Nevermore (Nevermore Series #1)

Nevermore (Nevermore Series #1)

by Kelly Creagh

Paperback(Reprint)

$13.84 $14.99 Save 8% Current price is $13.84, Original price is $14.99. You Save 8%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, June 20

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Nevermore 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 466 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is perfection! I have so many wonderful things to say about it that I don't even know where to start, not to mention it would take a while. But I will say this... I LOVE Isobel and Varen, especially together. The author did such a great job that I felt Isobel's emotions. My heart was racing the first time they kissed and I cried when she cried, (I won't ruin it for you by saying why she was crying). The "paranormal" aspect of it was so creative and original and just so different from what everyone is writing these days. It was a bit slow going at first but once it got to that point we anticipate in all books, I couldn't stop reading. I finished in a day and have thought of nothing else since. I can't even decide on something new to read because I'm sure it won't measure up to the perfection of what I've just finished. Don't skip this book!
acsimps More than 1 year ago
I love it when I come across a book that seems completely unique. It is hard to find a good paranormal YA book that is not about Vampires, Werewolves, or Faeries. Not that I am saying that I don't love books on these subjects but I think we can all agree there are a lot out there right now. Nevermore is fresh and new. I also love books that pull in real historical events to serve as a backdrop for paranormal events. It makes the story seem more realistic. Isobel Lanley: perky, blond, cheerleader Varen Nethers: mysterious, dark, goth The simple laws of the high school class system says that they can never be friends, but when they are paired up for an English project they are forced to work together. Varen and Isobel are not the only ones who are upset by their pairing. Brad, Isobel's boyfriend waists no time putting Varen in his place and Lacy is not to fond of Isobel spending time with her boyfriend either. Despite their initial aversion to each other, both soon discover an attraction hiding beneath the surface. The closer that Isobel and Varen become the stranger their lives become. Soon Isobel is being followed, watched and visited by various beings who seem to be sending her a message, "Stay away from Varen Nethers." Despite their warnings Isobel falls hard for Varen. When he vanishes before her eyes Isobel ventures into the dream world Varen created through the pages of his notebook, a realm where the terrifying stories of Edgar Allan Poe come to life in order to save him from a fate that seems inevitable. Choices are made, lies are told, and Isobel discovers that dreams, like words, hold more power than she ever imagined. Be prepared for a cliffhanger ending this one is a series! I simply could not put this one down. Kelly Creagh's debut is enticing, exciting, and nerve racking. And it's all balled up into this fresh take on the mystery that surrounds America's first master of horror, Edgar Allen Poe. Interesting tid bit: I love the cover art for this book but I was surrprised to find that when the book arrived Varen was missing the lip ring shown in this picture. He has one in the story and on most cover art you find online but on the actual book it has been removed. Weird!
romancemistress More than 1 year ago
If you are a fan of Poe's dark and dreamy landscape of the imagination, you will fall into this novel with both a sigh...and eventually a scream. Kelly Creagh does a fantastic job (in her first book yet! You go, girl!!!)of creating a realistic picture of high school life with its dangers of both fitting in and not fitting in while simultaneously penning a spookily surrealistic world of whispers and creatures seen only from the corner of the eye. I've noticed that some of the best YA paranormal lit of the last few years are the ones with great guy characters (i.e. Hush, Hush's fallen but redeemable Patch, Bleeding Violet's crazy/sexy Wyatt, Beautiful Creatures' loyal and romantic Ethan, Wicked Lovely's awesomely awesome Seth (did I mention he was AWESOME?!), and the upcoming (9/21) The Replacement's otherworldly (seriously) Mackie...and, of course, that Edward guy. But somebody's gonna have to do some serious creatin' to beat Nevermore's wondrous and winsome Goth, Varen Nethers. I mean, does the picture on the front of the book not paint his Gothic-y, smart-but-maybe-troubled-boy in all his dark Princelyness? Great cheekbones, interesting nose, even Isobel mentions his lips, a suggestion of a cleft to the chin, and all that black hair...which becomes even more attractive when we learn he dyes it - why...maybe to indicate that the innocence of that blonde boy in the photo has long ago been destroyed. One trip to the beautiful Victorian house and a meeting with his drunken and abusive father shows Isobel and the reader all we need to know about beautiful facades covering the rottenness within. For all the "dark and dreary" of this Poe inspired novel, there is deeply felt romance between the odd couple pairing of smart but withdrawn (and pretty much universally feared as some sort of vampire)Varen and the blonde but no dummy Isobel. The family dynamics of both kids are well layed out, that swift revelation of Varen's showing us all we need to know about his psyche whereas Isobel's habit of arguing with her little brother and her dismissal of his game-playing just shows how normal her family is in contrast...and little bro does come through eventually. Also the whole popular crew showing themselves as a violent, vandalizing pack when everything doesn't go their way pretty much fuels the fire of Isobel's growing interest in Varen. If you're not a fan of Poe's 3M's - misery, melodrama, and melancholia - don't worry because there is humor, too. Isobel can be very snarky in her internal dialogue - "Mr. Creepy McCreepers," and her efforts to fit in with other less popular cliques after she's ousted from her old pack are funny and tragic simultaneously. Poe and his tales and mysterious death are just the engine behind this book...he's the matchmaker, you might say, along with the English teacher who puts Isobel and Varen together on their project to write about a dead American author...right before Halloween. The last quarter of the book is where the real creepiness ensues as both the characters (and the reader)are submerged into a nightmare world from which everyone can't return. And if you know your Poe, you shouldn't be surprised that the ending leaves you...hoping and praying for an immediate - if not sooner - sequel. Loved it enough to read it in one evening and cannot wait for book 2.
