Mother Teresa: Come Be My Light: The Private Writings of the Saint of Calcutta

Mother Teresa: Come Be My Light: The Private Writings of the Saint of Calcutta

Paperback

$16.32 $18.00 Save 9% Current price is $16.32, Original price is $18. You Save 9%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Mother Teresa: Come Be My Light: The Private Writings of the Saint of Calcutta 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 58 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
As someone who was once a Postulant in one of Mother Teresa's male branches - the Missionaries of Charity Fathers - the book struck a very deep chord with me. Mother's life, correspondence and her intimate relationship with Jesus, regardless of the cost, is so inspiring. Her life and selfless example 'hold up a mirror' that reminds us of our own imperfections and faults and how God tests us. It was an easy choice in those early days when the MC Fathers were starting out to simply say 'I'm not feeling it here' and run out the doors and then 20 years later read the example of Mother who hadn't 'felt it' for the bulk of her vocation. Incredible! How weak and spiritually immature we can be. I am blessed to have read this book and to be reminded that, even today, God calls us to be His own - no matter what our stage in life. These days, as an entertainment professional in both Hollywood and New York I understand the opportunity to keep my own light kindled so that in the midst of that darkness (and believe me it is dark), I can try my best to be a light to others. Producers, directors, actors and studio people all want to know about Mother. When her name comes up from my past, silence enters the room and everyone listens. The world is hungry for love and as much as they want to deny it, they are hungry for people like Mother. Congratulations to the author for one of the most well put together books I have ever read. I miss my MC family and rarely does a day go by that I do not think about my time as an MC. United in spirit, may we always remain committed to serving Jesus in the distressing disguise of the poor - whether it is the slums of Haiti or the studios of Hollywood. Mother Teresa was God's gift to us. One thing Mother says often in her writings when talking about what she gives God is 'I send this to God with love from India.' I think God is saying to the world, 'I send Mother to you with love from heaven.'
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This insight into the soul of Mother Teresa strengthens faith, offers hope to those suffering from spiritual dryness and aridity, and demonstrates how to persevere in love even through one's darkest hours. The Saint of Calcutta used an outward smile to mask her interior struggles with her own faith, and offers a path of love through inner darkness to Divine Light. She dispels the notion that Faith is only present if one is on a constant "high," while admitting the difficulty of maintaining outward serenity. Her strength of will can truly inspire all those who feel ignored or abandoned by God.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
We all have doubts and struggles. It is encouraging to hear the story of someone who appears to have it all together, yet actually struggles with her relationship with God and feeling distant. Mother Teresa is an inspiration of a woman who lived her life 100% for Jesus!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ignore the stars. Something had to go there. Make your own choice. If you want to try to get some of what Mother Teresa gave, ignore this book. Read "Mother Teresa, Her Essential Wisdom - edited by Carol Kelly-Gangi"; it's short (73pp), uplifting, and easy reading. If you want to try to get some of what she IS, try this book out. It is long (250 pp plus heavy notes and appendices), in some places dry, boring, and repetitive,... and beautiful. She was a soul surrounded by darkness who still totally gave herself up for the God she loved. I sure don't. If anything about this book is "uplifting" it's that there are some of us like that out there (and not just Christians) who can work like that to ennoble the rest of us. Thank you, Mother Teresa. Pick a book; it's your time, your money.
BookWorm819 More than 1 year ago
This book is a must-read for Christians and skeptics alike. It provides a detailed account of Mother Teresa's spiritual life based on her correspondences with her spiritual advisers. The author does a wonderful job in showing the intimacy of Mother's relationship with God, and in depicting its development throughout her life, especially its trials. This book also provides a great insight into Mother's character and her strength in remaining faithful, even when she no longer felt God's presence. It is an inspiring book to read, especially for those going through a "dark night of the soul". The only weakness is that after each letter, the author includes a summary of the letter and his analysis of it. Sometimes, part of the analysis seemed to be his personal opinion and was not validated by sources. It also felt repetitive to read them after every single letter. But overall, GREAT BOOK!
cpr62 More than 1 year ago
great book and awesome story!! Mother Teresa's story will you bring you to tears of joy!!
Steve777 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Very inspiring book of how this amazing woman continued to serve the poorest of the poor despite her own severe spiritual dryness.
shannonkearns on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
i really enjoyed this book in a lot of respects, although i felt badly about reading all of this personal correspondence that Mother Teresa really wanted destroyed, so that was a little difficult. also, the priest who put this whole book together is the one who is trying to get mother teresa cannonized and so i thought that he tried to explain some things away in order to make her look better.reading the stuff she wrote is intense and there was definitely a lot of spiritual struggle going on in her. the fact that she kept to the work in spite of it all is really remarkable and inspiring. i don't know, though, that i buy what the author tried to put forth and that is that her suffering was a result of her immense spirituality, meaning that because she was practically already a saint she was living in darkness. i think that really patronizes her experience and makes light of her suffering which was frustrating.overall i really liked the book but i had some mixed feelings about how it was all presented. but it's definitely fascinating. and i am sure glad that i am not a catholic nun cause man, that would suck.
tmcilvain on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Interesting portrayal of Mother Terese through her correspondence with spiritual directors, bishops and fellow catholics. After several chapters you get a good understanding of her perspective and suffering, and the rest of the book is almost superfluous.
davidpwithun on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I think my own high expectations for this book spoiled it for me. Way, way too repetitiously repetitive. I was bored after only the first few chapters. The book dwells on her inner darkness throughout and seems to restate the same thing over and over in different ways, and sometimes in the same way. It would have been much better if some more of her public speeches or writings on other topics were included. It made her seem almost as onesided as the book itself is.
spotofrain on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is an excellent book providing direct access to Mother Teresa, in her own words. She was truly a saint.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mother Teresa is my rolemodel for my life because her story is so interesting and inspirational!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Powerful deminstration of faith and love.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mermaid55 More than 1 year ago
WOW! Really gave an insight into the life of Mother T. What an extrodinary woman. Would read this book again. It was excellent !
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago