More or Less a Marchioness

More or Less a Marchioness

by Anna Bradley

Paperback

$15.00
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, May 28

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

More or Less a Marchioness 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was my first read by this author and I was a little hesitant. There were no other reviews and I tend to be very picky, but I was pleasantly surprised. Iris had a good backbone and her resolve and how it forced Finn to open up made this book quite enjoyable. I will definitely be taking a look at the author's other works; I hope they live up to my expectations.
Anonymous 8 months ago
I throughly enjoyed this journey the characters go on. I enjoy seeing how Iris comes in to herself and how Finn mergers the different sides of himself. Wonderful characters and storylines!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nice read
clarkws More than 1 year ago
More or Less a Marchioness is Book 1 in Anna Bradley’s new Somerset Sisters series. This book starts off at a gallop and ends at a heart pounding run. I couldn’t put it down. I think Iris Somerset is one of my new favorite heroines. She is fun loving and kind with quite a dash of independence. I enjoyed the unfolding of the heroes character Phineas Knight the Marquess of Huntington. He is definitely a complex man with many layers that are delightful to discover as the story goes forward. This story does have a few sex scenes in it; however, the most romantic scene in the book had no sex in it at all. I can’t wait to read the next in the Somerset series - More or Less a Countess.
mscountrylace More than 1 year ago
This was my first time reading one of Anna Bradley’s books and I’m hooked! I knew there was more to both of them and they just needed to let it all out. From that moment in the garden, I knew they both were going to need help and that there were going to be some surprises along the way. I loved Lady Tallant’s way of helping and what she always said was her reason for it. When they finally got everything out it was like an explosion through the house. The ending was perfect for many reasons. Iris has kept her true self hidden for a long time without fully realizing it. I loved her from the moment she didn’t run right away in the garden because it showed she was tougher then she looked. She needed to learn about herself to understand more about everything around her. Finn is an honorable man, but not anywhere near as boring and cold as he seems. I loved slowly getting to know and understand him and once that wall went down I needed a fan. There is a charm to him and the way things don’t always come out like he wants and him learning about himself.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A sweet story of courting and independence scattered through with jealousy and innocence
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The story moves along nicely - good. The heroine is having to cramp her style to fit in with the ton's rules. She has had a well-off country upbringing with parents and family who love and appreciate her for who she is. She gets betrothed to a Marquess. At a house party, she meets the horse of her dreams, a reminder of her childhood favorite . She identifies with the cantankerous horse and personifies him with her own yearnings of independence and freedom. She then goes on to insist on endangering him. She leaves the horse injured and insists on leaving for London without knowing if the horse will live or die. Somehow the people around her decide to see her as admirable and "courageous " for insisting on her independence. I saw her as somebody who really only cared about herself.
dfosterbooks More than 1 year ago
How can a lady possibly take offense at her hand in marriage being wagered on and being the consolation prize? If you’re Iris Somerset, you take major offense. Especially when marquess does a remarkable job of making you feel like you’re the chosen one. At least until he won’t kiss you and you overhear him with his mistress talking about the bet. Phineas “Finn” Knight, Lord Huntington wants a quiet biddable wife; which is why Iris Somerset isn’t the one he’s chosen if he wins the bet at cards. Unfortunately (maybe) he loses and he sets out to make Iris his marchioness. Until, without any indication as to why, Iris calls off the betrothal. Intrigued, Finn sets out to win the lady’s hand. Will he be the winner after all? A charming story by Anna Bradley, my first by Ms. Bradley. I loved Iris’ spunk and Finn’s determination. Add in the behind the scene string pulling of a certain “wicked widow” and you have a fun story. Now I want to see which of the Somerset sisters gets into mischief next! This is a definite must read and Anna Bradley is on my auto-buy author list.
avidreader85 More than 1 year ago
