Murder with Cucumber Sandwiches

Murder with Cucumber Sandwiches

by Karen Rose Smith

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.20 $7.99 Save 10% Current price is $7.2, Original price is $7.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, September 20

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Murder with Cucumber Sandwiches 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
lghiggins 4 months ago
Along comes a fairly gentle cozy mystery in Murder with Cucumber Sandwiches by Karen Rose Smith that is half personal relationships and half murder mystery. Interestingly enough, Smith manages to tie in a lot of the personal issues with the murder. Daisy, a widow, owns Daisy’s Tea Garden with her Aunt Iris. This mystery begins with uncomfortable anticipation for Daisy and her staff caused by the upcoming visit by celebrity food blogger Derek, known for giving unfavorable reviews. He is found dead after his visit. There are so many questions about Derek’s death that Daisy must try to answer while juggling personal dilemmas with her college age daughter Vi and with Foster, Vi’s boyfriend, who is also an employee of Daisy. Her other daughter, Jazzi, is undergoing emotional trauma because of possible rejection by her birth mom. Daisy is moving slowly in her relationship with former detective and current local woodworker Jonas. Daisy’s parents live in the same town, and her mother tends to be critical. What a lot of things for Daisy to deal with at one time! At the teashop, business is off because potential customers are deterred by the possibility of poisoning. Daisy needs to find the murderer to save her shop and her employees’ jobs. Her major method is listening as she informally interviews suspects and watches for their reactions. The characters are interesting, and I enjoy visits to the tea shop where all kinds of teas and goodies are available as well as more substantial fare such as soups. Before the murder, bus loads of tourists frequently stopped for tea, but the murder has squelched enthusiasm for the tea shop. As the setting is Lancaster County in Pennsylvania, there are some Amish references as Daisy and Jonas interact with Amish friends and employees. Willow Creek is a welcoming little town, and Daisy’s Tea Garden, set in a charming Victorian house, is a comfortable spot to chat with a friend. Come on in! The tea is hot, the hostess is friendly, and the treats are (not literally) “to die for.” I would like to extend my thanks to netgalley.com and to Kensington Books for giving me the opportunity to read this book in exchange for an honest review.
CozyMarie 6 months ago
Daisy is a widow with two daughters. One is in high school and the other college. This, along with trying to re-enter the world of dating herself, gives Daisy an array of personal issues to deal with you don’t often see in cozy mysteries. I felt like Daisy’s personal story took center stage with the murder placed in a secondary story line. I didn’t mind this. I thought the story was well told and I look forward to future adventures with Daisy and her girls!
Dollycas 7 months ago
Dollycas’s Thoughts Holy Cucumbers! When restaurant critic Derek Schumaker arrives at Daisy’s Tea Garden Daisy tries to stay positive. She knows the food they serve is fantastic. Aunt Iris is a little more pensive. The man is known for his derogatory reviews. Reviews that can shut restaurants down. When Schumaker requests a to-go order of cucumber sandwiches, Daisy knows they have the review in the bag. That all changes when the police show up investigating the critic’s death pointing fingers at the sandwiches from Daisy’s Tea Garden. This is bad for business and bad for her employees especially when two of them is clearly hiding something. Daisy knows there are a plethora of suspects that should be on the list, just from all the restaurants he has critiqued badly. The man had received numerous threats, one recently on his blog. Daisy decides to delve deep into the man’s life to see if she can catch the killer before her business is tainted and out of business. It this 3rd book of this series the author has filled Daisy’s plate with so much. She is juggling the murder, an employee that is going through something he refuses to share, her younger daughter’s relationship with her birth mom, her older daughter wants to come home from college to talk, and she is trying to have a relationship with Jonas Groft, all the while trying to keep customers coming into the tea shop while many think their food killed the critic. The author strikes a nice balance of work, home, and murder drama. All the character’s lives are intertwined and the relationships are all evolving in a believable way. Daisy has a huge heart, but that heart is still healing from the loss of her husband. Her girls are growing up and dealing with some heavy issues. Daisy’s compassionate soul reaches out to everyone. She treats her employees and friends like family and would do anything for them. Daisy has a way with people, they open up to her like they never would for the prickly Detective Morris Rappaport, so the murder investigation gets very interesting. Jonas is kinda caught in the middle. Ms. Smith has plotted this mystery perfectly. She kept me guessing right up until the very end. I enjoy everything about this book/series. The characters are warm and engaging, the mystery is well thought out and presented, and Willow Creek is a place I would love to visit. These stories are best read in order to follow the character growth but enough background is given to read each one on their own. I was excited to see this week, that the 4th book in this series – Murder with Cherry Tarts will be out later this year and is already up for preorder.
lovestoread17 8 months ago
Daisy and her Aunt, Iris are so happy that the business is doing well and that the tour buses keep stopping by. The only problem is that once restaurant critic, Derek Schumaker , who is usually good at saying bad things about places turns up dead. Derek had taken some cucumber sandwiches to go and is later found dead. The list of suspects seem to keep growing and although Daisy tries to stay out of helping to solve the murder, Detective Rapport will once again be grateful for her help. Until the murder is solved business will keep hurting. Daisy and Jonas have some difficult decisions to make about there relationship when Vi gives them some surprising and unexpected news. Jazzi is still waiting to hear back from her real mom, Portia and Daisy are afraid the news might be hurtful and not what she wants to hear. As usual, when reading one of Ms Smiths books my appetite seems to increase as it does with the series. I suddenly feel the need to take a break and have a cup of tea with something sweet. Although some readers may be able to narrow the suspect list down it is the motive for the murder that will become a shock to almost all of us. A delightful read.
Pattistep 8 months ago
I love this cozy mystery series by Karen Rose Smith. The tea room is a wonderful setting for the book as it allows a glimpse into the community and the patrons that dine there. I also love the “family” of characters. They seem to genuinely care for each other and support each other. The mystery part of the story is not always easy to solve and keeps me guessing until the last few pages of the book. This particular story was interesting as it involved the tea room and the death of a food critic. There’s lots of characters who had reason to want revenge on him, and Daisy is an innocent bystander that gets caught up in the situation. But as clues keep coming her way, she finds herself desperately wanting to completely clear everyone at the tea room from the crime. Daisy also faces some unexpected family situations that demand her attention, and that adds to her anxiety over the way the clues could be pointing as to the murderer. This is a clean cozy mystery that’s just the right length for the plot. I received a copy of this book from the publisher. All opinions are my own.
Anonymous 8 months ago
The+characters+are+so+cute+but+the+action+part+of+the+book+was+boring+unlike+the+last+one.+
KrisAnderson_TAR 8 months ago
Murder with Cucumber Sandwiches is the third book in A Daisy's Tea Garden Mystery series. I recommend reading the series in order to avoid confusion (there are a number of characters and ongoing personal situations). Karen Rose Smith has a relaxed writing style which makes for an easy to read story. I like the various characters that include the kindly Aunt Iris, the kitchen manager Tessa Miller, Foster Cranshaw, Jazzi, Violet, Daisy’s Amish best friend Rachel and various townspeople. While Daisy is busy looking into Derek’s death, she is also dealing with personal drama at home and at work. Foster Cranshaw, an employee & her social media expert, is acting unlike himself and needing extra time off. He refuses to tell Daisy what is bothering him. Jazzi, Daisy’s teenage daughter, wants to have a close relationship with her biological mother, Portia. First, though, Portia needs to come clean to her husband about Jazzi. Sean, Daisy’s father, has concerns and needs some helpful advice. Jonas Croft, Daisy’s boyfriend, is not happy when Daisy cancels plans with him for Violet (Daisy’s eldest daughter). Daisy wonders if Jonas is the right man for her. Violet has some important news to share with Daisy and it is going to change all of their lives. There is a regular customer interested in dating Iris, but first he needs to work up the nerve to ask her out. Murder with Cucumbers Sandwiches is heavy personal drama and light on mystery. There are multiple suspects for Daisy to question in her attempt to identify Derek’s killer. Detective Rappaport wants to keep her nose out of the investigation (as he tells her several times). I do wish the author had put more work into the mystery and had made it the focus of the story. My favorite quote from Murder with Cucumber Sandwiches is “children give us hope that a new generation will treat the world more kindly than we did”. Murder with Cucumber Sandwiches is a light cozy mystery with an unpleasant food critic, a jittery employee, a tearful teen, a hopeful beau, delectable delights, two affectionate felines, tasty tea, and a worried mom with a penchant for sleuthing.
