My Sister's Intended

My Sister's Intended

by Rachael Anderson

Paperback

$12.99
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, June 20

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

My Sister's Intended 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Suze-Lavender More than 1 year ago
Prudence wants to be an author. She craves freedom and creativity, but her parents don’t understand her very well. Fortunately Prudence has a close bond with her sister Sophia. Her sister has been through a lot and Prudence is always looking out for Sophia, she’s a protective younger sister. That is why she decides to investigate Sophia’s fiancé to be. Brand, Lord Knave, is their next door neighbor and the man Sophia is supposed to marry. Prudence wonders if he can be trusted and the only way to find out is to spy on him, what will she discover? Brand is looking for a spark in his life. He’s lost his best friend and that changed the way he lives his life. Before officially becoming betrothed Brand wants to get to know Sophia, but she isn’t easy to approach. Brand needs help and Prudence is the perfect source of information, she can tell him about Sophia, she can give him advice and she can make sure they have something to talk about. However, why is it so much easier to talk to Prudence than to her sister and why does he like her company so much? My Sister’s Intended is a fantastic romantic story. I loved Prudence. She’s far from prudent, she’s bold, outspoken, clever and full of joy. She’s a delightful ray of sunshine. Every conversation gives her inspiration for her stories and she isn’t afraid to go after what she wants. Prudence dreams and fights to make the future she’s envisioned for herself reality. One of her goals is finding true love, but her sister has to marry first. Because of Prudence’s deep love for Sophia she carefully researches Brand and his lifestyle. This brings more trouble than she could have ever envisioned, which entertained me from beginning to end. Brand is a kindhearted man with a great sense of humor. I liked his warmth and his bravery, he follows his heart, even if it brings him difficulties. I liked their easy banter and really enjoyed each sentence of their fabulous dialogue. This kept me glued to the pages and made me read My Sister’s Intended in one sitting. Rachael Anderson’s writing has a wonderful easy flow. I adored her marvelous imagination and her descriptive style makes everything she writes about come to life in a gorgeous way. My Sister’s Intended is charming, fun and sweet. It’s a story that constantly made me smile. I love it when a book brings happiness and joy and this story does that in abundance.
DMGP More than 1 year ago
What happens when, in an effort to bring two people together, you actually achieve something altogether different? And, worse, discover that you are in love with the intended groom? And, extra worse, that he's possibly falling in love with you? And, to make it even worse yet, the intended bride is your sister? This is the dilemma that Prudence finds herself in. This book is absolutely fantastic. I laughed throughout and simply enjoyed every page as the romance developed. I absolutely loved all of the characters and how open and honest they were. I loved how Prudence realized that her secrets were creating a divide between her and the others and that she had the strength to open up and seek forgiveness. And, Lord Knave is totally book boyfriend worthy! All I can say is that everything I've read from this author has been wonderful and this just adds to the list. Romance - PG, kissing only Language - clean My rating - 5 stars
RatherBeeReading More than 1 year ago
I am a big fan of Rachael Anderson's historical fiction novels. This one did not disappoint. The story drew me in and I read half the book in one sitting. I loved the characters, setting, storyline, the banter and I didn't want to put it down. I am very happy this is a series and hope the next book will be Sophia's story.
L_Lindsey More than 1 year ago
Once again Rachael has written an amazing novel and potentially a great series. I love the Regency period so this was a shoe in for me to enjoy, but the fact that it wasn't set in London made it unique and far more enjoyable. Her characters are strong, lovable and improve upon their introduction. I could empathize with Prudence (perhaps anyone could that loves romance and has romantic stories running through their head). Brand was in intrinsic character that grew into a wonderful hero. Their romance was perfectly built and proved to be based on values love should have--passion, similarity and improvement of character. All together I really loved this novel and couldn't put it down. I look forward to more.
L_Lindsey More than 1 year ago
Once again Rachael has written an amazing novel and potentially a great series. I love the Regency period so this was a shoe in for me to enjoy, but the fact that it wasn't set in London made it unique and far more enjoyable. Her characters are strong, lovable and improve upon their introduction. I could empathize with Prudence (perhaps anyone could that loves romance and has romantic stories running through their head). Brand was in intrinsic character that grew into a wonderful hero. Their romance was perfectly built and proved to be based on values love should have--passion, similarity and improvement of character. All together I really loved this novel and couldn't put it down. I look forward to more.
