular scene in the book which was WAY too rapey for my liking. The author knows each partner wanted it, but there was no way that Jax knew she really wanted it. She said no, and he did it anyway. It left a really bad taste in my mouth and if I were the kind of reader who quit partway through a book, I would have quit. Aside from that scene, I had no other major issues with the book. So, should you read it? If you like LOTS of sex scenes and romance novels that have more substance than just the romance aspect, YES. If you don’t like sex scenes, you may have a harder time. You could always skip over them, but you’ll miss some of the relationship development.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent
PollyBennett More than 1 year ago
Exciting exciting. Survival at it's best. This is going to be a great series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read the first paragraph four times it was so good and I knew I was at the beginning of a great book. It's written with inspired imagination and I enjoyed every word. I'm looking forward to the next book and will pre-order now! cjbevil
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well done
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great new series . Everything was pretty plausible which made it more scary. Started slow. Glad I stayed with it. Took off and connected with the characters. Plot, romance, and sex.
Bukgoddess More than 1 year ago
4 stars! A new series by Rebecca Zanetti The Scorpius Syndrome...meet two unlikely individuals each with their own agenda in fighting a most deadly bacteria that threatens to destroy mankind. Dr. Lynne Harmony also known as Blue Heart, is she the cause or can she be part of the cure? Jax Mercury is finding himself in the predicament of trying to determine just that!
ArecRain More than 1 year ago
I received a complimentary copy in exchange for an honest review. Wow! After reading the description for this novel, I could not pass Mercury Striking up. I thought it was too much to ask that the story would actually be as great as the description made it out to be, but I was far from disappointed. Thankfully it’s a series because I was blown away by how amazing this novel was. On that note, reading the novella that precedes this may be a good idea. While I felt that I was able to comprehend the story and keep up with it, the novella gives the reader better comprehension of the world/story overall. I love romance/erotica and I also love post-apocalyptic stories. Going in, I was convinced there was no way someone could write a combination of the two adequately. They are tough genres to combine without one suffering. Zanetti clearly knows what she’s doing. Not only can she write an intriguing dystopian world, she created a love story that grabs at you and won’t let go until you know how it plays out. Her characters are powerful and dynamic, tangible in a world that I had to remember doesn’t actually exist. They captured me heart and soul from the very beginning. Zanetti’s writing is a triple threat. She knows how to write great characters with engaging dialogue without skimping on plot or romance. If you think this sounds like a story you would like, let me make the decision for: get it. I can’t wait for the nest in the series to come out.
lprather66 More than 1 year ago
I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Rebecca Zanetti is one of my favorite authors. She creates compelling, action-packed stories with well-developed characters that will have you on the edge of your seat and crying for more when it ends. Have I mentioned the swoon worthy Jax? He will have you wishing you were his leading lady despite the Post-Apocalyptic setting. Jax Mercury has always been a fighter: first as a gang member, then as a solider in the military, now as a survivor of the plague, Scorpius. Scorpius has decimated the United States. Technology is down and those who survived the initial outbreak are struggling to stay one step ahead of the plague. Jax has made it his mission to help others. He commands the strong to care for and protect the weak. Lynn Harmony has been working on a cure, but she needs Jax's help. They both have skeletons in their closets and secrets they would like to keep. Can they work together to find the cure before it is too late? Jax Mercury is a mysterious solider fighting a battle for survival not only for himself but others in his care. He is a fighter who has honed his skills, both on the battlefield and off. Lynn Harmony may be the only hope for mankind's survival if she can find the cure. Working together will be a test of dormancy, determination and trust. I thoroughly enjoyed this read even though at times I was either crying or screaming at the book...like that would make it better.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just completed this book, and am at a loss for words. I am already jonsing for the next book in this series! Rebecca Zanetti has spun a web so deliciously clever you don't mind being stuck. Scorpius Rising (it's in the On The Hunt book) begins the series with the story of Nora and Deacan McDougall, and this is the story of Lynne and Jax, after Scorpius has changed the world. Lynne was infected with Scorpius and her and the world changed dramatically. Some people became outright insane killers and some people were able to hide their insanity a little better. Lynne and Jax must keep Lynne alive long enough for her to find a cure, but the people are terrified of Lynne and what she represents. Jax has his hands full trying to keep her alive... plus, he likes the blue. ?