SewWrite 8 months ago
Daisy's Tea Garden is getting ready for a food reviewer who is known for having a hard review style. Daisy makes sure the entire staff knows what to do and is pleased with the experience while the reviewer is there. He seems to like the food enough that he takes home some cucumber sandwiches. He later has a seizure and dies. The police find more than cucumber and pimento spread in the sandwiches which puts the Tea Garden and all of the staff on the suspect list. There are certainly plenty of other suspect considering how aggressive his reviewing style was. Daisy feels she must start asking questions if she wants her business to survive this setback. Not only is Daisy busy with the murder she also has a lot of personal things to deal with in this story. I look forward to seeing how all of the choices made in this book change the characters as this series progresses.
BeagleGirl123 9 months ago
Daisy Swanson is once again mixed up in murder in the quiet tourist town of Willow Creek, Pennsylvania, when highly critical food blogger Derek Schumaker is murdered and the poison was hidden in Daisy's cucumber sandwiches! Her two daughters keep her on her toes, and her romance with Jonas may not be going as smoothly as she'd thought, but Daisy puts on her deerstalker cap (figuratively, of course!) and starts to investigate on her own. Nice mystery with scrumptious recipes included. A+
grandmareads102 9 months ago
Daisy and her Aunt have worked hard to make Daisy's Tea Garden a success. Currently they are preparing for a food critic to come and review their establishment. Everyone is concerned . They want Derek Schumacher to like their food. Unfortunately things don't go as planned. Derek is murdered right after his visit. Now everyone there is under suspicion. I like Daisy. She's a good mom and cares for the people around her. Her romance with Jonas Groft is filled with love and caring. I liked seeing them grow as a couple. Daisy has her hands full as she deals with family issues as well as business concerns. I admired how she uses common sense and compassion to deal with her problems. The dialogue reflects this. Karen Rose Smith has done an excellent job with this cozy. I was hooked from the first page. I liked the characters and cared about them. Daisy's two fur babies add charm to the story. The victim had many enemies so it wasn't easy for me to figure out who did it. I love visiting Willow Creek. It makes the perfect setting. I'm enjoying this series. An added bonus is the delicious recipes that are included.
Mama_Cat 9 months ago
Visiting Daisy’s Tea Garden is a sweet indulgence! The Daisy’s Tea Garden Mystery series is a favorite! It uses the perfect recipe of afternoon tea, mystery, family challenges, and sweet romance. Daisy, her family, and friends exemplify what we big city dwellers miss in the anonymity of crowds and traffic. After Daisy’s husband died, she packed up her daughters and returned to Willow Creek where her family and friends are. She and Aunt Iris, a tea aficionado, opened Daisy’s Tea Garden. Daisy’s best friend and kitchen manager, Tessa, lives in the upstairs apartment. Daisy’s has been successful with locals and tourists, often preparing and serving special afternoon tea service on request. Derek Schumacher is a food critic/ blogger, a tough one. Daisy and her staff watch his column regularly since he is coming to Daisy’s for his blog. They see the cruel things he says about other tea shops and are stunned when reading a threat in the comments of his blog. Derek visited Daisy’s when planned, taking several cucumber and pimento sandwiches to go. Daisy anxiously awaits seeing the blog that could change their customer base. Sadly, the results weren’t what they hoped. The morning after Schumacher’s visit, a detective arrived at Daisy’s. Schumacher died the previous evening from an as-yet unidentified substance. With his visit to the Tea Garden and the sandwiches in his refrigerator, the suspect is someone at Daisy’s. The tea shop begins to look like a ghost town when it comes out he died from something in the sandwiches. Crises are on the home front, also. Vi is making a special weekend trip home from college, making Daisy wonder if she and Foster, who works at the Tea Garden, broke up. Jazzi’s birth mother Portia is going to tell her husband about Jazzi. Since Jazzi found and met her, Portia wants to visit or talk with Jazzi with his blessing. Jazzi is on edge when she doesn’t hear back from Portia at all. Jonas, who Daisy recently began to date, struggles with Daisy’s daughters being her first priority when they need her. Daisy’s dad goes away on a week-long fishing trip alone, which is completely unlike him. I appreciated seeing how Daisy and her family handle each situation faced. There is far more on Daisy’s plate this time than their delightful scones and delicate tea sandwiches. Almost every family member is in crisis, along with the Tea Garden. Other than those Derek had given nasty reviews to, there must be other suspects! Daisy takes the opportunity to meet Derek’s mother Harriet and Aunt June when Cora Sue, whose aunt was a good friend of Derek’s mother, took her on a condolence call. Interestingly, the family had no hard feelings against Daisy as owner of the Tea Garden. When a freelance investigative journalist came into the Tea Garden, Daisy learns about more suspects. I love the realistic family times in the novel as much as the mystery. It brings a good touch of daily reality and reflects family love and loyalty without one distracting from the other. Plot twists enhance both, and it was a challenge to guess who the killer was - and I didn’t! The end is full of surprises on all fronts. I highly recommend novel and series to those who appreciate tea and tea shop treats, hard to solve murders, close families, and sweet romance. From a thankful heart: I received a copy of the e-ARC from the publisher through NetGalley and this is my honest review.