xoxomlrxoxo More than 1 year ago
Okay, so I read the synopsis for Nevermore a week before it was released and I was hooked. So I went to buy the book on Saturday. I've been reading since then and I'm pretty fast at reading, so I'll be done tonight-maybe. In my opinion, Kelly Creagh has done a fantastic job at writing this book, and for some reason, (even though I'm not a big fan of cheerleaders) I am super excited to see what happens in the end with Varen and Isobel. And (for your information) I never heard of Edgar Allen Poe before reading this book, so I'm gonna tell the fans of this amazing poet, that its not a book that COMPLETELY revolves around him. Poe IS included in this book for projects and events, but the story isn't completely about him. BUT THAT COMMENT ISN'T SUPPOSE TO STEER YOU AWAY FROM READING THIS BOOK! It is a VERY, VERY, VERY great novel that I will definintely be wanting and waiting for more!! So please try this book out--IT IS SOOOO WORTH IT! :)
LauraT81 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Oh, where to begin with Nevermore? I really liked the idea of this YA novel, Edgar Allen Poe and nightmare worlds, but the execution was beyond dissapointing. I almost abandoned it midway through because it seemed utterly pointless. The only section that I found remotely interesting was the last quarter of the book. *Spoiler* [spoiler]There was almost no romance building between Isobel and Varen and then,suddenly, "We're in love and I'm going to risk my life to save you! Oh, I'll also save my controlling ex-boyfriend while I'm at it!"[spoiler]This book was 543 pages, in which the first 300 pages or so had almost nothing to do with the climax of the story. By the end, I didn't even care. I definitely won't be picking up the sequel.
sch_94 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
My Thoughts: I pride myself on being a well-versed, well-read person with a great vocabulary. Really, I do. But when I finished Nevermore at around 6 am last night (after starting at around 11 pm) the only word I could think of to describe what I'd just read was OMG!!!! (I know it's not even a word, guys. Also, it wasn't even an adjective. I am aware.).I adored everything about this book. The author's use of imagery was amazing; you could vividly imagine each and every scene, and the eerie atmosphere of the entire thing was reminiscent of one of Poe's poems. I loved loved LOVED the inclusion of Poe's works into this novel - it added so much depth to the story, and rekindled my love of all things Poe (if for some strange reason you have made it this far in life and haven't read any of Poe's work, this novel will definitely make you want to). And you know what else? There was no insta-love! (Thank you, Ms. Creagh. Thank you so much for not ruining a great story with that. I happen to loathe the YA habit of 'OMG our eyes locked and we were in love after only three hours it was meant to be!' with the fiery passion of one thousand imploding suns. And you can quote me on that, guys). I adored Varen and all his complexity, and even Isobel started to grow on me after a while (after standing up to those jerks who called themselves her friends). With this long of a book (around 550 pages) you usually find yourself wishing the story would hurry up and conclude, but with Nevermore I found myself dreading the last 100 pages because it meant the book would be ending soon. And the ending! It broke my heart, so, so bad. I put the book down and raced to the computer to find out when the sequel, Enshadowed, would be coming out, and my heart (or what was left of it) sank when I found out I had to wait until AUGUST (8 months!) to find out what happens next. Oh well. It's going to be worth it.Final Thoughts: If you haven't already picked up Nevermore, get yourself to the nearest bookstore and pick up a copy ASAP! I recommend it to anyone who loves paranormal YA, romance, and anything by Edgar Allan Poe - especially if you're looking for an original, fresh story. It's definitely one of my favourites so far this year.
ErisofDiscord on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Isn¿t the guy on the cover hot? I defintely dig!Okaaay, I realize you¿re not impressed. Anyway¿Nevermore is about Isobel Lanley, a girl who seems to have it all ¿ a protective boyfriend on the football team, good grades in school, and she¿s the top flyer on the cheerleading squad. That is until her English teacher assigns her to do a grade-determining project on an author, which isn¿t a big deal, but she has to do it with another student chosen by the teacher. Her English teacher assigns Isobel to work with Varen Nethers, the Goth boy and social outcast of the school. Both Isobel and Varen are not happy with the partnership ¿ Isobel thinks Varen is a self-absorbed, woe-is-me jerk and Varen thinks Isobel is a brainless, blonde cheerleader. However, they are forced to do their project together, a project about Edgar Allan Poe. As their friendship slowly grows and Isobel gradually realizes what is plaguing Varen, the world of the supernatural starts to collide with the physical world, and the horrors that Edgar Allan Poe created in his stories become real.Any author that is brilliant enough to incorporate the writing of Edgar Allan Poe into a contemporary novel automatically caters to my interests. Poe is a favorite author of mine and his grotesque stories of premature burials, pendulums, and death intrigue me, and the references to his stories throughout Nevermore made me happy to see Creagh acknowledging his works.Even without the references to Poe that made me so happy, the writing of the novel gives me pleasure. The friendship and romance of Isobel and Varen is not rushed, but is given time to develop sincerely, without the hurried nature that is characteristic of so many romances in YA literature. Creagh managed to create likable characters, both of whom, despite belonging to stereotypes (the Goth boy and the blonde cheerleader), managed to exist as unique, label defying characters. Isobel is not snotty or false ¿ she is kind, loyal to her friends, and determined not be a weakling. Varen is sarcastic, thoughtful, and has remarkable insight that both blesses him and haunts throughout the story.
yabotd on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Um, do me a favor and check out that cover again.Seriously.Can you say creepy? Oh, and totally HOT!I freaking love that cover. It's the reason I read the book in the first place. I saw it on my GoodReads recommendations page one day and that cover has haunted me ever since. I wrote down the title, but then lost it. I frantically searched through my GoodReads "to-read" pile, but couldn't find it there either! I scoured the internet till I finally found it. Whew! I'm so glad I did.Nevermore by Kelly Creagh is one creepy, fantastical read. If you've ever been entranced in the works of Edgar Allan Poe, this is a good modern take on what it might be like inside his mind. Or, rather, a somewhat similar mind. Varen's mind.Just looking at the cover alone, you get a good sense of Varen. His dark, mysterious, and totally not your typically teenage boy in a young adult book. Sure, there's a good bit of goth representation in YA, but Varen is unlike any other teen romance guy I've ever read about (but hey, I'm open to recommendations if I'm missing some YA subculture or something). He's dark and mysterious, but not in the usual way. More in the "Hey, maybe I should really leave him alone kind of way." He's rude to Isobel. Actually rude. And she doesn't take it playfully or misinterpret it or anything else. She recognizes that he's not interested in her (and not just in a romantic way), but she also knows she stuck working with him on an English project, so she must prevail.What I thought was interesting about Varen is that although he is kind of rude to Isobel, he isn't a jerk. He just isn't interested in sparing her feelings, so he says things exactly as he sees them. Yes, this is absolutely a fault of his and I didn't particularly care for him when this is happening, but that's the great thing about characters...they can change. Isobel stands up to him and rightly puts him in his place. Things steadily improve from there. Throughout the story, I appreciated the comparison of Varen to Brad. At points, neither one is grade-A boyfriend material, but there are lines and decencies that Varen doesn't cross. Also, I really like that Varen doesn't try to fight Brad. It always irks me when an unexpected character is able to physically stand up to someone they shouldn't be able to, based on prior description. Creagh has created the characters and she sticks with them and their limitations. Kudos to her.Okay, I realize I've spent just about the entire review on Varen and the cover, but Varen really is the story. And I don't mean the romance. I mean what's going on inside his head and how his relationship with Isobel not only changes his thoughts, but pulls her into his nightmares. A lot of the story is impacted by Varen's thoughts. It's a shame we don't get into his POV at all.The one thing I did find really disappointing is that once Isobel reaches a certain level of understanding about what's going on and that it has to do with Varen, Varen isn't in the story much. Sure, there's lots of thoughts about him and he's otherwise occupied (which is why he isn't around), but I wish there was more of him in the end quarter of the book. Then again, that just makes me super eager to read book two, Enshadowed.Final thoughts: Borrow or buy. Frankly, I'd buy it solely for the cover, but that's a personal preference.
seescootread on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Isobel is happy; she has a great boyfriend and a cheer team heading straight to nationals. When her professor¿s dreaded English project is assigned she is unwillingly paired with Varen the king of the high school goths. Their clashing worlds collide and Isobel expects failure, but ends up being intrigued. Torn between what she wants and what is expected of her Isobel¿s life is thrown for a loop while Varen¿s life is falling deeper and deeper into danger. Isobel and Varen have to work together to overcome more than just the school gossip chain in this mysterious and absorbing novel. I wasn¿t sure what to expect from this story, I am not a huge fan of Edgar Allan Poe but I kept hearing it was a great read so I picked it up. I am so glad I did because it was an excellent book! I loved that it was long... the story actually had time to develop and not feel rushed, and it didn¿t cut off short in the middle of the plot. The slow building romance felt real and was easy to connect with. Although the romance was a large plot element it wasn¿t the only thing going on. The mystery of Varen¿s life and the strange occurrences surrounding he and Isobel kept you intrigued and wondering until the end. And Isobel - I actually liked her! Usually the `popular pretty blonde cheerleader¿ is written very typical to the stereotype, but Isobel managed to break the mold. Isobel had depth, kindness and was a strong lead that I could easily put my support behind. The characters were all well developed and the plot kept you glued to the page. The story has it all; mystery, heartbreak, romance, action, and danger. This was a great book that I highly recommend! I can¿t wait to get my hands on the sequel, Enshadowed, in January 2012!
IReadToEscape on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The first time my eyes landed on the book, I was intrigued by the cover and so I decided to give it at try. To be honest when I first got the book and read the blurb, I wasn't too sold on the plot; I don't tend to read books about popular girls because I find it quite hard to relate to them but in the end I gave it ago. Well, lets just say that the author proved me wrong.The story plot was unique, not something that I had ever read before. I thought it was very clever the way that Kelly Creagh wove in bits of references of Poe, although I was a bit skeptical about Edgar Allan Poe being in a story set in the modern era, I was suprised at how briliantly the author inserted certain aspects of Poe's life and story into the book; it certainly gave is more depth.I had a hard time liking some of the characters like Isobel's popular friends Nikki and Brad for example, I hated the way they treated Varen at the ice-cream parlor. I though the way that the author potrayed each individual character was very realistic. The protagonist, Isobel is a cheerleader and she isn't one of those stereotypical cheerleader that is a stupid blonde airhead, infact, she is a very intelligent, strong and interesting teenager. Varen is a quiet goth loner, that actually had alot of depth in him, he's cold, mysterious, sensitive, aloof yet charming at the same time. He has a lip ring and I can't help but wonder why it isn't on the cover! Gen is Isobel's friend that is the the most perfect friend anyone could ask for, she's funny, quirky and had me smiling at times.Unfortunately, I found it really hard to relate to Isobel, this issue has never really bothered me too much and it still doesn't. But I think it was her inability to make the proper decisions that made it easy for me to disagree with her.The way she lied to her parents, sneaking out, bribing her brother with money and going home through a scary deserted park! Fortunately, throughout the book, you notice a change in her, a positive change and that made her more likeable for me; it definitely outweighed the negatives.Overall, I enjoyed this book. I liked Isobel and Varen's blossoming romance but I wish that there was more! Sadly, this book ended with a major heart wrenching cliffhanger! But this book is definitely recommended! Don't forget to watch out for Enshadowed coming out in January 2012!Rating: 4 out of 5
ShanonS on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book is in my top 5 favorites for sure. First off, incorporating Edgar Allan Poe and his works into a young adult fiction novel is genius! I'm not going to go into deep detail of the plot and storyline, because you can read a summery of the book on the inside cover. But I will say that I loved how this love story isn't your typical kind of story. Varen isn't your garden variety ripped pretty-boy-who-doesn't-know-he's-hot. He's what appears to be a goth-type guy with black hair, thin/lean body type and a lip piercing. He's also incredibly awesome. Isobel also isn't your typical dumb, blonde cheerleader. They aren't some "love at first sight" couple who knows they are soulmates without even getting to know eachother first. They also aren't pansy "I-have-to-be-with-you-all-the-time-or-I'll-die" kind of people. I like that, it's more realistic. But anyway, Kelly Creagh creates an amazing and very descriptive world where Poe's stories/poems are very much a reality. She even throws the "Poe Toaster" into her novel which is quite clever. I know some people are a bit peeved with how the ending of this first book went, but I absolutely loved it. It left me craving so much more and I am so excited for the next book in the series! I can only imagine what will happen next!!!
danijohns on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I did not know what to expect from Nevermore. Overall, I really enjoyed the book, its story and its characters.Nevermore is the first book in a series and I¿m really glad for that, otherwise, I would have been left extremely confused. My general impressions while reading this book were that I really liked it, but I was baffled a bit by the plot while reading it. Often, I found myself questioning what was going on or not understanding it. Thankfully, as I continued to read, questions I had, especially some questions about Varen slowly were revealed. However, at the end of the book, I still was left with many unanswered questions, hopefully questions that will be answered in the sequel. Kelly Creagh has written a very interesting start to a series. I loved how she incoporated Poe into the story and was very excited to see her use of his stories to full the plot. While Creagh uses aspects of Poe¿s stories, she uses them to further enhance her own story and plot. The plot of Nevermore is unique; I did not know where the plot was going and could not anticipate any of the plot twists. Overall, the plot arc was intriguing and set up a great basis for the first book in the series. I¿m excited to see the plot arc continue in the next book and see if it answers some of the many questions I was left with.While I really enjoyed the story and plot of the book, I was confused often, but still ended up really liking the book. The thing that I really loved about this book was its characters. When I read the synopsis, I was expecting the main character, Isobel, to be very vapid and one dimensional, since they describe her as a cheerleader. I was glad to see she had a depth and an actual brain. Isobel was able to stand up for herself and others around her, something I greatly admired, especially when her boyfriend was bullying Varen. Isobel was not superficial like the peers that surrounded her and I was thankful for that. The other character that I really loved, and probably one of the reasons that I really liked this book, was Varen. Varen was everything I expect and more. He is the perfect mix of mystery, broody emotions and hotness. I really enjoyed learning more about him and seeing the many different sides to Varen. While Varen may dress like a goth and intimate the people around him, he really defines the saying ¿There¿s more than meets the eye.¿ Varen and his mysterious background kept me intrigued and really made me love this story.At the end of the book, I was still left with many unanswered questions, but thankfully there will be a sequel to follow up this book. I will pick that book up as soon it comes out because I cannot wait to see where Kelly Creagh takes us next and I cannot wait to learn more about Varen and his mysteries.
stephxsu on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The day Isobel¿s life starts unraveling is the day she gets paired with Varen Nethers for an English project. Imagine: she, a pretty, popular cheerleader having to spend time with the most sullen, mysterious, and depressing freak in school!The more time Isobel spends with Varen, however, the more intriguing she finds him. He is a talented writer who hides himself behind a thick wall all the time. Isobel knows there is more to him than his cold exterior, but her old friends and possessive boyfriend do NOT like her spending time with Varen. As things head towards a tense climax, Isobel has to figure out how to save Varen before he is lost completely to a dark world that Isobel has never known before.I¿m not sure what to think about this ambitious debut novel. On the one hand, NEVERMORE is a chillingly intriguing exploration of the psychological changes undergone when two opposites cross paths. On the other, it is all too often plodding, frustrating, and melodramatic.Good things first: the characters in NEVERMORE are quite unlike most YA characters I¿ve read, particularly Varen. He is aloof without being arrogant, reserved without seeming hopelessly depressed. His appeal lies in these things: in a sense, he has all the appeal of a stereotypical bad boy, but his ¿badness¿ is in being so-called freakish and socially distant. And that made for a very nice combination. I always looked forward to Isobel and Varen¿s interactions, because they were full of the bittersweet subtleties that real relationships are about, and not the usual insta-attraction wish fulfillment that usually abounds in YA lit.Unfortunately, NEVERMORE felt a bit shaky for me for several reasons. I found it difficult to place Isobel: she¿s not technically a nice person (as evidenced by her initial interactions with Varen), and yet she¿s not convincingly mean, either. YA novelists such as Courtney Summers and Lauren Oliver have successfully proven that even mean girls can be sympathetic protagonists. And while most of the other characters are convincingly rich enough in their roles, whether major or minor, I would have liked to see more definition from Isobel. As of now she just feels like a fairly generic protagonist to me.Likewise, I felt that the paranormal elements of NEVERMORE were not as strong as the contemporary, psychological aspects. It seems like a bit of a stretch right now to believe Isobel and Varen¿s involvement with a whole other world. Nevertheless, NEVERMORE is definitely the first book in a series, and I¿d be interested to see what the promising author Kelly Creagh does in the sequel. I would definitely love to see more development of the other world and integration with ¿our¿ world.
booksandwine on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I deeply, desperately want the next book in this planned trilogy. Oh my gawd! Nevermore by Kelly Creagh is on my list of top 20 favorite books of 2010 so far. Holy Edgar Allen Poe was this book good!FIRST, there is build up. Y'all, this book is LONG! But, we actually get to really dive into the characters and their motivations. I felt like when the characters took actions, it actually made sense. Mainly because I was given enough time to get to know the characters. Also, I sort of bet this book will be compared to Twilight, minus the vampires, ignore that. I honestly believe books are better when they rest on their own merits, not a comparison merit.Right-o. So, there's Isobel Langley who is a cheerleader with a not so empty head. She is paired up for this mandatory English project with a gothy dude named Varen who is totally make out worthy. He also has a pretty sweet ride. At first, things are very awkward between them, as Isobel would say, it's awkward dot com. None of Isobel's friends like Varen and bully him. Isobel gets pissed. I love that. I love that she stands up and calls people on their b.s. Of course, we know what is hinted at with Isobel and Varen. However, things happen very slowly between the two. Not to imply this is a slow read, it's not. I read it in two days. I was engrossed, plus I had symptoms of Post Amazing Book Depression afterwards. However, there were parts where I was screaming in my head OMG JUST MAKE OUT ALREADY. You, see I like my making out.What's cool about Nevermore is that it is unique to me. There are no vampires or weres. But there are ghouls and a dream world. There is a heavy influence of Poe which makes this book totally creeptastic. It also makes me want to trade in my paperback edition of the complete works of Poe for a black leather edition with gold lettering on the cover.Also, can I just dish on the atmosphere of this book super quick?! It is hella creepy, but hella awesome. Reading this, I wanted to shove on a sweater. Y'all I read this during the NY heat wave, it was 98 degrees outside, and I wanted to put on a sweater. I also had a strong urge to watch foliage and drink pumpkin spice. This book just screams Halloween. I am telling you to add this to your fall MUST READ list. Then come rail with me for a sequel soon, because you'll need it ASAP, mmmk?
angelgirl122193 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Nevermore is a one-of-a-kind, extraordinary book. The writing was flawless! The details are exquisite and the characters are all extremely likable! Nevermore was so hard to put down once I got sucked into the story and I am in dire need of a sequel now!!Isobel was a breath of fresh air! She is such a lovable character and very relatable, even with her being a cheerleader. She was intelligent and acted nothing like I would have imagined a cheerleader to act, which was very refreshing. At the beginning of the story, she still has much to learn and as she spends more time with Varen, she grows to be an amazing person and I truly loved reading about her adventures. She wasn't sure of Varen at first, and thinks he's a weirdo from all the rumors that she's heard, but as they work together, she starts to understand why Varen is the way he is and falls hard for him. They are complete opposites, but this just makes their relationship that much more amazing and sizzling!Varen, Varen, Varen. I loved Varen! He is a very conflicted character and I really felt for him. Even though he gives Isobel the cold shoulder at first, he comes to be a sweetie towards her and he can't help but let her into his life, even when the consequences are dire. There were times where I just wanted to dive into the world of Nevermore and give him a great, big hug! Varen goes through so much in Nevermore and Isobel is there with him every step of the way. Although he didn't want her mixed up in his conflicts, Isobel is there through everything and he enjoys her company, even though he probably wouldn't admit it at first. There was so much mystery surrounding Varen! I was left guessing until the very end, and I still don't have all the answers!The paranormal elements and plot in this story were utterly unique! The dark paranormal elements, thrown together with the mystery of Edgar Allen Poe, and a mysterious dream world. I loved reading all about the paranormal elements and I was very intrigued with what I learned. I was a bit frustrated that the end wasn't wrapped up with a nice red (or purple) bow and I will go crazy until I can get my hands on a sequel (which there should be with that ending)! I was hoping for some closure, but I guess Kelly Creagh did give us just enough to leave us wanting more!I can't get over how awesome Nevermore! There is just enough romance, paranormal, and mystery to keep me reading. The plot was completely unique and I was kept guessing, even at the very last page. The ending of the story throws new questions out there and left me wanting the sequel, ASAP! I will keep my eyes peeled for word on the next installment in Isobel and Varen's story! I would recommend this to anyone who loves a great YA paranormal romance, with a bit of mystery thrown in!
