The Moving Toyshop

The Moving Toyshop

by Edmund Crispin

Paperback

$14.40 $16.00 Save 10% Current price is $14.4, Original price is $16. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, July 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Moving Toyshop 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
OldNick54 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An entertaining romp (`romp` being chosen advisedly). Some of the `dated` aspects of the story are interesting in themselves, including the authorial expression of one or two views which would generally be considered reactionary these days, but which Crispin clearly took to be the norm. Similarly the fact that the eccentric hero is most notably distinguished by his reckless driving habits, which are taken to be rather humorous and charming. The most disturbing moment for anyone of my age is the point at which the body of `an elderly woman` is discovered, a woman of `near sixty`. Not because the discovery of a body in a novel like this is disturbing, but because it's a sobering reminder that it's not all that long ago when someone in his or her late fifties would be considered `elderly`.
Figgles on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Enjoyable, not quite in the first rank of classic crime, but a fun romp through Oxoford in pursuit of a dissapearing toyshop, the body therein and a conspiracy of thieves.
dreamingtereza on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Witty, whimsical, satirical, hilariously self-referential, and exceedingly clever - thoroughly enjoyable! I literally couldn't put it down.
Smiley on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Dated but with some fun spots. I won't read anymore in the series. The details about the author are wonderful and witty. One good description about a character, in red light, looking like a newly engorged vampire.
alana_leigh on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Moving Toyshop by Edmund Crispin is utterly fabulous. It cropped up on some list of great sleuthing books a while ago and recently, I decided I needed a random treat. Having forgotten all the details that merited its placement on my Amazon wishlist, I was plunged into a wickedly funny and delicious murder mystery romp that takes place over twenty four hours in Oxford.The Moving Toyshop is the third in a series of novels featuring Gervase Fen, an Oxford don who evidently solves crimes more often than he lectures or have tutorials with students -- but knowing nothing about Gervase Fen did not hinder me here. The novel opens in 1938 London, with the poet Richard Cadogan trying to coax an advance from his publisher, as he's utterly bored, needs adventure, and has selected Oxford as his holiday destination of choice. After a late-night arrival in Oxford, he stumbles into a toy shop -- and discovers a dead body. (Just accept this ridiculous premise and move on.) After being knocked unconscious and reviving in a broom cupboard only to escape, when Cadogan tries to take the police to the scene of the crime -- the location he distinctly remembers as a toy shop is a grocer's and there is no body to be found. Cadogan seeks out his old schoolmate Fen to help him track down the killer (and the body... and the toy shop...) and a rolicking day of sleuthing ensues.Now, we all know how much I love Oxford, and if you do, too, then I think you're certain to love this. Cadogan and Fen seem to run over every inch of the place, but there are other things that conspired to make this a new favorite book of mine... for instance, the near bar-fight over Jane Austen. Seriously, I knew before then that I was quite charmed with the book, but at that point, I knew it was fantastic. While sitting in a bar or tied up and held hostage, Cadogan and Fen play games where they name off unreadable classics or insufferable characters that are intended as sympathetic. I'm totally going to start doing this with my friends whenever we find ourselves waiting somewhere. The novel is also in that particular witty style of British novels where every man is a raging homosexual or a rake... and even the rakes seem a bit light in the loafers. The dialogue is fantastic (I don't often underline in my books these days, but there were a few exchanges that I simply knew I'd want to note for later reference) and while the circumstances of the murder mystery are clearly ridiculous, it still makes for a very amusing story.In short, if you enjoy ridiculous British sleuthing novels, then I'd be surprised if you hadn't read this already -- and if you haven't, you simply must.
bridgetmarkwood on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Interesting enough to finish it. Not that memorable. Not bad though.
ChrisSterry on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An ingenious variation on the closed room mystery. The character of Fen came across to me much more in this than in the previous two books. Perhaps I am getting used to him. This is the first of Crispin¿s Fen stories in which the University features to any large degree. I found that aspect very entertaining and enjoyable. As before it is useful to have a dictionary to hand. `Suilline¿ is a wonderful word, and I shall do my best to make use of it in conversation. Again, literary allusions and quotations flowed thick and fast, aided by the presence of the poet Cadogan. Knowing little of Pope I was delighted to discover on the very last page that the whole concept was based upon a quotation from `The Rape of the Lock¿. The intertextual references are fun¿as in Fenn¿s suggested titles for one of Crispin¿s stories in Chapter, and the decision to take the left fork at a junction because ¿after all Gollancz is publishing this book¿. The whole scenario from the beginning is so far fetched and improbable, but Fen brings all the threads together into a harmonious and intellectually satisfying whole, giving much amusement and excited activity en route.
Sarahsponda on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
What a great read! Lovingly crafted characters and cockeyed chase sequences all set around Oxford University¿bizarre and full of personality.Any book that has the phrase ¿...he looks like a sort of globular bear,¿ in it is a winner with me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Each is different and unlike many do not get formatic. There is usually one scene that is laugh out loud in each book. Why these never got on pbs mystery is beyond me. each one is a favorite.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An elderly woman, judged her to be about 60!!! How is THAT Elderly?? Sheesh!