The Monkey's Paw

The Monkey's Paw

by W W Jacobs

Paperback

$6.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, May 31

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Monkey's Paw 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 22 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Monkey's Paw is aa very good book. I give it 3 out of 5 stars. It is filled with mystery and suspence. The White family recieves a Monkey's Paw from Sergeant Major Morris filled withthree wishes. they don't know one problem, it is cursed. Unfortuante events strike after each wish. The last wish is the haredest decisoiona parent could make. The wishes seem like they are a coincidence almost. The reasons are not good quite bad actually. The story is good but has its issues. the story was published in 1902, so the words are hard to understand. It alsogets boring in the beginning. Its slow to start, he's playing chess. so it is very misleading. I did enjoy the ending of the story. I believe Mr. White made the best decisoion for his family. Mrs. White was being very greedy, and was only looking out for himself. Mr. and Mrs. White should have never made their first wish. The Sergeant said the Monkey's Paw is evil. The book was overall very good. Every book has its up and downs, but this book has very few downs. It has myster, horro, and sadness. The downs are not many. Basically, word choce, and at times, boring. The Monkey's Paw is a very good book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book the Monkeys Paw is a gruesome tale. About a family that makes some not very wise decisions. They were given a monkeys paw that would grant three wishes. Their wishes were very selfish and I would not consider the monkeys paw as a good thing more like a curse. The monkeys paw never really helped them only hurt them. Description and summary of main points This is the story of the white family. One day a man comes to the door and gives them a monkey¿s paw. He says it can grant three wishes. Hey end up losing some very important things along the way. They also have some very hard decisions to make. The characters are Mr. and Mrs. White and their son Herbert. The Theme of the story is be careful what you wish for. The style is from the past in the 19 hundreds. The setting is in the 1920¿s in an English cottage. The plot is it goes from good to bad very fast. Overall I enjoyed this book it is mostly for middle school students. I think that everyone should read it even if you¿re not into those types of books. There were some parts that got boring and then it picked up again overall a good book if you like scary books you would like this book a lot. So I give it **** stars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The monkey's Paw is one of the most original story's out there, meaning there is absolutely nothing of its kind. It was written by a man named W.w Jacobs. Its a horror-fiction story about a monkey's paw that grants every person that has posession of it three wishes, and only three wishes. In the story the white family seems kind of doubtful of the paw and its ability's. Herbert is the son of Mr. and Mrs white and is also the most doubtful one of the paw. And he will also be the one to be punished. the story takes place in a small cottage out in the back country of London, England. I would recommend you read this book if your into mysterious, scary types of books. And also if you like books that are not boring.....READ IT!
pencase on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
White family was happy and warm family. A old Indian solduer who Mr White's frised had a magic monkey's paw. It took unhappy. White family got the paw from him but Mrs White and her son didn't beleaved the story.I want to know what happen to The monkey. Why the monkey made people unhappy? Is this a lesson that human beings should get their hope themselves?
kdmdr on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Tom visited White famiry.And White famiry got the monkey's paw .The monkey's paws can make three wishes.But, it happens unhappy thing.I have read same theme.So it is easy to understand this story.I enjoy reading this book.
black-leopard on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The family named White got the monkey's paw. The monkey's paw realizes theree wishes. However it brings unhappiness with your wish. This story is very mysterious and interesting. The reason for why it is interesting is that there is conpensation. It maight be boring if the wish is easily fulfilled. It is interesting because this story has reality. I think it is more interesting when this story is made into a movie.
takata222 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
If you ask the monkey's paw for three wishes,those wishes comes true.Can you believe it? The White family didn't believe it.But the first wish they ask for came true.So,they asked for the next wish.But their life is like a terrible dream. After reading this book,I was afraid.As I thought,happy things never last so long.If I meet the monkey's paw,I will never use it.
nyakyakyanya on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A heavy rain day, Mr White's friend came and gave Mt White a monkey's paw. Three wishes are came ture by using it but this bring unhappinness too,the friend said. The first Mr White's wish was that his family wanted money. I think this story is interesting because I could read as imaging what happened next.