rainrunner on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I'm giving this 4 stars but, really, I don't know how to rate this one fairly. It started off great. When the real paranormal stuff hit later in the book I was totally confused. And the ending sucked. However, the book held my interest because I kept waiting for something to happen. I was fretful and anxious and then NOTHING happened. And then when something DID happen, I was like WTF? Perhaps it's because it was a YA and I'm used to more sex or something. It was good, better than a 3, at least for the first half or so.
paulskiy2k on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Before I read this, I had to read everyone else's review. Why, because I loved this book, it wasn't only that though. This book in my eyes, is actually a YA read that can be consider a trash read. This is far from trash. It brings one of the greatest mysteries of a famous poet and brings not only his death, but also most of his poems and tales. This can all be lost in translation though to the readers if they have never heard of the writer. Even though it is greatly detailed in the book, who he was and about his death. It becomes clearer when you have actually have read some of poems work before reading this story. Anyways, clearly I loved the book and cannot wait until the next book because there is a huge cliffhanger at the end, so I cannot wait until more. Don't listen to any negative reviews this book is full of mystery and surprises and a love that is more aching then those other two dead people everyone raves about.
MrsMich02 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Aaargh!! There simply HAS to be another book to follow this one. There were quite a few trials and tribulations for these kids and then, to end the book the way she did was SO unsatisfying. Like how you actually finish the book, in your head going NO it CAN'T end like this, and then finally saying this ending sucks. But what about....I believe that makes for a good book.
PureImagination on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really don't even know where to begin with this book. It has incredibly good reviews everywhere you look and mine will be no exception. Awesome. I think that's the best word to explain this book. I might overuse that word a lot but, this book was awesome in the truest sense of the word!So, what's the story all about, you may ask. Well, it's kinda hard to explain. Isobel is just your average popular cheerleader. She's dating a football player and has a great group of friends. That all changes when she is paired up with Varen Nethers for an English project on Poe. Then things just start to get.....odd.Both Isobel and Varen were fantastic characters. Isobel was a smart girl. She made good choices and she was strong, because I would have freaked out and given up long before she did. Varen is just your typical brooding goth. He really wasn't in the story as much as I would have liked, but that's the way it needed to be. I really can't wait to get to know him more.There was very little actual romance in the book. Like I said, Varen really doesn't show up that often, but when he does you either want to slap him or swoon. You get to witness the slow building of a realistic connection. There was no instant love, or realize I love him on the last page love. It was somewhere in the middle. It was perfect. It will leave you craving more!Really, the romance or the characters aren't what did it for me. No, that was the story! OMG! I haven't read a story so unpredictable and gripping in a long time. This book is 500+ pages. At page 400 I still had no idea what was going on! Sometimes I find this annoying, but this time it worked. Things get a little strange in the last 200 pages. It was almost reminiscent of Stephen King. I loved it. It will have your eyes moving across the page as fast as they can.I've always been a huge Poe fan. So this really was a treat. They way Poe's stories were woven into the plot was fantastic! I can't say enough good things about this book. You really have to read the awesomeness that is Nevermore and find out for yourself!
MargK on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Lately there has been a trend in YA fiction to reduce romance to "love at first sight" with the explanation that the two young lovers are meant to be together by some cosmic/magical machination of fate. This unfortunately skips over the natural progression of the characters getting to know one another and the gradual development of a deepening connection. In my opinion, it is the journey of emotional discovery and building tension, not the end result, that is the best part of a romance story. Therefore, I was very pleased with the fact that Nevermore deviates from the recent trend and instead explores the different stages of a budding romantic relationship.What I liked the most about the book was Isobel's character. I loved that, despite being a blond beautiful cheerleader, she wasn't turned into a stereotype. On the contrary, she was a really down-to-earth girl that was strong & determined and had good values. Even though she was part of the popular clique in school, she wasn't stuck up or judgmental. Even before they became anything more than just classmates, Isobel stood up for Varen when he was bullied by her friends. When she realized that her clique acted in ways she couldn't condone, Isobel took a stand and distanced herself from them. She wanted to be a better person, and I respected & admired her for that.Varen was intriguing. I found his reserved personality and intelligence quite attractive. He had a subtle bad boy, rebel quality that contrasted nicely with his gentle demeanor. I think that out of the two, Varen was the one who changed/evolved the most throughout the book. Prior to his interaction with Isobel, he was somewhat self-absorbed, distancing himself from everyone and brooding over his own personal demons. I got the impression that he was quite lonely, insecure, and angry. As he spent time with Isobel, however, he started to lower the walls he built up and slowly began to look past his pain & resentment of the world around him.The plot is where the book hit a few bumps. I really enjoyed the story. I finished the book in pretty much one day. It definitely kept me interested & entertained all the way through. Nonetheless, I did think that the pacing felt a bit disjointed in certain parts. The story seemed to dramatically change gears towards the last half/third of the book, where it became dominated by supernatural occurrences and an action sequence that took place within a dreamworld. I think the transition into that component of the story could have been done more seamlessly. I would have liked a bit more cohesion between the two main story arcs. It sort of felt like the first half of the book was a contemporary high school romance, whereas the second half was a paranormal mystery.Bottom Line:I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and I thought is was well-written. The female protagonist was extremely likable and her love interest was alluringly enigmatic. It was exciting to see how the chemistry and romantic tension developed and came to fruition. I also really liked the supernatural elements inspired by Edgar Allan Poe's Gothic writing, but I wish they had been more prominent earlier in the book and better incorporated into the romantic plotline. I'd definitely recommend this book....but beware, there is a dramatic cliffhanger.
