Miss Wyoming

Miss Wyoming

by Douglas Coupland

Paperback(Reprint)

$13.95 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, December 12

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Miss Wyoming 3.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
PhoebeReading on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
When Coupland is good, he's very good, producing stunners like Microserfs and Generation X. When he's bad, we get wooden novels like Miss Wyoming. MW starts with promise--its characters are D-list celebs who are, like most of Coupland's protagonists, in search of meaning in a culture that encourages disposable beauty and consumerism. But instead of pursuing the promise of plot, Coup gives us pop-culture trivia and factoids ad nauseum. None of these are enough to create either plot or personality. There are slivers of brightness--a scene where Susan, the main character, squats in a suburban house is one--but they're few and far in between.
CatieN on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Susan Colgate is a child brought up in the pageant culture. Her mother is a white-trash stage mother. Susan eventually trades the pageant circuit for the Hollywood circuit. The experiences she has in both venues are interesting, funny, and bizarre. This was a very good book with quirky but likeable characters with the theme of cheating death and new beginnings a constant throughout the book. I particulary liked how the story dealt with humans recreating themselves over and over again in their lives and the effect that has on them and the people around them. Very enjoyable read.
EKAnderson on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Miss Wyoming is as delightful as it is frightening. Frightening in the sense that, yes, this is the human condition. It skips about in time, narrating both the history and current affairs of a former teen pageant queen and a washed up movie star. Susan Colgate has survived a plane crash followed by a year-long disappearance; John Johnson has survived a drug overdose followed by months of self-prescribed homelessness. Both characters grew up amid some extremely odd family dynamics. As the story switches perspectives and carves out each surprise, you find yourself putting faith in the aforementioned human condition, and the odd little mission that this pair ultimately have set out to achieve.
TomSlee on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Not bad, but not up to his best work. But then, I read it in a hotel room, in an airport, and on an overnight plane flight so you may get more out of it than I did.
jonwwil on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Normally I enjoy Coupland's work very much, but this one just didn't quite grab me the way the others did. I think it's because, as well-written as they are, none of the main characters seems particularly real. They're all in some bizarre, contrived identity crisis (John, Susan, Marilyn) or they're just surreal characters to begin with (Vanessa, Eugene). The one I got the most out of was Ryan, the video store clerk, and he wasn't central enough to the plot to really give me a way in.Now, I used the word "contrived" above, and I'm aware of the negative connotations that word brings with it. In this particular case, though, I don't see it as a bad thing. What charm the story does have comes through these characters coming through such bizarre circumstances. It's amusing, really.I also thought the story's form was pretty interesting, starting off with Susan and John's first meeting and then branching off (although branching seems like too limiting a word; prisming might be better, although that isn't a real word, strictly speaking) into the past and future from there, going into the circumstances that led to it and came from it before finally merging the timelines and continuing the story for the last two chapters. Although I do think that contributed to my complaint about the characters--I like the fact that the primary "villain" (Marilyn, Susan's mother) was shown to be a sympathetic character as well, but it happened far too late in the story.So while I wouldn't say I liked this as well as some of Coupland's other books, there's still a great deal to respect and admire in the writing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Unfortunately, I'm inclined to agree with the opinions of the reviewers below, who were also expecting more from this novel. One-dimensional characters in a familiar plot, doesn't make for fun reading.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I would recommend this book because it has adventure, secrets, romance and more. A very good read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Douglas Coupland is a great author. He pushes you to think about life as it is, were it is going and puts us in check with our values. In Miss Wyoming this theme is still their but not executed as well as Shampoo Planet or Girlfriend in a Coma. For those of you who have made this your first Coupeland work try something else.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was so excited to read this book. I love Copeland's sense of humor and style. This was a little hard to follow. There was some parts that I found amusing though.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have been a Douglas Coupland fan since Microserfs (one of my favorite novels) and I've watched in bewilderment as every book he has written since has not only paled in comparrison, but has been absolutely horrible. Unfortunately, Miss Wyoming is no different. The author does such a poor job in developing the characters in this book that I felt as though I was reading his personal notes that he would someday take and turn into a real novel. The storyline was hooked together with a bunch of unrealistic coincidences. The only virtue of this sad little book was its length... it is fairly short, so I didn't have to waste that much time getting through it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
i was so excited to read this book...i checked out ebay for advance copies...but i held back...then i was short on loot when it came out and had to borrow it from a friend...thank god i didn't buy it....without a doubt this is my least favorite coupland book...all the questions and the themes of his earlier works are watered down here....yes it's a quick read and at times entertaining, but for mr coupland it is definately sub-par...