Emma 9 months ago
Murder with cucumber sandwich by Karen Rose Smith Book 3 of 3 in the Daisy's Tea Garden Mystery Series Daisy’s Tea Garden in Pennsylvania’s Amish country is known for its elegant finger foods—but now owner Daisy Swanson has to finger a killer . . . Restaurant critic Derek Schumaker, notorious for his bitter reviews, is about to visit Daisy’s Tea Garden, and Daisy and Aunt Iris are simmering with anxiety. A bad word from the culinary curmudgeon could really hurt their business, but Daisy tries to stay confident. After all, how can he resist her cucumber sandwiches with pimento spread—not to mention the cheesy cauliflower soup and strawberry walnut salad? Schumaker takes a to-go order when the afternoon tea service is done, which Daisy hopes is a good sign. But when he perishes from a seizure, it looks like his food was dosed with something deadly. Considering a threat that recently appeared on his blog—and whispers of scandal in his past—Daisy has quite an assortment of suspects to sift through . . . Includes delicious recipes! This is Daisy Swanson'story. Daisy is a single mom with two daughters Vi and Jazzi. her aunt Iris, who was her partner in the tea garden. Restaurant critic Derek Schumaker, notorious for his bitter reviews. Foster was one of Daisy’s assistants and her social media expert to boot. “I can’t believe how he trashed that tea room,” Foster Cranshaw said, studying Daisy Swanson’s office computer screen on a Monday morning in mid-March. Sitting at the desktop computer, Daisy worried her lower lip. Daisy’s Tea Garden hadn’t opened yet for daily business. She and her aunt Iris, who was her partner in the tea garden, had switched on the computer and googled Derek Schumacher. Soon, he’d be giving his professional opinion on Daisy’s Tea Garden’s offerings. Foster was one of Daisy’s assistants and her social media expert to boot. She’d become fond of him, in part, because he was dating her daughter Violet who was on spring break from college. She would be coming into the tea garden tomorrow to help out. When Foster had arrived for his morning shift, he’d brought up Derek Schumacher’s blog to check on the critic’s latest reviews. “Bradley Schumacher?” Daisy repeated. Where had she heard that name? “His brother is the principal of the high school,” Foster elaborated. “Everybody there thinks he’s terrific—a great role model.” Now Daisy remembered. She’d seen Bradley Schumacher’s name on the program when Vi had graduated. Her daughter Jazzi, who was a sophomore, had mentioned his name lately in regard to the talent show the school would be putting on. Jazzi had been texting with Vi about it for weeks, discussing what to sing, what to wear, and how to keep the jitters at bay. I am looking forward to reading more books by Karen Rose Smith. I highly recommend reading. I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book." Murder with cucumber sandwich by Karen Rose Smith is a wonderful well written 5 star book. more books by Karen The Nanny Clause (Furever Yours, book 1) Montana Holiday Homecoming (Home on the Ranch) Daisy's Tea Garden Mystery 1. Murder with Lemon Tea Cakes 2. Murder with Cinnamon Scones 3. Murder with Cucumber Sandwiches 4. Murder with Cherry Tarts Mommy Club 1. Wanted: A Real Family 2. A Match Made by Baby 3. The Cowboy's Secret Baby
charleneC 9 months ago
Restaurant critic visits Daisy's Tea Garden, he takes an order to go and is found dead. Daisy is one of many suspects in his death. Interesting faced paced mystery, lots of twists and turns. Complex and interesting characters. This is a wonderful series and I cannot wait for the next booK! lOVE the recipes too! Received an arc from NetGalley and I honestly love this book!