Old_Tome More than 1 year ago
It seems I say this every single time I read a novel by Rachael Anderson, but I LOVED this book! And this book was my favorite so far. The main character, Prudence, is exactly my kind of gal, and not just because she dreams of writing a sweet romance. Lord Knave was definitely a swoon-worthy guy in looks and manners and he sees Prudence for who she is and falls in love with her because of it. I'm not going to spoil the ending, but it was perfect. The way the couple handled the situation at the end made me insanely happy. Read this book! You will love it!
Phyllis_H More than 1 year ago
Author Rachael Anderson crafted a delightful tale that captured my attention and my emotions from the start in My Sister’s Intended. With endearing characters and witty prose, the story of the naive Prudence attempting to help her sister had me grinning and even laughing out loud at times. I was led on a merry dance of changing opinions about Brand (Lord Knave), starting with being convinced at one moment that he truly lived up to his title of “knave” and in the next being convinced that he was honorable and true. The irony of the names of the characters, that Knave was not one and Prudence seemed to lack that quality is an example of the playful paradoxes in the story. Prudence was a delightful character, full of energy, innocence, and spunk. Her love for reading and writing and desire to know what it was like to be in love and the way it drove her to seek answers from Brand made for a great story. If you enjoy historical novels, this book should be on your “must read” list! This review was originally posted on AmongTheReads.net I would like to thank I Am A Reader for giving me this item. My opinion and review were not influenced by this gift.
momisreading More than 1 year ago
I loved this book from beginning to end! It was such an enjoyable read. The characters were wonderful! Prudence is a delight! She is honest and genuine and a breath of fresh air. I loved her relationship with Brand. (Now there is a swoon worthy man!) Some of their interactions just made me laugh. She certainly kept him on his toes. I really liked Sophia, too. She is so different than Prudence, yet so kind and good. I wanted all of them to be happy. I was so curious to see how everything would work out. It was perfect! I received a complimentary copy of the book, which I voluntarily reviewed. I have given my honest opinion.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Prudence Gifford of Talford Hall is a lovely and accomplished young woman who always seems to be in trouble with her mother as she loves to read. She enjoys romance novels which her mother calls rubbish. Secretly, she is trying to write her own novel. Her older sister, Sophia, has just recovered from a serious and lengthy battle with rheumatic fever. Prudence had put off her own come out and London season while her sister was ill. Now, Sophia will be rejoining society where her mother is certain that Viscount Brand Knave of Radbourne Abbey will soon offer for Sophia’s hand. Brand is the son of the Earl of Bradden. Sophia is the heiress of Talford Hall and marrying Brand will join their two neighboring estates. Thus, their marriage would just be a business arrangement rather than for love. As Prudence observes Sophia and Brand, she realizes that they are truly not in love and have nothing in common. Neither one of them wants to marry the other but are determined to do so simply to please their parents. Prudence enjoys getting outside for fresh air and exercise. One day, she encounters Brand in the forest snd they enjoy talking. They realize that they have a lot in common and share the same sense of humor. Prudence tries to give Brand some tips on getting to know Sophia better. At the same time, she asks him questions about his feelings on certain things that may help her when writing her novel. They meet in the forest now and then to talk. But when an attraction sparks, how they give up one another? Yet another good story by Rachael Anderson. She possesses a great talent. Copy provided by I Am a Reader in exchange for a fair and honest review.
hmgreen More than 1 year ago
This one had humor and drama. Lord Knave was my favorite character. The author did a great job of making me hate Knave at the beginning and love him by the end. And he saved the day. I didn't want to put it down. The 'hiding in the tree' scene was my favorite. I liked Prudence's spunk and determination to go after her dreams and how she was respectful and mindful of those she loved at the same time. I LOVE the cover. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 was because it was pretty slow at the beginning (a little boring). But then it picked up and I loved it! Also, it was an identical premise to Chalon Linton's book An Inconvenient Romance. But I liked this book better than that one. It was clean and appropriate for any audience. I will read this one again. I received this book in exchange for an honest review.