My Big Fat Supernatural Honeymoon: A Collection of New Short Stories

My Big Fat Supernatural Honeymoon: A Collection of New Short Stories

by P. N. Elrod (Editor)

Paperback(First Edition)

$19.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, May 30

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

My Big Fat Supernatural Honeymoon: A Collection of New Short Stories 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 43 reviews.
purrfectmatch More than 1 year ago
I usually read anthologies that have at least a story from an author I know. I have read several anthologies and this one, one was good. My issues with this anthology was some stories weren't quite honeymoon themed, or very loosely honeymooned theme. My other issue was that some stories, which are connected to other series, did a poor job of filling in the reader of certain facts, if they aren't familiar with the series.A good short story, even series based, should be able to lure a new reader into that world, without leaving a bit confused. I do like that one of the stories connected directly to the My Big Fat Supernatural Wedding anthology. From ghosts,monsters,vampires and werewolves,and missing brides or grooms, these honeymooners, just want what all newlyweds want. A time to be alone in their own little world, together in heaven like bliss, but life doesn't always go as one would like. An anthology with a nice mix of supernatural adventures.
MrsBirdman More than 1 year ago
I read this after reading the one before it My Big Fat Supernatural Wedding. This one didn't disappoint its filled with more entertaining looks at some of today's most popular supernatural characters. The stories are quick and fun.
EmTeeS More than 1 year ago
My Big Fat Supernatural Honeymoon is a collection of amusing adventures featuring some of biggest names in urban fantasy and, in some cases, favorite characters who make otherwise slight stories worthwhile. The authors play fast and loose with the premise of the book; Jim Butcher's and P.N. Elrod's stories feature detectives working cases involving someone else's honeymoon, while Caitlin Kittredge's "Newlydeads" only briefly acknowledges the theme while delivering a wonderful story in an especially evocative setting despite a silly and misleading title. Kittredge's entry and Rachel Caine's terrific "Roman Holiday, or SPQ-arrrrr" are the only stories with a real "scare" factor; Rhonda Thompson's "A Wulf in Groom's Clothing" is standard paranormal romance, while most of the other stories lean towards romantic comedy with a distinct supernatural edge. Kittredge, Caine, Butcher, Elrod, Kelley Armstrong, and Katie Macalister all return to familiar worlds from their full-length novels or other short fiction, and while all turn in decent stories, the real fun here is seeing familiar characters deal with the complications of the honeymoon theme. (Also, in the case of Armstrong's "Stalked", seeing a Clay-and-Elena story entirely from Clay's POV, which alone is almost worth the price of the book.) Finally, I have to make special mention of Lilith Saintcrow's "Half of Being Married," a short story that desperately wants to be a novel as it introduces an entire world of creatures and the humans who hunt them in a few short pages, thus proving that she really does have an endless imagination for this stuff, and Marjorie M. Liu's superior "Where the Heart Lives," a prequel to her Dirk and Steele novels that stands on its own as a beautiful, romantic and haunting story with, strangely, no honeymoon in sight.
JalenV on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I hadn't read any of the Women of the Other World when I first read "Stalked". The story was more enjoyable the second time, even though I prefer Paige and Savannah to Elena. The Harry Dresden story was good. I liked the monsters. "Roman Holiday or SPQarrrrrr" was a fun piece of fluff, although I admit that the pun in the title is my favorite part. The Jack Fleming story was great. I wonder if the bride's sisters are as formidable as the bride and their mom. I hadn't read "Cold Streets" the first time I read "Her Mother's Daughter," so I didn't know what a horrible experience Jack had had only a month before this case. Now I do and it's worth a shiver. Still haven't read anything else about Black London, but I did enjoy the Lovecraftian atmosphere of "Newlydeads". Really can't blame Pete Caldecott for being depressed, considering what she said had happened before this weekend jaunt. Pete isn't on her honeymoon any more than Harry or Jack were in the last two stories, but what happens to the honeymooners in this tale is grimmer. "Where the Heart Lives" is a very nice story. For the third time in a row, it's the main character who needs to help a honeymoon couple in trouble. "Cat Got Your Tongue?" is another lighthearted title and the story that follows is even more of a romp than Ms. Caine's story. "Half of Being Married" is a cautionary tale about telling the truth about yourself before you get married. It wasn't bad. I could say the same for the last story, "A Wulf in Groom's Clothing". None of these stories deserves fewer than three stars, in my opinion, and a few are definitely worth four. I love bats and red is my favorite color, so of course I love the spooky bed on the cover of my copy.
phyllis2779 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I'm glad I didn't buy this book or even mooch. Getting it from the library was just fine. One or two of the stories were worth reading -- engrossing, funny, or seriously romantic enough. But some of them just stank, like the one from Katie MacAlister, whose wok I normally like a lot. Big disappointment in this book. I just had to drag myself through it.
les121 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
After greatly enjoying My Big Fat Supernatural Wedding, I¿m more than a little disappointed in this follow up. The stories by Kelley Armstrong, Jim Butcher, and P.N. Elrod are great - funny, entertaining, action packed - and Rachel Caine and Marjorie M. Liu also made good efforts. But the other half of the stories, the ones written by Caitlin Kittredge, Katie MacAlister, Lilith Saintcrow, and Ronda Thompson, just plain sucked. The characters were whiny, self-absorbed, and stupid, and I had to force myself to keep reading because I didn¿t care at all what happened to them. Overall, the stories started out wonderful but went downhill until becoming unbearable, a total drudgery to read. I only recommend this anthology if you¿re a fan of one of the big-name authors, and even then you might want to consider skipping this one.
MelindaLibrary on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The first two stories were enjoyable (by Kelley Armstrong and Jim Butcher), there was a TSTL (too stupid to live) story (by Lilith Saintcrow), one with potential for a full-fledged book (by Majorie M. Liu), and the rest were just okay.
SunnySD on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Kelley Armstrong: "Stalked" - Elena finally gets her "honeymoon" (although minus the marriage), but Clay's finding making everything perfect a bit boring. That is until a mutt starts stalking Elena. Suddenly things get much more exciting.Jim Butcher: "Herot" - When a young bride about to leave on her honeymoon disappears from a brewing competition Harry Dresden can't quite resists getting involved. Especially when a beautiful blond sticks her nose in.Rachel Caine: "Roman Holiday or SPO-rrrrr" - Continues where "Dead Man's Chest" left off. Just because Liam's now alive doesn't mean things will run smoothly. It's never a good sign when mutiny's the least of your worries!P.N. Elrod: "Her Mother's Daughter" - When the groom disappears at the wedding reception it's usually a sign of cold feet, but in this case private eye (and vampire) Jack Flemming suspects foul play. Caitlin Kittredge: "Newlydeads, a Tale of Black London" - Detective Pete Caldecott and her friend Jack Winter get the perks of the honeymoon suite (free room service, whirlpool bath, complimentary brunch, dead thing in the bath tub...) when they check in to the Paradise Palace Casino & Resort in Blackpool. But even through her growing depression Pete can tell something's not quite right....Marjorie M. Liu: "Where the Heart Lives" - as the prologue notes, this fills in a small bit of background detail regarding the antecedents of the Dirk & Steele agency. Shapechangers, wedding day abductions, and long-delayed honeymoons here.Katie MacAlister: "Cat Got Your Tongue?" - What's a honeymoon at a haunted castle without a few ghosts? Closer to perfect than the one that Raphel St. John and his new bride get to enjoy when they reserve the Lord's suite at an old castle in Scotland.Lilith Saintcrow: "Half of Being Married" - All Mitch wanted was to give his Kat a perfect honeymoon. She didn't have any objections - until the vampires turned up and her oath kicked in. Secrets, it's all about secrets. What you keep from your partner might just do more than get you killed...Ronda Thompson: "A Wulf in Groom's Clothing" - Sam figured consummating their marriage would break the curse that turns him furry once a month. But when morning rolls around and he's still feeling howly, and his new bride is so not the outdoors woman she claimed to be, things get complicated."Newlydeads" and "Her Mother's Daughter" had me interested. The others were good, but not standout. Borrow, don't buy, at least until you read it.
WolfFaerie17 More than 1 year ago
My Big Fat Supernatural Honeymoon brings together the hottest authors in the science fiction and paranormal romance genres. Two authors I've are Jim Butcher and Marjorie M. Liu. Kelley Armstrong, Rachel Caine, P.N. Elrod, Caitlin Kittredge, Katie Macalister, Lilith Saintcrow, and Ronda Thompson were all new to me authors. The running theme of honeymoon's was interesting and unique because honestly who doesn't want to celebrate a honeymoon. I love how each of the author's treated it! Jim Butcher is one of my favorite authors and visiting Dresden Files Universe was special treat. I've heard good things about Rachel Caine's Weather Warden Series with just brief glimpse into the series I'm curious to read more of the series. Katie Macalister is another author with rave reviews from my GR friends as never fail to disappoint author in same league as Kim Harrison and Jeaniene Frost. I recommended this book as way to try out new authors and old favorite authors too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lisa Demetrius More than 1 year ago
if you want to know more about joy randall and raphael st. john from a girl's gude to vampires you need to read the mini series. it will all make sense as to what raphael is or is not. enjoy!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Roxy69 More than 1 year ago
i cant pass up a book with Katie MacAlister
Anonymous More than 1 year ago