Need You Now: A Cloud Bay Novel

Need You Now: A Cloud Bay Novel

by Emma Douglas

NOOK Book(eBook)

$7.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Need You Now 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
NovelKnight More than 1 year ago
There’s something to be said of reading a book at just the right time, and I read Need You Now exactly when I needed to. Y’all know how I feel about contemporary romances. I’ve come around to them but they’ve always been hit or miss. The first in a new series, Need You Now covers the events of a big music festival in a small town with a rockstar’s daughter and a famous tennis player. Talk about an interesting combo. And this book had a few good points (and few not-so-great). Faith could have been an interesting character but her entire personality, her entire world, revolved around the music festival her father started and her refusal to get attached to anyone. Caleb was a bit more open to possibilities and, in general, I thought there was more to his story than Faith’s (he was just more interesting). For the first part of the story, Faith and Caleb have a lot of instant attraction going on that leads to a few hook-ups and an attachment builds from there. But there wasn’t a lot of emotion for most of the book but rather it all came together at the end. And the there’s that ending. Well, roughly the last quarter of the book. First off, Faith makes a really stupid decision and then it ultimately leads to. . . nothing. There aren’t any real consequences. They salvage their entire relationship which got pretty smashed up in a matter of pages. I kind of lost respect for Caleb a bit for letting her off the hook so easily. It would seem that I had a lot of issues with this book but in the end I really liked it. Crazy how that works. Honestly Need You Now is light, fun, a fling that turns into something more and you want to see the character get together because everything is there. While the ending wasn’t as satisfying as I would have liked and could definitely have been longer, it was nice to see that they weren’t jumping into some extreme commitment right away like I’ve seen in other books. Their resolution is to give a real relationship a try (versus just hooking up here and there) and I liked that they started/ended slower. Need You Now is a promising start to a series and the author’s writing style is easy to fall into. I could definitely see myself picking up future installments when I need something quick and light to break up the rest of the heavy fantasies I gravitate toward. A decent contemporary romance and I think I could definitely recommend it regardless of my more critical comments.
MJHughes12 More than 1 year ago
3.5 Stars What a good start to a new series – I really like the whole concept of Cloud Bay, from the small town/island setting to the cast of characters. The music festival was such an interesting and unique backdrop to this story. It really helps tell Faith’s story – it’s clear that this festival is part of who she is and helps keep her connected to the memory of her father. It’s also clear that growing up as Grey Harper’s daughter and seeing the destruction that fame and the need to be in the spotlight can bring has shaped her outlook on love. I also really liked the background to Caleb’s character. He’s at a crossroads and needs to figure out what is next, and hanging out with his friend and attending the Cloudfest music festival is just the diversion he needs…especially when he meets Faith. I do wish we got to see a bit more of who Caleb was. I don’t think his character was developed as well as it could have been and I ended up feeling that I never really knew who Caleb was or what made him tick. There was a lot of great potential for him and I really wanted to learn more. As far as chemistry, Faith and Caleb had it in spades. These two were definitely burning up the sheets. And I really liked the fact that it was also apparent that on top of the attraction these two genuinely liked one another. They had an easy banter between them and I liked that neither seemed to take themselves too seriously and their fame and success didn’t keep them from being down to earth. I enjoyed the author’s writing style and the pacing of the story was good, but there were a few times that I felt I got bogged down with too many details or extraneous information and it slowed me down a bit. And I do have to say I was also a little disappointed with the ending – it seemed to wrap up a bit too quickly and we were left hanging a bit…so I hope that we get to see more of Faith and Caleb as the series continues so we can find out more about their HEA. Overall, I really liked this story and think it had a lot of great elements that will lead to a very interesting series. We got to meet and learn a bit about the rest of Faith’s family as well as many of the islanders and there seems to be great potential for some very interesting stories. This one is definitely worth checking out and I can't wait for the next installment. I voluntarily reviewed a copy of this book I received from NetGalley.
CathyGeha More than 1 year ago
