Moon Rise

Moon Rise

by Marilee Brothers

Paperback

$14.95
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Moon Rise 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
ljldml on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A fabulous continuation of Allie's story. She has lost her telekinetic abilities. Kizzy engages the help of a young man named Beck Bradford to help Allie out of her slump. Junior is in Mexico and it is uncertain if he will return. Allie and Beck become close. He is not at all put off by Allie's abilities. Beck has demons of his own, literally. The Trimarks are back, chasing Allie to get the Moonstone. They are still horrible, evil and rotten. Faye has straightened out somewhat, she has a job and a steady boyfriend.Rather than read like a sequel, this book picks up right where the first finishes. It is a perfect continuation of the story. Allie has grown a bit, she's more mature but still frightened of her power. With the help of Beck and his twin Nicole she continues to learn to use the power of the Moonstone, it's power is awesome, far more than first thought...Now, I'm off to read the third book!
rhonda1111 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Moonrise by Marilee Brothers 4 STARSMoonrise is the second book in the Moonstone series. So far I have enjoyed reading these books and am going to start the third book in a few minutes.The books are clean good verses evil stories.Allie is back in school but her powers are still gone. Her boyfriend junior has gone to Mexico. Her mom is acting like her mom. Allie is in counseling because of the trama before.Their are two new kids in town. Who are living in the house and land where Allie and her mom were kept while they were held hostage.Beck and Nicole Bradford have their own secrets and power. Beck helps Allie get her power back and working.A lot of the characters from the first book are back as part of Allie life. New bad guys one she knows about is in her school Shane who is a gang member and has the triangle on his palm.Star Seekers learn their is a second prophecy about Allie and the moonstone. They will stop at nothing to get it back.I was into the story and did not put it down till I had finshed it. I was given this ebook with all 4 stories in it to read in exchange for honest review from Netgalley.Bell Bridge books PUB Feb. 2012
JanaRose1 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
After recovering from her injuries, Allie discovers that her powers are gone. She can't read minds, can't move things with her minds and is having a hard time dealing with it. She is in communication with her Dad, but their relationship is strained. Two new characters are introduced, half-demon twins. They are very interesting characters and fun to read about.Other than the introduction of new characters, not a lot happened plot wise. The book was a bit sluggish compared to the first. Allie is still just as interesting as ever. Overall, not a home run, but not bad.
peaceloveandpat on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The second book of Unbiddden Magic made this series "unputdownable", while I resent Faye for being an immature mom dating losers and being all patheic and sadly irresponsible it gave me a clue on why, she possess a secret that her daughter our refreshingly optomistic protagonist, Allie. But that detail will have to wait until book 3, which sadly is not due until February of 2010, and I have no information on the title yet. ( I will find out I promise)Book two starts with Allie on her way to conjugate with the member of her world called the Star Seekers, where she was a guest of honor due to her previous adventures with the evil driven organization called Trimark, whose main purpose in life was to take the magical Moonstone from her by eliminating her out of their way and rule the world with their malevolent plans. He previous used of her Telekinetic power resulted in killing a Trimark memeber which in turn unleased the power of three. The main result was she lost her juice. Coincidently, some one new was there to help her. Beck Bradford, easy on the eyes and born with special powers too. Beck and her twin sister Nicole are half-demon. (Their mother was raped by an incubus). How did Beck helped her? He is a healer or a Shaman, and did some chanting and ritual that helped her loose the nightmares and the feeling of guilt. Not only did he helped Allie got her juice back, he now also held Allie's heart at present. Junior, Allie's supposedly boyfriend went to Mexico, possibly not returning anytime soon or ever. Book two also revealed that there are two prophecies, one we already knew was about her and the other one involves something about the Trimark themselves. There were three villains this time. The one was obvious but the two others snaked their way in to get close to her. They did some pretty interesting magic on their end too. We also met Allie's estranged grandfather Claude, who gave Allie something to think about. "Ask you mother why is she so unhappy", "Ask her about her mother Melia" oh and he knows Allie's powers...now the plot thickens.