A steamy romance novel about two characters who find out who they really are. This is a romance novel based on a beautiful debutante named Iris Somerset and her betrothed Phineas (Finn) Knight, the Marquess of Huntington. While it appears that both characters tend to be a bit boring and that this marriage will be anything but exciting, this is hardly the case. Iris turns out to be quite a strong character who isn't willing to live a lie. Lord Huntington, too, develops into a man who realizes he doesn't have to live the life that his title affords him. There is a bit of "naughty" as the book unfolds that makes the story very steamy. This was a very enjoyable book to read and I look forward to reading more books from Anna Bradley.
Historical_Romance_Lover More than 1 year ago
I loved Iris and Finn's story! It's not often that a lady of this time would break her betrothal to a Marquess, but when Iris finds that her intended is indifferent to her, she does what is needed for her to be happy. Finn doesn't take the broken betrothal very well and does his best to change Iris's mind. I loved watching these two banter back and forth as well as watching Iris come into her own. This was a wonderful start to a new series and I can't wait for the next one!
CynYoung More than 1 year ago
I received an advanced reader’s copy of this book. This book takes you on an emotional journey. There were moments when I didn’t like an action the Iris or Finn had taken but I understood where they were coming from and why they had taken a particular action. The chemistry between the hero and heroine was well written. I liked how the relationship between Iris and Finn was built over time and that they’re both able to acknowledge their mistakes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
London - 1817 Phineas (Finn) Knight, Marquess of Huntington, is playing cards with several men as they wager on which lady they get to court. Will it be Lady Honora Fairchild, a docile young woman, or the feisty Miss Iris Somerset? While Finn would rather court Honora, Lord Harley wins the bet to court her and so Finn will court Iris. The men just hope the ladies don’t ever find out. Now that Finn and Iris are engaged, she wishes he would kiss her. He is always so proper as she complains to her sister, Violet, and her friend, Honora. Honora is placidly engaged to Lord Harley. Iris learns that Finn has broken off with his mistress, Lady Beaumont. But when Lady Beaumont sneaks into the garden at a party, Iris hears her arguing with Finn, mocking him and saying she knows Iris wasn’t his first choice. Iris is deeply hurt and angry at Finn and thus ends their betrothal. Finn is frustrated with Iris and does not want to let her go. He has come to care for her and fears a rogue will woo her for her money. Lord Wrexley is just that rogue who hates Finn and will do anything to destroy him even if it means ruining Iris. When all of them are invited to a house party, things start to heat up and the fight is on to see who will win Iris’s hand. There are lots of tightly twisted turns in this story which added to what I feel is an unnecessary length which could have been edited out. However, the book is the premise of catch me if you can which is not a favorite of mine. Copy provided by NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.
CathyGeha More than 1 year ago
More Or Less A Marchioness by Anna Bradley Somerset Sisters #1 Twists and Turns A wager A secret tryst overheard Can love be found in a match made without it? This is an intriguing book with a debutante that has her blinders removed only to realize she wants more than her future may hold for her. Sure, a noble is something to aspire to for a husband but is it enough? Iris Somerset is not so sure after overhearing her bequeathed in the garden talking to his last mistress. And thus begins the pursuit of true love by two people in the ton. Do they want true love? Perhaps Iris does but Finn is one who only wants a woman to be his perfect Marchioness. What is expected versus what one desires is a prickly pear to deal with. I enjoyed this book and would love to see a book about Lady Annabel Tallant in the future as well as some others mentioned in the book. I know we will see Violet and Hyacinth (sisters of Iris) in the future and am eager to find out who they end up with. My main takeaway is that this book is a historical romance that is plausible. I loved Iris and her awakening and move toward being true to herself. I also liked the awakening of Finn and his coming into his own. Great story and well worth reading. Thank you to NetGalley and Kensginton Books – Lyrical Press for the ARC – this is my honest review. 5 Stars
BrutallyHonestReviews More than 1 year ago