touchboy on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
If there is a thing that grants your wishes, what do you wish? A monkey's paws can do it for three times. But the monkey's paws brings unhappines to somebody who have it. Nobody knows the causes. In this story White family have it. Really what three things they hope? the story is very interesting for me. After you read it, definitely you won't want it.
shabuko on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is horror story.People can grant three wishes with the monkey's paw.But the compensation is necessary to grant wishes.The Whites is poor and they want much money.They make a wish and they get much money but....I shuddered.If I should get the paw, I would never use it and make a wish.I had a glimpse of a human weakness for the desire.
natti10 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a monkey's paw.It can make three wishes.But if you wish, you would be unhappy...Do you want to wish?I was afraid to turn over the page.I dont want to see monkey's paw if I can.
inma2 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is horror story.Mr.white is given the monkey'paw by his friend.It makes the wish come true .But,if the wish come true,we must pay the equal price for the wish.this story is very horrible.Even if I am given monkey'paw,I never use it.I think this story discribes human desire.
hysksm on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
One day, White family got "A Monkey's Paw". The monkey's paws can make three wishes.But if you wish, an unhappy thing happens.I want to wish my wishes.But I don't want to get it.This book is read, I think have a desire.
natuki on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a story of the strange monkey's paw. There are a family consisting of three(father, mother, and a son) and a man who is this father's friend in this book. One night, he visited them and gave them "The Monkey's Paw". This is the magic paw because it can give three wishes to three people. They wanted to get money and wished. But they lost their son instead of getting money. "The Monkey's Paw" brings them unhappiness not happiness.This story was dreadful. I thought that it is not possible to easily grant a wish. Though all the people have a desire, I think it doesn't bring people hapiness. I want the person who is not weak in a horror story to read.
momopeach on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This story is about the monkey's paw and a family. The monkey's paw has a power which grants three wishes. The family, Mr and Mrs White and their son, Herbert get the monkey's paw from Mr White's friend, Tom.This story was very interesting for me. I wonder what the last wish during reading. And this book was easy to read. So I could enjoy very much.
saad_ksa on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The story talk about when Mr white was a boy , he was poor and hungry .He learnt how to steal horses ,he learnt how to fight and how to live ,outside the law.Australia in 1870 was a hard ,wild place.Rich people and had land , poor people didn"t.So the rich got richer,and the poor stayed poor.
kawai1789 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
this is very interesting novel
maaax on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The family named White was very poor,one day they got the monkey's paw.Monkey's Paw are said to grant people three wishes.Their wishies is come true,but they eventually become an unfortunate consequense...I don't know about monkey's paw so it is interesting.But there was a weird atmosphere in this story,so it is afraid of me.I also have wish but I don't want to see monkey's paw.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Monkey¿s Paw is an interesting story about a man who makes a sad mistake when he uses the paw for his three wishes even though he was warned. The story was written by W.W Jacobs Description and summary of main points It is about an evil talisman that takes a man¿s son away for good. He was warned that the talisman was evil but still made his wishes and they backfired and made him and his wife miserable I would suggest this story to a reader that likes to read books that have intense moments in their books and somewhat of scary moments. In conclusion Monkey¿s Paw is a good story for many to read. If u start reading this book you won¿t want to put it down. The book has some intense moments and the conclusion is shocking. The author was W.W Jacobs If you like to read you should get Monkey¿s Paw by W.W Jacobs it is an interesting book and has many exciting moments that will leave you astonished at some of the parts leave you shocked.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is indeed an old but positively classic story of horror. I give some kudos to the editor on this edition. His added content in no way detracted from the book. I had to see Jacobs' original side by side with it to see where material was added. I'll admit, I'm intrigued to see how it works with his second story, The Monkey's Tale. Timeless story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
the monkeys paw was a great story it has 2 big morales 1)be careful what you wish 2)don't mess with fate w. w. jacobs is a great aouther he should have a trophy to be the best aouther ever he is just unbeliveble....