WisReader 9 months ago
I always enjoy a visit to Daisy's Tea Garden. Daisy, her friends, family, and growing romance are enjoyable to watch unfold. Big changes are coming. Business is going well. The staff are all a bit on edge, as they know a reviewer will be writing up the Tea Garden soon. He has a reputation for being difficult but they have confidence in their atmosphere and products. Daisy's reputation continues to get positive response. The family of employees has a wonderful balance, even if one of them seems to be hiding something. Daisy's adopted daughter Jazzi has been building a relationship with her birth mother and adjusting to her big sister being away at college. Fifteen is a difficult age without added stresses. Daisy always puts her girls first, but is it time she takes a leap of faith and moves her own romantic life a step or two ahead? Populated with wonderful characters and life like realism, the troubles that arise could happen to you or me. Hopefully without murder. Old secrets have a tendency to come to light eventually.
TarynLee 9 months ago
Daisy and her Aunt are filled with anxiety over an upcoming visit from a well known food critic. Derek Schumaker is known for his scathing reviews, he doesn't seem to have a nice thing to say about any of the restaurants he visits. A horrible review from him could definitely hurt their business which has them both worried about what he'll think. They have done everything they can to prepare now it's all in Derek's hands. When the service is over and Derek asks to take an order of tea sandwiches to go Daisy looks at this as a good sign. When he later does from a seizure the authorities think the tea sandwiches might have had something to do with his untimely death. Daisy is worried the bad publicity will hurt the business and then what will her Aunt and her do? She soon learns that there are no end to the people who disliked Derek, and a few even work for her. Daisy knows that she must dig in and find the truth or lose everything she has worked so hard for. Along the way she is dealt life changing news that she has to work through. Will this news get in the way of her investigating or can she put it aside long enough to find a killer. Follow along and see how Daisy juggles everything and whether or not she is and to put the pieces together in the end. This is such a great series filled with wonderful characters and plot lines that will keep you guessing. I look forward to seeing where the author takes the characters next!!!
MKF 9 months ago
Daisy knows her pimento cheese and cucumber sandwiches didn't poison the rotten food critic Derek= but he did die and there was poison so who did it? A widow running a tea shop and caring for two daughters- Jazz and Violet- she's also got a good investigative sense, despite what Detective Rappaport thinks. This nicest part of this cozy series are the relationships between the characters, especially as Daisy helps Jazz with her birth mother. There's a love interest, some twists, some turns, and all in all it's a good read (even if you haven't read the earlier books!). Thanks to Netgalley for the ARC. Oh- and there are recipes!!
AMGiacomasso 9 months ago
I loved this series and I liked this book. There was a lot of character building and lot happened to characters. I liked to read about the developments in the character life but I was expecting a mystery and I got something that was women's fiction with some mystery elements. I appreciated that Daisy avoided to be saved at the last minute but I'd have preferred more mystery and less family drama. It's not a book I would recommend to anyone is new to this series but I surely recommend to anyone who read the other books in this series. I look forward to reading the next installment. Many thanks to Kensington Books and Netgalley for this ARC, all opinions are mine.
Anonymous 9 months ago
I+was+a+big+fan+of+the+first+two+books+in+this+series%2C+so+much+so+I+even+pre-ordered+this+one.+But+it+was+a+huge+disappointment.+The+entire+book+is+based+on+drama+with+BOTH+daughters+and+the+boyfriend%2C+leaving+absolutely+no+room+to+build+a+mystery.+The+reveal+was+ridiculous+because+no+clues+could+point+to+the+killer%2C+since+nothing+was+told+about+the+victim+or+his+history.+A+painful+family+secret+felt+salacious+and+gratuitous+since+it+had+nothing+to+do+with+the+actual+crime.+I+will+not+be+moving+forward+with+these+books+-+there%27s+too+many+other+great+cozies+to+read.+Currently+really+enjoying+the+Seaside+Knitters.+