JCShoffitt on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I am very conflicted in my opinion of this one and might have to wait to give it a full review...or even a fair star rating. I wish there was an option to give half stars...or quarter stars to books. Sigh.I loved Creagh's voice in the novel- she really brought her characters to life and I could easily hear and see them as I read. This was unfortunate at times since I wanted to slap Isobel more than once. However, despite the whole "rah rah go team!" teenage girl cheerleader thing, I don't dislike Isobel. I'm not going to go so far as to say I like her (yet) but I am intrigued. The girl has some spunk in her. In fact, when I got to the bit about her apology to the squad in "cheer form" I laughed really hard. I think she might be underestimated. The contrast between her and Varen is, well, extreme. I'm not into the whole Prince of Darkness, brooding, morbid thing- but I like Varen for his witty, dry sense of humor.The Poe aspect of the plot is absolutely incredible. I have to say that if I were rating this purely off of originality, I would be wishing for a 6th star. I lack the sophistication to be able to put into words why I thought it was incredible so I'll leave it at this: storyline was totally frickin amazing. Lol.Now here is where my conflict factors in. I really liked the characters, I loved the plot, the writing was fantastic and I had a hard time putting it down. BUT. It didn't leave me with that tingly, breathless feeling that makes me want to scream "GIVE ME THE NEXT BOOK!" The bottom line is that I thought this was a fantastic book, but I didn't become emotionally invested in it. I have a hard time giving a book a 5 star rating without having an emotional investment in it.An example of Creagh's writing style: "The clock's pendulum sliced through the air like a scythe, reaping the seconds." No wonder this book works so well- Creagh's strong writing easily keeps pace with her plot and makes it come alive.One of my favorite scenes:"What the hell is that?" asked Varen. He nodded at Isobel's tray.Isobel sat stunned for a moment, her brain flatlining when she felt his knee brush hers. "Uh." She shook her head. Why couldn't she think straight? She glanced down at the soupy contents of her plate. Just tell him what it is. Simple. Look at it and say what it is. "Sloppy Joe," she managed."Hmm," he said, sounding doubtful. "May he rest in peace."
readingdate on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Isobel Lanley is a high school cheerleader and is in the popular crowd at school. Varen Nethers is a sullen, rebellious Goth far outside of Isobel¿s social circle. Isobel is horrified when she is paired with Varen on a team writing assignment. Varen is not happy about it either, but decides to make the best out of the situation and chooses Edgar Allen Poe as their subject. Isobel¿s controlling boyfriend Brad is threatened by Varen, and she must keep their study sessions a secret. As Isobel works with Varen she finds herself impressed by his writing and tries to spend as much time with him as she can. She finds herself drawn to Varen¿s dream world where the stories of Edgar Allen Poe come to life.Nevermore is creative and original in the way the book incorporates Poe¿s writings. This would be perfect to read around Halloween time, which is when the action of the book takes place. Since the book makes references to many of Poe¿s writings it would be fun to read Poe¿s work along side the book. Nevermore is exciting, spooky and romantic and full of surprises.Isobel is a smart and driven, sensitive protagonist. Varen is brooding, intelligent, artistic and complex. As the cheerleader and the undertaker, Isobel and Varen make an unlikely yet swoon-worthy couple. They have many obstacles to overcome including their friends and families but you can¿t help but want to see them succeed as a couple. After Isobel has a falling out with her clique, she meets an awesome new supportive and quirky friend named Gwen. There are a few other interesting and mysterious characters we are introduced to in Varen¿s imaginative world where there is a fine line between good and evil.Nevermore builds to a tension-filled conclusion when the stakes are raised for Isobel and Varen. Their fate rests on Isobel¿s shoulders and I was filled with anxiety reading the suspenseful final pages. There is a lot of action at the end of the book, and a conclusion that will leave you yearning for the sequel. Recommended for fans of YA paranormals, Nevermore stands out from the pack.Nevermore is the first book in a planned trilogy by debut author Kelly Creagh. The next book is due out in 2012.