alterlisa More than 1 year ago
I know it's only February, but I may have just read what could become my favorite book of 2016. It has been so long since I've read a book that captivated me as much as this juicy post-apocalyptic romance. This book has it all- adventure, suspense, sweet romance and mind blowing sex. The characters are so captivating and frequently had me laughing at their exchanges. I loved the storyline of how the virus started and actually found it quite believable. I think that is one of the scariest things about this book. Kudos to Zanetti for developing it along with the newest monsters on Earth- the Rippers. She did a marvelous job of melding the post-apocalyptic thriller and the sweeter romance story into a juicy total. I had to force myself to put this book down and make it last more than one day simply because I did not want it to end. There is a second book coming out at the end of August but that's over six months away. It will feature Raze and Vivienne, characters you met in this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Rebecca Zanetti delivers an adrenaline rush, hot read that kept my attention from cover to cover. In this post-apocalypic novel we’re gifted a smoldering alpha ex-soldier hero and a tough stand-up-for-herself heroine. A deadly bacterial plaque has decimated the human population, leaving survivors – some normal but carriers of the Scorpius virus and others who are changed in to “rippers” who are either zombie-esque cannibals or empathy-stripped psychopaths. However, we are not exactly sure of the extent of the population affected as this story centered in Los Angeles. Lack of communication leaves the state of the rest of the world a mystery. Jax Mercury leads a stronghold band of survivors in a kill or be-killed world. Insurgents, raids…there’s a lot of fighting and death in this book. Then Lynne Harmony appears, previous head of CDC research and then infected early on with a mutated form of the Scorpius bacterium, leaving her feared and hated. Jax believes she’s the key to finding a cure to the infection. Of course they fall for each other in a long drag-out of we can’t feel this way for each other but it’s an apocalypse so let’s find love now or we may not have it tomorrow. Don’t get me wrong the love story was well done and there's a lot of sexy time in this book. There’s a huge cast of secondary characters, who are well developed and interesting. The world building is complex and strong, but you have to be in this for reading some necessary informational sections to understand what is going on. Overall great read. Can’t wait for the next in the series. *Book received from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
aRomancelover More than 1 year ago
This book was fantastic! I loved every minute of it and can't wait for the next one! Life is over as humans know it on planet Earth. A virulent bacterium has swept across the landscape killing most of the human population. Of those who have been infected and survived, they are changed…some for the better making them stronger, smarter, and who knows what else. But many others have been changed in a more evil sense of the word. Rippers, the survivors whose brains have been drained of sanity and empathy wander the earth in search of anything they can kill. But some Rippers are so intelligent, devious, and potentially evil that their insanity can pass as sanity...or so they think. Lynne Harmony is Blue Heart…the former head of infectious diseases at the CDC and a survivor of the Scorpius bacterium only it left her heart glowing blue with the ink of a mutant squid. After escaping her CDC prison, she seeks the one man who might be strong enough, savvy enough, and tough enough to not only protect her from the enemy seeking her return to captivity, but also might be willing to kill someone for her—Jax Mercury. She knows he and the others won’t trust her, will be afraid of her, and she can't blame them but she might be able to give something in return…her intelligence and expertise pertaining to a possible cure for Scorpius. Jax Mercury is a man who protects. He doesn’t have to be the ultimate leader and hero to the ragtag group of people who make up the Vanguard community under his protection but it’s who he is so when Lynne Harmony, a beautiful, intelligent, and extraordinary woman falls under his protection, he is determined to protect her. Learning to feel emotion, especially love, was not what he’d bargained for. MERCURY STRIKING by Rebecca Zanetti is probably one of the best, if not the absolute best story, I’ve read in a long while. I’ve read some good books but this one kept me glued to my reader tighter than any have before. MERCURY STRIKING is Richard Matheson's I AM LEGEND meets The Walking Dead meets Typhoid Mary. It’s action-packed, edge of the seat gripping, sexy, and intelligently terrifying because it’s so real. This could actually happen and probably will someday. The characters are rich, lifelike, and emotional even while tight-lipped and cautious. The secondary characters are as real as the main characters and we, as the reader, get caught up in their friendships even though they've been short-lived and superficial for the most part. When one of the main secondary characters dies, it tears at the heart and be prepared to cry. It truly made my chest hurt. MERCURY STRIKING by Rebecca Zanetti might not be for everyone but if you love a good post-apocalyptic story and a heady romance with great heat, this story is for you and I highly, highly recommend you reading it. I was reading on a time crunch and still didn’t want it to end. I read the preview at the end for SHADOW FALLING, book two in the Scorpius Syndrome series and I am itching to get to it. September is to hell and gone a long way off, and I already want more of Vanguard and the amazing people who survive there. ***eARC provided by publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest and unscripted review.
Hfowler More than 1 year ago
Synopsis: With nothing but rumors to lead her, Lynn Harmony has trekked across a nightmare landscape to find one man—a mysterious, damaged legend who protects the weak and leads the strong. He’s more than muscle and firepower—and in post-plague L.A., he’s her only hope. As the one woman who could cure the disease, Lynn is the single most volatile—and vulnerable—creature in this new and ruthless world. But face to face with Jax Mercury… Danger has never looked quite so delicious… Review: I picked this one up at Netgalley on a whim. The synopsis looked interesting and the cover was appealing, but I had not read anything from this author before. Well, I am SO glad I did, because I couldn't put it down. I read it in two days and it was one of those books I couldn't put down to the point that I was up till well past 1 AM reading. It is also the first book of 2016 to receive 6 stars from me. The characters were very strong, dynamic, and complex. Mercury was such a strong male protagonist, he owned every page he showed up on. Lynn is a great match for him. She is soft and compassionate and knows how to get under his rough exterior to the heart underneath. The plot was complex and constantly moving. There were surprises and unexpected twists. The conflict is well developed and is difficult for the main characters to overcome. This story reminded me of Resident Evil and World War Z (though the human race hasn't turned into zombies, per se). It also had elements of other great post apocalyptic story lines. This one had all of the great blockbuster elements that make for an awesome story and an awesome read. I can't wait for book 2.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An exciting and thrilling start to a very intriguing series, with a cast of colorful and mysterious characters! Great and sexy read! Looking forward to book two... SR
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
While the story gets off to a slow start both Mercury and Lynne are awesome team. Backed by other survivors of Scorpious. The group fights to stay together but not without a lot of danger . Read and survive with them if you dare.
BuckeyeAngel More than 1 year ago
Lynne Harmony is going through dangerous landscape, trying to find Jax Mercury, who has risen to mythical hero status since the world started coming to an end 6 months ago. Unfortunately, she doesn’t know if he’l be like everyone else and either try to kill her or turn her into those that are hunting her, considering most everyone blames her for the end. This is one of the first post-apocalypse books I’ve read and the first book I’ve read from this author. I must say, I was completely enraptured. The book snared me from the beginning and didn’t let go. I had a hard time putting it down, even reading it when I shouldn’t. It’s also usually a hard sell for the quick-love that happens in most books, but I couldn’t help but be very happy that Jax was able to embrace his humanity and feel for Lynne. I can’t wait to read more from this series and more from this author. **I received an ARC of this story in exchange for an honest review