Iris Somerset is the perfect debutante - or so she portrays to the world. Beautiful, wealthy and meek, she’s everything Finn, the Marquis of Huntingdon, thinks he wants in a wife. Until one day she looks him in the eye and tells him they will not suit and she is breaking their engagement. This isn’t just a romance; it’s a story of two people finding out and accepting who they truly are. Iris plays the part of a demure debutante to perfection… right up until the moment she realises she just doesn’t want to anymore. And Finn, confronted with his own faults, must recognise the inherent hypocrisy of his position and come to terms with his own nature in order to understand that what he wants is very different from what he thought. Can I just say how much I loved Iris? She’s very young and very naive, but she’s wise enough to understand there is a lot she doesn’t know. Being taken under the wing of an older and wiser woman, ‘a wicked widow’, she learned fast and was finally able to define herself as the person she wanted to be. From that point, Finn ending up head over heels in love with her was utterly inevitable. Finn did come across as autocratic, unlikable and hypocritical at times. He reminded me intensely of Mr Darcy from Austen’s seminal novel; a proud and somewhat spoiled man confronted with his own faults who finally comes to an understanding that he’s been on the wrong path all along. His reversal and redemption was Austenesque and I absolutely adored it. (My personal pet peeve is when a hero is set up as a heel and doesn’t do the epic grovel at the end to make up for it. Finn didn’t disappoint me.) I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and I’ll be looking out for the rest of the Somerset Sisters series. Five stars for a great read with plenty of genuine character development. Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book for review through NetGalley.
BookReview4you More than 1 year ago
More or Less a Marchioness by Anna Bradley is the first book in "The Somerset Sister" series This is the story of Iris Somerset and Phineas Knight, Lord of Huntington. Irish has set out to be the prefect lady for her grandmother and to help her sisters be scandal free. Finn has been courting Iris although he thought that Lady Honora who be his wife but she was lost to him. So Finn felt one debutante was as good as another...that other being Iris. But Iris overheard Finn and his mistress speaking and it help to open her eyes. With the help of Lady Annabel Tallant Iris starts to make changes to her life and her attitude towards how she will find someone to marry. This is a great start to a new book series....loved it!
georgia1 More than 1 year ago
Sometimes people are not always as they appear. Such is the case with Iris Somerset and Phineas Knight, Marquess of Huntington. One of three sisters, Iris hides her true nature of stubborn, high spirited and outspoken to the Ton. When she receives a proposal from Finn Knight, who only wants a quiet and proper wife and thinks Iris will do, she accepts, but really does not know Finn at all nor he her. Finn had grown up as a lonely child who was really overshadowed by a long ago scandal in his family. He was taunted and teased so he just wanted to be left alone. It made him only want what was proper and not talked about so he could live a life scandal free. Iris overhears a conversation Finn has while she is in the garden and decides she can no longer pretend to be the calm and biddable wife that he wants. She wasn't his first choice anyway! All seems done with the pair until they are thrown together at a house party and another man is in pursuit of Iris. This is were the story really gets interesting. As both of their true natures begin to come out, a real attractions sizzles. A little intrigue and as the two are together they begin to find they like the real person better than the facade. Be prepared to be taken on an entertaining ride that will have you reading as fast as you can. Cannot wait for more in this series!
def618 More than 1 year ago
We finally get to meet the younger Somerset sisters and they’re wonderful. This is Iris’, the middle of the 5 sisters, story. Her “hero” is the Marquess of Huntington (Finn). He has decided it’s time he marry but I won’t divulge how he picked Iris. Finn’s mother ran off to Scotland when he was young, then his father died, and he was shipped off to school. Unlike the loving home Iris grew up in until her parents were killed in an accident. He assumes Iris will be honored he proposed to her. Iris, Violet and Hyacinth live with their grandmother in London. Iris understands she needs to marry and is very attracted to Finn though would like it if her fiancée kissed her. When she overhears him talking to his prior mistress she is hurt. She calls off the engagement but does not tell her family. Finn can not believe she dumped him, a marquess! Iris, Violet and their friend Honora are attending a house party at Charlotte and Julian’s estate. Charlotte’s brothers are married to Iris’s older sisters. Since Finn was invited to the house party she was going to, he decides to attend with his friend, Lord Derrick. Also at the party is Lady Anabel Tallant, a wicked widow who gives Iris advice and Honora’s cousin Lord Wrexley. Iris is annoyed he is there, but she is still attracted to him. Iris and Finn do get back together, but many things happen along the way which I will not spoil. Best line from Finn to Iris: “You’re everything I never knew I wanted, and everything I can’t live without”. I loved it!