pacey1927 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I try to be as honest in my book reviews. Once in awhile, I find I have to force myself to be honest with myself before I can even attempt a review. So here is my honest opinion: I was madly and completely in love with this book for the first 3/4 of it. The two lead characters are unique and vibrant. The goth guy and the blonde cheerleader could have been presented as a cliche but they worked amazingly well. Isobel comes across as smart and sensitive in a group of kids that just don't seem to care who they hurt. She is able to recognize that her close friends are maybe not nice enough to be who she wants to befriend even though they are uber-popular. Varen, oh Varen. I was completely put off with his description. A tall, skinny boy with a lip ring and guyliner. Nope. Even the prior teenager in me wouldn't have found him attractive. But his surly demeanor and (deeply buried at first) personality won me over. He's a smart kid. When we learn more about his background, a lot of Varen suddenly make sense. The chemistry between the two was palpable. Unlike most YA novel relationships, the reader can feel the attraction between the two...can watch the chemistry take hold and build. Compared to her jock boyfriend, Brad there is no comparison on which boy completes Isobel. (I want to add that I loved Gwen also and would love more of her in the sequel...and Poe dad rocks.) At the beginning of the book, the many little mysteries are compelling and chilling. The on-the surface connection to Poe was very interesting and neatly woven into the story. I couldn't turn the pages fast enough. Then we are introduced to a new creature called a Noc named Pinfeather and things (sigh) go downhill from there. I really lived for the scenes with Varen but around the time Pinfeather is introduced (a really hateful creature to be sure), Varen's scenes become infrequent and get more so. Therefore we lose a lot of the intrigue and spark, quickly. The climax of the book takes place in a dreamlike world, a mix between two realities. Personally, I find the problem with mixed realities is that the readers tends to not know what is real and what isn't either. There is a lot of room for confusion. Some people like not knowing whats going on. Unfortunately I am not one of those people. I found the end, while not hard to get through, much harder to get through then the first 350 pages or so. I had more questions then answers. While some of those questions were wrapped up in the last few pages, many were not, and some new questions were created. Now for the record, this book as a whole is still one of the best books I have read in a long time. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone. But I think its only fair to warn potential readers that the book does take a very sharp change toward the end of the book. Yet, Kelly Creagh has earned herself a place on my must buy list. As soon as the sequel is up on Amazon, I will have it on pre-order.
ABookwormsHaven on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I have a friend who has been talking about this book for a while now, so I wanted to check it out myself. Now that I have read the book, I am sitting here typing this review and I think my mind is still racing from everything that transpired. It was amazing! My copy of this book now looks like I have been editing it rather than reading it. I have underlined passages, written notes and scribbled everywhere. I am sorry Kelly, there was just so much going on and I had to try and keep track of it all. You know what? I actually think I am going to go back and re-read this book to try and catch some of the things I might have missed. There were events that just happened too fast for me to catch it all. As a result, I left some things underlined to go back and look at later.Since finishing the book, I have also been looking up various Poe stories and references from the book. But I definitely want to re-read, and that is the highest compliment I can give a book, because I am not a re-reader. Once I am done with a book that is usually it for me, I put it down, write the review and walk away. I do go back sometimes and re-read passages, which means I am very interested, but wanting to read the whole book again is rare for me. I am seriously fighting the urge right now to pick it up and read it again. Kelly, you have done your job because your book is running though my mind and I cannot get it out!!What is the book about you might wonder¿well besides that summary up top I am not going to be much help to you. Your probably saying, ¿why can¿t you tell me more?¿ Well, I will tell you why, because I am done with the book and I am still a little fuzzy about what went down. Here is a line from the book that I think sums up my feelings on this very well: He was always talking in circles like this, always leaving her with more questions than answers. It made her want to scream at him, to demand one single cut-and-dry, yes-or-no-reply.Seriously, that is how I feel. Just when you thought you could maybe figure out what was going on something else would happen or an explanation would get cut off mid-sentence and then you were left hanging, again. It left me with a weird mix of frustration and intrigue churning in my head that would not let me put the book down! Even though the book is 500 pages, I still devoured it in one day. The story had a firm grip on me and I was not able to walk away until I knew where it was going to take me next.Nevermore will take you on a twisted, dark, haunting, tale of mystery that is impossible to walk away from not changed. I cannot say enough good things about this book, I will warn you though that you should keep a pen handy to make notes or a computer nearby to look up references because you will go crazy if those resources are not close by for you to use. I read on Kelly¿s site (which is sweet and you should check it out here) that there is a sequel in the works! So exciting! I will be eagerly awaiting it so I can be swept away again by this world.Language Love: All she could do was stare, reaching toward him with her gaze alone, pulling him to drown in the sorrow of the depthless black pools.I like this line for two reasons1. I love the haunting description of this character and2. I think much of the book feels like this, a little sad, and mysterious, yet you are dying to know what is going on
Allizabeth on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Being from Baltimore, the resting place of Edgar Allan Poe, I was intrigued to find this novel at my local library. The side summary seemed interesting, so I thought I would give it a try; and I am so glad I did. Kelly Creagh wrote an excellent novel with beautiful imagery, fully developed characters, a five-star plot, and an ending that had me on edge until I reached a blank white page. I expect that there has to be a sequel to this novel because its abrupt cliff-hanger of an ending left me wanting. Fully recommended!