Need You Now by Emma Douglas Cloud Bay #1 An island off the California coast is home to Faith Harper, daughter of legendary Rock Star Gray Harper. She is one week from putting on a huge music festival – Cloud Fest – when she meets recently retired tennis pro, Caleb White. The two are drawn to one another from the beginning but neither is really in the market for more than just a summer fling… But, as with many such stories, more than a fling is definitely a possibility. This is the introduction to a new series that has a cozy small town feel to it with wonderful characters filling the pages. Each and every one of them deserves to eventually meet their mate and have their HEA as the series progresses. I was drawn in, enjoyed the interactions between Faith and Caleb and was glad that there was not a cliffhanger ending. I found Faith smart, strong, open minded, caring and eventually willing to do the work necessary to reach the deserved HEA. Caleb was a great match for Faith – warm, caring, great lover, strong and emotionally open – he, too, had a few things to work through before the HEA he deserved could happen. I am eagerly looking forward to the next book in the series and just found out that at this moment in time there are two more books in the series that will deal with Faith’s her half siblings Mina and Zach. That means there is room for a spin-off series OR further books in the series as there are more than just Mina and Zach that caught my eye while reading Need You Now. Thank you to NetGalley and St. Martin’s Press for the ARC – This is my honest review. 4 Stars
BuckeyeAngel More than 1 year ago
Faith Harper is the daughter of the late great rocker Gray Harper. Years after his death and she still hosts the music fest he and his band founded in the 90s. After growing up around rockers, Faith’s dedication is to her family and her job. She never saw any good come out of relationships. That is until she meets Caleb White, a retired tennis star that she just can’t get out of her mind from the first moment she saw his eyes. This was a quick and cute contemporary story with lots of steamy scenes. Right from the beginning you get a good feel for what kind of character Faith is as well as how growing up with the father she had has shaped her entire life and not necessarily in a good way. Up until now, she’s always been able to abide by her own personal rules. However, once she meets Caleb, something about her makes her shoot her rules out the window. The author did a great job of setting up the meet-cute. The book was pretty straight-forward. There wasn’t a whole lot of drama so if you’re looking for something pretty upbeat then this will definitely work. I recommend. **I voluntarily read and reviewed this book
BookReview4you More than 1 year ago
'Need You Now' by Emma Douglas is The First Book in The "Cloud Bay" series. This is the story of Caleb White and Faith Harper. Caleb is retiring from Tennis and wondering what the next chapter will be for him. During this time Caleb thinks to take a trip to Cloud Bay to see the famous music festival. There he finds Faith. Faith knows allot about famous people because her Dad was a famous Rock Star. So when they meet their is a instant attraction. But neither really was looking for anything permanent but Love can't be stopped. This was a slow build up to a sweet romance story. "My honest review is for a special copy I voluntarily read."
Honolulubelle More than 1 year ago
My Rating: 3.5 Favorite Quotes: Ivy didn’t share her views on island guys. She was newly moved in with her boyfriend. She had a bad dose of love cooties. That man is worth a squee or two. “Are you training to be a ninja or something?” she said, trying to calm her heartbeat and look innocent at the same time. “I think I’m going to buy you some clothes that aren’t black. At least that way I’ll see you coming.” Because every night this week, I’ve fallen asleep wishing the day was just a little longer so I could have some more time with you. Because I want to be with you. My Review: Need You Now had an interesting premise and chunks of fun and entertaining threads. I enjoyed and welcomed the author’s use of humor and quirky characters, and while the story had promise, the narrative appeared to miss the mark and became overly ambitious in setting up the rest of the series as there were flurries of background data, reams of detailed event planning and logistics, and other unresolved secondary story threads. Not to say the story was bad, it wasn’t. I enjoyed the humor, sizzle, and fun of the couple losing themselves in their blossoming relationship, but I had trouble maintaining my interest and attention with too much minutia of her organizational efforts and difficulties in setting up her musical festival, although other readers may enjoy those types of details. Just a bit of paring down those aspects would have greatly enhanced my level of engagement and rating.
ytcruz More than 1 year ago
This book is the first one in Ms Douglas’s series titled Cloud Bay. Life on an island is different. Having lived in one, I know it can be isolating, but the people in it is what makes it worth living there. The island is quaint and is unique in that they have a rock festival. Both characters are interesting, each one with their own agenda and neither wanting a long term relationship. But life has a sense of humor and things don’t go as planned. On the downside, I felt that Caleb fell a little short and I didn’t feel invested in him. At times I felt it dragged, but rushed at the end. The plot could have been a little more developed. Still , I would read another book in this promising series. I was gifted this copy by Netgalley and the publisher. The opinions expressed are solely my own.
Bette313 More than 1 year ago
i really enjoyed this one. Caleb and Faith were both great characters and the author did a great job helping us get to know them. Caleb has known the spotlight. He's a world famous tennis player who just announced his retirement. Faith has lived in the enormous shadow of her famous father. These two are drawn to each other but the last thing Faith has time for is a man. Sometimes though love finds you when you least expect it. This is one I highly recommend!