RuthiesBookReviews on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Marilee Brothers has done it again in the second installment of the Unbidden Magic series! Again, we meet up with the next adventure of Allie Emerson, but this time some things have changed. For one, her powers for some strange reason won't work anymore and then there's this really cute guy at school who has these strange eyes. But he doesn't really seem interested in her. But her friend Kizzy seems to know what's up and pushes her in his direction. Hmmmm.....now is she supposed to trust this guy or no? Yes, she'd like to but she isn't too sure about it. And her spirit guide, Trilby and her mother, Faye are really not much help at this point in time.Her father really isn't a father at all, but boy, when her powers come back he sure wants everyone to know that she is his daughter. Especially around the people at the Star Seekers meeting, which didn't amount too much. But than with the help of some Cambion's, Beck and Nicole, she makes some new friends and some new allies!This book was both exciting and very fun to read. Watching how Allie has to struggle to regain her powers and escape from a bunch of Trimarks, the action just doesn't stop and allow you take a breath! So if you are looking for a fast, fun read - then this is the book for you. But I would suggest if you haven't read the first book, Moonstone - then read that one first!
PureJonel More than 1 year ago
What a brilliant follow-up to Moonstone, and extremely well written.  There is enough background to refresh the reader on what happened in Moonstone (or to fill new readers in) without simply regurgitating it or dragging the story back into the past.  It follows very nicely in the series, but at the same time is a very different story.  I really appreciate that the author doesn’t just make this series one long story with breaks between stories, which seems to have become the norm.  Brothers takes many stand alone stories and weaves them together into a series that flows well from one to the next.  There is an overarching story to tell in the series as a whole, but so far, each novel can also stand on its own. Brothers’ descriptions continue to enthrall you throughout this novel.  Not only are you caught up in the suspense of the storyline but also in the beauty of the writing and of the world created by this talented author.  I really appreciate how thoroughly developed everything in this story seems, while somehow still leaving room for further development in future installments.  This avoids any downtime in the storyline where the author is either regurgitating something from a previous novel or a lack of detail because everything has already been said. In this story we see further development of the main character.  Not only does she grow as a person because of her experiences, but the reader also learns more about her past and what makes her tick.  We also learn more about some of her friends in this installment.  The increase development in the supporting cast gives the story an even more well rounded feel.  To top this all off, when new supernatural characters are introduced into the story we get to know about them as people, as well as learning about their species.  This leads to a very complete sense of each character. I thoroughly enjoyed this novel. Brothers threw some twists at me that I didn’t see coming while simultaneously staying true to everything that was developed and laid out in Moonstone.  And I must say...  I definitely didn’t expect Junior’s latest venture, but am lovin, it all the same . Please note that I received a copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review.
coziecorner More than 1 year ago
"Moon Rise" is the 2nd book in the 'Unbidden Magic' series. Just as with the first book, "Moon Rise" is filled with magickal adventures that hook you from the beginning and keep you turning the pages. Another great read from Marilee Brothers that is recommended to all YA and not so YA readers. This review is based on a complimentary copy from the author which was provided for an honest review.
gaele More than 1 year ago
I much preferred this installment in the series, picking up where the other left off, new twists were added, and we get to experience more of Allie’s growth and of course, the plot thickens around her.  With a simple good versus evil battle set up beautifully with not so simply recognized evildoers, this installment has plenty of twists and turns to keep readers engaged, and even giggling. Seriously – who would think that a serial ass pincher could lead to so many interconnected yet outwardly unrelated events?  While we lose the potential for one love interest in Allie’s life, and she both changes schools and encounters a new set of people to deal with, we also meet a new ‘potential’ love interest, although their relationship starts as ‘make believe’.  Interactions, both with friends and potential foes is well written and the conversations are solid and real-feeling, despite the otherworldly nature of many of the topics up for discussion.  this book neatly leads into the next in the series, with a well-needed build, added mystery and of course, more bad guys to ferret out.  Including estranged members of Allie’s family also help to provide an interesting foil to Faye’s often misguided judgments and behaviors, a nice touch.  I am very much looking forward to book 3 in this series.  I received an eBook copy through NetGalley for purpose of honest review for the IOB Tours.  I was not compensated for this review, and all conclusions are my own responsibility. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
pagese More than 1 year ago
This was a marked improvement over the first in the series. In fact, I would probably read the first just to get to this one (only because I don't think you can really skip the first). I think all of what the first was lacking was made up in this one. The beginning was a little choppy. For a little bit it was almost like the personalities of the characters changed, but then the story settled down. I was happy to see that Junior wasn't in this one. I just didn't feel the connection there. I almost thought it was a little cliche that the new guy in the story was supernatural. But, it worked. Beck just had the extra something that Junior was missing. Add in his twin sister Nichole who seems to hate Allie and you have an interesting twist to the story. The action is spread out through the story and involved different things. I liked how Beck helps Allie get her powers back. It adds to the tension. It also helps Allie realize that there are people who she can turn to that understand the supernatural part of this world. I also liked how the Tri-marks are still out to get her. I thought how that all played out in the end was intense. It seems to have a lot more magic involved that I originally thought. The characters are growing on me (yes even Faye). I'll be reading the next in the series. I want to know what else is in store for Allie!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
mrdarcy3 More than 1 year ago
Allie's slowly recovering from the kidnapping incident where she discovered more about the moonstone necklace given to her by her friend. Now one tiny problem is plaguing her - she's lost her powers. She can't read minds or move items with her mind. Plus, she's the head speaker at a meeting she just wants to avoid. When a new kid in town offers to help, she's a little skeptical. Sure, he's cute and all, but she sort of has a boyfriend, who's MIA at the moment. Then she finds out that he's half demon. Is he after her necklace and her powers or can she trust him to help her regain her confidence and her powers? A great second installment in this fun paranormal series. Danger, magic, demons, paranormal powers, enemies awaiting revenge, and a dash of romance makes this read hard to put down.
peaceloveandpat More than 1 year ago
The second book of Unbiddden Magic made this series "unputdownable", while I resent Faye for being an immature mom dating losers and being all patheic and sadly irresponsible it gave me a clue on why, she possess a secret that her daughter our refreshingly optomistic protagonist, Allie. But that detail will have to wait until book 3, which sadly is not due until February of 2010, and I have no information on the title yet. ( I will find out I promise) Book two starts with Allie on her way to conjugate with the member of her world called the Star Seekers, where she was a guest of honor due to her previous adventures with the evil driven organization called Trimark, whose main purpose in life was to take the magical Moonstone from her by eliminating her out of their way and rule the world with their malevolent plans. He previous used of her Telekinetic power resulted in killing a Trimark memeber which in turn unleased the power of three. The main result was she lost her juice. Coincidently, some one new was there to help her. Beck Bradford, easy on the eyes and born with special powers too. Beck and her twin sister Nicole are half-demon. (Their mother was raped by an incubus). How did Beck helped her? He is a healer or a Shaman, and did some chanting and ritual that helped her loose the nightmares and the feeling of guilt. Not only did he helped Allie got her juice back, he now also held Allie's heart at present. Junior, Allie's supposedly boyfriend went to Mexico, possibly not returning anytime soon or ever. Book two also revealed that there are two prophecies, one we already knew was about her and the other one involves something about the Trimark themselves. There were three villains this time. The one was obvious but the two others snaked their way in to get close to her. They did some pretty interesting magic on their end too. We also met Allie's estranged grandfather Claude, who gave Allie something to think about. "Ask you mother why is she so unhappy", "Ask her about her mother Melia" oh and he knows Allie's powers...now the plot thickens.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In Peacock Flats, Washington at John J. Peacock HS, student Alfrieda "Allie" Emerson recently lost her telekinetic skills which include reading minds. Her loss of power has angered her at a time her boyfriend Junior went home to Mexico as she feels she lost something precious. The pressure from her dad who just recently came into her life and his group the Star Seekers add to her ire and helplessness; they insist she is the key to the prophecy by keeping the moonstone necklace safe from the Trimarks. Faye AKA Mom is no help as she finds one pathetic loser after another to go out with. At school are two new students, twins Beck and Nicole Bradford. Allie is attracted to the hunk, but also has other worries like the school counselor who wants her removed from her mom. Meanwhile the siblings hide a secret from Allie and others at the school as they are not what they seem. However, they are the key to keeping Allie safe with her retaining the necklace as the Trimarks are using all sorts of tricks to get at her. The second Unbidden Magic urban teen fantasy (see MOONSTONE) is a terific exciting tale with Junior in Mexico and Allie's new BF being a half demon. This leads Allie to protect the necklace but also elude her dad and his group of goody types, her mom and her loser dates, the counselor fro hell, as well as the bad dudes, which make male high school hormonal butt pinching seem irrelevantly inane. MOON RISE contains a fabulous fast-paced story line, but is owned by the heroine whose perspective on her out of control life simply fun to follow as danger lurks around every corner of the school, home, and town. Harriet Klausner